SAP HANA OverviewUNIXBusinessApplication

SAP HANA is the #1 ranked solution in top Data Virtualization tools, #1 ranked solution in top Embedded Database Software, and #4 ranked solution in top Relational Databases. PeerSpot users give SAP HANA an average rating of 8.4 out of 10. SAP HANA is most commonly compared to Oracle Database: SAP HANA vs Oracle Database. SAP HANA is popular among the large enterprise segment, accounting for 68% of users researching this solution on PeerSpot. The top industry researching this solution are professionals from a computer software company, accounting for 20% of all views.
SAP HANA Buyer's Guide

Download the SAP HANA Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: November 2022

What is SAP HANA?

The SAP HANA platform helps you reimagine business by combining a robust database with services for creating innovative applications. It enables real-time business by converging trans-actions and analytics on one in-memory platform. Running on premise or in the cloud, SAP HANA untangles IT complexity, bringing huge savings in data management and empowering decision makers everywhere with new insight and predictive power.

SAP HANA was previously known as SAP High-Performance Analytic Appliance, HANA.

SAP HANA Customers

Unilever, NHS 24, adidas Group, CHIO Aachen, Hamburg Port Authority (HPA), Bangkok Airways Public Company Limited

SAP HANA Video

SAP HANA Pricing Advice

What users are saying about SAP HANA pricing:
  • "We are spending about 20,000 to 30,000 euros on the solution."
  • "The pricing is a bit on the high side."
  • "We pay $200 on a monthly basis."
  • SAP HANA Reviews

    Filter by:
    Filter Reviews
    Industry
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Company Size
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Job Level
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Rating
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Considered
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Order by:
    Loading...
    • Date
    • Highest Rating
    • Lowest Rating
    • Review Length
    Search:
    Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
    Database Consultant at a pharma/biotech company
    Consultant
    Top 10
    Very robust solution with good data access
    Pros and Cons
    • "SAP HANA is vertically and horizontally scalable."
    • "High availability and disaster recovery are very poor in HANA."

    What is our primary use case?

    I am currently using the latest version. But before that, before I jumped into the version, I used the initial version of HANA, as well. This initial version of HANA was not that great, it had a lot of bugs. But the latest version is very good. It's excellent.

    I'm afraid that HANA is not a relational database, it's a column-level database just like Sybase IQ. Sybase is also an activity product, an SAP product. SAP bought Sybase in May 2010. So normal Sybase is RDBMS. Sybase has one more variant called Sybase IQ. That is not RDBMS, that is a column-level database. Normal Sybase is a whole-level database. That's a column-level database. So SAP HANA is based on this column-level architecture.

    One more thing. The success of HANA primarily depends on the RAM and the storage. HANA became a success because the cost of the solar devices has fallen down substantially. I don't know about British Pounds, but in Indian Rupees, earlier in 2007, 2008, when I was working for Microsoft, one terabyte of a SAN device, used to cost around 22.5 LAK. I would say I would have had a 100,000. I think that's the nature. So one SAN device was costing 22 LAKs. The same SAN device, in 2013 and 2014, was costing around three LAKs. So the SAN device cost reduced by more than 200%.

    Also, in parallel, the RAM cost also decreased, and the technology and the fastness of RAM increased. This impacted the primary condition for RDB and RDBMSs like Oracle, Sybase, SQL Server, and the like, that they need to support the foreign key relationship, where I have a few tables. For example, if I have five to six tables, suppose the first table is employment information. The second table is employee career details or his project, something like that.

    Now, instead of populating the tables with the same information, the primary condition of RDBMS was to have a foreign key relationship between these two tables and reduce the redundancy. That was a primary condition, but in HANA, thanks to the cheap storage and high-speed RAM, I may not even bother to do a redundancy of data. I can combine all the tables and make a huge table. And as an entire table, whatever its size, I can pin the table in the RAM so that my access of information is not from the hard disk, but is directly from the memory, which is much, much, much faster. That is the beauty of HANA.

    What needs improvement?

    I'm still researching the features of HANA. In terms of memory, data access and data pitching, HANA has scored a victory, no doubt about that. But when I compare the non HANA architecture with SAP, ERP, the SAP ERP comes in two levels. SAP ECC, which is a non HANA based product, and SAP S/4HANA, which is a HANA-based product. If I compare these two, there are almost around 5,000 to 6,000 tables, which were merged together in HANA,  making it a robust architecture.

    In earlier SAP we used to have fragmented, small-scale architecture. HANA is a robust architecture where one table itself is a behemoth quantity of many, many columns and a lot of redundant data. So my interest in HANA would be how SAP is catering to the demand of reducing the redundancy of data, and at the same time pinning the entire critical tables into the memory so that access to the data is faster. I am researching those factors.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have roughly five years of experience in SAP HANA, because I started working on SAP ECC, on logistics and other components. After that, HANA became famous only in the years 2013 and 2014. Then I started pursuing HANA very, very actively. Right now, my journey is continuing and after five to six years I have a good amount of knowledge and experience on HANA.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    It is stable.

    Buyer's Guide
    SAP HANA
    November 2022
    Learn what your peers think about SAP HANA. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: November 2022.
    653,522 professionals have used our research since 2012.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    SAP HANA is vertically and horizontally scalable.

    Our banking system uses HANA primarily for our financial transactions. There are our SAP financials running on HANA. This HANA SAP was on the Oracle database. We have migrated it. It's very, very complex and took almost one year for us to prepare the plan and migrate to HANA finance. There are around 700 to 800 users using the database and they're not facing any problem. It's fantastic.

    How are customer service and support?

    I would say I'm satisfied with technical support, buy it can be improved also. Improved in  terms of data warehousing, because HANA was introduced for data warehousing and because SAP wanted to catch the OLTP market. Now they have introduced many things to attract the OLTP customers, especially in banking and telecom sectors. That's okay. You have to keep your business interests also. HANA's architecture is the foundation of the language of data, warehousing, and design. For any project or product, if it's based on data warehousing, I would say HANA is the language for that because what data warehousing wants is a data warehousing database.

    Primarily, it's not an OLDP, it's OLAP, online analytics processing. And where the data is not changed, the data doesn't change as frequently as a OLTB database. For that kind of environment, I think HANA needs a lot of improvement in terms of making it more columnar. It has to incorporate up level design a little bit harder, as well. 

    You know MySQL database? Not Microsoft, MySQL. Microsoft is not SQL. M-Y-S-Q-L, has been bought by Oracle. Oracle bought MySQL, it acquired the MySQL company. If you look into the database, by default, MySQL engine is InnoDB. InnoDB is the default engine on MySQL. But, MySQL also gives you the flexibility of choosing your own engine. I don't want to know InnoDB, I have a huge Microsoft Excel file with around 10,000 rows, but I don't want to use InnoDB because I have to pay for that. To save those costs, at the time of starting MySQL engine, I can choose my type of data. Instead of InnoDB, I can choose Excel also. SAP HANA should give that kind of flexibility to its customers, making it more reachable to small SMEs, small and medium enterprises.

    Now it is simple, because thanks to the cloud approach, it is giving a lot of flexibility to the customer, but if it wants to attack, hit the right target, acquiring the very, very small scale customer, who has around max 50 terabytes data or 100 terabyte data, a small scale company, small companies, that market should also be captured by SAP, not only the big companies. As the English saying goes, small things count. You can't ignore small things.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup is pretty straightforward. The only thing was there were a lot of parameters which had to be taken into consideration and any parameter at installation will be paid. But one good thing about SAP HANA is even if you miss a single parameter, you cannot agree to it for the steps. The further steps will tell you that, "you have missed this step. You first complete it, then you can come here." That kind of interlinking is there. So yes, SAP installation is pretty straightforward, and very easy and smooth.

    What other advice do I have?

    I would recommend SAP HANA. No doubt I would definitely recommend it. But the thing is, if I adopt SAP HANA, my total cost of ownership in terms of having a functional consultant, as well as a HANA admin, would increase. I should first find a balance and analyze the data, "Do I really want to have HANA? What benefit will I have if I have HANA at my premises? And if I want to cut cost but also get the benefits of HANA, will the cloud option of HANA cater to my needs?" All those questions.

    That is the company analysis I should do: what do they do differently? But many companies will be driven by the business needs, but at the same time some companies will also be driven by factors like the existing relationship with other vendors, like Oracle or SQL Server, and the kind of discounts they get when they buy that product. All those things will be there as driving factors. To answer your question, I would definitely recommend SAP HANA to anyone.

    High availability and disaster recovery are very poor in HANA. High availability is measured on the barometer of RPO and RTO. RPO stands for recovery point objective, RTO stands for recovery time objective. The graph in which these two factors will be measured is from the five nines, the seven nines, or the three nines, that kind of factor. But it is a factor of my high availability. 99.9% of my database is available or 99.99999999%, giving a chance of 0.0001% for some kind of availability failure is because of natural disaster or some kind of electrical failures or something like that. So those are the factors you have to see for high availability.

    My SAP HANA, technically, can withstand those calamities and recover itself from that disaster. That is called high availability. That high availability is there, but it is very, very, very minimal. If you're talking about high availability of HANA in actual high availability markets compared to Oracle and other RDBMS, HANA is a small child. If you remember when Microsoft SQL Server came into the RDBS market back in the year 1997, when they introduced the SQL 97, then they introduced the SQL 2000, SQL 2005. At that time, they introduced the high availability called Windows Cluster log shipping, mirroring the application.

    At that time, in 2007 and 2008, Oracle introduced RAC, Real Application Clusters. Compared to the features of real application clusters, the Microsoft product was a small child. And Microsoft took that as a challenge and they improved and they improved. And in 2012 they introduced something called Always On. Always On is an improved version of high availability in SQL Server. HANA has to do that kind of stuff. HANA's high availability is immature.

    On a scale of one to ten, I would rate SAP HANA an eight.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Hybrid Cloud
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Country Manager at a tech services company with 1-10 employees
    Real User
    Top 20
    Good integration capabilities, easy to implement, and reliable
    Pros and Cons
    • "When we upgraded, we received more functions or more features."
    • "The pricing could be better."

    What is our primary use case?

    We use it in order-placing and in the IBD integration, integrated business planning for forecast, and demand planning. I'm working in the sales and operation department. I'm not working in finance or production. Maybe the other teams are using it differently, or they're using different modules, however, for us at sales and operation, we are using it to place orders, developer CAST, track reports, and ensure accuracy.

    How has it helped my organization?

    It's made everything faster. The best thing we have is a faster operation. Even the reports are being generated very fast versus before. Before, we used to have an older version of SAP, and once we migrated or upgraded the old system to the current system, the speed of the work totally changed.

    What is most valuable?

    The integration is quite good. It's like an add-on in which we add the tools we need, like Excel. 

    We're not using the interface with SAP HANA itself. However, we're using a remote access link which we access via the web, and we are also using an add-on, which is installed in our Microsoft Excel program. Therefore, we are not particularly using the SAP HANA environment. We don't have this desktop interface in front of us. As far as I know, this is the engine behind all our work.

    The setup is easy.

    When we upgraded, we received more functions or more features. I am not aware of all of them; however, I've received positive feedback from the users in our company.

    It's a stable product.

    The solution scales well. 

    What needs improvement?

    The pricing could be better. Finding the solution or adding some additional features that are customized for what we need is difficult. It costs a lot of money. For example, our office has SAP HANA, and the Saudi distributor has SAP, or at least, another version. We are trying now to integrate the two systems together. However, the cost is too much. We'd like to see more integration capabilities.

    It does take a while to set up.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've been using the solution for a year and a half. 

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    The solution is reliable and quite stable. The performance is good. There are no bogs or glitches. It doesn't crash or freeze. 

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    It can scale. 

    We have about 2,500 employees. Not everyone is using it. Some are in the factory, and some are in the office. Some are at specific branches. We are an international multinational company, our head office is in Italy, and we have branches worldwide.

    How are customer service and support?

    We haven't had any critical issues. However, we have received good support overall. We haven't really dealt with any downtime. It's very rare. It might have only happened once. 

    How would you rate customer service and support?

    Positive

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    Currently, we are doing some integration between SAP and some other tools like Power BI and Tableau. We have some customized solutions developed in-house. We used to use an older version of SAP and upgraded it. 

    When I worked at a different company, I used to work with Dynamic Business Solutions, not SAP HANA.

    How was the initial setup?

    It was an easy setup. That said, the implementation takes some time. They spent two or three months just developing the requirements and they gathered from us what we need to do. Then they implement it in two or three months. I don't know if this is a long period or a short period, however, that is how long it took for us. 

    I'm not sure how deployment and maintenance are handled. I'm not sure how many people are involved in those aspects of the product. 

    What about the implementation team?

    We invited a third party to do the implementation. 

    Our team did the wishlist, the comments, and we shared it with a third party, and this third party came on-site, and they finished the job.

    What was our ROI?

    I'm not sure of the exact numbers surrounding ROI. They may have done a study and chosen the solution based on ROI. However, I was not a part of that process. 

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    We are spending about 20,000 to 30,000 euros on the solution. It is a one-time implementation. To integrate everything and do the gap analysis, and then implement all of that as per our requirements, that cost us too much money.

    What other advice do I have?

    We're a potential SAP partner. 

    We are using SAP HANA in Italy. We're using the latest version there. That said, in Saudi Arabia, we are not using SAP HANA. They're using the older version.

    We have remote access. 

    I'd recommend the solution to others. SAP is a very powerful tool.

    I would rate it nine out of ten.

    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer:
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Buyer's Guide
    SAP HANA
    November 2022
    Learn what your peers think about SAP HANA. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: November 2022.
    653,522 professionals have used our research since 2012.
    Owner at LAVORO AUTOM INF E COM LTDA
    Real User
    Top 20
    Offers advanced features, helps reduce hours, and makes it easy to find what you need
    Pros and Cons
    • "The solution offers advanced features that the company was struggling to implement."
    • "A documents preview could be helpful."

    What is our primary use case?

    I was using the product for some research in technical drawings - in terms of making some drawings, the different parts, and the structure of the machinery. I don't know if it's available in the SAP HANA, however, there is a model for this to schedule the maintenance. The company wasn't using it. Sometimes the product furnishes a lot of insights, cultural insights that the company still is not ready to implement.

    What is most valuable?

    The solution offers advanced features that the company was struggling to implement. For example, in terms of parts, you can't implement a lot of structures of the machinery, however, you still need to use the codes. They're not related one to another, which makes them hard to find, typically. That means every time you need it to buy an entire assembly of parts, you need to know exactly which one you had. You have to use a drawing, a technical drawing, that specifies each code that you need. SAP saves you from asking to bring an entire assembly with a lot of parts. That's a powerful aspect that could help to reduce hours of work that are wasted in this way.

    What needs improvement?

    A documents preview could be helpful. Today we have a lot of documents, for example, in PDF formats, which we would like to preview. We'd even just like to click on an icon and have it open another tab. That way, I can see the document directly inside SAP HANA. In the company I was working with, we had a parallel system which meant we needed to go to SAP, see the code, see the drawing number, and then go to another system that is finished by Autodesk, and then find the drawing and open it. This is a lot of work.

    I really would like to just have it inside this app. 

    I'd like the product to have more mobile aspects. Many younger users want mobility and flexibility.

    The solution can be expensive. In Brazil, many companies still do pretty much everything in Brazil, and, if they want to try a new solution, they want to try it at zero cost. Many, therefore, will look for open-source solutions before they even consider SAP.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've used the solution over the last 12 months. 

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    It's very stable. Sometimes it gets a little slow, however, that might be a company issue. When it came to the internet the entire site wasn't that good. Sometimes you had too many people connecting and the company was using a lot of Google solutions. You noticed that when a lot of people are in virtual meetings, we would have internet connections affected.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    I'm not sure about the scalability.

    I don't know if you can use it in a Docker or if you can scale it in SQL and you can maintain the speed, or if you are talking about, for example, big data. The infrastructure of the company seemed to be weighed down, for example, when there were a lot of virtual meetings and it affected the internet. I can't speak to if this problem would also affect being able to scale the product.

    How are customer service and support?

    I would describe technical support as good. It's always worked for me and therefore I have no complaints. 

    How was the initial setup?

    I didn't handle the initial implementation. The company furnished all the equipment needed for me to work. They gave me the computer, which Red Hat was installed on. They just give me access and showed me where to access what I needed and where to put the ID and password. I didn't do anything.

    Typically there are six people that are available for maintenance tasks. They're IT technicians.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    SAP solutions are typically quite expensive.

    What other advice do I have?

    I'm a partner and consultant. 

    I'm not sure which version of the product I am on.

    I'd advise new users that it's important to first find a solution that can understand the culture that's involved inside this solution. Sometimes people think that ERP software like SAP are magical things that you just install it and it makes life easier. It doesn't work like this. You need to have the culture, you have to have this knowledge. You need to understand how it works and how much it requires from you. It requires more than you think. It doesn't work like magic.

    I'd rate the solution at a nine out of ten. It's very good, however, there's always room for improvement. 

    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Partner
    PeerSpot user
    PeerSpot user
    Account Executive at a tech vendor with 5,001-10,000 employees
    Real User
    Top 10
    Eases management of databases; rock solid with great functionality
    Pros and Cons
    • "Eases management of databases."
    • "The user interface and CRM need to be more user-friendly."

    What is our primary use case?

    We use this solution for our CRM, and for our ERP, inventory, and supply chain management. It's basically used to run the majority of the company. We are customers of SAP HANA and I'm an account executive. 

    What is most valuable?

    SAP is great for what it does. There are likely better solutions out there but I'm not aware of them. It's a solution for big companies and in that sense it makes management of the databases much easier for higher-level people to know what's going on. 

    What needs improvement?

    The user interface and CRM need to be more user-friendly, it's abnormally painful. I'm a frontline user of the CRM, and it requires lots of clicks that are unnecessary. Less is more on the internet and quite often I'm clicking five, six, seven times to get where I need, and that's not effective. When an item in a certain category is not done properly, it can either lock up a system or not complete the process. We see it on a daily basis and we have to figure out a workaround to solve it. It's a technical issue that SAP's had since the beginning, and it hasn't yet been solved. With SAP everything has to be categorized. If it's not, it causes system issues and then you have to decipher the issue to try and undo it. It's an algorithm argument flaw. In the near future, I'd like to see better user interfaces and better connectors between modules.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've been using this solution for about eight years. 

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    The solution is rock stable now. We have an SAP team and five or six people fixing day-to-day issues with up to 30 people working on it all the time. There is an additional team that implements new functionalities. 

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    It can scale infinitely. We have 12,000 users internationally and we use the product extensively. 

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    I have previously used Salesforce and I don't like it. It runs like a 1980s webpage in the current era.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup was painful and required a lot of work. Systems would go down all the time because there were initial errors with the SAP system. but once it was up and stabilized, things were good. It still has flaws but it's a good solution as a whole. They've implemented extra modules from SAP. If you don't implement it properly you'll feel the pain. It probably took around six months to solve all the issues because SAP is so big and so integrated and so integral, it can take a while to fix the problems. You can limp along until things are solved and find workarounds, but it takes a lot of effort. SAP helped us with the implementation. 

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    SAP is expensive but it's a good solution for what it does. You're going to get a $20 answer, for a $20 product. For all the functionality it offers, the cost is worth it.

    What other advice do I have?

    It's important to plan and then plan again before implementing. If you don't plan properly, you will fail. The solution requires planning the implementation, making sure your company is the right size for the product. If you're an SMB, this might not be the right product for you. It might cost you more than you think. If you're enterprise size, you should look at getting into SAP, because it is the right solution. It's a solid product despite some minor issues - if SAP were to fix them it would raise the level of the solution. 

    As a user, I rate the solution eight out of 10. 

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Head- IT at a energy/utilities company with 5,001-10,000 employees
    Real User
    Top 20
    Stable and scalable
    Pros and Cons
    • "The solution is easy to scale."
    • "Technical support could be better."

    What is our primary use case?

    We work with the latest update.

    We use the solution as a database. We primarily use it for the SAP application. Some of the use cases involve CDS Views, which provides a quicker processing of the report and the application.

    What is most valuable?

    The in-memory database is a good and valuable feature.

    What needs improvement?

    Since we use BW, we are required to use an SLT tool to carry out the data for generating the reports. But, when it comes to in-memory database in respect of the realtime reporting, I do not see why this report cannot be made available from the system itself. This would allow for some partitioning of the database, so that there would not be a need for the EMP in respect of the realtime data.

    The initial setup was complex. I am talking about how the data is replicated to the site. We had an Oracle Database and did replication to the VR site. Yet, when it comes to HANA, we are forced to work out the method for ensuring that this replication works as it should. It is at this point that the solution becomes stable. 

    Technical support could be better. When we have requested this, the tendency has been to instruct us to implement a note and keep them apprised. In reality, there is no one who helps us with actual troubleshooting of the problem. 

    The pricing is a bit on the high side. 

    While I would definitely recommend the solution, I would caution that one should employ the proper resources that are geared towards the system. Unfortunately, SAP does not provide a structured training program, which means a person must rely on multiple system integrators and some service providers.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    We have been using SAP HANA for more than three years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    The stability is very good and we have encountered no issues regarding it. 

    The initial setup was complex. I am talking about how the data is replicated to the site. We had an Oracle Database and did replication to the VR site. Yet, when it comes to HANA, we are forced to work out the method for for ensuring that this replication works as it should. It is at this point that the solution becomes stable.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    The solution is easy to scale.

    How are customer service and support?

    Technical support could be better. When we have requested this, the tendency has been to instruct us to implement a note and keep them apprised. In reality, there is no one who helps us to actually troubleshoot the problem. 

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    We had already been using SAP when we switched from it to Oracle, because all of the innovations were taking place on HANA. 

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup was complex. I am talking about how the data is replicated to the site. We had an Oracle database and did replication to the VR site. Yet, when it comes to HANA, we are forced to work out the method for for ensuring that this replication works as it should. It is at this point that the solution becomes stable.

    The deployment lasted six months. 

    What about the implementation team?

    We deployed with the help of a vendor.

    No real maintenance is required. Data volume management is needed and all the reports are available, based on which the maintenance is easy. 

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The pricing is a bit on the high side. 

    The use of hardware does not incur additional costs. 

    What other advice do I have?

    There are 40,000-plus users making use of the solution in our organization.

    I rate SAP HANA as an eight out of ten. 

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Sr Regional Manager at a tech vendor with 10,001+ employees
    Real User
    The IBP module was the most useful followed by the FI/CO and CNMM
    Pros and Cons
    • "The solution is very stable."
    • "The initial setup was pretty complex, considering the enormous amount of data they had from an Oracle ERP."

    What is our primary use case?

    The client is using the solution for supply chain management, and at the same time, our enterprise uses it to track the businesses' performance. The rest of our regions are going to be using SAP ECC. We are the first region to go with HANA. We were shortlisted to show them the roadmap and guide them. Supply chain management and tracking raw materials were areas of concern.

    What is most valuable?

    The IBP module was the most useful followed by the FI/CO and CNMM modules.

    What needs improvement?

    The product could be improved in several ways.

    First, before carrying out a project with this environment size, a POC needs to be carried out, for which you would have access to various environments. And those environments are something that SAP should invest in and others should provide. That would be an improvement.

    Second, some good amount of handholding, guidance, or other validation or certification from SAP at different levels.  

    Third, access to tools for a longer period than the pre-defined trial version license. That's something that we can ask our friends from SAP to extend or make available in a different licensing model at zero cost.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have three years of experience with the solution.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    The solution is very stable. We would rate its stability as eight out of 10.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    We would rate the scalability of the solution as eight-plus on a scale of one to 10.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup was pretty complex, considering the enormous amount of data they had from an Oracle ERP. Migration was an especially painful task, but we managed to sail through it thanks to the support of our customer. We delivered it within the timelines. We managed a few escalations. We worked with the customer. We had a weekly stand-up with the customer and various workshops and sessions to educate them and highlight the challenges. 

    What about the implementation team?

    Implementation was completely in-house with a team of around 18 to 22 people and a couple of people from SAP, who looked at the overall program management level, providing guidance plus certifying that best practices were being followed and implemented. 

    The deployment, moving from Oracle to SAP HANA, took around eight months

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The customer took care of all the SAP license costs. Our scope was primarily implementation and migration support.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    Oracle ERP had the flexibility, but it didn't have the functionality that the customer was looking for.

    What other advice do I have?

    We would give the product an overall rating of nine out of 10.

    We have an entirely SAP family, which makes it easy to manage and support. The customer opened its first, and we are doing multiple instances of SAP ECC implementations for the rest of the small countries in APAC, the Middle East, and Africa.

    Around 175 to 250 people use the solution at every level of the customer's organization.

    We will be providing maintenance for the next five years.

    My advice would be to explore and play with the different systems available in the market. But, ultimately, look for a system with a brand, broad user usability, and support. For instance, my customer wanted to explore an open-source ERP. We persuaded him to go with SAP, primarily because they have the expertise. They adhere to the best policies. They offer support, etc. 

    If you don't have all this, don't explore freebies. Go for a licensed version, recommended globally, and highly rated by Gartner or various research and consulting firms.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Public Cloud
    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Gold Partners
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Senior Engineering Manager at a tech services company with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Real User
    Top 20
    Stable, scalable, and easy to use
    Pros and Cons
    • "It's easy to use, and the Hana Studio is pretty good."
    • "The JDBC connectors are very slow."

    What is our primary use case?

    We are solution providers. We are a supply chain organization and we deploy and supply chain solutions for our customers.

    We have a host of solutions and for each of our customers based on their environments. We customize their platform and deploy it.

    SAP HANA is one of our database endpoints.

    What is most valuable?

    It's easy to use, and the Hana Studio is pretty good.

    What needs improvement?

    The main issue that we are facing is with the connectors. The JDBC connectors are very slow. We have been trying to connect with our SAP HANA database to our customers.

    It's a simple Java driver and there is no proper documentation available anywhere with clear steps. We have to rely on several documents which creates confusion.

    The initial setup could be simplified.

    Also, we don't have to option to pull up the data from the object structure in SAP HANA. We can only pull up certain objects. It doesn't provide you with a comprehensive list.

    There are limitations in connection with SAP HANA. There has to be a better or easier way to connect the databases with other platforms, maybe using Java code or other types of code. It would be very good to have the documentation on how to connect.

    I would like to have flexible connecting mechanisms for connection with Java or different types of solutions to SAP HANA on cloud or non-cloud solutions.

    They could come up with something similar to the SAP HANA Studio type of modeling.

    I would also like to see the capabilities to extend the API. If they had specific APIs, it would be easy for us to connect.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    My company has been using SAP HANA for ten years.

    We are using the latest version.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    It's a stable solution.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    It's a scalable solution. Because it's an on-premise infrastructure and SAP this is the best support for most of our customers, scalability is taken care of.

    We are an SAP house. We have more than 1,000 people who use this solution.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    I have not interacted with the technical support. Other teams may have, but my involvement is more with the integration. 

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup was a bit complex. We were told to download it from the marketplace, but when we tried, it didn't work. We may have been doing something wrong, but we did not have a clear understanding of how it should be done. We also had difficulties with the trial version, it was not working.

    There are two options:

    1. Download SAP HANA then import it
    2. Go to the marketplace and download the connector

    For testing purposes, if they could provide us with clear documentation, it would be very helpful.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    Licensing is on a yearly basis.

    We are using the paid version. We pay $200 on a monthly basis.

    What other advice do I have?

    I am not an expert in HANA. I build the enterprise bus that integrates with SAP HANA as well as other systems. We have built our own integrated platforms.

    The recommendation of this solution would depend on the use case and the requirements, and the price will be considered.

    I would rate SAP HANA an eight out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Partner
    PeerSpot user
    AllaShlafir - PeerSpot reviewer
    Development & ERP Technologies Department Manager at a transportation company with 10,001+ employees
    Real User
    Very fast, good memory, and very good scalability
    Pros and Cons
    • "The memory is the solution's most valuable feature. It's the main feature of HANA. Others are still the regular IT databases that are on storage and are therefore much slower than HANA. The solution is quite fast."
    • "Unlike other databases, it lacks management features that legacy databases like Oracle or SQL servers have. They need to make the solution easier to manage and offer tools that make management more effective. A lot of things you have on traditional databases you have to develop into HANA."

    What is our primary use case?

    We are primarily using the solution for the BW system of SAP. We also use the legacy reporting, which is very good.

    The solution is quite fast.

    How has it helped my organization?

    We hoped to move all our BI systems to work with HANA, unfortunately, there are a lot of performance issues, even after remodeling the BW models.

    What is most valuable?

    The memory is the solution's most valuable feature. It's the main feature of HANA. Others are still the regular IT databases that are on storage and are therefore much slower than HANA. The solution is quite fast.

    What needs improvement?

    Unlike other databases, it lacks management features that legacy databases like Oracle or SQL servers have. They need to make the solution easier to manage and offer tools that make management more effective. A lot of things you have on traditional databases you have to develop into HANA.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've been using the solution for about 3 years

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    The solution is less stable than traditional databases. We have encountered several cases when the database just flows. For some reason, that database took a lot of memory, and when we opened a case with SAP, we had to send a lot of logs, which did nothing because at the end, they couldn't find the root cause for this issue. This happened in several cases. We had production down and that's not acceptable for our business.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    The solution is very scalable. We have about 10,000 users.

    Each of those is not connecting to the database per se, but we are using HANA to take all the data and a lot of users. Several other software applications are also connecting to it.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Technical support is okay, but not great. It seems like there are a lot of SAP support packages that are coming out and lots of versions. For me, this indicates that the product is not quite ready or stable enough.

    We've contacted technical support in the past and did not get good results. Eventually, we just created some parameters that we have configured into the system. We solved the problem by ourselves by creating a workaround that avoided the problem. SAP never gave us a straight answer about what we should do in our case.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup was quite complicated. We had to do a migration, so it wasn't a fresh installation. We had Oracle as our legacy system and had to move everything over to HANA. We had to do half a year of testing and had to do several cycles of tests and migrations before deploying. Once that was done, we deployed over a weekend.

    What about the implementation team?

    We handled the implementation ourselves.

    What other advice do I have?

    We use the on-premises deployment model.

    I'd advise others to wait until the software will be much more stable before implementing it.

    I'd rate it eight out of ten. If it was more stable and more manageable, I'd rate it higher. If people could have the ability to do things on their own within the solution, to read the software logs on their own, and get the root cause of any problem, and not just send it to the support, it would be much better.

    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user