IBM Integration Bus OverviewUNIXBusinessApplication

IBM Integration Bus is the #3 ranked solution in top ESB (Enterprise Service Bus) tools. PeerSpot users give IBM Integration Bus an average rating of 7.8 out of 10. IBM Integration Bus is most commonly compared to Mule ESB: IBM Integration Bus vs Mule ESB. IBM Integration Bus is popular among the large enterprise segment, accounting for 73% of users researching this solution on PeerSpot. The top industry researching this solution are professionals from a computer software company, accounting for 20% of all views.
IBM Integration Bus Buyer's Guide

Download the IBM Integration Bus Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: November 2022

What is IBM Integration Bus?

IBM Integration Bus is a market-leading software solution for application integration. It facilitates universal connectivity across enterprise systems, applications, and data, and offers a full range of integration capabilities on a flexible, secure, high-performance platform. You can use IBM Integration Bus to connect apps regardless of the communication formats or protocols they support. This connectivity enables interaction and data exchange among your varied applications in an adaptable, dynamic, and extensible infrastructure. IBM Integration Bus routes, transforms, and enriches messages from one location to another. It offers support for a wide range of functions, including routing, manipulating, filtering, enriching, monitoring, distribution, collection, correlation, and detection.

You can choose between IBM Integration Bus Advanced Edition, which is appropriate for a production setting, and IBM Integration Bus for Developers (Developer Edition), which is cost-free for development and testing purposes.

The interactions with IBM Integration Bus can be split into two categories:

  1. Development, testing, and deployment of applications. To program your applications, you can choose from one or more of the available options:
    • Patterns offer reusable solutions that distill a tried-and-true strategy for resolving a typical architecture, design, or deployment task in a specific context. You can use them as-is or tweak them to meet your needs.
    • Message flows describe your application's connectivity logic, which specifies the precise route your data takes in the integration node and, consequently, the processing that the message nodes in that flow perform on it.
    • Message nodes contain the integration logic that must be applied to your data when it passes through your integration node.
    • Message trees describe data in an efficient, format-independent manner. Many of the included nodes allow you to study and edit the contents of message trees, and you can add additional nodes to your own design.
    • You can implement transformations using graphical mapping, JavaTM, ESQL, and XSL, and choose based on the expertise of your workforce without having to provide retraining.
  2. Operational management and performance. The following features of IBM Integration Bus support your deployment's management and performance:
    • A wide range of administrative and system management choices for developed solutions.
    • Support for a variety of hardware platforms and operating systems.
    • A scalable, high-performing architecture built on the needs of traditional transaction processing environments.
    • Tight integration with software solutions from IBM and other suppliers that provide similar management and networking services.

IBM Integration Bus Benefits

There are many benefits to implementing IBM Integration Bus. Some of the biggest advantages the solution offers include:

  • Use the platform’s powerful capabilities to handle various integration requirements to meet the demands of any size project.
  • Help your entire organization make better business decisions by offering quick access, visibility, and control over data as it moves through your business applications and systems.
  • Connect using a variety of diverse applications and web services, eliminating the requirement for complex point-to-point connectivity.
  • To make the most of your existing Microsoft.NET expertise and software investment, use the extended support for Microsoft applications and services.
  • Provide a standardized, simple, and flexible integration base to allow you to more quickly and effectively serve business needs and scale.

Reviews from Real Users

IBM Integration Bus stands out among its competitors for a number of reasons. Two major ones are its robust data enrichment and its event correlation tool. PeerSpot users take note of the advantages of these features in their reviews:

Richard W., Chief Executive Officer at Responsiv, writes of the solution, “It reduces the need for programmers of consumer applications to understand where data is sourced, or how it is combined. It allows us to avoid the need for consumers to understand multiple API protocols and security arrangements, and in some circumstances can reduce the impact of systems being unavailable.

Another PeerSpot reviewer, an Integration Architect at a tech services company, notes, “One of the most valuable features is how seamless and easy to use this solution is. It's compatible with the cloud, it's a very seamless and fantastic tool.” He adds, “I rate this solution a nine out of ten.”

IBM Integration Bus was previously known as IBM WebSphere ESB.

IBM Integration Bus Customers

Salesbox, €sterreichische Bundesbahnen (€BB), Road Buddy, Swiss Federal Railways, Electricity Supply Board, The Hartree Centre, ESB Networks

IBM Integration Bus Video

IBM Integration Bus Pricing Advice

What users are saying about IBM Integration Bus pricing:
  • "I generally do not get involved in the licensing or pricing because I'm a hardcore technical guy, but I'm aware of the fact that IBM is highly expensive, so not everybody can afford it. All the products are licensed."
  • "The solution requires a license and is very expensive here in India."
  • "The price of the IBM Integration Bus is expensive. If you compare the price to the cloud version you can purchase what you need but the on-premise version price is flat."
  • IBM Integration Bus Reviews

    Filter by:
    Filter Reviews
    Industry
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Company Size
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Job Level
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Rating
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Considered
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Order by:
    Loading...
    • Date
    • Highest Rating
    • Lowest Rating
    • Review Length
    Search:
    Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
    PRINCEWILL OPARA - PeerSpot reviewer
    Head Banking Application Customization and Reporting at a financial services firm with 10,001+ employees
    Real User
    Top 5
    Good integration capabilities with an easy-to-learn language but is very expensive
    Pros and Cons
    • "The stability is mostly pretty good."
    • "Today, the IBM business rule engine, the DataPower is outside the Enterprise Service Bus. It's sold as a different feature or application. If it could be integrated, then it's able to handle a lot more of what we are doing now rather than just have a stateless ESB that you can't do much on, and a set of normal business rules."

    What is our primary use case?

    We primarily use the solution for integrations of traffic between internal applications, communications, and transactions between various internal applications. We also use it for integration with various external parties.

    How has it helped my organization?

    Before we implemented IBM to integrate with other external parties, we had buckets of applications to build, and maintenance was difficult, as was support. On top of that, integration wasn't well controlled and managed. Right now, post-implementation of IBM ESB, we have a better structure. We have better teams in development and response to customers. We have an application that is centrally managed and monitored. We have better SOA experience in our development process.

    What is most valuable?

    The feature we find most useful is the ease of development.

    It provides a variable within our application it can easily be used across various applications. 

    ESQ is very robust and easy to learn. That's the language the solution is based on. 

    The solution can scale.

    The stability is mostly pretty good.

    What needs improvement?

    There are experiences we have on the application, such as latency issues. There are no inherent components for you to throttle and measure the velocity of transactions. For that, you have to get a separate application and set up more robust rules. Then, you can handle API throttling and a number of business logic and rules. You need to implement DataPower, in order to have this. It should have been integrated into a single application rather than having to deal with various applications and components. It would be nice if everything could be packaged under one solution.

    Today, the IBM business rule engine, the DataPower is outside the Enterprise Service Bus. It's sold as a different feature or application. If it could be integrated, then it's able to handle a lot more of what we are doing now rather than just have a stateless ESB that you can't do much on, and a set of normal business rules.

    If you have the business rule engine that can help us measure velocity, throttle, monetization, et cetera, within the ESB, it would be better than it is now. There won't be any need for one to start looking out for any possible change in the near future.

    The initial setup is a bit complex. 

    This is a very expensive product.

    Buyer's Guide
    IBM Integration Bus
    November 2022
    Learn what your peers think about IBM Integration Bus. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: November 2022.
    656,862 professionals have used our research since 2012.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    We've been using the solution for more than five years at this point. 

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    There is some latency and slowness in the application. At times, we have to restart the server, and there are some errors we can't handle. We send those to IBM. It's relatively stable, however, periodically, we have problems, which is why we have to get IBM to help us resolve them. That said, I would describe the product as stable.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    In terms of extensibility to other applications after development, it's highly extensible. The solution can scale. 

    We have developers, who develop various integration requirements, and we have support. Outside that, we don't have physical users using it. There are about 10 developers in all, that handle various requirements that come along. The support unit is about five people and they are handling the support.

    How are customer service and support?

    We don't deal with IBM directly. There's a local partner of IBM that assists us. We only have a direct relationship with IBM, when the local partner cannot handle a problem. Our contract is designed with IBM in such a way that we have to go through their local partner. In terms of responsiveness, the local partner is good. I wouldn't say excellent, however, they are good in response time. In terms of timeline for issue resolution, TAT for issue resolution, they are fair.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    Before we went to IBM, we didn't use a different solution, however, we checked in our industry and we checked how people felt about Microsoft middleware, and they didn't have a good experience. It's not robust, the support wasn't strong, et cetera. Therefore, we chose IBM. We were swayed by how other organizations, including banks in Nigeria, were mostly seeing success with IBM.

    We are using WSO2 for some applications, however, we do not rely on it completely as it is open-source and if we run into issues we cannot rely on help from any support.

    How was the initial setup?

    Setting up the solution is not straightforward. It's difficult and complex. We needed assistance in order to manage the process properly. It's not something you can just pick up, and then, run on your own. You need help from a partner, which involves additional costs.

    What about the implementation team?

    We didn't do it alone. We worked with IBM, and then, IBM nominated a local partner in Nigeria that worked with us to set this up.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The solution is very expensive. 

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    We looked at another solution called WSO2. It is a lot easier to set up. It's easier to use, and it's less expensive. However, the challenge we have with that, is that the support is lacking as it is an open-source application. The support is not so strong. That's the only reservation we had for that. Outside that, we are also using it for some other applications as well.

    The prominent other contenders were WebLogic from Oracle, and whatever was provided by Microsoft. Among the three then, IBM came out on top in our assessment and rating. However, with the benefit of the insights we now have, if we were to do the same process again, over five years, WSO2 has done so well, and some other middleware is also doing well. Likely we would not choose IBM if we had to choose again.

    What other advice do I have?

    We are customers and end-users.

    I'd rate the solution around a seven out of ten.

    I would advise companies to evaluate and consider the options and whether they make sense vis-a-vis the benefit they hope to derive is worth the while. IBM is not cheap. They need to consider costs and make sure they have internal resources available to them. Those using the solution need to be well trained. Otherwise, the company will end up depending on third parties for everything, and that will drive up the costs further. 

    I'd also suggest companies implement such a solution early. Load balancing is very critical in our experience. We didn't implement load balancing immediately, and that affected us. As a company is implementing, it should consider load balancing. Rather than invest on the on-prem, a company should consider the cloud. We did on IBM Unix servers on-prem, and that's pretty expensive.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Richard Whyte - PeerSpot reviewer
    Chief Executive Officer at Responsiv
    User
    Offers secure and consistent data access with resilient communication management
    Pros and Cons
    • "It allows us to avoid the need for consumers to understand multiple API protocols and security arrangements, and in some circumstances can reduce the impact of systems being unavailable."
    • "The next versions are moving toward container use. It would be a shame to make the product highly complex just to support one pattern of deployment. It is my hope that IBM continues to focus on practical functionality that is simple and cost-effective."

    What is our primary use case?

    We use the solution for synchronizing data across the enterprise and opening data to extend its use by simplifying and making it consistent regardless of its source. 

    It's for installing a line of indirection between data source and consumer to reduce contention at the source, and to add security, audit, and combine data from multiple places.

    With it, we are implementing GDPR rules on data use, compensating for systems being unavailable, and delivering low latency for website users.

    I have designed solutions for payment processing, Service-Oriented Architectures, micro-service architectures, data sharing and synchronization, and point to point data sharing using this product across banking, retail, and many other industries.

    How has it helped my organization?

    Many projects absorb a great deal of time and budget to find data and understand how to access it. This product allows data to be found and cataloged, allowing multiple projects to create a full directory of data in the enterprise over time.

    The introduction of a mediation component allows data to be combined from multiple sources and for those sources to change or expand without impacting the consumers. In some settings, the number of consumers can be significant (100+) making adapter patterns rather expensive to maintain.

    Having a single (logical) place to go for information reduces the responsibilities of the consumer for navigation - in turn allowing systems to move, update, and be replaced with reduced risk and cost. 

    The cost reductions are significant but rely on proper architecture and design.

    What is most valuable?

    The solution's most valuable aspects include:

    Data enrichment and consistent access. It reduces the need for programmers of consumer applications to understand where data is sourced, or how it is combined. It allows us to avoid the need for consumers to understand multiple API protocols and security arrangements, and in some circumstances can reduce the impact of systems being unavailable.

    Data mediation and secure access. It reduces programmer error and hides the underlying systems, making it simpler to change them. It imposes a line of control between consumer and source, reducing the scope of testing needed for new consumers, and avoiding tests on consumers when the source changes.

    High-performance data management for data in motion. The product supports clustering and can be tightly integrated into IBM MQ, making it a perfect platform for payment processing and high-performance data processing (50,000 tx/sec and above). For those that do not need the performance, this translates to cloud consumption savings.

    Resilient communication management. The product can use transactional integrity to assure consistent data and non-loss communications (especially when combined with IBM MQ). This means that when processing large numbers of transactions no time is lost trying to discover what was lost.

    What needs improvement?

    The product has been well managed and continually improved throughout the time I have used it. 

    There is very little that can be improved. It already contains adapters for MS-Dynamics and other enterprise packages and supports many protocols and transmission structures. 

    The next versions are moving toward container use. It would be a shame to make the product highly complex just to support one pattern of deployment. It is my hope that IBM continues to focus on practical functionality that is simple and cost-effective.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    We've used the solution for 20 years - since it was previously named MQ System Integrator.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    IBM ACE is very well engineered and very stable. We have several customers running old versions that have been 100% reliable for their operational lives.

    If an installation does encounter a failure, for example power failure, the product is good at reporting useful messages, and in combination with IBM MQ to protect data running through the system. The product can be installed in a clustered configuration to remove single points of failure, and to scale to accommodate higher loads.

    It's very stable.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    This solution is highly scalable and resilient. It's combined with MQ or load balancers for fault tolerance and highly parallel processing.

    It's highly scalable.

    How are customer service and support?

    In my experience, support has always been very good for this product. 

    How would you rate customer service and support?

    Positive

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    I have previously used databases to store and forward and C-programs to manipulate data. When this could no longer cope (sometime in the 1990s), I discovered IBM MQ and other messaging products, which are designed to do what we were building. The MQSI product of the time was simply magic and the latest incarnations (App Connect Enterprise) are far beyond anything that could be done with a database. 

    I have reviewed other technologies, including Microsoft, open-source, and others. It remains my opinion and experience that this product delivers quicker development and more reliable outcomes.

    What about the implementation team?

    A was working as part of the vendor team, as part of the implementation consulting organization.

    What was our ROI?

    Very much depends on the industry and project.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    Installation of the base product has been simplified over the last five years or so, and is now fairly straight forward. 

    You need an infrastructure design for the product deployment and an integration architecture and design documented and agreed to get the best from this software. It is relatively easy to program (Extended SQL, Java, and other options are available), however, it's important to think and take advice before you start.

    The product is generally priced per processor core.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises

    If public cloud, private cloud, or hybrid cloud, which cloud provider do you use?

    Other
    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: I am the CEO of Responsiv Solutions (responsiv.co.uk), an IBM business partner. We choose to use this product because it does what it says on the package. Our services include integration architectures and design, as well as business automation.
    PeerSpot user
    Buyer's Guide
    IBM Integration Bus
    November 2022
    Learn what your peers think about IBM Integration Bus. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: November 2022.
    656,862 professionals have used our research since 2012.
    Integration Architect at a tech services company with 201-500 employees
    Real User
    Top 5
    Seamless and easy to use
    Pros and Cons
    • "One of the most valuable features is how seamless and easy to use this solution is. This is a fantastic solution and a very measured product."
    • "There are a couple of things I want improved, but I think they have already touched upon all those things in the most recent version. I'm not using the most recent version—I use a version older than the most recent—but I'm sure that if I looked into and explored it, I would see more support on the CI/CD and more support for unit testing automation. I've read that they released all these things in the new version of App Connect. Once I explore the new version of this tool, I'll probably have a better idea of suggested improvements."

    What is our primary use case?

    My primary use case of IBM Integration Bus is for designing and developing solutions. We use App Connect Enterprise as a micro ESB and, in cases where we need rapid development, as a microservices platform as well. I'm currently dealing with an on-premises version, but it's deployed on an internal cloud. 

    What is most valuable?

    One of the most valuable features is how seamless and easy to use this solution is. This is a fantastic solution and a very measured product. 

    What needs improvement?

    There are a couple of things I want improved, but I think they have already touched upon all those things in the most recent version. I'm not using the most recent version—I use a version older than the most recent—but I'm sure that if I looked into and explored it, I would see more support on the CI/CD and more support for unit testing automation. I've read that they released all these things in the new version of App Connect. Once I explore the new version of this tool, I'll probably have a better idea of suggested improvements. 

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been working in IBM for almost 17 years now. 

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    This solution is stable. It's a fantastic solution and a very measured product. We only need one person to maintain the DevOps pipeline, but we do have a team of 10 developers to deliver the work.

    How are customer service and support?

    IBM's technical support is fantastic. Their support process is very good. 

    How was the initial setup?

    This solution is cloud-based. We are using it in a container image, so the one time CI/CD setup is there, in the pipeline setup, and after that the process is very seamless. We just check in our code, and then the pipeline creates an image of it and deploys it onto our private cloud platform. So it's very seamless and there's no hassle involved. 

    Initially, we needed about three people for deployment: one for administrative activities, one with DevOps knowledge, and one developer. 

    What about the implementation team?

    We implemented through an in-house team. I work as an architect, but we have a DevOps team that takes care of maintaining the pipelines and as-needed administration activities. 

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    I generally do not get involved in the licensing or pricing because I'm a hardcore technical guy, but I'm aware of the fact that IBM is highly expensive, so not everybody can afford it. All the products are licensed. 

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    I have heard of MuleSoft, a platform that provides a solution for API management, ESB, everything. When it comes to ESB, they have a package or facility feature for unit testing as well, called MUnit or something. From an ESB development point of view, this is the complete package. I was lacking these features in App Connect, but I heard that the latest version includes things like unit testing, automation features, all those things. I also heard that they added AI—I'm not sure where, but IBM is pretty big on that, as well as on adding more and more features in that area. 

    What other advice do I have?

    I rate this solution a nine out of ten. This is a very measured tool and IBM has been doing a splendid job with this particular platform. Earlier, it was only possible to have an on-premises installation, but now that it's compatible with the cloud, it's a very seamless and fantastic tool. Especially with the current release, I really like this product. 

    In terms of advice I would give to those considering implementation, I would say that there could be a problem with integration. Nothing to do with the tools, but from a resourcing point of view. I've seen that a lot of people with Java expertise can face problems when being introduced to this technology without proper training. When a Java developer gets into this particular technology and starts developing stuff, they may be unaware of certain best practices, certain standards, certain conventions that should be used. In my team, when we hire new resources, Java is an advantage for us and a person with Java knowledge is highly welcome, but when we look at their knowledge in the technology itself, there may be issues. This platform is complex and only a person with the right knowledge will be able to deliver. So my suggestion to those who are considering implementation: while resourcing, ensure that you've got the right knowledge on the architect side as well as the developer side. 

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Private Cloud

    If public cloud, private cloud, or hybrid cloud, which cloud provider do you use?

    IBM
    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Partner
    PeerSpot user
    Assistant Vice President at a financial services firm with 501-1,000 employees
    Real User
    Top 10
    Quality components, good service, and exceptionally stable
    Pros and Cons
    • "Having the solution come from IBM you know you are receiving a product of quality in components and in the services, it is very good."
    • "We used a third-party vendor, who help us install the solution and it was not easy."

    What is our primary use case?

    We are using the solution as an outer layer for all of our API calls we are making outside of our own devices. All APIs integrations are routing through the ESB only. We are using it for IIB server components and the DataPower, which is an API gateway. It is providing us with a security layer because all the outside calls do not have direct communication with our own server, this middle layer is called the ESB. 

    How has it helped my organization?

    The solution has helped my organization because any new integration coming to my backend system, we can easily implement it in a shorter time. This is because the middle layer takes care of all API language conversions or the code conversion, and also does the maintaining of the logs.

    What is most valuable?

    Having the solution come from IBM you know you are receiving a product of quality in components and in the services, it is very good.

    What needs improvement?

    I do not think there are any improvement areas because it depends on what exactly the use case for this ESB is. Some organizations are having a lot of integration and they will choose a regular ESB. While others will choose the security purpose route, making an extra layer. It depends from organization to organization, to determine how this solution can be improved from their specific use cases. Otherwise, I think that there are not any relevant improvement areas to give.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I used the solution in my last company for a long while.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    The solution came to the market a long while ago, it has had time to mature. It is really stable and large organizations can rely on it. Smaller companies could too but it is too expensive.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    It is a scalable solution. You can have any number of integration, it depends on the server and how much space you are providing to the IIB servers. We plan to have more than 50 wired integration by the end of the year.

    How was the initial setup?

    The installation is not easy. You need experts who know how to install this IIB. The common technician will not have the knowledge to do it. You will need assistance installing the solution even though on IBM's website you can download the complete user manual explaining how to install the IIB servers. 

    What about the implementation team?

    We used a third-party vendor, who help us install the solution and it was not easy. If you have most things in place at the site the whole installation process can take approximately three days. 

    To do the complete deployment you will need at least one architecture that understands this IIB solution. It all depends on what kind of IP division architecture you have. Based on the project's scope, you then can define your team. There is no certain number of how many team members is required. It depends on your project, how large it is, and based on that you can decide how much manpower is required.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The solution requires a license and is very expensive here in India. Large organizations will be able to afford it but smaller companies will have a difficult time paying for the solution at the current price.

    What other advice do I have?

    I am going to continue to use this solution, when you purchase this solution you have spent a lot of money, you have to continue to use it to make a return on investment.

    I would recommend this solution if they have a large budget.

    I rate IBM Integration Bus an eight out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    AvinashArepaka - PeerSpot reviewer
    Technical Lead at a tech services company with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Real User
    Top 20
    Helps in integrating different applications from different platforms and has all the required features
    Pros and Cons
    • "We can have multiple endpoints, and we can integrate different applications from different platforms. In a large-scale enterprise setup, it becomes so easy to establish communication between applications. You can connect an application to other applications, other legacy applications, and databases. You can also connect with those applications that are in the cloud. You can connect with other well-known applications, such as Salesforce, SAP, and Workday, by using IBM Integration Bus."
    • "It provides all the features that are required for day-to-day work. So far, I haven't seen any major issues that impact our work. I have been told that IBM App Connect Enterprise, which is the next version of IIB, is really good. It is better than IIB, and it gives you more coverage in terms of application integration."

    What is our primary use case?

    We use IBM Integration Bus for application integration. For example, when application A needs to communicate with application B, if Application A is sending the message data in XML format but application B understands the data in JSON format, there needs to be a tool that helps to transform the message data and route the data from one endpoint to another. In such a use case, we use IBM Integration Bus.

    I'm working on version 10.0.0.12 of IIB, but we will be migrating the project that I'm currently working on to IBM App Connect Enterprise. It will most probably happen in the summer of this year.

    It is deployed on-premises. After the migration to IBM App Connect Enterprise, we're planning to migrate to the cloud from on-premises.

    How has it helped my organization?

    In our project, we are using IBM Integration Bus for doing the payments. We have developed some applications in IBM Integration Bus that help with payment transactions from one client to another.

    What is most valuable?

    We can have multiple endpoints, and we can integrate different applications from different platforms. In a large-scale enterprise setup, it becomes so easy to establish communication between applications. You can connect an application to other applications, other legacy applications, and databases. You can also connect with those applications that are in the cloud.  You can connect with other well-known applications, such as Salesforce, SAP, and Workday, by using IBM Integration Bus.

    What needs improvement?

    It provides all the features that are required for day-to-day work. So far, I haven't seen any major issues that impact our work. I have been told that IBM App Connect Enterprise, which is the next version of IIB, is really good. It is better than IIB, and it gives you more coverage in terms of application integration.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been working with this solution for seven years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    It is stable.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    You can scale the product depending upon the flux of data into your application.

    How are customer service and support?

    It depends upon the issue we are working on. I would rate them a four out of five.

    How was the initial setup?

    Its initial setup was not that tough or challenging. We could easily do the setup without any challenges.

    What about the implementation team?

    Usually, we have the support team of a project. The support team takes care of such installations.

    Its maintenance is easy. It doesn't take a lot of effort to maintain the product. The Infra team usually does some patching of the environment, but we haven't seen any outage of our application that impacts the business in real-time.

    What other advice do I have?

    It is a really good product to use if there are lots of applications that need to be integrated in your enterprise. It is a very good solution for enterprise application integration and exposing your product's features to the external client through APIs. 

    I have worked with other tools related to IIB, such as API Gateway and API configuration tools, in the past. They do provide a very good solution for your business if you are planning to expose your business assets by creating APIs. You can develop an API in IIB and configure it in API Connect. You can have that gateway on top of the solution. This is another feature you can leverage using IIB.

    Based on my experience with this product, I would rate it an eight out of 10. This reduction of two points doesn't mean that it is not as good as other products.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Solution Engineer at Capgemini
    Real User
    Top 20
    Simple installation, beneficial for legacy systems, and good support
    Pros and Cons
    • "I am into microservices using Java Spring Boot, but if we are using legacy systems, IBM Integration Bus is very good for them. They have their own computational logic called EC12, their own proprietary language. You can do any kind of complex logic and can implement other ESVs that I have seen."
    • "IBM Integration Bus can improve JSON Schema validations. We don't have any kind of nodes that can support that kind of validation. If we want to containerize it by means of the docker's containers in the clouds, we are not able to manage it very well."

    What is our primary use case?

    We are using IBM Integration Bus as a messaging solution for our customers. They have legacy systems. Some are MQ systems, file-based systems, app-based systems, and ERP systems. We place it in the middle of integrations. One system sends messages or communicates to another system written by us.

    What is most valuable?

    I am into microservices using Java Spring Boot, but if we are using legacy systems, IBM Integration Bus is very good for them. They have their own computational logic called EC12, their own proprietary language. You can do any kind of complex logic and can implement other ESVs that I have seen.

    What needs improvement?

    IBM Integration Bus can improve JSON Schema validations. We don't have any kind of nodes that can support that kind of validation. If we want to containerize it by means of the docker's containers in the clouds, we are not able to manage it very well.

    In a future update, IBM Integration Bus could add better API management. It only supports Swagger at this time.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using IBM Integration Bus for approximately eight years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    IBM Integration Bus sometimes hangs but the IBM App Connect Enterprise successor version is a lot better.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    IBM Integration Bus scalability depends. The scalable of the on-premise version is difficult to scale. For example, if you're using the file processing that can be locked on the files and there is an increase in the number of threads there is some limit. The cloud version is not the same, by using a container, we can scale up to any extreme level. That kind of scalable is not there in the on-premise version.

    We have 10 to 15 people using the solution.

    How are customer service and support?

    I never interacted with IBM for technical support. However, my clients have and they have had a good experience.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    I have not worked with other solutions similar to IBM Integration Bus.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup of IBM Integration Bus version 7 was complex, but the 10 and 11 versions were not difficult. We are using IBM App Connect Enterprise, the successor version of the IBM Integration Bus. IBM Integration Bus no longer exists, but the installation was quite easy. This is a single-step installation. The installation can take approximately 15 to 20 minutes.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The price of the IBM Integration Bus is expensive. If you compare the price to the cloud version you can purchase what you need but the on-premise version price is flat.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    We evaluated other solutions.

    What other advice do I have?

    In the modern integrations in the EPAs world, IBM Integration Bus is not well fitted, because if we have legacy systems, it is fine, but if you want to manage the EPA, govern the EPA to allow people to choose the different platforms, such as the cloud platform, Mule CloudHub I would not recommend it. For the legacy integrations, I can recommend this solution.

    I rate IBM Integration Bus an eight out of ten.

    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Partner
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Software Services & Cloud Architect at a tech services company with 201-500 employees
    MSP
    Top 20
    Extremely stable solution for communication between systems
    Pros and Cons
    • "I consider the solution to be one of the most stable in the market."
    • "We have come across many customer complaints about the excessive time it takes for IBM to provide customer and technical support."
    • "I don't mind the pricing."

    What is our primary use case?

    We are, of course, using the latest version. 

    We use the solution for bridging the gap between different legacy systems. Re-usability is another function of the solution. So too, we use it to limit the challenges faced between different systems that are unable to communicate at the same speed and rate, or that need to talk among different systems, to utilize a channel which is bigger and better, to make use of the back-end or in respect of some other point-to-point integration need. As such, our uses for the solution vary depending on the customer. An example would be that which relates to a banking industry, for which there would be a core banking system, the need for card systems, ATM transactions, et cetera. Middleware plays a key role in the usability of these services. The goal is to avoid point-to-point integration between the channels and the back-end systems making use of the solution.

    What needs improvement?

    We have come across many customer complaints about the excessive time it takes for IBM to provide customer and technical support. 

    For how long have I used the solution?

    Our organization has been using IBM Integration Bus in various branches, spanning a host of  locations, since before I joined 14 years ago. It has been doing so for the past 15 to 20 years. 

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?


    I consider the solution to be one of the most stable in the market, in comparison with others such as Oracle and this assessment I maintain on an ongoing basis. I have received much feedback from customers about the solution's stability. 

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    The solution is scalable, but we have yet to receive the full review and feedback. This is because we have been informed that the latest systems have only recently been produced. So, I cannot give you complete feedback about the scalability of the solution at the moment. The latest deployment is on a container platform.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    We have received many complaints from customers that the customer and technical support should be faster. 

    How was the initial setup?

    I believe the initial setup was easy, but this is a question best taken up with the technical team. 

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    I use the traditional licensing model, which I believe to not be on a monthly basis, as the solution is not cloud-based. 

    I don't mind the pricing.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?



    What other advice do I have?

    90 percent of days the solution is on the client enrollment. We are hoping to encounter good business cases, involving integration planning, as the trend is for people to gradually transition to the cloud, the government initiative being that involving Azure. 

    As we are a service provider, I cannot give you exact figures about the number of users in our organization who are making use of the solution. As mentioned, this depends on the customer, with each one involving its own user type. 

    I would, of course, recommend this solution to others.

    I rate IBM Integration Bus as an eight out of ten. 

    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Partner
    PeerSpot user
    Integration Architect at a financial services firm with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Real User
    Good for large enterprises with relatively mature practices
    Pros and Cons
    • "I recommend it for large enterprises but only for specific use cases. You need to have a relatively mature integration practice in your organization to leverage its capabilities fully."
    • "IBM Integration Bus could be easier to manage, but this is true of all vendors. It doesn't always do what it says on the box."

    What is our primary use case?

    My only client at the moment is a national government bank. Currently, the IBM Integration Bus is the integration platform for all the various departments of the bank. There are probably six or seven major departments across the bank that subscribe to or use the integration services like MessageQ, Broker, or the platform's orchestration capabilities. And we have a team of about 15 people managing it.  

    Integration Bus has also been put in place to lay the foundation for hybrid integration into the two specific systems on the cloud. We are still deploying it, so we haven't gotten into any actual use cases yet. In the past, it was relatively easy for the team, but I don't think they've ever leveraged the suite's full capabilities. It hasn't been easy in some instances because the reserve bank is unique. It's not the same as other financial institutions, but we've had challenges on the platform before.

    What needs improvement?

    IBM Integration Bus could be easier to manage, but this is true of all vendors. It doesn't always do what it says on the box. In terms of new features, we have a roadmap, and it's looking quite comprehensive. However, we may not necessarily need everything they're putting out. I know that's probably driven by global demand. 

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've been dealing with IBM Integration Bus off and on for the last 15 years.

    How are customer service and support?

    I think IBM support could be faster. It took us a while to resolve our issues because they don't necessarily have the technical resources in our country. We had to source the resources internationally, so it took a while to get that done. But once we got what we needed, IBM resolved it relatively quickly.

    How was the initial setup?

    Setting up IBM Integration Bus wasn't simple, but we've got a unique environment. We're probably about two or three months behind on our implementation because of unforeseen interoperability problems between Red Hat OpenShift and VMware. We've got a team of about 15 overseeing the deployment, including engineers, developers, and the support staff for the platform.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    I think our enterprise license agreement is included with a bundle of products.

    What other advice do I have?

    I would give IBM Integration Bus a solid eight out of 10. I recommend it for large enterprises but only for specific use cases. You need to have a relatively mature integration practice in your organization to leverage its capabilities fully. So I wouldn't recommend it to startups or somebody new. I'd instead go open source or something relatively easy.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Partner
    PeerSpot user
    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free IBM Integration Bus Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.
    Updated: November 2022
    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free IBM Integration Bus Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.