Dell Unity XT OverviewUNIXBusinessApplication

Dell Unity XT is the #3 ranked solution in best All-Flash Storage Arrays. PeerSpot users give Dell Unity XT an average rating of 8.4 out of 10. Dell Unity XT is most commonly compared to Dell PowerStore: Dell Unity XT vs Dell PowerStore. Dell Unity XT is popular among the large enterprise segment, accounting for 60% of users researching this solution on PeerSpot. The top industry researching this solution are professionals from a computer software company, accounting for 22% of all views.
Dell Unity XT Buyer's Guide

Download the Dell Unity XT Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: December 2022

What is Dell Unity XT?

Dell EMC Unity XT is one of the best all-flash storage arrays on the market today. Dell EMC Unity XT arrays are designed for performance, optimized for efficiency, and built for a multi-cloud world. In addition, they support digital transformation, enabling businesses to reach the full potential of their data capital quickly and easily. Dell EMC Unity’s All-Flash and Hybrid Flash storage platforms provide the performance, efficiency, enterprise-class software, and virtualization integrations required for running a wide range of virtualized applications.

Dell EMC Unity XT Features

Dell EMC Unity XT has many valuable key features, including:

  • Unified storage flexibility: With Dell EMC Unity XT you can consolidate separate storage platforms into a single Unity XT unified storage system via a simple and intuitive (HTML5) management GUI that also connects you to CloudIQ.

  • All-inclusive data protection: Dell EMC Unity XT offers a reliable way to protect application data with all-inclusive data protection services, including snapshots, data-at-rest drive encryption, replication, thin clones, and dynamic pools.

  • Software-defined solutions: Dell EMC Unity XT provides software-defined storage and HA for on-prem and in the cloud solutions.

  • Multi-cloud alignment: With Dell EMC Unity XT you have the ability to build and manage an effective data-first multi-cloud strategy. It allows you to consolidate public and private cloud resources that align with your business goals.

  • Metro node: This feature enables automated business continuity with zero RPO and RTO. It also provides greater flexibility through multi-platform support and replication to any array and has zero performance impact on the storage array.

  • Scalable file system: Dell EMC Unity XT is built with a robust 256TBu file system. The UFS64 file system includes up to 256 independent VMDK clones, 16 thin clones, space efficient snapshots with a simple space reclaim and low IO impact, file system shrink that can reclaim free blocks, simplified Quotas for User, and much more.

  • DevOps integrations: Dell EMC Unity XT supports the Container Storage Interface (CSI) plugin to run Kubernetes workloads.

Dell EMC Unity XT Benefits

Some of the benefits of using Dell EMC Unity XT include:

  • High-speed data access
  • Low latency
  • Dual-active controller architecture
  • Multi-cloud
  • Intuitive user interface
  • Cost efficient
  • Solid performance

Reviews from Real Users

Below are some reviews and helpful feedback written by Dell EMC Unity XT users.

A Systems Engineering Manager at a manufacturing company says, "It is definitely one of the most robust, solid, well-performing products that I have dealt with. It is set it and forget it, which is pretty amazing." He also mentions, “We can do both block and file storage on one unit without purchasing a separate device.”

Peter S., Senior Technical Specialist at a healthcare company, states, “The most valuable feature is reliability. At the end of the day, it just runs. This solution is easy to work with and easy to maintain.”

PeerSpot user Melvin T., Senior Systems Engineer at Prosperity Bank, explains that the solution is “easy to use and we can add LUNs or space without interruption to end-users. We're able to access it from just about anywhere, as long as we have access to a browser. That feature is really neat because sometimes we will go to a different data center or a different site, and if we need to access it to see a LUN or to see any type of storage, we can do that. That's one of the big takeaways with Unity."

Dell Unity XT was previously known as EMC Unity, Dell EMC Unity.

Dell Unity XT Customers

Draper, Rio Grande Pacific, Royal Victoria Regional Health Centre

Dell Unity XT Video

Dell Unity XT Pricing Advice

What users are saying about Dell Unity XT pricing:
  • "Here is our major complaint with pricing. Dell EMC comes to us and gives us a price. We are like, "Well, this doesn't even compare to what we got on the last project." We say, "No, you should bring it down to this level." Then, they come back again and we are sort of in the middle again. I am like, You already sold us other stuff at a better price. We are not going to just say, 'Yes,' because we are out of time.""
  • "This solution is a good price for what you get."
  • "The price of Dell Unity XT is reasonable. However, if you are buying a custom solution, it can come at a considerable price."
  • "The license is not required, but we must renew the support every year, every two years."
  • "There is not a license required for the use of the solution. We purchased a maintenance contract."
  • "We checked both HP and Dell and we determined that Dell EMC was a better option."
  • Dell Unity XT Reviews

    Filter by:
    Filter Reviews
    Industry
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Company Size
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Job Level
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Rating
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Considered
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Order by:
    Loading...
    • Date
    • Highest Rating
    • Lowest Rating
    • Review Length
    Search:
    Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
    Systems Engineering Manager at a manufacturing company with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Real User
    Top 20
    We can do both block and file storage on one unit without purchasing a separate device.
    Pros and Cons
    • "It is definitely one of the most robust, solid, well-performing products that I have dealt with. It is set it and forget it, which is pretty amazing."
    • "We do a lot of VMware. It only integrates with VMware in one way, which is virtual volumes. I don't really have any visibility on anything else. From VMware, I can't look into Unity. From Unity, I can't look into VMware unless I am using virtual volumes, where they integrate together happily, but we are not using that. I would like better integration for non-virtual volume VMware use."

    What is our primary use case?

    We use it for block storage for our entire VMware environment, which runs Windows, Exchange, and SQL Server. The Unity also provides block storage for bare metal Windows Server that run our backup software. We also use file storage primarily to store images.

    I use it with three projects that I directly work with. Each of those projects has 80 to 100 virtual servers. We have sysadmins who are dedicated to each project and do all the admin tasks, like checking VMs, servers, storage, etc. There is a larger team of five or six systems engineers who backstop all three of those projects. We focus on architecting and configuring any servers, storage, and networking. We may also be called in to resolve performance concerns.

    How has it helped my organization?

    Unity/Unity XT is significantly more user friendly than VNX.

    What is most valuable?

    We can do both block and file storage on one unit. For our projects, we use both of those functions. This is a key feature for us, along with very solid, predictable performance.

    What needs improvement?

    We use VMware in a number of projects but there isn't very good visualization of the storage from VMware or vice versa. I'm hopeful this improves in the follow on product, PowerStore.

    Buyer's Guide
    Dell Unity XT
    December 2022
    Learn what your peers think about Dell Unity XT. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: December 2022.
    656,862 professionals have used our research since 2012.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using this solution for the past seven years, previously at Dell and three years with my current company.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    Stability has been very good, even the older models of Unity are quite good. The non-XTs and the XTs have been absolutely stable. We have had a couple of small hardware glitches, e.g., I have had to replace an LCC. That is literally it over the last three years.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    This is a newer model for us. Out of the three projects that I have worked on, two of them are using the older model and the XT is primarily in another project. We have tons of scalability in it. We have a whole rack dedicated to Unity, and it is pretty much empty. We have probably close to a petabyte of storage in there, and it is still pretty much empty. Scalability looks really good.

    Where we would run into a scalability problem, we are going to do a lot of image storage, and that doesn't compress well. So, flash drives wouldn't really help us. We need a big, scalable object storage system. That is where Isilon comes in. We have about three and a half petabytes of Isilon at each of that project's sites.

    How are customer service and support?

    The technical support has been really great. I have never had a problem that they were not able to get to the bottom of pretty quickly.

    How would you rate customer service and support?

    Positive

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    We do have Dell EMC SC storage, which is very simple and straightforward, which is good for our small remote locations. However, it doesn't have the performance or features that the XT would. As far as block storage, Unity XT is probably the best bank for the buck for us because we can get block and file storage in one package. We don't have to buy a separate Isilon for object storage.

    Including VNX, SC, and Unity/Unity XT, Dell EMC has provided all the storage solutions at the company for the last 20 years. 

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup was super easy for the most part. 

    I will note one issue. This might be on the sales team, but we had a need for encryption that I am sure we mentioned. However, the Unity that showed up at our data center did not have the licenses for encryption at rest. I would love to see Data At Rest Encryption (D@RE) be just the default since I can't imagine anyone wouldn't want it at this point. It would have made life easier for me. I definitely had to completely wipe out an array three days after we set it up, because it didn't have encryption, then redo it with a new license.

    What about the implementation team?

    Vendor did initial install. I reinitialized it and did the final install.

    What was our ROI?

    There are cost savings from having a single solution that does both file and block storage.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    Pricing could always be better. Dell likes to charge a premium price for these products.

    I would say the major complaint with pricing is that Dell EMC comes to us and gives us a an initially high price. We usually need to go back and forth to negotiate the price to a more reasonable level. We are not going to just say, 'Yes,' because we are out of time." 

    I don't know if the discounting structure needs to be better or more consistent. 

    Having worked at Dell EMC previously, I know they have discount floors, etc. I just wish they would note, "This company gets a 55% discount." Just be consistent with it. Company-wide, we buy all our storage from them. They should be able to give us something a little more structured.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    In one project, we needed more scalability that the Unity can provide so we are using Dell EMC Isilon for it. In that case, I needed multiple PB of object storage.

    Otherwise, we have not looked at much else. In the future, however, we will probably transition to Dell PowerStore.

    What other advice do I have?

    I would rate it as nine out of 10. It is definitely one of the most robust, solid, well-performing products that I have dealt with. It is set it and forget it, which is wonderful for my piece of mind.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: PeerSpot contacted the reviewer to collect the review and to validate authenticity. The reviewer was referred by the vendor, but the review is not subject to editing or approval by the vendor.
    PeerSpot user
    Senior Technical Specialist at a healthcare company with 10,001+ employees
    Real User
    Top 20
    Reliable, easy to set up and maintain, good support
    Pros and Cons
    • "This solution is easy to work with and easy to maintain."
    • "It could be a little easier to attach it to a network file system."

    What is our primary use case?

    We currently have three Dell EMC Unity XT units, all used for different applications.

    The primary use case is general, all-around storage. We use it for both unstructured file and unstructured block storage and a lot of it is attached through a few systems to VMware.

    The applications are databases and other similar products.

    One of the units is used for diagnostic imaging, and another is used for file services such as the Hospital Management System (HMS).

    How has it helped my organization?

    I don't have metrics but this product benefits us because of its reliability. It's like a black box that sits in the background and just runs. It works great and does everything that's asked of it.

    What is most valuable?

    The most valuable feature is reliability. At the end of the day, it just runs.

    This solution is easy to work with and easy to maintain.

    What needs improvement?

    It could be a little easier to attach it to a network file system.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been working with Dell EMC Unity XT for approximately four years. It has been at the company for five years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    We have not had any issues with stability.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    We haven't really had to scale it too much. Whatever we've had to do, it's been able to accommodate what we need. We know that it can grow more but we just don't need it to. Also, we're shifting away from it because it's being replaced.

    How are customer service and support?

    Dell's technical support is great for 99% of things.

    There have been a few problems but I understand because the product was not mainstream. The unit was an FS8600 and there were only about 12 people in all of North America who knew it well. That's why we got rid of it.

    Overall, I would rate their technical support a nine out of ten. I don't give anybody a ten because there is always room for improvement.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    The organization did not have a previous solution. The original two devices were brought in specifically for the tasks that they perform. The third one is dedicated to the new HSM software.

    We have other storage, on-premises. We have different storage for different things. For example, we have two Dell Compellent units, as well as Isilon. We run the gamut of everything.

    We are retiring two of our Unity XT units because we bought a Dell EMC PowerStore. We're updating everything as part of our refresh cycle. We will be keeping the last Unity XT for at least two more years because it's a fairly new system. It will probably be replaced by a PowerStore as well.

    How was the initial setup?

    I was not with the company when it was initially set up but I have set up other ones. This product is straightforward and easy to set up. It is almost set-and-forget, where you get it on the floor and away you go.

    It took me less than a day to deploy, from unboxing to putting it on the raised floor to powering it on and having my first system attached to it.

    What about the implementation team?

    I deployed it myself. I have been working with storage products for more than 20 years.

    It is myself and two others that are responsible for the maintenance. All of us are backup and storage engineers. I am the primary and the other two are my backups. We all take different approaches and handle different things.

    For purchases, we have always dealt with Dell through a third party because until recently, Dell did not do direct sales. The company we used was Techni-Core and they're okay. We've had some issues with them including some improperly configured Isilons and other systems that were not done correctly. Back when I first joined, I had to go in and spend four months debugging a system that was set up wrong.

    I think that they had a couple of people that were poor at doing installs but I'm pretty sure they are now gone because I don't see their names anywhere.

    What was our ROI?

    We see a return on investment because this product just runs. We don't have to spend hours maintaining it. It needs less intervention from us which means that we can spend time on other things.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    This solution is a good price for what you get.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    We are a Dell customer so we did not evaluate options from other vendors.

    Everything that we have is Dell unless it is something that is vendor-issued or vendor-specific.

    What other advice do I have?

    We only touch the edge of what this product can do. It can do more than we use it for, such as file replication between two units.

    There is not much needed in terms of improvement. It is a rock-solid product.

    My advice for anybody who is considering the Dell Unity XT is to just enjoy it. It's a great system that is easy to maintain. Right out of the box, it's a good system. It's not the best that I've ever used but it's pretty close.

    I would rate this solution a nine out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: PeerSpot contacted the reviewer to collect the review and to validate authenticity. The reviewer was referred by the vendor, but the review is not subject to editing or approval by the vendor.
    PeerSpot user
    Buyer's Guide
    Dell Unity XT
    December 2022
    Learn what your peers think about Dell Unity XT. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: December 2022.
    656,862 professionals have used our research since 2012.
    Melvin Thomas - PeerSpot reviewer
    Senior Systems Engineer at Prosperity Bank
    Real User
    Top 20
    Easy to use and we can add LUNs or space without interruption to end-users
    Pros and Cons
    • "We're able to access it from just about anywhere, as long as we have access to a browser. That feature is really neat because sometimes we will go to a different data center or a different site, and if we need to access it to see a LUN or to see any type of storage, we can do that. That's one of the big takeaways with Unity."
    • "I would like it to be a little bit easier to contact support. We can contact support, but we have to go through a phone tree. We get routed to different places. I might call support to say that I need a drive replaced and get transferred to three different groups before I get to the group I actually need."

    What is our primary use case?

    Unity is utilized primarily for our vSphere/vCenter environment. It is where we keep all of our data stores and all of our LUNs and anything to do with our vSphere environment. We really don't usually assign any LUNs directly to servers.

    How has it helped my organization?

    We have a large cluster environment and these are active clusters. There are times where the SQL cluster environment starts to get full and it's really easy to add a LUN or space without interruption. The customer is not even aware that the volume is about to run out of space. We can always just add more space and do data recovery for DRs without the customer's knowledge.

    What is most valuable?

    One of the features that I find most valuable is that it is easy to access. We're able to access it from just about anywhere, as long as we have access to a browser. That feature is really neat because sometimes we will go to a different data center or a different site, and if we need to access it to see a LUN or to see any type of storage, we can do that. That's one of the big takeaways with Unity.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    The solution has been around in our environment for about five years. I've only been exposed to it for the past year and a half.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    My impression of the stability is all positive.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    We can always add more storage or more devices or more disks. There's always room for growth and it's easy to implement.

    This is our primary source of storage and we plan to increase our usage. There's an objective coming in 2022 to increase storage. We have several terabytes and we are constantly chewing that up so there is an effort underway to expand.

    How are customer service and support?

    I would like it to be a little bit easier to contact support. We can contact support, but we have to go through a phone tree. We get routed to different places. I might call support to say that I need a drive replaced and get transferred to three different groups before I get to the group I actually need.

    Once we are able to get in touch with someone, and we have an engineer working with us, it's great the way they follow up. They constantly keep in touch with us whenever we have issues. They help schedule any type of upgrades and get them implemented. Overall, support has been very helpful.

    And anytime there are notices of updates and upgrades, support keeps us involved and engaged.

    How would you rate customer service and support?

    Positive

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    We went to the Unity because of cost. I wasn't involved in the purchase of it, but the VPLEX maintenance was getting costly and it felt like the Unity was newer technology. The technology was better, the interface was better, interacting with it was better. It is a lot easier to use than the VPLEX. We figured it was a better solution than what we had and one that gave us more flexibility

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup was straightforward. It was very easy to set up.

    Ours was a pretty large deployment. The Unity replaced our VPLEX environment so when we put the Unity in we had to do a lot of migration conversion from VPLEX to Unity. That was a process because we had a lot of VMs and data stores move. It took us about a day and a half to do everything.

    We have five engineers who work on it, or who actually touch it or provide hands-on support for it. As far as the end-users go, we have about 500, and they have no idea they're on a Unity. What they know is that when they pull their machines up, they have storage and data.

    What about the implementation team?

    We used CDW. Our experience with them was outstanding. They're great. I have no issues at all. CDW just did an outstanding job.

    What was our ROI?

    The return on investment is in the fact that it meets all of our storage needs and in the ease of expanding it. It's also seen through the fact that we can work on the environment without interruption to the end-user.

    What other advice do I have?

    Do your due diligence. Check it out to see if Unity is something you can use for your environment. It is definitely worth looking into. Give it a try.

    As far as the solution's functionality goes, I see no areas in need of improvement. Everything is functioning completely adequately. I have no complaints and no issues. I have no negative feedback. The implementation was easy and straightforward. Doing our recovery points is pretty straightforward. It is easy to access through a browser. We can add and remove LUNs on-the-fly with no impact at all to our environment.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: PeerSpot contacted the reviewer to collect the review and to validate authenticity. The reviewer was referred by the vendor, but the review is not subject to editing or approval by the vendor.
    PeerSpot user
    Francisco Gimo - PeerSpot reviewer
    Management Information System Officer at a mining and metals company with 501-1,000 employees
    Real User
    Beneficial data duplication, high availability, and proactive support
    Pros and Cons
    • "The most valuable feature of Dell Unity XT is data duplication. Additionally, the management interface is simple, and is not a hassle using it. You don't need too much to learn or to be familiarized with it."
    • "Dell Unity XT could add a unit-to-unit replication. We haven't seen that because we don't have an additional one to test. However, it is not an improvement, but something that we would like to have visibility on how it's done or how it works."

    What is our primary use case?

    Dell Unity XT is used for data storage at a data center.

    How has it helped my organization?

    Dell Unity XT has improved our organization's performance. We have seen reduced management times.

    What is most valuable?

    The most valuable feature of Dell Unity XT is data duplication. Additionally, the management interface is simple, and is not a hassle using it. You don't need too much to learn or to be familiarized with it.

    What needs improvement?

    Dell Unity XT could add a unit-to-unit replication. We haven't seen that because we don't have an additional one to test. However, it is not an improvement, but something that we would like to have visibility on how it's done or how it works.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using Dell Unity XT for approximately two years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    Dell Unity XT is a very stable and reliable solution. We can leave the solution alone for a month without needing to check on how the unit is operating, or if there are problems. We realized the benefit of using the solution in approximately one year of use.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    The scalability of Dell Unity XT is good because during the period of one year we noticed we had the need to add more and more systems, and more components to it and we were able to do it with no hassle. We do not plan to increase our usage.

    We have approximately 500 endpoints using this solution.

    How are customer service and support?

    The support from Dell Unity XT is good. They actively monitor the units. They have called us up when they have lost connection to one of the units to then take action. We have not had any issues to have needed to contact the support directly.

    I rate the support of Dell Unity XT a nine out of ten.

    How would you rate customer service and support?

    Positive

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    I was previously using HP High-Performance Unit Storages. There was a need to purchase a new unit because we were struggling with the resources, performance, support, and other aspects. The best solution that was on offer that came to us was Dell Unity XT. The company decided to move to it and buy the full flash version to support all the applications that we have on-site.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup of Dell Unity XT was straightforward because we had Dell representatives involved with our team. 

    We had to do a migration because we wanted to ensure that there was no downtime during the migration process from the old solution to the Dell Unity XT.  To complete everything live without the business noticing that something is going on in the background. 

    You cannot have two groups of equipment that are deployed at the same time. For example, the host, storage, and switches. We had to ensure that everything is deployed, updated, and then do the connections between the two solutions and start with the migrations.

    What about the implementation team?

    We use Dell representatives for the implementation of the solution. We ended up doing the configurations ourselves without needing the support. 80 percent of the deployment we did ourselves. We had two people involved in the deployment and the solution has not required any maintenance so far.

    We deployed not only the one Dell Unity XT but a bunch of them. It took us approximately one week for everything to be finished. Additionally, we deployed some hosts, switches, and other systems.

    What was our ROI?

    We have received a return on investment using Dell Unity XT.

    We were able to solve the performance issues we were having. Our core communications and infrastructure is dependent on these units. The fact that all of the systems that we have improved significantly in terms of performance. The organization has benefited or is happy with the investment they've done at this point.

    We have received a full return on investment from using the solution for three to four years.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The price of Dell Unity XT is reasonable. However, if you are buying a custom solution, it can come at a considerable price. 

    If you want to scale or add additional components, this is where the price starts to spike or become very complicated and expensive. If you purchase the components separately they can cost a lot.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    We did not evaluate other solutions before choosing Dell Unity XT.

    What other advice do I have?

    My advice to others would be for them to purchase the solution urgently if they need a backup solution.

    I rate Dell Unity XT a ten out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Pawel Augustyn - PeerSpot reviewer
    System Senior Engineer at a tech services company with 5,001-10,000 employees
    Real User
    Top 5Leaderboard
    It is simple to maintain and has knowledgeable technical support, but it is expensive
    Pros and Cons
    • "The most valuable aspects of this solution are its stability, performance, and ease of updating."
    • "There is no de-duplication. Unity used to be Bionics, which had de-duplication; however, in Dell Unity XT, the de-duplication was deprecated and is no longer available."

    What is our primary use case?

    I am an end user.

    We use Dell Unity XT as a block and file system.

    What is most valuable?

    The most valuable aspects of this solution are its stability, performance, and ease of updating. Overall, it provides good performance and stability.

    What needs improvement?

    There is no de-duplication. Unity used to be Bionics, which had de-duplication; however, in Dell Unity XT, the de-duplication was deprecated and is no longer available. 

    The de-duplication function is back in the new Dell PowerStore, but it is missing in Dell Unity XT.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been working with Dell Unity XT for four years.

    I have started to use a new product from Dell called PowerStore.

    I still use Unity, but I stopped using Bionic because it's unsupported and, as far as I can tell, it will be discontinued in January 2022. 

    It's nearing the end of support, which is why I purchased a new product known as PowerStore and am in the process of migrating to new storage at PowerStore.

    I have time to check and test performance, as well as PowerStore, but I have extensive experience with Unity.

    The version depends on whether it is a hardware or software version.

    The hardware model is 400, and it is a hybrid store because the storage is shown as SAS and SSD disc.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    Dell Unity XT is very stable.

    I would rate the stability of Dell Unity XT a five out of five.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    Dell Unity XT is scalable. It is easy to scale.

    Scalability, I've done it a few times with new enclosures, and it's a simple process to connect and extend. It's straightforward.

    I would rate the scalability a five out of five.

    The product is not specifically designed for users but I believe it is for a few thousand or more clients. It is for our production where production services and applications are deployed and exposed to our clients.

    How are customer service and support?

    Technical support is good.

    In the four years that we have used this solution, it's been good, and I would rate technical support a five out of five.

    It is simple to create a ticket, and they have good skills. 

    I have the highest level of support for our mission-critical operations. 

    It's very fast with good skills.

    I am happy with the technical support.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    I used two storage units a year ago. The Unity storage is newer, whereas the Bionic storage is older. However, Dell now manufactures new storage as a Dell PowerStore.

    I have two products, Dell Unity XT, and Dell PowerStore.

    It has three storage units. It was Bionics first, and Unity is now in production. And we have been using PowerStore for two years. I am still interested in using Unity because the end of support for Unity is in 2025.

    Bionics' support is about to expire in a few months. I purchased PowerStore. It's storage; everything after that is flash storage. And I migrate from Bionics to PowerStore, but I believe I will continue to use Unity for a few years.

    Bionics was the first product we deployed before moving to Dell Unity XT., and then to Dell PowerStore.

    How was the initial setup?

    We moved from one location to another because the data center was our private cloud.

    I am not familiar with the initial setup, because it was deployed when I went to this company.

    I maintain this solution myself.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The license is not required, but we must renew the support every year, every two years.

    I believe it is overpriced. I don't have a lot of experience with other vendors, but I believe it is expensive.

    I would rate the price a three out of five.

    PowerStore support is more efficient now that I have experience with it. I won't go back based on the cost of support; PowerStore is the most straightforward.

    What other advice do I have?

    I would recommend this solution to others, but it depends on the need for de-duplication. If your data is encrypted or hidden, you don't need de-duplication. Dell Unity XT is good, but if the data isn't encrypted or is hidden, I recommend PowerStore. I would not recommend Unity where the data isn't encrypted and is hidden.

    I would rate Dell Unity XT a seven out of ten because the de-duplication is missing.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Private Cloud
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Cloud Engineer at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
    Real User
    Top 5
    Price / Quality ratio is good and since OE 5.03 code the array family reached a rather good maturity level
    Pros and Cons
    • "The most valuable feature is the integration with vCenter."
    • "Support Responsiveness & time to fix bugs should be improved."

    What is our primary use case?

    We are running 3,000 VMs spread out over five such units.

    How has it helped my organization?

    The initial Unity x50 series, even all-flash, were quickly driving the CPU to near 100% on as little as 180TB, having data reduction on all volumes in place.

    The XT came in support and sizes better on our infra, due to more CPU power. The system doesn't seem to have a module to offload datareduction, but in the end does a great job in getting the datareduction come round at higher capacity without oversubscribing the CPU (%). In the end the SDD media cost more then the array/storage processors. So basically you want to datareduce as much as the system can take.

    What is most valuable?

    Good in-built monitoring tools from the System|Performance section Tab, from CloudIQ you can reach out to vCenter as well. ESRS (Call Home) on the service delivery part is valuable.

    Remote Code update support (interactive or not) is free of charge , as you wish, nonetheless you are free to do it yourself as update are cumulative and retained on each new codelevel.

    What needs improvement?

    The UEMCLI is not an object-oriented CLI and the more object-rich PowerCLI has been discontinued. Only people with bash experience possibly can operate it. Still nowadays, feeding object from one command into another is still a burden with such CLI. When adding a few disks to a cluster, the CLI is actually standing in the queue for one disk to be added to all, requiring multiple scans on each membering host, before proceeding with the second...and scanning all hosts once again.  One could add all disks at once and stand in the queue once for a rescan all.

    There isn't a means to add volumegroups , nor hostgroups. A feature that any solution I worked with so far has. Its a burden to assure each host has the same LUN ID on each host in this manner. As of the june 2021 releae , code OE 5.1 it seems to offer the option to have hostgroups in the end !

    The integration with vCenter comes with a sideeffect, in that it will take control of the vSphere scan process, moreover every esx host is scanned multiple times. It takes easiliy a few hours to add a few LUNS to a few hosts. Rather Painfull. Even when adding LUNs using the unisphere GUI , you can keep up with the pace of your script.

    Support Responsiveness & time to fix bugs should be improved. Over the past 1,5 yrs we had occassional controller reboots and we went all the way from OE 4.5 over 5.02 to 5.03 and eliminated the  most common causes. We still face a stress triggered cache merge issue and though we provided the dumps and engineering acknowledged the bug, it has been told that addressing the bug requires substantial code rewritting and the problem will be fixed in the next major code release (OE 6.x) . We are now a year later, still no fix, but furtunately faced the considition once on one out of 5 arrays during that year. 

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using Unity (XT) for 15 months.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    OE 5.03 is a rather mature & stable code, without to say that it will addresse all. Some bugs are stress/load triggered and rather exceptional but might be easily recurring if the same conditions are remet.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    The XT scales better then its predecessor. 

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Not the most responsive support, we have a Service Account Manager and reporting in place now and keep the pressure to get answers. Very bad post bug/incident follow up.

    How was the initial setup?

    The system is easy to install and you might be able to do it on your own on the 2nd attempt.

    What was our ROI?

    Ease of use, Price Quality, vSphere Integration, CloudIQ (Performance data) , ESRS (Call Home) and though not used as such , Support for Block Devices, Cifs,NFS

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The setup is rather straighforward.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    I have compared Unity x00/x50f versus Unity XT x80f. 

    What other advice do I have?

    Midrange solution for SMB up till Large Entreprises too if you spread the load on many units.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    GM IT Infrastructure at MSSL
    Real User
    Top 5Leaderboard
    High performance, simple installation, and proactive support
    Pros and Cons
    • "The solution overall has high performance."
    • "Having more artificial intelligence tools built into the solution would be a great benefit. This would allow us to see more about the workloads and higher visibility, such as performance degradation."

    What is our primary use case?

    We are using Dell EMC Unity XT for our Oracle EBS on-premise ERP solution for storage. Primarily, for our database needs. We are quite happy with the performance of our SQL Server. 70% of OLTP and 30% reporting is the workload on that particular storage.

    What is most valuable?

    The solution overall has high performance.

    What needs improvement?

    Dell EMC Unity XT improvement point should be in the area of enhancements or innovation. It would be a benefit to have some kind of intelligence built into the solution with respect to the workload of their firmware. For example, if Dell EMC Unity XT is running an Oracle load or SQL application, we have to do other functions on it, find self remedies, or find self alerts to allow the administrator of the database to good insight into what exactly is happening in the storage layer. We are using different tools to retrieve partial information from the storage.

    Having more artificial intelligence tools built into the solution would be a great benefit. This would allow us to see more about the workloads and higher visibility, such as performance degradation. 

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using Dell EMC Unity XT for approximately 20 years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    The Dell EMC Unity XT 450F is in production in our organization for the last three years, we have not faced any problems. The new version has been quite stable.

    We are quite happy with the performance. The workload we are receiving on this storage solution is 70% for OLTP and 30% for reporting.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    We have found the solution to be very scalable. We are in the process of receiving more enclosures that to increase the storage capacity.

    We have approximately 1,500 users across the country that are using Dell EMC Unity XT and an additional 200 indirect users using it.

    How are customer service and support?

    The technical support team from Dell EMC Unity XT has a proactive approach. We don't need to worry about what is going wrong we have them to support us. We have not to need to contact them frequently. They contact us in case of any alert that comes.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    We have not used a solution previously.

    How was the initial setup?

    The installation of Dell EMC Unity XT is not difficult. You only need to do the rack mounting and plug it into the environment. However, configuring it for the application is quite tedious because it doesn't have any built-in templates for different workloads. Installation is plain and the solution is not a challenge but configuring it for the workload is the challenge.

    The time it took for the implementation to have the solution to a level we can use for production was approximately 48 hours.

    What about the implementation team?

    We had support to do the implementation, we did not do it ourselves. We had a couple of engineers from Dell do the implementation and we managed the solution using our onsite team.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    There is not a license required for the use of the solution. We purchased a maintenance contract.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    We did a thorough evaluation of other solutions and it was clear after the performance evaluation, Dell EMC Unity XT was the best choice. We did a migration of Oracle Storage to different storage. There are other commercial advantages with Dell.

    What other advice do I have?

    I would highly recommend Dell EMC Unity XT to others. I have experience with several sorts of workloads.

    I rate Dell EMC Unity XT a nine out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Muhammed Imran - PeerSpot reviewer
    Officer, System Administrator at SKGH
    Real User
    Top 10
    Competitive pricing, has good technical support, and is easy to maintain
    Pros and Cons
    • "The complete block and file sharing are the most usable features."
    • "They can certainly improve in terms of monitoring."

    What is our primary use case?

    We are a hospital with many business applications running in-house, as well as File Server Business Apps, which is why we need a three-tier architecture for NAS and storage.

    What is most valuable?

    The most valuable aspect of this solution is that it's a single block, a complete block that includes both NAS and SAN. This was our ultimate requirement because we do a lot of file sharing.

    When compared to other solutions, particularly HP, they lack the complete block.

    The complete block and file sharing are the most usable features.

    The features we need are already included.

    What needs improvement?

    They can certainly improve in terms of monitoring. The monitoring could be improved, and more features could be added.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    We have 600 to 800 users.

    This solution is extensively used; it's a hospital, and we use it 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

    How are customer service and support?

    I would rate technical support a four out of five. Technical support is good.

    How would you rate customer service and support?

    Positive

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    We have already found a solution. We have already purchased the solution from Dell EMC. Not the usual traditional HCI, we used the standard traditional one instead of HCI because our environment is more compatible with the previous set.

    I've previously used the VNX, this one is superior to the VNX. And, in particular, the NAS file sharing feature. It's easier than before when compared to the other one.

    The HP does not have the complete block. They have their own SAN, which is not in a single block. We cannot configure everything from a single, interface.

    Multiple blocks are required in the HP one to control and monitor everything.

    How was the initial setup?

    Because we previously used Dell EMC VNX 5600, the initial setup is very simple.

    It is easier for us to move ahead with the same company.

    I maintain this solution, it only requires one person.

    What about the implementation team?

    The initial setup was handled by an integrator, and the rest of the migration was completed by myself.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    It's extremely competitive. We checked both HP and Dell and we determined that Dell EMC was a better option.

    Licensing fees are paid on a yearly basis.

    I don't recall the amount because that part, the financial part, is handled by the finance team. We are not aware of this, we are technical evaluators.

    What other advice do I have?

    Definitely. This is something I would recommend to others who are interested in using this solution. Many people are unaware that HP does not have the entire block, despite the fact that HP's technical team claims to have it. Specifically, companies looking for NAS and SAN both together should consider Dell EMC over HP, because HP has a separate nest server as a separate server that they are providing you. However, they mention that the NAS is also available there, but it is on a separate server.

    I would rate Dell EMC Unity XT an eight out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free Dell Unity XT Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.
    Updated: December 2022
    Product Categories
    All-Flash Storage Arrays
    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free Dell Unity XT Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.