Dell PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) OverviewUNIXBusinessApplication

Dell PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) is the #1 ranked solution in top Deduplication Software and top Disk Based Backup Systems. PeerSpot users give Dell PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) an average rating of 8.6 out of 10. Dell PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) is most commonly compared to HPE StoreOnce: Dell PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) vs HPE StoreOnce. Dell PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) is popular among the large enterprise segment, accounting for 64% of users researching this solution on PeerSpot. The top industry researching this solution are professionals from a computer software company, accounting for 19% of all views.
Dell PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) Buyer's Guide

Download the Dell PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: November 2022

What is Dell PowerProtect DD (Data Domain)?

DD series enables your organization to protect, manage and recover data at scale. As the next generation of Dell Data Domain appliances, DD series sets the bar for efficient data management from edge to core to cloud and includes the ecosystem support and comprehensive data protection that customers have come to appreciate from Data Domain. The DD series offers a super-fast, secure, and an efficient solution that is built for multi-cloud data protection and to keep up with future demands. The DD series consists of the DD9900, DD9400, DD6900, DD6400, DD3300, and a software-defined option, PowerProtect DD Virtual Edition (DDVE).

DD series empowers organizations to protect, manage and recover data at scale across their entire diverse ecosystems. DD series provides broad ecosystem support, efficiency, powerful data protection, cloud-enabled capabilities, and the cyber resiliency that our customers demand.

The DD Operating System (DDOS) is the brilliance that drives the DD series. DDOS contributes the agility, security, and reliability that pushes DD series to deliver high-speed, scalable, and standard-setting protection storage for backup, archive, and disaster recovery. DDOS integrates seamlessly with many existing infrastructures, permitting ease-of-use with leading backup and archiving applications, and provides superior performance in conjunction with Dell PowerProtect Data Manager and Data Protection Suite. When you decide to purchase a new DD series appliance you can easily consume DDOS as a subscription providing greater flexibility for deployment while minimizing your overall upfront costs.

DD series does a great job to minimize the threat of data loss and adds to the value of protected data while meeting ever-increasing demands of SLAs and increasing ROI. DDOS drives DD series to deliver up to 38% faster backups and up to 45% faster restores at significantly higher compression levels.

DD series supports high availability within the single rack. Additionally, DD series can greatly reduce the total cost of ownership (TCO) by minimizing downtime in the unlikely event of a hardware failure. DD series delivers amazing high-speed networking connectivity with support for 25GbE and 100GbE network adapters.

Benefits of Dell PowerProtect DD

Fast, secure, efficient data protection:

  • Provide 1.5PB usable capacity in a single rack
  • Allow for Up to 3PB capacity for long-term retention
  • Logical capacity is increased by up to 30% per TB when compared to the previous generation
  • Allow for instant access and instant restore of up to 64VMs and 100k IOPS
  • High-speed network connectivity – 10GbE, 25GbE and 100GbE
  • Seamless fast integration and outstanding performance with PowerProtect Data Manager and Data Protection Suite
  • Supports many of the leading enterprise backup and archive applications

Industry-leading multi-cloud protection:

  • Provides software-defined protection storage on-premises and in-cloud with PowerProtect DD Virtual Edition (DDVE).
  • DDVE scales up to 256TB in-cloud (AWS, Azure, Google Cloud, and others).
  • Greatly improves in-cloud restore performance by as much as 10x when compared to previous versions.
  • Cloud Tier delivers super simple and value-added long-term retention to public, private, or hybrid clouds
  • Cost-efficient disaster recovery to the cloud

Operational simplicity:

  • Enhanced DD System Manager supports a complete chassis view
  • Significantly lower administrative costs
  • Grants a single point of management for all DD series by PowerProtect DD Management Center
  • Deploy Smart Scale for PowerProtect appliances directly from PowerProtect DD Management Center. Smart Scale helps drive down management complexities while increasing storage efficiencies. 

Reviews from Real Users

One user, who is an enterprise IT architect at a tech service company, says that “Dell PowerProtect DD is highly stable and reliable. I have not had a time when the system did not work and in an emergency this is critical.” He rates the ROI it has brought his company a five out of five.

A pre-sales and technical manager at a tech services company says that "The features that I have found most valuable with Dell PowerProtect DD are its deduplication feature and its DD Boost protocol for fast transfer, which is amazing."

Chris C., lead infrastructure architect at ThinkON, relates that Dell PowerProtect DD “allows our organization to send more data to this device compared to others. It also allows us a fast recovery of files or Virtual Machines if needed being on-premise.”

Dell PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) was previously known as DataDomain, Dell EMC Data Domain, PowerProtect Data Domain.

Dell PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) Customers

The US Army, City of Houston, Lloyds TSB, TiVo, Teck, Ingram Entertainment, The New York Mets

Dell PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) Pricing Advice

What users are saying about Dell PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) pricing:
  • "Pricing for this product could still be improved, though several years ago, its price was very high. When buying an IDPA product such as Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain), you don't have to buy anything else, because you'll have an integrated solution: a data domain appliance plus software."
  • "The price of the backup appliance is slightly expensive. Compared to other vendors, the pricing will be slightly higher."
  • Dell PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) Reviews

    Filter by:
    Filter Reviews
    Industry
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Company Size
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Job Level
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Rating
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Considered
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Order by:
    Loading...
    • Date
    • Highest Rating
    • Lowest Rating
    • Review Length
    Search:
    Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
    General Director at Miromix United
    Real User
    Top 5
    Stable and easy to scale suite of deduplication, backup, data protection, and storage solutions
    Pros and Cons
    • "Stable and scalable suite of solutions with deduplication, apart from data protection, storage, and backup."
    • "Installation and deployment for this product need improvement. These processes need to made easier. Currently, it's not an easy installation for customers. This product needs to be installed by professionals."

    What is most valuable?

    What I like about Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) is that it is a performance technology.

    One of the features I find very interesting in this product is deduplication.

    I also find it valuable that it's very easy to communicate with just one vendor if you're using this product. Normally, with other security systems, CAP systems, etc., you have to use the server, some hardware, and some software. The server could be from one vendor, while the software could be from another vendor. When a problem arises, this means you have to communicate with more than one vendor, but with Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain), this is not the case. The only competitor I know that manufactures a similar product with this feature of one vendor communication is Symantec.

    What needs improvement?

    Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) is not a product that's easy to install by customers. There are a lot of products, e.g. entry-level storages that can be easily installed by customers themselves, but this product and other IDPA solutions need to be installed by professionals.

    Customers who buy Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) should not worry about its installation and deployment. It should be installed directly by Dell, or by a Dell partner for free, but the price of this product must include installation, so installation will no longer be a problem.

    Installation and deployment for this product need to be improved. These processes need to become easier. The user interface could also be improved, but I did see that Dell now provides a number of products with very nice interface. We used to have Dell PowerEdge VRTX, but it reached its end-of-life (EOL). It was a small blade server with a small storage that's working, but it was equipped with a friendly interface for customer installation. Dell EMC and some other vendors should also sell entry-level to mid-range products that are more user-friendly, and make them out of the box products.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    It's been a few years since we started selling Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain). Normally, we sell Dell EMC backup systems, but we started to sell IDPA products last year, but the Data Domains we've started selling years ago. We're still working with this solution.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    I find this solution stable.

    Buyer's Guide
    Dell PowerProtect DD (Data Domain)
    November 2022
    Learn what your peers think about Dell PowerProtect DD (Data Domain). Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: November 2022.
    655,113 professionals have used our research since 2012.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) is a scalable product.

    How was the initial setup?

    The installation of this product is not easy, though it's easier to install than IDP and DP units. If you have knowledge on this product, then installing it will be easy.

    What about the implementation team?

    We deployed this solution in-house. We have two certified staff for data protection products. We have also have two certified staff for data storages, and more people certified for other products, e.g. desktops, servers, etc.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    Buying Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain), our clients don't have to pay for extra licenses. They can just buy any backup solution. For example, they can buy Dell EMC Avamar, or they can buy Symantec, Convault, etc.

    When buying IDPA products, you don't have to buy anything, because you'll have an integrated solution: a data domain appliance plus software, the software being Dell EMC software which is a big package of software that allows you to do everything.

    When buying Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain), you can just buy a very cool backup software with deduplication, and that's all. It's very perfect, very nice. You can buy the backup software, e.g. Dell EMC, Convault, Symantec, etc.

    Pricing for this product could still be improved, though several years ago, its price was very high. When there are more competitors, though, the price becomes more attractive both for the customer and partner. Now we can get more discounts for projects. The price for this product will decrease, because more and more companies now produce integrated devices, e.g. deduplication is not a very new technology, but it was a feature that was limited to several market leaders.

    What other advice do I have?

    My company MiroMIX United is a Ukranian company, and we are the platinum partner of Dell EMC. The majority of our solutions are based on Dell EMC products. We sell HP servers, but not too many, just 5%. We sell Cisco equipment, but we prefer selling Dell EMC networking products. We're partners of Cisco Systems, but we try to sell more Dell EMC products, because we know Dell EMC products best.

    We sell Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) which is an integrated data protection appliance (IDPA). We have not sold many, e.g. just 10 or 15.

    Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) is a promising product. It's very competitive. Last year, this product was sold and utilized into the most powerful banks here in Ukraine, but not by my company. My company sold these products to departments and segments in the government, though we were able to sell several Data Domains to a bank, but it was not a project worth millions of dollars. Our competitors were able to sell this product for millions of dollars. It's a very interesting, promising, and competitive product.

    This solution is very promising and competitive, and we would like to sell more, but it's difficult. We can't predict how it will fare against the competition, for example: HP. At the moment, we have a POC in one bank here in Ukraine. It is a Hungarian bank, an OTP Bank, but it has a branch here in Ukraine. In the near future, there will be an official tender procedure announcement, but at the moment, they are testing Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain), while also testing the backup solution from HP. It would be very interesting to hear their conclusions, but at the moment, we don't have the results.

    We have 15 clients who are using this solution. It would be great to expand our presence in this market. We have a service center certified by Dell, with 10 people working in it, and all of them are certified in various products, e.g. desktops, laptops, servers, data storages, and Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain).

    We've been working with Dell for many years. Our company was founded 22 years ago, and during this period, we've been working with service and warranty, and the independent service in Ukraine is based on four service centers for private companies, with one of the service center being ours. In previous years, e.g. in the early 2000s, we had to keep spare parts at our stock room. We used to do this, but 10 years ago, Dell changed the strategy of service in Ukraine and they arranged the spare parts hubs located in all the regional centers.

    I recommend Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) to other users who want to start using it because it's a very interesting product.

    My rating for Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) is a ten out of ten, when compared to its competitors which are utilized in large accounts.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Partner
    PeerSpot user
    Professional Services - Data Protection Consultant at S&T Romania
    Consultant
    Very scalable, integrates well with other solutions, and has good security
    Pros and Cons
    • "The solution is very scalable."
    • "The price could be improved."

    What is our primary use case?

    We primarily use the solution for storage.

    What is most valuable?

    The solution integrates well with our VM.

    I like the hardware and the software together.

    Based on what we have achieved in our environments on the bank's telecom, it's the best product. We have it installed with Dell EMC protection suite, NetWorker, but also with VM. There are many cases where we integrated with IBM TSM as a VTL. 

    The best point is the duplication encryption and disaster recovery replication. The network replication's software has network verification where the product can not offer it. We use nothing for Data Domain replication. And when we use NetWorker, we use prone console application. With VM, also we use replication under the Data Domain application instead of copying the data from the VM.

    The solution is very scalable.

    The product offers excellent security.

    What needs improvement?

    The price could be improved. 

    Technically speaking, the solution is okay. It's not perfect. We have to remember that it's a backup appliance. A storage appliance is not primary service. Let's say in a standard configuration you have only one controller, you don't have high visibility. We have installations on higher-visibility on one environment when one bank says, "We want a controller, doesn't matter how much it costs." We explain that something that is not the main storage is not production. " It's not primary storage, however, it can be used for different environments. Let's say to use it as the NFS or VMware deployment. 

    Dell is improving the product all of the time, actually. There were a lot of improvements from version 7.3 to 7.4 for example. 

    I've worked with the solution on and off since 2009 and I've watched it evolved from a small backup appliance to what it is now. They've done very well with it. 

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've been working with the solution since at least 2009.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    In terms of stability, it depends on who is using it. When our customers use it via IP, now, almost everybody has 10G. When they use the application, they have at least one gigabit for the application. Data Domain is capable of using smaller bandwidth and therefore I haven't had any complaints regarding how it's working. The main problem is not the backup, its costs vary. 

    The data has to get duplicated in blocks and sent across the network. It's optimized in such a way where when you bring back the data there is a process that will take place in the memory or the system in order together that data and compose the file. Then it will take it back to the network to where it will need to be stored. We have a fiber cable, so we are okay. We don't have a problem with this. However, smaller bandwidths may face issues.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    The scalability of the solution is excellent.

    We can start from many minimal configurations for SMB customers and we can scale it out for big a environment, for example, for different bank clients. It's suitable for all environments. It works well with other solutions as well, such as VM or TSM. 

    Any company can work with it and any company can expand it to fit their needs.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Dell works with partners in order to provide technical support, and as partners, we often troubleshoot for our clients. We are sent alerts the moment a ticket is opened and so we are able to see if there are problems happening right away. When it comes to hardware, we'll be able to see what parts get dispatched and we can follow everything. From a hardware perspective, support works very well and is very transparent. 

    From a software perspective, that's handled by a different team. If we have problems we can't fix we can apply for help to the software team. They can release patches and can inform us if an upgrade is mandatory in order to fix an issue. They are also very helpful and responsive.

    Overall, I would say we are quite pleased with the level of service we receive from Dell. 

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup is not complex. It's very straightforward. If you have a serial port opened up, and you configure the management port fees, first on the licensing, then it's really straightforward. However, if you have a different configuration, it may be a bit more challenging. Even so, it's not that complicated. It's 90% straightforward. If somebody is not comfortable with the console, they can use a web interface and it's fine. 

    What other advice do I have?

    Dell Avamar is a very good product. We've used it in the past when it was, let's say, one of the first solutions. I believe they offer duplication. Whenever Avamar came on the market, it was a revolutionary application. Right now, however, due to other software solutions not only for Dell EMC but for Avamar, it makes everything very good and also very bad from the sales point of view. 

    With aggressive marketing of products, clients may request the wrong product. Avamar isn't well-positioned in Romania right now. Data Domain is better. When clients ask for certain other products, we try to steer them to Data Domain. 

    Depending on the customer's needs, Dell can fit into all environments. If you want to have a very good backup appliance, then choose Data Domain because it will fit in almost everywhere. I don't think I know of another solution in which somebody can have a backup project or data protection where this product will not fit. 

    Technically speaking, I cannot make a comparison with other products, as this solution can fit almost everywhere.

    I recommend better sizing to the client. That's important. Customers need to take into consideration their needs very, very well so they don't end up with too small of a product. It's better to go a bit bigger if it will fit the budget. Of course, the technical requirements need to be addressed. Data Domain integrates well with other products. It's something to consider.

    Overall, I would rate the solution nine out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Partner
    PeerSpot user
    Buyer's Guide
    Dell PowerProtect DD (Data Domain)
    November 2022
    Learn what your peers think about Dell PowerProtect DD (Data Domain). Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: November 2022.
    655,113 professionals have used our research since 2012.
    Solutions Architect at a tech services company with 501-1,000 employees
    Real User
    Top 20
    Offers 99.999% uptime, has useful deduplication features, and offers great compression
    Pros and Cons
    • "The compression aspect of the solution is great."
    • "They're scalable."

    What is our primary use case?

    We use the solution as a backup and to restore applications. 

    It's business continuance versus disaster recovery. Business continuance is you lose some data at your data site or maybe get data corruption, due to malware, or somebody deletes something by mistake, and you've got to restore it. You go to your backup to do that, and that's business continuance. Disaster recovery is if your whole site's gone down and you need to run at another site. For business continuance, you need a product like Data Domain Power Protect.

    How has it helped my organization?

    There are capital expense benefits that you get if you're running into issues where typically, you're charged by how much physical space you take up. Data Domain or PowerProtect will save you expenses as you have physically less space. In other words, what deduplication and compression do, is, if you have 100 terabytes of physical storage and you're backing that up, maybe you're only backing it up to 30 physical terabytes on the appliance, on the Data Domain PowerProtect device. So you're saving a lot of physical space in your rack.

    What is most valuable?

    It has a feature where, instead of having a separate media server for backup to run the backup software, Dell now provides a version that runs it all together, so you don't need a separate media server.

    It has a feature called deduplication which saves you space in your rack. If you run somewhere else and you get charged for physical space. this avoids using extra space, and that's a big plus.

    The compression aspect of the solution is great.

    It is very reliable. They have 99.999% uptime.

    The product is scalable. 

    What needs improvement?

    Nothing comes to mind in terms of improvement. It serves its purpose. That said, if they could develop higher algorithms to make it more efficient, that would be great. 

    Usually, with the backup, the issue is how fast it can do it. As network speeds improve, the solution improves. It has to keep up with the available network speeds, however. For example, a 100-gigabit ethernet. They need to keep up with the advancements in network speeds, and ethernet speeds. If they keep up, instead of taking five hours to back up your daily workload, you may do it in three hours.

    It can be complex to implement.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've used the solution for five to six years. 

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    The solution is stable. The products are very, very reliable. They're designed for what they call 99.999% at least, which is less than an hour a year of downtime.

    It is very reliable. 

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    They're scalable. The Dell and HPE solutions are all scalable, and they can have up to, nowadays, multi-petabytes.

    You can go to the cloud as well to scale even further. You can have some of your data in the data center, and you're physically owning this product in your data center, and at some point in time, if you want to archive some of that, it goes to the cloud. That's usually through what they call an S3 interface, which is an Amazon AWS protocol. Amazon AWS has an interface to their S3 storage. All the vendors now have an interface regardless of whatever cloud it goes to; they have expandability scalability up into the cloud through this S3 interface that was made popular by Amazon Web Service, AWS.

    We're a vendor that sells the solution. Our clients decide when and if they scale. 

    How are customer service and support?

    I think it's a well-established product, and everybody understands the functionality.

    How would you rate customer service and support?

    Positive

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    We do deal with various other solutions. There are five others on the market. One is ExaGrid. IBM has another. 

    If somebody writes an RFQ, like a government agency, that says, "You guys have to tell me what's best," all those companies will be competing against each other.

    How was the initial setup?

    The setup can be complex. 

    You only need one person to implement the solution. 

    What about the implementation team?

    Usually, we recommend that professional services do the implementation. These solutions get more complex with all the different appliances and devices. We usually recommend that we include professional services to do it for the customer.

    What was our ROI?

    We have seen an ROI. You get the functionality, period. And whether you need something that's going to do the deduplication and compression is the additional benefit of this type of device. Companies can't run without a backup device. This is a backup target for your backup software, so you need to back up or lose your business.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    There are many different licenses, so you pay for what you need. There are various aspects you can add on, like extra speed, or something just for reading data. There are licenses to do replication as well. You have a lot of options. 

    What other advice do I have?

    We are dealing with the newest version of the solution. We sell it. We are not end-users. 

    I'm an engineer that helps with the sales teams. I'm the one who recommends these products and puts them together as a solutions architect.

    One client is going from two to three shelves, or 60 to 90 terabytes.

    The solution is comparable to other offerings and vendors. However, I've been pleased with its capabilities. I'd rate it nine out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer:
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Pre-Sales and Technical Manager at a tech services company with 11-50 employees
    Real User
    Top 5Leaderboard
    We use it to protect our file and email servers. It provides excellent deduplication features.
    Pros and Cons
    • "The feature that I have found most useful is its data duplication."
    • "When you use Data Domain, you have to have at least 20% free space so it can work properly. Sometimes we struggle with that, because we wanted to use all the free space, but then Data Domain becomes really slow. I understand that 20% is needed to process all the data, and doing the duplication and compression and all that, but it would be a big improvement if they did not require that 20%, because it is just too much to have available."

    What is our primary use case?

    We as a company use this product to protect our information. We have Data Domain combined NetWorker for our own company, and we also install and provide services around those solutions to our customers.

    In our company, Dell Data Domain is used to protect our servers (on-premises), where the most important servers for us are the File Server and the eMail server. The Dell Data Domain we have It´s combined with Dell NetWorker as the backup software. The Data Domain works as the repository of the information, taking advantage of the duplication and all the features that it has. We are getting about 30x as the deduplication ratio. It is managed by the software NetWorker, where all the backup policies reside. We have clients in all the servers directing information from the server to the Data Domain taking advantage of the software client direct feature. We make backups on a daily basis, as incremental backups, and over the weekend we have full backups. We have about 14 servers in our office. Mostly Windows and Linux.

    How has it helped my organization?

    Yes, Dell Data Domain has improved our organization's backup strategy. As I mentioned, our infrastructure has different types of servers, all of them are virtual servers based on VMware. Once we had to make a recovery and we used the Instant Recovery feature where we started the virtual machine over the Data Domain instead of the VMWare server. Then we used VMotion to move the virtual machine from the Data Domain to the VMware server. We were able to minimize the service failure to 15 minutes approximately. 

    What is most valuable?

    The feature that I find the most useful is its data duplication. We had been having problems doing backups for the file server because we did not have enough space to store our backups. Data Domain solved that problem for us.

    What needs improvement?

    In terms of what could be improved, when you use Data Domain, you have to have at least 15% to 20% of free space so it can work properly. I understand that space is needed to process all the data, but it would be a big improvement if we could use that space too.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    Just to give you a little background, I work for an integrator and we are also users of the technology. We have installed and used Data Domain for five to six years now. We also provide installation and support services for Data Domain for our customers. 

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    I think it is awesome. We've been using Data Domain for almost five years, and during this time we have only had one problem with one disk. We reported that to Dell and they sent us the replacement part and we only have to exchange the disk with the failure. 

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    We are looking at the scalability right now, because the family of Data Domain we have is already being replaced, so we are looking at changing the Data Domain. It seems that the upgrade will be easy, but we are still planning how to do the upgrade. 

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Sometimes it's difficult to reach the real experts to get a solution. The escalation process is not that great, but in the end, it works.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    Tape based backups

    How was the initial setup?

    I installed the Data Domain and it was really easy. 

    It is not a big Data Domain, so it was just mounted in our rack. We followed the initial setup where the IP and the name are configured. After that, most of the configurations had to be done over the software.

    The complex part of the configuration is in the backup server (software part), it is not in the Data Domain. The Data Domain was really easy to set up. The Data Domain setup took us about four hours.

    Our deployment plan was based on the installation of the hardware first, and after that, the software deployment, starting with the backup server.

    What about the implementation team?

    I implemented it alone.

    What was our ROI?

    N/A

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The licensing was not an issue because it is related to the software part. I'm not really sure about the price, because I think we've gotten a discount as we are partners.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    Traditional Disk-Based backups 

    What other advice do I have?

    The main consideration for anyone interested in Dell EMC Data Domain is to have a good initial sizing. The planning part at the beginning of the project is the most important. 

    On a scale of one to ten, I would give Dell EMC PowerProtect Data Domain a nine.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Partner/Integrator
    PeerSpot user
    Mina_Magdy - PeerSpot reviewer
    Senior Infrastructure Solutions Architect at Benya Systems
    Real User
    Top 5Leaderboard
    Powerful compression and deduplication, data integrity protection, and integrates well with software from different vendors
    Pros and Cons
    • "This solution has a feature called Domain Boost, which allows for source deduplication and compression."
    • "The software from Dell that can be used to operate Data Domain needs to have enhancements made to the user interface. It is too complex."

    What is our primary use case?

    We are a solution provider and this is one of the products that we implement for our customers. We do pre-sales activity, configuration, migration, integration, and more.

    We have a Data Domain on-premises in our business, and we also provide it to our customers. The entire suite contains lots of backup software.

    How has it helped my organization?

    The Data Domain is the only backup appliance that we are proposing to our customers. We sell it in conjunction with the Data Protection Portfolio from Dell EMC.

    Data Domain will not work without backup software. It integrates with Veeam and other products from other vendors, but the most beneficial backup process is when it's used with the Dell EMC Data Protection Suite.

    The only concern that we have about the Data Protection software from Dell EMC is the interface. There needs to be some sort of enhancement. Veeam has the number one backup GUI in the world and although Dell EMC has a good interface as well, it is not like Veeam. If Dell would further improve the interface then it would be very hard for others to compete.

    Dell has their own backup engine, which is remarkable. It is integrated with many enterprise applications, like SAP/HANA, Oracle eBusiness, Oracle Database, Hadoop, and more. However, because of this integration with complex enterprise applications, it comes with a complex interface. If they enhance this interface, it will be great.

    What is most valuable?

    This product has a lot of good features.

    It has the most powerful deduplication and compression for data backup. Data consumes a lot of storage capacity, but with Data Domain, it splits the data into many chunks. The data is managed with smart architecture and algorithms, saving between 80% and 90% from the target capacity. This means that for every tier of capacity, it may reflect 20 times that, which is remarkable.

    Data Domain has good data regulation features to prevent data corruption. Frequently with other products, users face data corruption. Data Domain always generates a hash from the target backup data and compares it with the hash of the data in production. This is done to make sure that the data is identical. If it detects a problem then it will rebuild the data on its own. This is why I recommend people make sure that they have a valid backup. In case of a crisis, it will restore and things will continue to function well.

    This solution has a feature called Domain Boost, which allows for source deduplication and compression. Backup data consumes a very heavy amount of traffic because you are transferring almost all of your production data across the network to the backup appliance. By using Domain Boost, it supports source deduplication and compression, so you are only transferring a very slight amount of data across the network. This will assure very rapid data backup, guaranteeing RPO and RTO.

    What needs improvement?

    The software from Dell that can be used to operate Data Domain needs to have enhancements made to the user interface. It is too complex.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    We began working with Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) approximately five years ago.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    This is a very stable and durable product.

    How are customer service and support?

    This product is backed by very powerful support from Dell. If there are any concerns then they become engaged very quickly. The support is very fast and very helpful.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    We began working with this solution before the migration between Dell and EMC.

    I have some experience with Veritas, and they offer backup appliances as well. However, they have nothing that can be compared to or compete with Data Domain. This solution from Dell EMC is the number one backup appliance.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup is very straightforward. Even the integration with different backup vendors is a straightforward process.

    What was our ROI?

    Although the price of this hardware backup appliance is expensive, it comes with its benefits.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The price of the backup appliance is slightly expensive. Compared to other vendors, the pricing will be slightly higher.

    The backup software from Dell that you can use to operate the Data Domain is very cheap, and there are many different plans that can be purchased as a subscription or full license. 

    What other advice do I have?

    My advice for anybody who is implementing Data Domain is to use the backup software from Dell EMC. Combined, you will get a very powerful package for backup that includes both software and appliance. These together come at a very affordable price against any combination from any other vendor.

    I would rate this solution a nine out of ten.

    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Partner
    PeerSpot user
    General Director at Miromix United
    Real User
    Top 5
    Reasonably priced, fairly priced, and reliable
    Pros and Cons
    • "The technology has been very useful. There are lots of features on offer."
    • "The initial setup is complex."

    What is our primary use case?

    We primarily use the solution for large backups. This is a piece of hardware that we can place software on. 

    It's used widely in some of the largest banks in our country - including foreign banks. They use Data Domain in petabytes. 

    What is most valuable?

    The specific algorithms of backups of the data deduplication are very good. For example, some of our competitors need much more space. When we have to use one additional enclosure, they have to use two times more. Data Domain has a lot of space. 

    The technology has been very useful. There are lots of features on offer.

    It's very competitive. We get discounts on pricing and find the cost to be quite good. 

    The solution is stable and reliable.

    It is scalable. 

    What needs improvement?

    We'd always prefer if there was even more competitive pricing since they are very close in price to Quantum. However, the pricing isn't too bad.

    The initial setup is complex. The installation process should be easier so you can install the solution without having specialized techs. 

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've used the solution for several years. It's likely been more than six years. 

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    The solution seems to be quite stable. We haven't had issues with bugs or glitches and it doesn't crash or freeze. It is reliable. 

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    It's a scalable product.

    How are customer service and support?

    Technical support is helpful. The Dell rep office in the country has many experienced techs. 

    We also have a lot of knowledge in our own right.

    From time to time, when we do need help, it's nice to have experienced techs we can reach out to. 

    The issue we have right now is spare parts. We're in Ukraine, and the war made it difficult at the outset. It has gotten better. It's okay at the moment. 

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    We've used a variety of different products. We use different brands simultaneously. It depends on the customer's needs. Some offer more competitive tenders, and some are used based on the government structure.

    How was the initial setup?

    The implementation can be complex. It's not very simple to set up.

    The deployment took a couple of days. 

    We typically have one or two engineers working with the solution. That's enough personnel to deploy and design the setup, et cetera. One person is quite enough to maintain the product.

    What about the implementation team?

    Our team handled the deployment of the product. We didn't need outside assistance. 

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The solution is reasonably priced. We get discounts as well. They remain competitive.

    It's a hardware solution. We don't have to worry about software licensing. We can use any software on it that the client likes.

    Data Protect, DP 400, and higher models include EMC software and a set of various different software.

    If you buy the unit, you pay for it for three or five years. They also offer support with a warranty that you can extend.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    When we help our customers or some governmental structures to prepare the documents for bidding for some tenders, we investigate the details and competitive features of our solutions. That includes Dell EMC, HPE, and Quantum Alliance. They are all very close in functionality.

    HP tends to have higher pricing; however, Quantum is quite close in terms of cost.

    What other advice do I have?

    We're a platinum partner.

    I'm using the latest version of the solution.

    We have certified engineers for Data Domain.

    I am the general manager of the company. I'm not an engineer.

    I'd recommend the solution to others. 

    I would rate the solution nine out of ten.

    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer:
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    ManuelIglesias - PeerSpot reviewer
    Solutions Architect at Open group
    Real User
    Top 5
    It has good compression and compatibility with a lot of different solutions.
    Pros and Cons
    • "Data Domain is an excellent repository that's compatible with a lot of different solutions. Even Veeam Backup recommends sending backup to Data Domain. Space optimization is great. Currently, it guarantees 50-to-1 compression of the application in the same device. In all these years, I never had a client who was unsatisfied with Data Domain. It is a solid appliance with VMware integration, instant access to restore and search, and analytics."
    • "Data Domain lacks compatibility with fiber channels and tapes. We can't use it with a tape library. That's an issue in Latin America sometimes because a lot of clients still use tapes for budget reasons. Maybe they have a lot of archives. In North America and Europe, they do a lot of archiving, but they use the cloud more than we do. Sometimes we have to put together a Frankenstein where we connect another server to the tape library and send all the data there."

    What is our primary use case?

    I'm an architect, so I only use Data Domain to design solutions for clients right now. I'm not using it so much as for management or administration. My clients all like it, and It's an effective storage system.

    What is most valuable?

    Data Domain is an excellent repository that's compatible with a lot of different solutions. Even Veeam Backup recommends sending backup to Data Domain. Space optimization is great. Currently, it guarantees 50-to-1 compression of the application in the same device. In all these years, I never had a client who was unsatisfied with Data Domain. It is a solid appliance with VMware integration, instant access to restore and search, and analytics.

    What needs improvement?

    Data Domain lacks compatibility with fiber channels and tapes. We can't use it with a tape library. That's an issue in Latin America sometimes because a lot of clients still use tapes for budget reasons. Maybe they have a lot of archives. In North America and Europe, they do a lot of archiving, but they use the cloud more than we do. Sometimes we have to put together a Frankenstein where we connect another server to the tape library and send all the data there. 

    I understand why integration with tapes isn't possible because they are designing these applications for the future. In the next decade, all the information will be sent through private and public clouds. It's a great way to send data. It can be software-defined, so you have lots of paths to send information, and it's it's not too slow, so I guess that's why they don't support tapes. When we have challenges with other providers, maybe an internal ID would help.

    Also,Dell's backup software comes in a lot of flavors, and there's a bundle that gives you all the functionality. You use this software to do this and another to do that. There isn't a single application that can do everything, and sometimes that makes some struggles.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I got my first Dell certification in Data Domain about six or seven years ago, but I've been working on it for maybe two years. 

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    We use other products, but it's not a one-to-one comparison with Data Domain because they're software solutions. For example, competitors like Veeam Backup have only one software solution that you can't license to other users. You have to buy the license for Veeam Backup for a socket, but it involves all the the functionalities. Maybe you have to buy a part of the instances for taking the backup for the databases. 

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    It's a perpetual license, but you pay monthly for support. If you're integrating with the cloud, you have to pay for using the cloud. That's the only recurring cost you have with this tool.

    What other advice do I have?

    Data Domain is a 10 for me. It's a great storage device.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Lead Engineer at a financial services firm with 10,001+ employees
    Real User
    Reasonably priced with good reporting and monitoring features
    Pros and Cons
    • "The stability is excellent."
    • "They need to make migration easier."

    What is most valuable?

    The cost is quite good if you look at the product. 

    It should provide everything that an enterprise needs. 

    It can back up all the workloads on-prem, off-prem, and mainly the VM infrastructure. You should be able to replicate to another site. 

    The reporting and monitoring features that it provides are great. 

    It offers security with the software.

    The stability is excellent.

    The solution scales well.

    What needs improvement?

    The new niche players are currently very good, but some things that they lack. As an example, NetApp Filer. There is no real partnership between different vendor platforms such as EMC or NetApp. They don't really talk that much. There needs to be better ease of use with like APIs and automation and things of that nature. Some vendors are more API friendly, some vendors are not. Being API friendly will help.

    EMC is just coming out with their global deduplication future with virtual addition and things like that. Which is still in the works.

    They need to make migration easier. 

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    The solution is very stable. there are no bugs or glitches. It doesn't crash or freeze. There is not any other storage, deduplication storage appliance, that will match Data Domain. That is pretty much as stable a product as we have seen.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    The solution can scale well.

    How are customer service and support?

    Overall, technical support has been pretty good. However, the support recently, the support that is coming in from India, is not as good as what we used to get before. In the past year, we have seen a significant drop in call response.

    How was the initial setup?

    When we installed the solution, pretty much the software all was new. It was Legato earlier and then it was using Networker version eight everywhere else. When we started deploying it, we started with version nine. We pretty much started with the latest versions of the software. There were some growing pains, however, we were able to step up the enrollment and it was good in the end. Beyond a few issues right at the outset, it was a good experience. 

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The cost is quite reasonable. 

    What other advice do I have?

    Earlier, when we started deploying, we had to use a single DDBoost user for each EMP. I don't know our storage unit, however, now, with the latest release, we can use multiple users. That is one good reason why people should start using this solution, as there is one DDBoost user per entry. That way, it is easier to migrate or move across, for example, during your tech refresh. When they offer some kind of a load balancing feature in front of Data Domain it will be a good thing. We know that they always have it in the roadmap, however, we have never seen that come through.

    I'd rate the solution at a nine out of ten.

    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free Dell PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.
    Updated: November 2022
    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free Dell PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.