Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) OverviewUNIXBusinessApplication

Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) is the #4 ranked solution in top Data Integration Tools. PeerSpot users give Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) an average rating of 8.2 out of 10. Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) is most commonly compared to Oracle Integration Cloud Service: Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) vs Oracle Integration Cloud Service. Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) is popular among the large enterprise segment, accounting for 73% of users researching this solution on PeerSpot. The top industry researching this solution are professionals from a computer software company, accounting for 23% of all views.
Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) Buyer's Guide

Download the Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: November 2022

What is Oracle Data Integrator (ODI)?

Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) is a data integration software solution that provides a unified infrastructure to streamline data and application integration projects. It uses a powerful design approach to data integration, which separates the declarative rules from the implementation details. The solution is based on a unique ELT (Extract Load Transform) architecture, eliminating the need for a standalone ETL server and proprietary engine. 

Oracle Data Integrator Features

ODI has many valuable key features. Some of the most useful ones include:

  • Automatic documentation generation
  • Visualization of data flows in the interfaces
  • Customization of generated code
  • Automatic reverse-engineering of existing applications or databases
  • Graphical development and maintenance of transformation and integration interfaces
  • Robust data integrity control features, assuring the consistency and correctness of data
  • Powerful core differentiators
  • Heterogeneous ELT, declarative design and knowledge modules
  • Flexibility and modularity
  • Oracle Data Integrator repository
  • Topology navigator
  • Operator Navigator
  • Security Navigator
  • Integrator Console
  • ODI domains

Oracle Data Integrator Benefits

There are many benefits to implementing ODI. Some of the biggest advantages the solution offers include:

  • Efficient architecture: Oracle Data Integrator has a simple architecture that utilizes the source and target servers to perform complex transformations, making it an efficient solution.
  • Supports all platforms: ODI gives you platform independence by supporting all platforms, hardware, and OSes with the same software.
  • Cost-effective: Oracle Data Integrator reduces costs associated with initial hardware and software acquisition, and also decreases maintenance costs because it eliminates the need for an ETL Server and an ETL engine.
  • Automatic detection of faulty data: By using ODI, faulty data is recycled before insertion in the target application, providing you with a data quality firewall.
  • Easy development and maintenance: With a low learning curve, Oracle Data Integrator increases developer productivity while facilitating ongoing maintenance. 
  • Active integration: ODI includes all styles of data integration: data-based, event-based and service-based.

Reviews from Real Users

Below are some reviews and helpful feedback written by PeerSpot users currently using the Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) solution.

Brian D., Business Process and Strategy Specialist Advisor at NTTData, says, “The Knowledge Module (KM) is my favorite feature of ODI. This is where I learned how to use variables to make jobs dynamic. I took that knowledge and created a KM that would go into iTunes and pull the sales of eBooks. Making something that is reusable, like a KM, is important to not only reduce build time but also maintenance in the future.”

Ashok S., Applications Support Manager at a marketing services firm, mentions, "The most valuable features of ODI are the ease of development, you can have a template, and you can onboard transfer very quickly. There's a lot of knowledge modules available that we can use. If you want to connect, for example, a Sibyl, SQL, Oracle, or different products, we don't have to develop them from scratch. They are available, but if it's not, we can go into the marketplace and see if there's a connector there. Having the connector available reduces the amount of hard work needed. We only have to put the inputs and outputs. In some of the products, we use there is already integration available for ODI, which is helpful."

Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) was previously known as ODI.

Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) Customers

Griffith University, Kansas City Power & Light, Keste, Raymond James Financial, Valdosta State University

Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) Video

Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) Pricing Advice

What users are saying about Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) pricing:
  • "The solution is expensive because of the model they use. The cost is for the license and for support."
  • "I have yet to determine the exact figure for Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) pricing, but it has lower pricing than Informatica."
  • "Per user, it is $900 USD per year, though they will give some discount. However, even a 60% to 70% of discount for each won't help us much. On top of that, there is the perpetual license you must pay at the outset."
  • "There is a standard license to use the solution but there are other costs in addition, such as hardware and operating system."
  • Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) Reviews

    Filter by:
    Filter Reviews
    Industry
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Company Size
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Job Level
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Rating
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Considered
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Order by:
    Loading...
    • Date
    • Highest Rating
    • Lowest Rating
    • Review Length
    Search:
    Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
    Ricardo Giampaoli - PeerSpot reviewer
    EPM/BI certified Consultant, Oracle ACE and TeraCorp Consulting CEO at TeraCorp Consulting
    Consultant
    Top 5Leaderboard
    We can make all the EPM tools work together as one and we can create a puzzle that will increase the performance and capability of all EPM tools.

    What is our primary use case?

    Very large and complexes environments implementation, 10000+ users with 24x7 global operation and multiple EPM tools working in sync.

    How has it helped my organization?

    For the EPM environment, the ODI is the key to transforming a good project into a great project. With ODI, we can make all the EPM tools work together as one and we can create a puzzle that will increase the performance and capability of all EPM tools. We can have an integrated environment and decrease the close time from two days to one hour.

    What is most valuable?

    It's the best tool for data integration. It can do anything you want, but the only downside is that you need to know what you are doing. You can take 10 times longer to do the same thing if you don't know how to use the tool.

    You have to know how to change the KM, how to use the dynamic coding, how to create dynamic models, and so on. In a lot of places, I see people using ODI wrongly, but the good thing about the tool is that isn't hard to fix common mistakes. With this you can improve performance, and in some cases, more than 10 times.

    What needs improvement?

    Right now, we have two very different GUIs - 11g and 12c. 11g is faster to develop than 12c as it takes more steps to do exactly the same as 11g, but you have a lot of things that you need to do yourself.

    12c implemented some things for which you have to use some specialized code automatically, like parallel data load, but it is slower to develop. For me, the best thing would be to merge the GUI from 11g into the capabilities of 12c.

    Buyer's Guide
    Oracle Data Integrator (ODI)
    November 2022
    Learn what your peers think about Oracle Data Integrator (ODI). Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: November 2022.
    655,774 professionals have used our research since 2012.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    More than 12 years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    There were issues mainly because of a Java memory leak.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    We have had no issues with scaling it for our needs.

    How are customer service and support?

    The technical support for EPM is bad. I don't remember anytime that the service support helped me with something. The problem is bigger when you have an environment with more than one product like Hyperion Planning and ODI.

    This happens because the products have different owners within Oracle and then different supports, and because of this, if you open a trouble ticket of loading data to planning and you say the words ODI, you'll be pushed around the two separate support teams indefinitely, even if your company has an Oracle support director just for you.

    How would you rate customer service and support?

    Neutral

    How was the initial setup?

    The bigger the environment, the bigger the challenge is you need to face. Maybe one day Oracle will integrate all their tools. It'll be easier, and the good thing is that I saw a lot of improvements over the years.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    All tools are expensive, but I think ODI is the most expensive since it depends on your sources and target databases. I think the best way to go is by doing packages and try to include free tools (if you buy Planning you have an ODI for BI licenses for free) or try to get discounts from your Oracle supplier. It's always good to explore what could happen if you get another tool or hardware together. Sometimes, you get more for less than if you get just one tool. Just be careful to not buy things that you won't use.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    I'm a consultant and my only evaluation was on the database. I decided on Oracle because of the database and during my career, their other tools are starting to come naturally.

    What other advice do I have?

    Because Oracle products are development frameworks, your final results are as good as the people that implemented it. Make sure that your implementation team is the best it could be, at least for the first implementation. If something is implemented incorrectly at the start, it'll cost you a lot more to fix than to build a new system from scratch. Sometimes it can be so badly designed that it is impossible to fix.

    I've been working on implementations for 21 years and I have seen bad implementations everywhere. In fact, I have seen the same tools implemented in the same team by two different people, with one being a success and the other a failure. In the same company, one department says that the tool does not work for them and another says that the tool is the best. The only difference was the implementer. Make sure you get a good team to implement it. The tool has its flaws but most of time (99%) it is the implementer's fault that you have a bad or slow model.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: PeerSpot contacted the reviewer to collect the review and to validate authenticity. The reviewer was referred by the vendor, but the review is not subject to editing or approval by the vendor. The reviewer's company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: We're platinum partners.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Ricardo Giampaoli - PeerSpot reviewer
    Ricardo GiampaoliEPM/BI certified Consultant, Oracle ACE and TeraCorp Consulting CEO at TeraCorp Consulting
    Top 5LeaderboardConsultant

    That depends. If you are issuing one command (like a MAXL command) the error will be the same error that you'll see in a DOS windows (not too helpful hehehe). But, you can use a extended version of "OS Execution" that allow you to write a .log and a .err file (The extension can be anything you like .txt, .xxx...). This normally gets more detailed info. With these you can check if the step error out and send a email with the link to the error file (that I normally create in the agent machine since is easier and a centralized place.

    If you want to run a script (like a huge script that does a lot of thing at once) it's a good idea to pass to the script as variables the log location, error location everything that you can from ODI, this way you can create generic scripts that changes the behavior depending of what ODI sends to it.

    Take a look here:
    https://devepm.com/2015/03/09/essmshodioscommandecho-trick/
    https://devepm.com/2012/11/30/10-important-things-to-improve-odi-integrations-with-hyperion-planning-part-3-third-command-tab/

    These, in my opinion, is the best feature of ODI. Command on source and command on target!
    Basically you can have a select in the source, and for each row it return, it runs something on target. Then if you pass the info from the source to the target, you change the behavior of the target.

    That means, you can create one script to, for example, load data and execute a rule in PBCS with EPM Automate and create just one step with a select on source that will inform the script all info to execute that through all your applications, even if the scripts change names or, paths or anything.

    Also, you can use instead of EPM Automate the API as well to do the same.

    You can also use the essbase API to get info from the application and use it to change your behaviors.

    you can do pretty much everything!

    See all 4 comments
    Applications Support Manager at a marketing services firm with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Real User
    Top 10
    Easy to develop, plenty of templates, and scalable
    Pros and Cons
    • "The most valuable features of ODI are the ease of development, you can have a template, and you can onboard transfer very quickly. There's a lot of knowledge modules available that we can use. If you want to connect, for example, a Sibyl, SQL, Oracle, or different products, we don't have to develop them from scratch. They are available, but if it's not, we can go into the marketplace and see if there's a connector there. Having the connector available reduces the amount of hard work needed. We only have to put the inputs and outputs. In some of the products, we use there is already integration available for ODI, which is helpful."
    • "The interface of ODI could be improved. For example, navigating and finding functions can be difficult. For example, you have to know which step you need to go to look at where your job status is. The logical step is a bit complex compared to other tools. It's much easier to get a graphical view, but with ODI, it's graphical, plus you have to know all the other pieces that fit around it. You have to think about the logical and physical aspects."

    What is our primary use case?

    We use ODI for integration services from different systems, such as finance systems and online display systems. Additionally, we integrate it with the external partners with ODI. 

    We use ODI in combination with the SFTP server.

    What is most valuable?

    The most valuable features of ODI are the ease of development, you can have a template, and you can onboard transfer very quickly. There's a lot of knowledge modules available that we can use. If you want to connect, for example, a Sibyl, SQL, Oracle, or different products, we don't have to develop them from scratch. They are available, but if it's not, we can go into the marketplace and see if there's a connector there. Having the connector available reduces the amount of hard work needed. We only have to put the inputs and outputs. In some of the products, we use there is already integration available for ODI, which is helpful.

    What needs improvement?

    The interface of ODI could be improved. For example, navigating and finding functions can be difficult. For example, you have to know which step you need to go to look at where your job status is. The logical step is a bit complex compared to other tools. It's much easier to get a graphical view, but with ODI, it's graphical, plus you have to know all the other pieces that fit around it. You have to think about the logical and physical aspects.

    One aspect I always struggle with is there's no single view to see which jobs are going to run or what time. You have to look around, it's very clunky. If you had a couple of agents, you can't see everything in one place. You have to go and look at an agent schedule and look at that, and then, go to another one to look. There's no single view that gives you the whole picture.

    What would be nice for us is, if ODI can easily integrate to GitHub, to allow us to have all our source code in GitHub rather than within ODI. This would be a very good feature, everyone is using GitHub.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) for approximately two years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    Since we moved to the new version, ODI has been very stable, and we haven't had any unplanned outages. We only have had planned outages, I'm pretty happy with it.

    The only issue we have had recently was when we patched ODI all the jobs that were supposed to be scheduled at 6:00, it ran seven hours earlier. It's a result of the patch. We were working with Oracle and they gave us a fix.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    The solution is scalable, we can increase the agents and let it do more work.

    We have approximately 12 people using the solution in my organization.

    We use this solution extensively without our organization.

    How are customer service and support?

    The technical support is very good. f you give them all the information, they seem to give you a solution pretty quickly. We have not had any issue with the support. However, we are using paid support and I am not sure if the regular support is the same.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    I've used other solutions previously, such as Microsoft tools, they are much easier to set up. ODI is a bit clunky to begin operations, it requires a longer learning curve.

    We are using this solution extensively.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup is complex, it took us three months.

    What about the implementation team?

    We reached out to Oracle and a few other partners that Oracle has but, in the end, we decided we should do it ourselves. If we did not do it ourselves we wouldn't have the knowledge of how to do it in the future. We received a quotation from them and then decided, we would do it ourselves, in-house.

    For all these cloud products, we have to patch them ourselves, it is not done automatically. I was expecting patching to be automatic but it is not. 

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The solution is expensive because of the model they use. The cost is for the license and for support.

    What other advice do I have?

    I would recommend it if they were an Oracle house mostly. It works very well with other Oracle products. If a business is not an Oracle shop, I would not recommend it. OBI understands Oracle E-business, Oracle CRM, and other Oracle products well. However, if you were to go to another company that had different products, ODI would struggle.

    I rate Oracle Data Integrator an eight out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Public Cloud

    If public cloud, private cloud, or hybrid cloud, which cloud provider do you use?

    Other
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Buyer's Guide
    Oracle Data Integrator (ODI)
    November 2022
    Learn what your peers think about Oracle Data Integrator (ODI). Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: November 2022.
    655,774 professionals have used our research since 2012.
    Rodrigo Radtke De Souza - PeerSpot reviewer
    Solutions Architect at a tech consulting company with 51-200 employees
    Consultant
    Top 10
    If it doesn't connect out-of-the-box to a specific technology, we can add a new technology into it.

    What is our primary use case?

    We mainly use ODI to integrate all of our EPM applications, which includes Essbase ASO/BSO cubes, Hyperion Planning, DRM and HFM applications. Also it is used to manage a custom data warehouse developed in Oracle DB which is used as source for OBIEE reporting.

    How has it helped my organization?

    We use ODI to integrate all Oracle EPM suite used in our financial area. ODI is the core engine used to move data across different applications every day. It’s by far the most important architectural element in our BI/EPM environment since all data passes through it.

    What is most valuable?

    ODI has the ability to connect to virtually any technology out there. If it does not connect out-of-the-box, we can very easily add a new technology into it. This flexibility gives a tremendous developmental advantage to its users, which can use ODI as the official ETL tool for any kind of integration project.

    Its Knowledge Modules (KMs) may abstract the “how” portion of integrations, allowing the users to focus on the “what” that needs to be done. It can be easily used by either young ETL developers or expert professionals.

    For resumes, the ease of use for young professionals and its great development flexibility for expert professionals make it a great product to be used for every ETL project out there.

    What needs improvement?

    In my opinion, ODI should connect to ALL Oracle products out-of-the-box, but currently that’s not the case for all of them. Hyperion Financial Management (HFM) is one of the Oracle products for which Oracle decided to remove its ODI support in its last product version. In other words, if you wish to use ODI and HFM together, both from Oracle, you will need to create custom code, which does not make any sense to me.

    Another area to improve would be the development life-cycle, which did improve in the latest ODI version, but needs further improvements.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    More than five years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    ODI 11 version is very stable. It can manage several parallel executions/large volumes without much trouble. I do see some complains about ODI 12 version, but I cannot share any opinion since I’m not currently working with it.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    ODI scales very well.

    How are customer service and support?

    This is a delicate subject. My experience with Oracle support has both great and very bad situations. If the problem that you are facing is only related to ODI, then your chances of having a great Oracle support experience are good. But if your problem involves multiple technologies, like ODI integrating EPM apps, then it is probably going to be a nightmare (and, unfortunately, most of the problems that will require support assistance will involve “multiple technologies”).

    This happens because Oracle supports different technologies with different teams and the communication between them seems complicated sometimes. Several times I was in a situation where teams would keep discussing who should fix the problem instead of actually fixing it.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    I've always worked with ODI for ETL development.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup is extremely easy and straightforward.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    ODI was the only option we considered.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: PeerSpot contacted the reviewer to collect the review and to validate authenticity. The reviewer was referred by the vendor, but the review is not subject to editing or approval by the vendor.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Alan Yves - PeerSpot reviewer
    Alan YvesBig Data / Business Intelligence / Datawarehousing at DWgrain (Client Health BIS)
    Consultant

    Hi Rodrigo,
    That is good to know those limitations on integrating ODI with EPM applications .
    In terms of the main RDBMS in the market I think ODI is quite good in providing the native drivers, when they don't we can find it and place on the ODI drivers folder and works but I guess sometimes there are some commercial roadblocks imposed by oracle, for example I had a hard time to connect ODI with a CRM on the cloud (Sales Force), we had to customize a webservice to accomplish the goal of the project, thankfully it worked fine but I found it really annoying because you could see they had deprecated the connector just because they wanted to force clients to buy Siebel instead, but Oracle realized it and they changed it in the Cloud option making it available to clients .

    Jagadish Sau - PeerSpot reviewer
    Technical lead at a transportation company with 10,001+ employees
    Real User
    Top 20
    Straightforward to implement, scalable, and has good stability and documentation, but technical support could still be improved
    Pros and Cons
    • "What I found most valuable in Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) is that it integrates well with almost all technologies currently being used in my company."
    • "An area for improvement in Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) is real-time integration. Currently, my company has a workaround to implement real-time integration, an area on which Oracle must focus more. Real-time integration should be easier in Oracle Data Integrator (ODI). Another area for improvement in Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) is integration with more publishers and subscribers rather than just database integrations."

    What is our primary use case?

    Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) is a typical data warehouse environment, pulling the data from ERP and different systems and getting the data into the data warehouse, which is my company's use case for Oracle Data Integrator (ODI).

    What is most valuable?

    What I found most valuable in Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) is that it integrates well with almost all technologies currently being used in my company.

    What needs improvement?

    An area for improvement in Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) is real-time integration. Currently, my company has a workaround to implement real-time integration, an area on which Oracle must focus more. Real-time integration should be easier in Oracle Data Integrator (ODI).

    Another area for improvement in Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) is integration with more publishers and subscribers rather than just database integrations.

    Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) has features that support at least ninety percent of my organization, so it's only real-time integration that I'd like to see in the next release of the solution.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've used Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) for around ten years, and I'm still using it.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) has good stability. It's much more stable compared to how it was ten years ago.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) is a scalable solution, for example, scaling an enterprise and implementing it for billions of projects.

    How are customer service and support?

    My rating for the technical support provided for Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) is three out of five. That aspect still has a bit of room for improvement.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup for Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) was straightforward, and Oracle has good documentation.

    What about the implementation team?

    The deployment for Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) was in-house.

    What was our ROI?

    There's ROI from Oracle Data Integrator (ODI), but I'm unsure how much my company invested and if it was a significant ROI. But definitely, there's ROI from the solution.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    I have yet to determine the exact figure for Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) pricing, but it has lower pricing than Informatica.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    For our current client, we didn't evaluate other solutions apart from Oracle Data Integrator (ODI), but for other clients, we evaluated Informatica and Talend. Pricing was a factor in why our clients went with Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) because Informatica has a much higher pricing than Oracle Data Integrator (ODI).

    What other advice do I have?

    My company has around ten users of Oracle Data Integrator (ODI). A team of two to five people handles the deployment and maintenance of the solution.

    The current client of my company has this plan of moving to the cloud, with the possibility of replacing the ETL tool altogether, which could mean that more data is coming up, so there may be a plan to increase the usage of Oracle Data Integrator (ODI).

    My advice to others looking into implementing Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) is that if your database is on Oracle or SQL server, then Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) is a good tool to use.

    My rating for Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) is seven out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Samir Bhattarai - PeerSpot reviewer
    Manager- Application and Cloud Services at a tech services company with 501-1,000 employees
    Real User
    Top 10
    Good plug-ins, capable of constant extraction, and is user-friendly
    Pros and Cons
    • "It's scalable."
    • "The price needs to be lowered. It's too expensive."

    What is our primary use case?

    We had an opportunity to set up a data warehouse. We were doing a complex stack of Oracle. The customer was using Oracle as their backend database.

    What is most valuable?

    It can extract all day. It doesn't look after any particular database. It is not platform-dependent, and that's the main thing that makes it really useful.

    It has good plug-ins.

    The studio was quite useful.

    It was a user-friendly product.

    The product is stable. It's scalable. 

    What needs improvement?

    The price needs to be lowered. It's too expensive. 

    There are a few other tools that can do what Oracle does. It's not necessarily the leader in the space. 

    As far as what I have learned from other people, I've heard that the Oracle console is big and confusing. If it was less complex, it would be easier to customize.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've used the solution for two or three projects. I last used it less than a year ago.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    This is a very, very stable product. It's reliable. There are no bugs or glitches, and it doesn't crash or freeze. 

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    The solution can scale well.

    How are customer service and support?

    I haven't created any tickets through support. However, my understanding is that, once you open a ticket, they will ask many, many questions, and they do resolve things. It can just be frustrating when you need a problem solved, and they just keep asking questions. There's a bit of going back and forth.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    We are actually moving away from Oracle, as it's not very reasonable cost-wise.

    What you can do on ODI, for example, can be done on SSIS from Microsoft too, which is free of cost.

    How was the initial setup?

    In terms of the initial setup, at first, it was a bit hard for me. That said, it is pretty straightforward once you are done with this data source connection tool and once you are done with this on the repository side. Setting up a reporting server was easy, however, doing the middleware, especially on the application server, was a bit tedious for me.

    I'd rate the setup process a four out of five in terms of ease of implementation.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    It's quite an expensive solution. We'd like it if they could adjust the pricing according to the region they are operating in. 

    Per user, it is $900 USD per year, though they will give some discount. However, even a 60% to 70% of discount for each won't help us much. On top of that, there is the perpetual license you must pay at the outset.

    I'd rate the cost at a one out of five in terms of affordability.

    What other advice do I have?

    I've used the solution mostly on the testing side. I haven't done anything on the client side or on the production side. 

    I'd rate the solution nine out of ten.

    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Partner / Reseller
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Swati-Singh - PeerSpot reviewer
    Assistant consultant at Tata Consultancy
    Real User
    Top 5Leaderboard
    Useful modules, reliable, and good support
    Pros and Cons
    • "The most valuable features of ODI are the knowledge modules, such as the Loading Knowledge module and the Check Knowledge module, they are helpful. We can check for the constraints in ODI. That helps in figuring out what are the constraints that are the primary keys created in the tables. We can check them with the Check Knowledge module."
    • "ODI could improve the ease of use. There is a steep learning curve to use the solution."

    What is our primary use case?

    ODI is used for reports. We feed the flat files into the solution to use them in reports. I create reports on the tables that are being loaded into the target tables.

    What is most valuable?

    The most valuable features of ODI are the knowledge modules, such as the Loading Knowledge module and the Check Knowledge module, they are helpful. We can check for the constraints in ODI. That helps in figuring out what are the constraints that are the primary keys created in the tables. We can check them with the Check Knowledge module.

    What needs improvement?

    ODI could improve the ease of use. There is a steep learning curve to use the solution.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) for approximately two years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    ODI is stable and it's good to work with.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    As the version of ODI is updated the solution scales. The scalability is based on the versions that are being provided for the product.

    We have three to four people using the solution in my company.

    How are customer service and support?

    I rate the technical support from ODI a four out of five.

    How would you rate customer service and support?

    Positive

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    I previously used Informatica and we switched because it did not support Oracle BI applications. If we stayed with Informatica we would have to use third-party tools.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup of ODI is not simple. We need to install Oracle BI applications to use ODI to access the tables that are built in or provided by Oracle. It is an on-premise system and it would help to make the process easier.

    What about the implementation team?

    We use a consultant for the implementation of ODI.

    We are having different environments for ODI and depending on many factors in those environments will dictate how many people we need. We have the development, testing, and production environment. We will need people for each of these areas. If it is a small firm or a mid-sized firm, and if the consultant has good knowledge, then they can manage the three environments, or else the work can be distributed. 

    For the deployment, we use eight people. If the project is a small size project with fewer tables, then it can be even done with three people.

    What other advice do I have?

    I recommend this solution to others. It helps to take training to use the solution.

    I rate ODI an eight out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Technical Lead at a computer software company with 10,001+ employees
    Real User
    Top 5
    Light on resources, good support, simple implementation
    Pros and Cons
    • "ODI's most valuable features are it utilizes the database engine and is very lightweight."
    • "ODI could improve by being more user-friendly. Informatica, which is also an ETL tool, similar to ODI, but Informatica is very user-friendly, easy to use, and simple to integrate, compared to ODI. ODI has many features, put them all together, and sometimes we get confused about which ones to use, which ones not to use."

    What is our primary use case?

    Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) integrates with the cloud, but the 12C version only can be integrated with the cloud. The best part of the ODI is, it does not have its own ETL engine of its own, it utilizes the database engine itself.

    We use ODI for data integration only, such as extraction, transformation, and loading of data from different sources into one particular database. Additionally, we use ODI for our data warehouse.

    What is most valuable?

    ODI's most valuable features are it utilizes the database engine and is very lightweight.

    ODI's ability to connect multiple types of database environments from a particular server, place, or system is beneficial. I can connect to many databases, such as Dev, UAT, production, or user acceptance test databases. All together in only one place. It's all about changing the context in that particular application. The moment you change the context, the ODI will start processing the data from different environments altogether.

    What needs improvement?

    ODI could improve by being more user-friendly. Informatica, which is also an ETL tool, similar to ODI, but Informatica is very user-friendly, easy to use, and simple to integrate, compared to ODI. ODI has many features, put them all together, and sometimes we get confused about which ones to use, which ones not to use.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) for approximately two years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    The stability of Oracle Data Integrator is very good.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    ODI is scalable, it is a matter of your configuration. If you configure the tools properly it is scalable.

    The solution can be used for small to large enterprises.

    How are customer service and support?

    I have been satisfied with the technical support.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    I have used other solutions previously.

    How was the initial setup?

    ODI has one of the easiest implementations out of all the others for a database.

    What other advice do I have?

    I would recommend using ODI if we are using an Oracle Database as your data warehouse, or as your primary database only. If not then I wouldn't recommend ODI to be used. 

    I have seen the newer cloud version and I think it is more user-friendly than the older versions.

    I rate  Oracle Data Integrator an eight out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: partner
    PeerSpot user
    Suruj  Nawosah - PeerSpot reviewer
    Head of ICT at AfrAsia Bank Limited
    Real User
    Top 10
    Scalable, good support, but price could improve
    Pros and Cons
    • "The most valuable feature of ODI is the to use of the whole ETL to create a data lake."
    • "We used a third party to do the implementation of ODI."

    What is our primary use case?

    Our ODI usage is expensive and is mainly for the extraction transformation and loading (ETL) of data from multiple sources to a data warehouse.

    What is most valuable?

    The most valuable feature of ODI is the to use of the whole ETL to create a data lake.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    We have been using Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) for approximately five years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    At this point in time, we are not satisfied with the stability. However, this is not because of the solution, but because of the deployment which was done in 2017, and the maintenance and upgrades that needed to be done, which were not done over time.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    ODI is a scalability solution as long as you are keeping it up to date with all the upgrades and patching, you can scale it a lot.

    We have approximately five engineers who direct users of ODI, and there is a great number who use the solution.

    How are customer service and support?

    We used technical support and they are good.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    We did not use a tool prior to ODI.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup of ODI was straightforward. The full implementation took us approximately two months because of our architecture, it was not the fault of the tool.

    What about the implementation team?

    We used a third party to do the implementation of ODI.

    We have approximately five engineers that do the maintenance and support the solution.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    There is a standard license to use the solution but there are other costs in addition, such as hardware and operating system.

    I rate the price of ODI a three out of ten.

    What other advice do I have?

    My advice to other people implementing this solution would be it is good as long as the context of the systems that they are using it. For example, if they are using a lot of Oracle technologies, then it makes sense to have ODI, otherwise, there are other tools that could make more sense.

    I rate ODI a seven out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.
    Updated: November 2022
    Product Categories
    Data Integration Tools
    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.