Coming October 25: PeerSpot Awards will be announced! Learn more

Visual Paradigm OverviewUNIXBusinessApplication

Visual Paradigm is #9 ranked solution in Business Process Design tools. PeerSpot users give Visual Paradigm an average rating of 8.2 out of 10. Visual Paradigm is most commonly compared to Sparx Systems Enterprise Architect: Visual Paradigm vs Sparx Systems Enterprise Architect. Visual Paradigm is popular among the large enterprise segment, accounting for 61% of users researching this solution on PeerSpot. The top industry researching this solution are professionals from a comms service provider, accounting for 22% of all views.
Buyer's Guide

Download the Business Process Design Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: September 2022

What is Visual Paradigm?
Visual Paradigm is a UML tool. The tool is designed for a wide range of users including software engineers, system analysts, business analysts and system architects, or for anyone who is interested in reliably building large-scale software systems using an object-oriented approach. In addition, Visual Paradigm supports the latest standards of UML notation.
Visual Paradigm Customers
Adobe, Apple, at&t, Caterpillar, Intel, NASA, Nokia, Toyota

Archived Visual Paradigm Reviews (more than two years old)

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Data Architect at a financial services firm with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Data modeling through an interface that makes it easy-to-use and understand
Pros and Cons
  • "The pricing model is attractive."
  • "The initial setup is straightforward."
  • "It is easy-to-use and it helps understand its data modeling structure through the intuitive user interface."
  • "There are some connectivity issues that crop up rarely when used with SQL Server."
  • "The solution can be heavy on resource usage."

What is our primary use case?

I used the product because I needed to do data modeling for financial services, risk management, and investment activities.  

What is most valuable?

I guess the most valuable feature is that I find it easy-to-use and understand its data modeling structure and user interface. It does database reverse engineering. It does database forward engineering. It tended to be quite good at all of those things.   

What needs improvement?

I do not think I really used it enough to find a lot of things that I did not like. It really did what I expected it to do. I did have some connectivity issues between Visual Paradigm and SQL Server in one instance but that would be the only thing that I think might need to be addressed as an issue. It is hard to tell if it was the product or something else within SQL Server.  

For how long have I used the solution?

I used Visual Paradigm in a previous organization for some time. On and off for maybe five years. I would not say I made extensive use of it as in I did not work with it every day, but I first started using it about five years ago and had to be relatively proficient with it.  

Buyer's Guide
Business Process Design
September 2022
Find out what your peers are saying about Visual Paradigm, Sparx Systems, Microsoft and others in Business Process Design. Updated: September 2022.
632,611 professionals have used our research since 2012.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

There was one particular bug that caused some instability issues. I can not remember what the cause of it was exactly, but Paradigm was having trouble with Microsoft SQL Server system versioning tables. It was only one of the tables that it had trouble with, and I do not know why. I actually never worked out why but I managed to work around the issue. It would just lock up in that one particular instance. That was the only problem with it that I had.  

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

We did not really test out the scalability because it was just me using it. I did not roll it out to teams or anything like that. So it was just me. I also did the maintenance on my own.  

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

In a previous organization, I had been using Visual Paradigm. I switched what I was using because I came to this organization and they are using ERwin. I did a little research into both the products for the sake of comparison and to see what the differences are and to gauge familiarity.  

How was the initial setup?

The initial installation was very easy and straightforward.  

What about the implementation team?

I did not use the help of any consultants or tech support and got it up and running on my own pretty easily.  

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

You can use Paradigm on a subscription basis and you can choose from different tiers of subscription. If you do not use the product much, you can only pay as little as $6 US a month. If you want to use some of the very advanced features for it, you pay as much as $197 a month. One of the nice things is that you can move between the tiers from month to month so you are not restricted to one pricing model.  

What other advice do I have?

The advice I would give to people looking into this product is that I would suggest for them to try it. It is priced really well with an attractive pricing model.  

On a scale from one to ten (where one is the worst and ten is the best), I would rate Visual Paradigm by giving it eight-out-of-ten. It could not really be any higher because of the connectivity issues I experienced with SQL Server. Also, I had a pretty good machine at the time and I got the impression that Paradigm could be quite a heavy user of resources. It took a lot of memory when it ran.  

Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

On-premises
Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
PeerSpot user
Senior Business Analyst at a tech services company with 11-50 employees
Real User
User friendly with lots of templates and is consistently updated with more features
Pros and Cons
  • "The solution is very user-friendly. It's easy to just open it and start working."
  • "The solution could be more compatible with other products in the future."

What is most valuable?

The solution has a community edition, which makes it free of charge. I'm using the community edition myself within our organization. We are a small team and it's easier for us to find free options. 

Visual Paradigm is great due to the fact that there are lots of templates in their product. 

The solution seems to be constantly improving itself with regular updates and add-ons.

The solution is very user-friendly. It's easy to just open it and start working.

What needs improvement?

I'm not sure what is missing within the solution. We haven't used it long enough to really dive deep into its features and usability, as we've only worked on a few projects.

There might be a better solution on the market, however, this is the only solution I'm really familiar with at this point.

The solution could be more compatible with other products in the future.

For how long have I used the solution?

I've been using the solution for more than a year. We've used it on one or two projects.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

We have the July 22, 2020 release right now, and it is very stable. There aren't any issues with it at all. We haven't seen any bugs or glitches. It doesn't crash or freeze. It's been reliable for our organization.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

The solution is a single modeling software. Therefore the scalability question isn't really applicable. 

We're a small firm. We don't have a lot of users and don't need to add a lot of people on a regular basis. There are only three consultants on our team. In total in the company, there may only be 10-15 people. Therefore we don't need to scale per se.

How are customer service and technical support?

We have a very simple community edition. We've never had to reach out to technical support. If we need assistance, we have another IT firm that can assist us. In terms of if we have any how-to questions, we typically just turn to Google and search for answers that way.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

We are also using process design software. I can't recall the name. It's a market leader visualizing for software. It's similar to Microsoft Visio, however, it is called something else.

How was the initial setup?

The initial implementation is not difficult or complex. It's quite easy and straightforward. 

Deployment is also easy. You just take the tool and install it. We use it on Microsoft Windows and have never had any issues.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

We use the community edition, which is free. There are no licensing costs and no other costs above this.

What other advice do I have?

I'm a consultant. We're just customers and we're simply using the free version of the product as we're a pretty small company.

Overall, I would rate the solution eight out of ten due to the fact that it's a great solution. That said, I have no real comparison. I've used only really used this solution. 

Currently, I'm learning about this solution and process mining and solutions like UiPath as well. We're moving towards the RPA world.

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
PeerSpot user
Buyer's Guide
Business Process Design
September 2022
Find out what your peers are saying about Visual Paradigm, Sparx Systems, Microsoft and others in Business Process Design. Updated: September 2022.
632,611 professionals have used our research since 2012.
MahdiJalali - PeerSpot reviewer
Founder at Rozhmaan
Real User
Top 10
Scalable, stable, and affordable
Pros and Cons
  • "The solution is stable. It hasn't crashed, stopped or caused any issues in any way."
  • "The solution is not user-friendly. It uses a lot of memory and CPU. You have to have a good computer to use it."

What is our primary use case?

We primarily use the solution for different kinds of analysis such as software analysis.

What is most valuable?

The solution allows for different models to be integrated together. For example, if you have a chart or more than four organization charts, then you can use the concepts in your BPM and model. Or your BPM and model can be linked to visual models or use cases.

What needs improvement?

The solution is not user-friendly. It uses a lot of memory and CPU. You have to have a good computer to use it.

The solution should allow for more integration between PowerDesigner and Visual Paradigm.

For how long have I used the solution?

I've been using the solution for more than seven years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

The solution is stable. It hasn't crashed, stopped or caused any issues in any way.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

The solution isn't as scalable as, for example, PowerDesigner.

How are customer service and technical support?

I haven't been in contact with technical support.

How was the initial setup?

The initial setup is straightforward. The implementation is similar to other software solutions. It's a fast routine process.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

The pricing on these types of tools is really affordable.

What other advice do I have?

We use the public cloud deployment model.

I'd rate the solution eight out of ten.

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
PeerSpot user
Owner at a tech services company with 1-10 employees
Real User
A nice user interface and a low learning curve works well for me as a consultant
Pros and Cons
  • "I like the fact that this solution is complete."
  • "I would like to see something for visualizing innovation work maps."

What is our primary use case?

I am a consultant, and I use this solution to model various business needs to show my clients. I run this solution in a Linux environment.

What is most valuable?

I like the fact that this solution is complete. It doesn't matter whether I want to draw a quick UML model, or a mind map, or some architecture or business motivation. It's in the tool, and there's not much that I can't do with it.

This product has a very low learning curve and I like the user interface.

What needs improvement?

I would like to see something for visualizing innovation work maps. I created my own template in LibreOffice Draw, but it would be nice if there were something like that in Visual Paradigm. What I do now is to use the export functionality in Visual Paradigm to save the images and then place them into LibreOffice Draw. That way, I can make a nice, A0 paper-sized visualization of the innovation work map. It would be nice if it were integrated so that I could do it all within the Visual Paradigm, and have one export.

The other thing that needs improvement is pricing. I have considered halting my license and not upgrading from the current version because of this.

For how long have I used the solution?

More than ten years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

I've never had any crashes, so I am very happy with the stability of this solution.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

Since I am a one person company, I am not sure about scalability. These days there is a cloud repository, which could be interesting, but in the end, you just install it on your local machine and you connect to the repository. It shouldn't be hard to scale.

How are customer service and technical support?

Technical support for this solution is excellent. In the past, there have been a couple of occasions where I spoke with support, many years ago. They were very helpful and I am still a satisfied customer.

How was the initial setup?

The initial setup is easy. In all of these years, I have only had issues installing it one time. It is a Java-based script, and it just runs.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

When I first started using Visual Paradigm, one of the things that I liked was the price. It was not too expensive for a low learning curve. Over the years I've seen an increase in price, and it makes it difficult for a single person company, like me, to decide whether to extend the license.

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

We evaluated other products before selecting this one, including Enterprise Architect.

What other advice do I have?

When it comes to using the product, there is a learning curve, and it depends on how you want to start using it. If it's just for quickly modeling something to visualize the problem or explain stuff, it's not that hard. If you really want to build your enterprise repository, of course, you still need a lot of principles and guidelines on how you want to use it for the enterprise. With the tree structure for modeling, it's actually pretty easy to change things.

My advice is simply to start using it. I know the ARIS and Enterprise Architect products. I also know tools like ArchiMate. Then there are visual design tools for architecture, but in the end, of all of the products that I've seen so far, Visual Paradigm has one of the lowest learning curves.

I would rate this solution a ten out of ten.

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
PeerSpot user
Architekt IT at BIK
Real User
Although it helps with design and control it needs an easy export capability

What is our primary use case?

We primarily use the Solution Architecture Models and the Enterprise Architecture Model.

How has it helped my organization?

We designed the Enterprise Architecture Model in this tool.

What is most valuable?

Using the Component Diagram, Visual Paradigm helps with design and control, reusing components.

What needs improvement?

I would like to see the ability to easily export to groupware, such as Atlassian Confluence.

For how long have I used the solution?

I have used this solution for a few years.
Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
PeerSpot user
Petr Klučka - PeerSpot reviewer
Business & Enterprise Architect at a tech services company with 501-1,000 employees
Consultant
Provides the features for Enterprise Architecture, Project Management, and Software Development

What is most valuable?

One tool for everything which provides all the features you need for an Enterprise Architecture and Solution Architecture.

Wide language coverage for architecture modeling, system design, and software development, e.g., ArchiMate, UML, BPMN, SysML, SoaML, CMMN, ERD, and ORM.

Methodology incorporated in the tool through guides: Zachman, TOGAF ADM with Documentation Cabinet (new from version 14), and Business Motivation Model.

Support for model requirements management, a tool for textual analysis, business concept diagram, and glossary grid.

Intuitive tool control for model creation:

  • Simple dragging of elements and links from the menu to the model.
  • Context menu whose functions are specific to the element type or bindings in the model.
  • Resource Navigator that supports the syntax of a given modeling language.
  • Element/relation reference: any file/folder, URL, shape, reference to another element.
  • Set of transit To/From (any diagrams), best to facilitate navigation in a complex model.
  • Custom TAGs (Element Labels with Values, many Attributes Types).
  • Stereotypes (metadata, TAGs, +graphic visualization).
  • Specific repository views: Navigator chart, Model explorer, Class repository, Logical view.

ORM: Reverse/code generation (Java classes, Hibernate, database (SQL including DDL, test data generation, 19 vendors DB) - application and data migration is a easy when you know how to do it.

Repository:

  • Local: File system (multiple workspaces)
  • Server:
  1. On-premise Team Work Server (TWS purchased separately) with access from the Internet.
  2. Cloud VPository (1GB free, thin editor for some types of models).

Robust: No problem with a large number of elements and links in the model (verified on large projects with hundreds of diagrams and tens of thousands of elements and links)

OpenAPI: Very well documented, the ability to create custom plugins or applications for integration into a comprehensive solution.

Document Generator: PDF, HTML, DOC that you can customize to your needs (easy use of DOT templates in Word), order and topicality of documentation is the basis of the work of an architect

Interoperability: Export/import (16 formats) such as Excel, XML, XMI, OGAMEFF...this is very important: openness, not closing yourself off.

Tiny, but important details: Language localization, matrix/chart for analysis, overview diagrams, mind maps, brainstorming tool, visual layers in the model, teamwork comments, rights and permissions within the project - important for specific requirements, never work yourself.

How has it helped my organization?

Understanding the current state of enterprise architecture, incentives for: changes, backgrounds for strategy, cost savings, and process optimization.

What needs improvement?

The speed of redrawing elements and links in complex models - When you need to move part or all of the diagram across the diagram, the tool has a slow response when redrawing objects.

Analytic functions/graphs, like BizzDesign - powerful analyses and visualizations for different stakeholders, use heat maps, charts and graphs to highlight business-relevant data in architecture

8/8/2017 EDIT: Export in OGAMEFF format has bugs.

For how long have I used the solution?

We have been using this solution for five years.

What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

No.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

There were no stability issues. Just the little things that were patched.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

There were no scalability issues. The client tool does not have extremely high-performance requirements, but a solid workstation/notebook is needed. In other words, SSD, with at least 2GB of RAM. Mainly, it wants a big monitor or two.

The server repository runs smoothly (>two core), with the appropriate disk space to store models (tens to hundreds of MB).

How are customer service and technical support?

Customer Service:

Standard level: User's Guide, Forum, Know-how, and FAQ.

Technical Support:

The technical support level is good. Their response time is excellent (hours). They can do a patch in a few days and bigger changes in the release update which can take weeks or months.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

I did not use a different solution before. I had no reason to switch to another tool due to lack of functionality.

How was the initial setup?

It was a usual installation. The initial setup of the tool can be difficult for the novice. It requires an orientation in a number of options and concepts that are not trivial

What about the implementation team?

No.

What was our ROI?

Depending on how it is used, it is generally possible to speak about months.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

Obtain a floating license for a client tool, because not everyone is working with the tool all the time

In case of team use, consider sharing a shared repository: Teamwork Server (bigger investment). Think about what edition of the tool you need. These involve greater price differences

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

Evaluated Sparx EA, PowerDesigner, and Visio.

What other advice do I have?

Experience - Go for a trial version.

Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Product reseller for Czech Republic
PeerSpot user
PeerSpot user
System Administrator at a computer software company with 11-50 employees
Real User
The program or suite felt complex at first, but once you dive in, you feel there’s a lot of things you can achieve for your UML documents.

I’ve used Visual Paradigm 8.0, and if I remember correctly, the Suite 4.0 from Object Management Group (OMG). The program or suite felt complex at first, but once you dive in, you feel there’s a lot of things you can achieve for your UML documents. 

In addition, the integration with Java helped us to produce UML from coding, and the reverse as well, so one part of the team could work as Architect of the solution, while the other part could work as Developers.

Among our different projects, we had to model the processes of the warehouse and stockrooms for a retailer store – like Target. The BP Visual Architect and the DFD were used to that end. The program allows us to save our work in many available formats, like *.jpg our *.ping.

I would recommend using Visual Paradigm for the following reasons:
· Supporting many types of diagrams
· Support of the Business Process Modeling 
· Ease of translating between UML and programming language
· Ease of work in teams.

I would suggest the shortening and/or hiding some of the information when working on Visual Paradigm, especially when translating from code to UML. Some of the classes we create in Java may contain a lot of methods and variables. I feel we do not need to see all the available methods on the image itself, but should be made accessible when drawing a link between said class to another one (for example the class Car calling the class Wheel with a specific UML relationship). Paradigm, especially when translating from code to UML. Some of the classes we create in Java may contain a lot of methods and variables. I feel we do not need to see all the available methods on the image itself, but should be made accessible when drawing a link between said class to another one (for example, the class Car calling the class Wheel with a specific UML relationship). 

I don't quite remember if could change the color of the class in the UML, because although blue is among my favorite colors, I would maybe change it for something lighter or different color altogether. 

As integration goes, the Suite works wonders when you bounce from coding to document redaction (producing the sets needed of UML), because you just need to translate from one to another, given your programs of coding allows it, like Eclipse does. 

If I were to work with another product that still offer great UML capabilities, it might be time consuming when working in both worlds. 

Also, I feel there's a greater cooperation in the team when everyone can work with the same set of tools.

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
PeerSpot user
PeerSpot user
Systems Architect at a aerospace/defense firm with 51-200 employees
Vendor
Easy images from diagrams for reports and docs are valuable features, but I'd like to see sharing come built-in.

What is most valuable?

Easy images from current diagrams for use in reports and architecture documents.

How has it helped my organization?

Like any reasonable Architecture Tool, it produces standard views and allows passing a file with work in it to others.

What needs improvement?

Many missing diagram formats, incomplete support for DoDAF, ToGAF and similar, sharing should come built in to the product and not be like so many other architecture tools where any time you need some it is at additional cost.

For how long have I used the solution?

2 years.

What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

No issues with deployment.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

Not significant with current versions.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

No built in teamwork.

How are customer service and technical support?

Online support is very lacking and appears to be an entre' for paid support.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

Used Rational Rose and Systems Architect in the past. Moved to a new company where this was the standard.

What was our ROI?

Reduces time and provides better products than PowerPoint engineering.

What other advice do I have?

Get a bundle deal from the vendor with teamwork built in.

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
PeerSpot user
Buyer's Guide
Download our free Business Process Design Report and find out what your peers are saying about Visual Paradigm, Sparx Systems, Microsoft, and more!
Updated: September 2022
Product Categories
Business Process Design
Buyer's Guide
Download our free Business Process Design Report and find out what your peers are saying about Visual Paradigm, Sparx Systems, Microsoft, and more!