Coming October 25: PeerSpot Awards will be announced! Learn more

Planisware OverviewUNIXBusinessApplication

Planisware is #9 ranked solution in top Project Portfolio Management tools. PeerSpot users give Planisware an average rating of 7.8 out of 10. Planisware is most commonly compared to Planview PPM Pro: Planisware vs Planview PPM Pro. Planisware is popular among the large enterprise segment, accounting for 73% of users researching this solution on PeerSpot. The top industry researching this solution are professionals from a computer software company, accounting for 18% of all views.
Buyer's Guide

Download the Project Portfolio Management Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: September 2022

What is Planisware?
Resource and cost scheduling, time tracking, risk and document management in a collaborative environment. Software solution that supports the end-to-end governance of company portfolios, from finance and resource planning, to the life cycle management of products.
Planisware Customers
Apotex, Alstom Transport, HP, Stryker, Rexam, Jotun, Gelita, Kraton Performance Polymers, Abbvie, Rio Tinto Alcan, Maruho, Teva, SK Chemicals

Planisware Pricing Advice

What users are saying about Planisware pricing:
  • "There are training and certification costs."
  • "The solution could be less expensive and the cost of scaling is expensive too."
  • Planisware Reviews

    Filter by:
    Filter Reviews
    Industry
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Company Size
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Job Level
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Rating
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Considered
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Order by:
    Loading...
    • Date
    • Highest Rating
    • Lowest Rating
    • Review Length
    Search:
    Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
    John Andrew Kossey - PeerSpot reviewer
    Planisware implementation at a pharma/biotech company with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Real User
    Top 10
    Capably brings single source of truth to enterprise project portfolio management; provides consequential, flexible data display with effective visualization; integrated use of Agile, Kanban

    What is our primary use case?

    Resource forecasting and demand planning. Users can do both short-term and long-term planning. Generic resources and named resources can be structured according to corporate need.

    Using an integrated Organizational Breakdown Structure (OBS; sometimes called Responsibility) distinct from the Resource Breakdown Structure gives substantial reporting flexibility out of the box. (Of course, each company has to populate those structures with applicable internal data.)

    Making use of a consistent, organization-specific activity type categorization (WBS type) facilitates creation of project templates.

    A distinct advantage of Planisware Enterprise is that any given customer installation can respond to local priorities, such as scheduling or time reporting, then phase in other priorities in your application roadmap over time. Functionality is enhanced and made easier to use with a cohesive set of modules. 

    Planisware Enterprise offers very practical dashboards and bubble charts that visualize integrated advanced analytics. KPIs include: resource load and risk levels; net present value; return on investment. Project data cleanly consolidates to portfolio views.

    How has it helped my organization?

    Planisware Enterprise offers very practical dashboards and bubble charts that visualize integrated advanced analytics. KPIs include resource load and risk levels; net present value; return on investment. Project data cleanly consolidates to portfolio views.

    Data exchange and integration with Office 365 and Google Suite applications continues to mature. Project managers can work productively from within Planisware Enterprise. Native access to MS Office Online applications from within E7 include interactive editing and data integration from corporate email, documents, and worksheets. Planisware project data, graphs, and consolidations can flow into PowerPoint slide presentations.

    Software as a Service (SaaS) speeds up deployment and simplifies maintenance. Planisware earned ISO 27001 certification in late 2019Q1 for superior data security. Hosting E7 on local Linux servers remains an alternative 

    Standardized colors and clearer icons have made the overall interface more modern, inviting, and usable than earlier releases. Documentation and tutoring videos, accessible to users online from within Planisware, has become abundant and professionally edited to a high standard. 

    What is most valuable?

    Historically with Planisware, the load array, a feature that has been available since the 1990s with improvements, enables very flexible time slicing that surpasses such reporting capability via Excel. In concert with native and composite cost curves, the load array charts provides thoughtful, adaptable consolidation and drill-down for time-phased data such as capacity (resource availability) and demand (planned or archived hours on tasks).

     

    Planisware Explorer (PEX) offers enhanced capabilities for reporting and charting that goes beyond the functions in the Report Builder module, such as dynamic queries. PEX requires extra training for operational proficiency, typically from multiple fee-based Planisware courses.

    Administration module enables super-user to control visibility of modules for regular Planisware users. The Data page shows available Object types.

    E7 improves documents management to centralize communications among project users and stakeholders. Because the documents are included in each Planisware environment/configuration, messaging and documents associated with projects are easier to access than being spread through normal corporate email. Planisware stores project related documents and messages in a single database. Snapshots (backups) at a given point in time are easy to make and restore to alternate environments, even on an automated nightly basis.

    Program and project roadmaps integrate well with PowerPoint. Slide elements are editable and dynamically linked (if so specified) to detail projects. Capability to drill down into project specifics is mature, native functionality.

    Strategic Portfolio module offers an OKR page (objectives and key results) to connect specific company strategy with defined measurable actions.

    What needs improvement?

    Historically, some releases--even with extensive delays from initial announcement--had minor, yet troubling glitches. Planisware Enterprise has been addressing this shortcoming with more frequent releases that include helpful improvements. 7.0.0 release was January 2021; 7.0.1 March 2021; 7.0.2 July 2021; 7.0.3 December 2021; 7.0.4 March 2022. Documentation has become much more thorough and clearly illustrated. Release notes for 7.0.4 has 133 pages. In my experience, small irritations I reported in E7 have been fixed in several days.

    SaaS provisions that Planisware provides in relation to security are superior to what smaller organizations can afford. Planisware SaaS no longer relies upon third-party providers. Faster data response time is a user benefit.

    Availability of Planisware software as a service (SaaS) contributes to operational stability; your team still needs to keep the configuration responsive to evolving business needs. Each customer has responsibility for continuing to grow "know why" as well as "know how."

    Here is a long-term issue to weigh with Planisware SaaS: When only Planisware's staff makes operational and development changes to your production environment, technical capabilities on the customer side may not mature, resulting in over-dependence on the vendor.

    Discussions with fellow Planisware customers conclude that commitment to achieving and sustaining product proficiency across versions is a key best practice. At-cost Planisware certification courses can provide training for a corporate customer's advanced users (those responsible for maintaining L1 level changes).

    One function I have requested for P6 and now in E7 is a comprehensive, detailed listing of attributes across modules somewhat similar to attribute display in OPX2 versions (pre-P5). Some few attributes (e.g., Z-order) are difficult to document completely.



    Buyer's Guide
    Project Portfolio Management
    September 2022
    Find out what your peers are saying about Planisware, Broadcom, Microsoft and others in Project Portfolio Management. Updated: September 2022.
    632,611 professionals have used our research since 2012.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    One year in E7; eight years in P5 and V6; over ten years in earlier OPX2 versions since 1998

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    Stability, particularly with Linux hosting of Intranet Server, is consistently good. Most cases of stability problems traced back to incorrect data, such as schedule dates that are impossible in the real world. Identifying and fixing bad data resolved stability issues about 80% of the time. In one or two cases since 2002, a Planisware update (patch), in one incident received within twenty-four hours after reporting, remedied incorrect data handling.


    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    Planisware scales effortlessly when hosted on decent Linux Server(s) with ample RAM and sufficient CPUs. 

    In a SaaS environment, what Planiware determines is adequate performance by sevice level agreement may not align with your company's users over time. Planisware can upgrade servers your organization uses after appropriate negotiation. 

    How are customer service and support?

    Customer Service:

    Very good overall. Planisware tries to be customer-centric. Their approach has been primarily reactive to customer questions and concerns, not proactive and comprehensively enabling. Customers typically receive better answers and solutions when they are politely aggressive with Planisware.

    Technical Support:

    Between good to excellent, depending upon the proficiency of the individual Planisware consultant who responds. In my experience, some answers via SupportUS have been incorrect. The majority of responses are helpful and valid.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    My first experience in 1998 was spearheading selection and adoption of a commercial, off-the-shelf project management package to replace a "home-grown" project management program that was not Y2K compliant. Flexibility and configurability of Planisware were compelling business advantages compared to the competition.

    How was the initial setup?

    Scope of implementation, both for initial setup and major updates, calls for multi-talented team effort.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    It is customary to have at least three distinct Planisware environments per customer: develop; test; production. I recommend planning for a playground environment (similar to develop) to allow pretesting of new releases without disturbing the integrity of the current develop environment). Having a distinct train environment allows new users to gain operational proficiency without compromising production. One operational question that repeatedly occurs is, "what has changed overnight?" An automated nightly backup environment can be of great help in answering these questions quickly. If your organization uses a monthly or quarterly point of reference for project data, one or more environments for keeping this copy accessible  records can help greatly.

    What other advice do I have?

    Establish a priority of gaining technical proficiency with Planisware's tools so that your company can handle internally the vast majority of ongoing operational improvements.

    I recommend nightly proactive analysis of Planisware Intranet Server log files to pinpoint issues before they become troublesome to the user community. Typical problem resolution investigation tends to fixate reactively on user-reported glitches and may miss emerging trends. Proactive global analysis of log files can reveal quantitative correlation over time of application stability and health. Creating timely Planisware versions is also beneficial.

    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Nishant Rao - PeerSpot reviewer
    Practice Head - Wipro Digital - PPMS at Wipro Limited
    Real User
    Top 5
    Adaptable, simple to install, and prompt technical support
    Pros and Cons
    • "There are two things in particular that I enjoy. The first is the portfolio planning section. Another advantage is that it is highly customizable."
    • "They do not have anything that can assist customers with multi-year roadmap planning."

    What is our primary use case?

    Planisware is used for project management, resource planning, and effort trackings such as time sheets. You can use it for financial planning, portfolio planning, for enterprise portfolio, where you can define what your cost will be. Planisware can do all of these things.

    What is most valuable?

    There are two things in particular that I enjoy. The first is the portfolio planning section. Another advantage is that it is highly customizable. We can tailor it to the needs of the customer.

    What needs improvement?

    They do not have anything that can assist customers with multi-year roadmap planning. A feature that allows you to capture details about what kind of roadmap you have for the next phase, three years, and then track at the CIO or management level, is one thing that is lacking, and an area they can work on it.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    We have been working with Planisware for more than 10 years and we have more than 30 consultants in Planisware.

    Planisware can be deployed on-premises or in the cloud. there is a mix of junior and senior people.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    It is very stable. 

    I have customers who have been using it for more than five, or seven years and are very happy with the availability. Some of them are also moving to a SaaS environment.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    Planisware is a highly scalable solution.

    How are customer service and support?

    I have not directly contacted technical support. My team works for customers, and they get involved, but I've heard that it's quite prompt. They have a good technical product and a technical support team that assists various customers.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup is fairly straightforward. When Planisware sells its application, they have its own people install and configure it. That's how it works: service providers come in for application development and support. Minor patch deployment is very easy. Generally, installation and upgrades are done by Planisware, but it's very simple.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    I'm not aware of any pricing. Planisware sells the tool; prices vary depending on the customer. There are training and certification costs.

    What other advice do I have?

    It is a service company. We are pro-technology. We have experience with project and portfolio management services. What we do here is provide services to other businesses that own one of these tools. Assume ABB has Planisware, and we provide them with application development and support services. Planisware, Planview, Broadcom, Clarity, and Micro Focus PPM are among the products in our portfolio. Then there's Jira. And then there's Clarizen, which was recently acquired by Planview. These are the five, tools in the portfolio.

    I would recommend this solution to others who are interested in using it.

    I would rate Planisware a nine out of ten.

    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Partner
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Buyer's Guide
    Project Portfolio Management
    September 2022
    Find out what your peers are saying about Planisware, Broadcom, Microsoft and others in Project Portfolio Management. Updated: September 2022.
    632,611 professionals have used our research since 2012.
    PMO - Senior Project Management Consultant at a consultancy with 51-200 employees
    Consultant
    It has many modules for program management, but its stability should be improved

    What is our primary use case?

    It is mainly used for program management, which includes cost, risks, and obviously, resources.

    What is most valuable?

    We have a variety of different modules, but it is mainly used for costs, risks, and resources.

    What needs improvement?

    Its stability should be improved. Its stability is the main issue, but we sometimes also have issues with calculations.

    In terms of additional features, it already has a lot of modules, so it's enough for us at this time.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using this solution for around two years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    There are a lot of bugs, and the stability of the system has been a problem for a year and a half. It is not really stable.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    It is all managed through a contract. There is a process, and the client cannot add licenses or new users. There are a defined number of licenses that are sold to the client, but in terms of scalability, as far as I know, there are no limits related to the number of projects, etc. There can be an enormous amount of projects. It is just the process that defines the rights and the responsibilities of the users.

    How are customer service and support?

    I am not in direct contact with them, but sometimes, they send someone to help the client. Sometimes, they are able to find solutions, and sometimes, they are not. 

    One of the biggest problems was related to the data structure. I don't know if it's part of their business model, but at the beginning, they could have asked the client to give them a visual of the data structure. That's because when you're migrating to Planisware, it will impact the way the software is built up. This is something they didn't do that much at the beginning. It was like, "We're Planisware. We're selling the solution, and this is it." Because of this, stability problems came up, and this is where you had to go back to Planisware to ask for support because you cannot change the software. If you have to change the software because of a certain data structure, you have to always contact Planisware.

    How was the initial setup?

    The deployment was done in different ways, and it lasted a year.

    What about the implementation team?

    We have our own team for its deployment. We have a dozen people on our team.

    What other advice do I have?

    I would rate it a seven out of 10.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Public Cloud
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    PeerSpot user
    Senior Manager at a comms service provider with 501-1,000 employees
    Real User
    Top 5Leaderboard
    Easy customization, scalable, but expensive

    What is our primary use case?

    The solution can be used for performance monitoring, project management, and support.

    What is most valuable?

    The solution is performance-oriented and easily customized accordingly to many areas, such as performance KPI.

    What needs improvement?

    More integration is needed with other kinds of products for better collaboration.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using this solution for approximately one week.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    I have found the stability to be good.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    The solution is scalable.

    We have one department using this solution and it has approximately 50 users.

    What about the implementation team?

    We use professional consultants to do the implementation of the solution.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The solution could be less expensive and the cost of scaling is expensive too.

    What other advice do I have?

    I would recommend this solution to others.

    I rate Planisware a six out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free Project Portfolio Management Report and find out what your peers are saying about Planisware, Broadcom, Microsoft, and more!
    Updated: September 2022
    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free Project Portfolio Management Report and find out what your peers are saying about Planisware, Broadcom, Microsoft, and more!