IT Central Station is now PeerSpot: Here's why

iServer OverviewUNIXBusinessApplication

iServer is #8 ranked solution in top Architecture Management tools and #13 ranked solution in Business Process Design tools. PeerSpot users give iServer an average rating of 7.6 out of 10. iServer is most commonly compared to Sparx Systems Enterprise Architect: iServer vs Sparx Systems Enterprise Architect. iServer is popular among the large enterprise segment, accounting for 70% of users researching this solution on PeerSpot. The top industry researching this solution are professionals from a computer software company, accounting for 18% of all views.
Buyer's Guide

Download the Architecture Management Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: July 2022

What is iServer?

iServer is a unified software platform and enterprise modeling environment that extends and enhances the familiar, market leading Microsoft Visio and Office products. Core capabilities provided by iServer include an enhanced Microsoft Visio diagramming interface, a powerful central repository for all enterprise architecture or business process models and documentation, and a range of tools for visualization, analysis and decision making.

iServer Customers

Barclays, Cathay Pacific, Deloitte, British Gas, MasterCard

iServer Video

Archived iServer Reviews (more than two years old)

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Mohamed-Salah - PeerSpot reviewer
Digital Transformation Expert at a tech services company with 11-50 employees
Real User
Stable with the potential to scale and integrates well with Microsoft
Pros and Cons
  • "The solution has wide use within Microsoft products. The integration with Microsoft products, and, in particular, Microsoft Office, is great."
  • "The migration tool needs to be included in the main package, and not as a separate license."

What is our primary use case?

The solution is mainly used for technology architecture. Clients need to model infrastructure network solutions that they have. There is no focus on business modeling.

What is most valuable?

The solution has wide use within Microsoft products. The integration with Microsoft products, and, in particular, Microsoft Office, is great. 

What needs improvement?

It's a very simple tool, which makes me concerned with the performance. Performance is an issue for us because it takes a long time to load the document. It's a big issue.

The migration tool needs to be included in the main package, and not as a separate license.

For how long have I used the solution?

I've been using the solution for one year.

Buyer's Guide
Architecture Management
July 2022
Find out what your peers are saying about Orbus Software, Sparx Systems, MEGA International and others in Architecture Management. Updated: July 2022.
622,949 professionals have used our research since 2012.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

The stability of the solution is okay. The performance is a question, however, largely, it's stable.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

The solution can scale well. However, I worry about scaling due to the fact that the performance of the solution is generally poor. Once they solve the performance issues, I have no doubt scaling will be much better.

How are customer service and support?

We've been in touch with technical support in the past. We found them to be highly responsive. They're very good. We've been satisfied with their level of service.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

I have tried different solutions other than iServer. I've tried Avolution ABACUS. I've tried Sparx. I've tried Visual ParadigmiServer was well. This is based on these tools, especially how it converts things to components, and how the components are related to each other. This type of tool here in my country is particularly useful because there are not many projects taking advantage of its usage here. There is very big potential when using this tool.

The main difference between all of these solutions and iServer is the integration with Microsoft Office. Many users are using Microsoft Office Visio in terms of modeling. It's very easy to integrate or migrate what they have to the solution. 

It's also very simple. It's simpler than Avolution and Sparx, with a lot of reference architecture being within the solution, and a lot of templates ready to go. 

How was the initial setup?

The initial setup is quite complex. 

The complexity is mainly in terms of installation and installing the web portal in particular. It requires a lot of consideration at the beginning. After that, it's easier. At the beginning of the configuration, however, its challenging. 

What other advice do I have?

I'm a consultant. I work with the product, however, I am not a customer.

We typically deal with the on-premises deployment model as our clients aren't well-versed in the cloud just yet.

I'd advise that those who wish to implement the solution ensure they are well trained on it beforehand.

I'd rate the solution eight out of ten. If the performance was better, I would rate it much higher.

Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

On-premises
Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Partner
PeerSpot user
Mohamed-Salah - PeerSpot reviewer
Mohamed-SalahDigital Transformation Expert at a tech services company with 11-50 employees
Real User

One of the most powerful advantage is that iServer Provides a lot of reference architecture and best practices implemented through many different industries. It has a huge library of complete and end to end templates and references that could be utilized through different architecture projects.

Solution Architect at a pharma/biotech company with 10,001+ employees
Real User
A flexible and simple tool with a good modeling language
Pros and Cons
  • "This is a flexible tool compared to some other solutions."
  • "The performance is slow, which is something that should be improved."

What is our primary use case?

We use iServer as an enterprise architecture tool.

What is most valuable?

The most valuable feature is the language used for architecture modeling.

This tool is simple to use.

This is a flexible tool compared to some other solutions.

What needs improvement?

The performance is slow, which is something that should be improved.

Implementing business processes could be improved.

I would like to see a map of all of the processes drawn automatically. You can do it now but you need to do it manually.

For how long have I used the solution?

I have been using iServer for about one year.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

The stability is pretty good. iServer is used on an occasional basis.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

This solution is easy to scale. However, scalability is dependent on multiple things.

Our organization is a large enterprise-level company.

How are customer service and technical support?

I have been in touch with technical support and the service is fine.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

Prior to this solution, we used IBM System Architect. iServer provides greater flexibility.

What about the implementation team?

The vendor assisted with our implementation and deployment.

We have an in-house team that takes care of maintenance.

What other advice do I have?

I would rate this solution an eight out of ten.

Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

On-premises
Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Partner
PeerSpot user
Buyer's Guide
Architecture Management
July 2022
Find out what your peers are saying about Orbus Software, Sparx Systems, MEGA International and others in Architecture Management. Updated: July 2022.
622,949 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Enterprise Architect at a financial services firm with 501-1,000 employees
Real User
Simple and flexible with solid stability
Pros and Cons
  • "I have to think less with this solution. It's simple."
  • "The one issue is that if you want to import predefined work, you need to put the licensing model in. So if you wanted to import work that was done before, you then need to buy a separate product for that."

What is our primary use case?

We use this solution mainly for enterprise solution architecture as well as modeling and development.

What is most valuable?

I have to think less with this solution. It's simple.

What needs improvement?

The one issue is that if you want to import predefined work, you need to put the licensing model in. So if you wanted to import work that was done before, you then need to buy a separate product for that. That was a problem.

I would also like them to add data-driven modeling.

For how long have I used the solution?

We've been using this solution for about a year and a half.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

It was super stable.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

We haven't tested the scalability yet. We have about six users using it at the same time, every day. Everything we did, we did on the platform.

How are customer service and technical support?

The technical support is excellent. They have a complete customer support deployed.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

I used Casewise before. iServer is a lot more flexible than Casewise, however. 

How was the initial setup?

It was quite simple to set up, once you've done the training. It was important to get the training done before we could make any changes to the configuration and set up.

We worked with it for a bit before we actually had the training. It would have been easier to get going with the training first, but that was just an operational issue. We just didn't have the time to do the training.

It was quick to deploy this solution. The deployment was the service, because it's a cloud-based solution. They did the deployment and I had an issue with the performance because the solution was hosted in the UK. I asked them to move it to South Africa and that happened over a weekend. That is quite quick, so I was really happy about that.

What about the implementation team?

It's a cloud based solution, so they did it completely by themselves. We just agreed on when and how it would happen and they did it.

What other advice do I have?

First, decide on the deployment model. Secondly, I would recommend doing the training first. iServer is very easy to learn by yourself, but you can get stuff done quicker if you do the training before you start using it.

I would rate it as eight out of ten. If they added data-driven modeling, I would rate it as a nine or ten.

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
PeerSpot user
Anuj Shahi - PeerSpot reviewer
Enterprise Architect at CCandC Solutions
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
The best feature is the reporting, and the graphs that results from the reporting. There are other solutions out there that have a better user-interface.

What is our primary use case?

iServer is a solution that helps catalog enterprise architect solutions and catalog information.

How has it helped my organization?

You have to spend about 14 to 15 days learning it, but once you learn it, it is easy to use.

What is most valuable?

The best features are the reporting and graphs, which result from the reporting. 

What needs improvement?

It definitely needs help to improve the visual aspect of the solution. 

If they could help assist the user towards an architecture roadmap, that would be ideal.

For how long have I used the solution?

Three to five years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

The product is very stable. 

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

It is scalable.

How is customer service and technical support?

From September 2014 through January 2015, I received help from the tech support staff of iServer. They were very prompt and almost instantaneously responded. If it was something difficult, they brought three to four people to talk with me, then solved the problem. Within minutes, they were able to solve the issue.

How was the initial setup?

It was an easy setup. The installation was smooth for us.

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

There are other solutions out there that have a better user interface.

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
PeerSpot user
it_user771597 - PeerSpot reviewer
IT Security at a maritime company with 10,001+ employees
Vendor
We are able to see the impact analysis in real-time if any component goes down, but more ways to report data would be useful

What is most valuable?

Integrating the Microsoft documents to the product and visualization matrix where we can see the end-to-end relationship of the network is of great importance to our company.

How has it helped my organization?

We have uploaded all the internal documents to the tool. We are able to see the impact analysis in real-time if any component goes down.

What needs improvement?

More visualization techniques and ways to report the data might be helpful.

For how long have I used the solution?

Two years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

Yes, we have had issues with stability.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

No issues.

How are customer service and technical support?

A seven out of 10 for technical support.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

No, we did not previously use a different solution.

How was the initial setup?

Setting up the Portal was very complex. We required a lot of support from the vendor.

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

We did not evaluate other options.

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
PeerSpot user
it_user722235 - PeerSpot reviewer
Senior Associate Consultant at a consultancy with 501-1,000 employees
Consultant
Cannot see which activities are control activities when presenting process maps. Client support has been great.
Pros and Cons
  • "It has helped having data lineage in the business cluster, which is used as control artifacts."
  • "Cannot see which activities are control activities."

What is most valuable?

I love how there are no milestone swimlanes. The only swimlanes are business role swimlanes which makes process mapping easier and easy to read.

How has it helped my organization?

It has helped having data lineage in the business cluster, which is used as control artifacts.

What needs improvement?

The ability to add information behind each activity shapes to show which attributes it contains. E.g., frequency, automation, systems, etc.

When presenting the process map to businesses:

  • Cannot see which activities are control activities.
  • There is no way of displaying a procedure manual for the process map, which would contain the detailed steps of what happens in each activity.
  • Naming the business role swimlanes with the actual roles people perform tends to be difficult, because they may have multiple roles or multiple people perform a variety of activities in one swimlane.
  • The intermediate event is confusing or difficult to explain to businesses when to use it.
  • The use of an organisation pool brings about a different interpretation of what levels do in the organisation.

For how long have I used the solution?

Since July 2016.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

No, I have not.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

I have not encountered any issues with scalability.

How are customer service and technical support?

My client support has been great. Always ready to assist.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

Yes. We were using Blueworks. We had to switch due to disinvestment.

How was the initial setup?

Dealing with a new concept, it was a little bit complex. However, you get used to it.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

I would not be able to advise with regards to licensing and pricing, because I have no knowledge of it.

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

No, I did not.

What other advice do I have?

Understand what is the objective of using this system. If you just want to draw a process map, I would advise using Visio.

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
PeerSpot user
PeerSpot user
Manager Governance, Risk and Compliance at a tech services company with 1,001-5,000 employees
Consultant
Good and effective reporting features, which help in decision making
Pros and Cons
  • "Good and effective reporting features, which help in decision making."
  • "Enhancing integration options with ERP or ITSM-related solutions for triggering automated requests for process definitions, changes, and tracking them in the iServer."

What is most valuable?

Process modelling through object creation and management. It is beneficial as a very effective change management of processes at the object level if you need to modify a process, and it will impact other processes as well, the object changed automatically changes in other processes as well.

Good and effective reporting features, which help in decision making.

How has it helped my organization?

  • Reduced time to roll out and define processes.
  • Easy access for end users through web interface.

What needs improvement?

Customizing features can be enhanced. By giving the user the option to add and modify customized fields for the properties of the objects by enhancing the import capability from other tools, such as Visio, Word, PDF, etc.

Enhancing integration options with ERP or ITSM-related solutions for triggering automated requests for process definitions, changes, and tracking them in the iServer.

For how long have I used the solution?

For two years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

No.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

No.

How are customer service and technical support?

Can be improved as the vendor is based in UK. Having regional support could improve time and communications.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

No, we were managing process definition and management manually.

How was the initial setup?

Initial setup was a little complex, perhaps because we were doing it for the first time.

The configuration of the server, reporting server and clients took a little time.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

Aim for the exact number of people who shall define/review approve and view the processes, as it will impact the cost.

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

Yes, we evaluated AG software, some online process definition tools, and several document management solutions.

What other advice do I have?

Have your manual process definitions ready and up-to-date. The relationships between objects to be defined should also be clear and ready. It will help reduce the time to implement the processes.

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
PeerSpot user
PeerSpot user
Enterprise Information Architect at a university with 1,001-5,000 employees
Vendor
Setup is straightforward, but the display of relationships between objects is not automatic.

What is most valuable?

Surprisingly little.

How has it helped my organization?

It hasn't really improved the way our organisation functions. iServer provides a repository for the reuse of objects, but that is about all that is of use. It means we may save some time from not having to retype things, but the overhead of maintaining these objects is quite large. There is supposed to be features around impact assessments (i.e., what systems are being used by what), but that reporting is a bit clunky, and hence not used very often, if at all. Because the system relies on using Visio, and there is no live-link between them, the repository and what is displayed in Visio must be checked out and refreshed to reflect changes.

What needs improvement?

The display of relationships between objects is not automatic if they exist in the repository.

For how long have I used the solution?

I've used it for 12 months.

What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

No issues encountered.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

No issues encountered.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

No issues encountered.

How are customer service and technical support?

Customer Service:

7/10 as the customer service is quite good, however, unfortunately the product itself isn't.

Technical Support:

7/10.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

We used Visio/PowerPoint. I'm not sure of the value of the switch, and if I had my way, I'd switch back.

How was the initial setup?

It was straightforward.

What about the implementation team?

We used a vendor team.

What was our ROI?

It's supposed to make us more efficient, but that hasn't been borne out during use.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

I don't know the setup costs, but it's day to day ones are negligible.

What other advice do I have?

Overall, I would say that it's a poor man's EA repository. It seems like a good idea, but doesn't really work in practice. It's really two components, Visio and the iServer repository, and there is no live-link between them, so the Visio diagrams can be out-of-date. Don't implement it, you should stick with Visio, as this is a solution that ends up having the worst of both worlds.

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
PeerSpot user
Buyer's Guide
Download our free Architecture Management Report and find out what your peers are saying about Orbus Software, Sparx Systems, MEGA International, and more!
Updated: July 2022
Buyer's Guide
Download our free Architecture Management Report and find out what your peers are saying about Orbus Software, Sparx Systems, MEGA International, and more!