BrowserStack OverviewUNIXBusinessApplication

BrowserStack is the #13 ranked solution in top Functional Testing Tools. PeerSpot users give BrowserStack an average rating of 8.0 out of 10. BrowserStack is most commonly compared to Perfecto: BrowserStack vs Perfecto. BrowserStack is popular among the large enterprise segment, accounting for 65% of users researching this solution on PeerSpot. The top industry researching this solution are professionals from a computer software company, accounting for 21% of all views.
BrowserStack Buyer's Guide

Download the BrowserStack Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: November 2022

What is BrowserStack?
BrowserStack is a cloud-based cross-browser testing tool that enables developers to test their websites across various browserson different operating systems and mobile devices, without requiring users to install virtual machines, devices or emulators.
BrowserStack Customers
Microsoft, RBS, jQuery, Expedia, Citrix, AIG
BrowserStack Video

BrowserStack Pricing Advice

What users are saying about BrowserStack pricing:
  • "There are different licenses available that can be customized. You can select the features that you want only to use which can be a cost-benefit."
  • "The price of BrowserStack is high."
  • "BrowserStack could have a better price, but good things have a price."
  • "The price is fine."
  • BrowserStack Reviews

    Filter by:
    Filter Reviews
    Industry
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Company Size
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Job Level
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Rating
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Considered
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Order by:
    Loading...
    • Date
    • Highest Rating
    • Lowest Rating
    • Review Length
    Search:
    Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
    Automation Test Analyst at a tech services company with 201-500 employees
    Real User
    Top 20
    Unique features, useful geographical mimicking, but more integration needed
    Pros and Cons
    • "The main core concept behind this product is, it takes the overhead of maintaining all of your devices or particular computers. It continuously adds the latest devices that are coming into the market."
    • "While I was testing I was not 100% sure a that was properly mimicking the browsers or not. We had some issues with a browser, and the reason was the browser itself does not provide any support. If the local system does not provide any support, I think this was the problem. There should be better integration with other solutions, such as JIRA."

    What is our primary use case?

    We are using BrowserStack for several use cases. In our first use case, we have automated testing on the server. When you have automated testing, it uses your local browsers and BrowserStack provides the ability to integrate it with your code. Instead of using your local browsers for executing the code, it'll be executed remotely, and the integration is very easy.

    Our second use case was for cross-browser testing for the same automation with the script that we have. 

    In the third use case, we were having different platforms. In some of the test cases, we were using a different browser or a combination of a different browser and the different OSs that we have. For example, we had the combination of Windows with IE, and Apple and Mac, with Safari. We did tests on many devices, such as iPhone and iPad. All the devices are available. Once we have integrated it, we were easily able to switch our testing to any of the other devices that we wanted.

    How has it helped my organization?

    The solution has many benefits, we are not worried about maintaining devices locally in our organization. This is one of the biggest benefits. Any device that is new in the market, or any phone or OS that is launched the new version is always available. We are never worried about having access to those. In the real world, you have to buy those new devices and you have to go through a lot of processes to maintain them.

    Mmaintaining the devices is the largest task. All the devices have to be checked physically for many things, such as charging. While someone else might need a device but not be able to have access when it is a physical device, there are limitations. With virtual devices, everyone can have access right away, they can log in and start using the device.

    What is most valuable?

    The main core concept behind this product is, it takes the overhead of maintaining all of your devices or particular computers. It continuously adds the latest devices that are coming into the market. 

    You are able to can record all of your executions session. It's easy to keep track of what you have executed. The screenshots are available.

    There are a lot of unique features. For example, when you want to configure the bandwidth of your internet, or if you want to test something with the low bandwidth of your internet, such as how your features are working in the low band to allow configuration of your VPN. Some websites only can be accessed from the UK and if you want to mimic the scenario where the person from the UK is accessing the site, you can do that. Geographical mimicking is also available.

    What needs improvement?

    While I was testing I was not 100% sure a that was properly mimicking the browsers or not. We had some issues with a browser, and the reason was the browser itself does not provide any support. If the local system does not provide any support, I think this was the problem. There should be better integration with other solutions, such as JIRA.

    All the testing that I do is functional testing, such as UI testing is for mobile. I'm not sure whether it is allowing for desktop testing or not, but if it does not, they should add it for various desktop applications as well for us to have remote access.

    Buyer's Guide
    BrowserStack
    November 2022
    Learn what your peers think about BrowserStack. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: November 2022.
    653,757 professionals have used our research since 2012.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using BrowserStack for approximately one and a half years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    The performance of the solution is good. We have not faced any issues. All of the mobile devices or and different OSs have been working well.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    The solution is scalable. You have access to all the latest devices and OSs needed. You can increase the number of users using the solution by purchasing more licenses.

    We have a team of approximately 35 people, and we all are using the solution.

    We do not use this solution on a daily basis but when there is a particular project our teams will use it on a daily basis for testing.

    How are customer service and support?

    Initially, when we were configuring the automation, we had some issues that we had to contact the technical team. The communication was through email. They do not have a large team of support agents and it would appear that they are still establishing their team.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    We have previously used Blisk, which is a similar solution to BrowserStack. It's a simulator for different devices you might have.

    Blisk had a limited amount of devices to use. It is a simulator, it is difficult to perform tests with it. It is not a virtual system causing it to have limitations. You can have your application in different sizes and in different devices. The size of the UI will be changed according to the device, not any configuration.

    When I am using BrowserStack in the VA systems and if I selected an Apple device the code and configuration will be that of an Apple device.

    How was the initial setup?

    There is no installation process for BrowserStack, it is a SaaS. However, the process to use the service is very straightforward. You need to choose which device and browser you want and you can start right straight away. Within two or three-step, you can start your application remotely.

    What about the implementation team?

    There is no maintenance required.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    There are different licenses available that can be customized. You can select the features that you want only to use which can be a cost-benefit.

    We have licenses to use this solution and it is on a per-user basis. It is a bit expensive compared to other tools are the market.

    What other advice do I have?

    I would advise those wanting to use the solution to make sure they know their specific requirements and intended usage before purchasing a license. You do not want to purchase features you do not want to use. Use the free version first and then once you understand the solution you can purchase it.

    I rate BrowserStack a seven out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Public Cloud
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Technical Lead
    Real User
    Top 20
    Reasonably priced with good support and excellent performance
    Pros and Cons
    • "The integration is very good."
    • "If you are inactive for 30 minutes, the solution will close."

    What is our primary use case?

    This has been a short-term project. We're still testing it out. We're doing functional and integration testing.

    Right now, the scope is not there for the screen orientation, and we're not testing that right now. We're looking at speed and compatibility issues with different versions. We're able to find some of the UI issues and installation issues. We are able to capture admin app issues and UI issues.

    What is most valuable?

    The integration is very good. 

    Support is very helpful. They'll even let you extend your test license.

    It has been issue-free throughout the POC phase. 

    Access has been very seamless. You can access it from all kinds of devices. 

    It offers very good performance.

    The stability is excellent. 

    It's stable.

    The solution isn't too costly.

    What needs improvement?

    I've had issues removing the app from a device. 

    There can be a delay in response from support sometimes. 

    If you are inactive for 30 minutes, the solution will close.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I started using the solution just over a month ago.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    The solution is very stable and reliable. There are no bugs or glitches.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    Right now, we are using the solution extensively and are testing monthly. Everyone is using it.

    How are customer service and support?

    Depending on when you reach out, there may be a delay in response. That said, for the most part, their support is good.

    How would you rate customer service and support?

    Positive

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    I had previous experience with Perfecto. Perfecto is very slow and not that fast compared to BrowserStack. It was hard to log on, and I wasn't getting any help from support. There also wasn't proper integration. When we reached out to BrowserStack, they were great. They even extended the license for us. Everything was looking good, so we decided on this product.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup is very simple and straightforward. They have good instructions. You basically just enter your AppleID and log in, and it is very easy. The process is not complicated. You don't really need to deploy anything.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    Right now, we pay for the solution monthly. It is not overly expensive. 
    I'd rate the solution four out of five in terms of affordability. It is slightly more expensive than, for example, Perfecto.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    We compared BrowserStack, Perfecto, and Testcraft and decided on BrowserStack. We weighed the pros and cons of everything, and it came out on top.

    What other advice do I have?

    I suggest products to clients. I suggest which product is good for testing, for emulators. I'm a technical lead.

    I'm using the latest version of the solution. Whenever any new version is there, it will immediately be added.

    Right now, we are working currently with the iOS TestFlight. We are testing using that.

    I would recommend the solution to others. 

    I'd rate the solution a nine out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Buyer's Guide
    BrowserStack
    November 2022
    Learn what your peers think about BrowserStack. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: November 2022.
    653,757 professionals have used our research since 2012.
    Vitaly Ivanov - PeerSpot reviewer
    Qa lead at a marketing services firm with 201-500 employees
    Real User
    Top 20
    Multiple test devices, effective troubleshooting, and overall useful features
    Pros and Cons
    • "BrowserStack has lots of devices to choose from."
    • "Sometimes BrowserStack is really slow and devices are not loading. it is really annoying and that's why we bought several newer devices because sometimes it's affecting us a lot."

    What is our primary use case?

    We use BrowserStack for testing on different platforms. It's a platform that allows us to test on different devices and platforms. We're using it as a regression tool and for testing on different devices.

    How has it helped my organization?

    We have some requests from our users telling us that something's not working with their device and it's easy to find the bug if the user is going to provide us the OS version and the device that they have. We can go to the specific device and OS version and check it out on our end. Without BrowserStack, it could be difficult to do.

    What is most valuable?

    BrowserStack has lots of devices to choose from.

    What needs improvement?

    Sometimes BrowserStack is really slow and devices are not loading. it is really annoying and that's why we bought several newer devices because sometimes it's affecting us a lot.

    There are times when the exact device does not exist with a specific iOS within BrowserStack. We're fully moving to iOS 15 and there are not many devices available with iOS 15. Those that are available are not available with other OS versions here.

    It's good to have a custom setup but I understand that the testing starts with everything cleared, cookies, and incognito mode. In order to faster go through the SaaS process, it's better to have something with preset, such as when you visit the webpage on a certain date. This way, the testing is going to go faster for us. We would use it more extensively.

    There are times when you're not clicking the right spot in your browser, such as the back button, and instead of using one within the browser window. We're testing a browser inside the browser and it could lead to some glitches, even though this is my mistake. I know it's my error. However, the user experience of the browser inside another browser could be improved. They could disable certain buttons or allow us to disable them.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have used BrowserStack within the last 12 months.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    There have been some stability issues.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    We have plans to increase the usage of BrowserStack for visual testing in the future.

    How are customer service and support?

    I have not used the support because I thought none of the bugs were experiencing would be something that could be fixed quickly.

    How was the initial setup?

    We don't have the native BrowserStack application. We use the web application.  

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    We have evaluated Sauce Labs and the devices run faster but we most likely will still stick with BrowserStack. We are looking at moving to a different platform.

    What other advice do I have?

    I would recommend others who want to use BrowserStack to see if they can receive a promotion period, at no cost, and test it out.

    I rate BrowserStack an eight out of ten.

    Approximately a year ago I would rate BrowserStack a six or seven out of ten because it was very buggy.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Public Cloud
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Aeron Gonzales - PeerSpot reviewer
    Quality Assurance Analyst at Mohara
    Real User
    Helpful for testing and useful for different devices but not stable
    Pros and Cons
    • "It's helpful for me to test on different devices."
    • "The solution is slow."

    What is our primary use case?

    I mainly use it for using cross-platform testing. For example, using different devices mainly with it. With our current brand, with BrowserStack, we don't have other features provided. That's the only feature that I could work on right now.

    What is most valuable?

    For BrowserStack, it's helpful for me to test on different devices. Currently, that's the only tool that we use for testing on different devices. I don't have other devices. I only have one Android and one iOS. Other aspect ratios of different devices couldn't be tested on only two devices. That's the main purpose right now for BrowserStack.

    What needs improvement?

    The solution is slow.

    There are limitations to the product. For example, the only things that we could validate were APK files and IPA files. For them to support machines such as Windows and Mac, or if they could add more, that would be ideal.

    The pricing is more expensive than other tools. 

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've dealt with the solution for more than a year. 

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    I didn't appreciate much about the stability. There have been times that BrowserStack was really, really slow. That's why I am looking into a different tool.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    I'm not sure about scalability. For BrowserStack currently, I only use it between Android and iOS platforms, however, I don't have the features wherein I could test on different types of machines as well, for example, testing on Windows and testing on Mac. That's a different platform as well. We also cater to web applications. In that manner, we couldn't validate web applications through BrowserStack. The only thing that we could validate was APK files and IPA files. That's the limitation of this product.

    Four to five people use the solution currently.

    How are customer service and support?

    We didn't actually reach out to their technical support team yet.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    I'm not sure if a different solution was used previously. 

    How was the initial setup?

    I was not involved with the setup or deployment of the solution. I can't speak to how the process went. 

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The pricing is very expensive. The licensing is yearly. I'm not handling the finances. I'm not sure about the cost. We have an annual plan for BrowserStack since we don't want to do a monthly bill. It's much more expensive compared to annual pricing.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    I looked into LambdaTest. While currently I only have BrowserStack, I'm looking into migrating over to LambdaTest instead.

    What other advice do I have?

    We are customers. 

    We're not using the latest version of the solution. It's a previous version. 

    I'd rate the solution seven out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Public Cloud

    If public cloud, private cloud, or hybrid cloud, which cloud provider do you use?

    Other
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Real User
    Flexible with a fast and easy setup but needs better integration with frameworks
    Pros and Cons
    • "It just added some flexibility. There was nothing that improved our coding standards, etc. because all of our UIs were functional before we tried it."
    • "Adding better integration with frameworks, particularly testing frameworks like Robot, would be of more value to customers and make their jobs easier."

    What is our primary use case?

    We were testing it as a user interface on various systems which we manage.

    How has it helped my organization?

    It just added some flexibility. There was nothing that improved our coding standards, etc. because all of our UIs were functional before we tried it. 

    What is most valuable?

    If you ask me feature-wise, I don't think I have tested all the features there—around 40 to 60 percent— nor I was interested in doing do that because the trial was so short. However, there were a few devices that we did not want to procure but we found them within BrowserStack architecture when we tried it out. More than a feature, it was the hardware support that we were able to get through the interfaces. This helped us address a very rare requirement that had come up within our end customer's stack.

    What needs improvement?

    Adding better integration with frameworks, particularly testing frameworks like Robot, would be of more value to customers and make their jobs easier.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I only used it for about two weeks during a 14-day trial period about four or five months ago. 

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    This at least gave us good stability and the results that we saw were quite reasonable enough.

    How was the initial setup?

    It was easy enough. Because I come from an IT background and have done deployments of many solutions, it was quite simple. It didn't take more than 10-15 minutes on that day.

    What other advice do I have?

    I would rate BrowserStack a seven out of ten. 

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Private Cloud
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Chatchawal Siluang - PeerSpot reviewer
    Senior Software QA Engineer at Seven Peaks Software
    Real User
    Top 10
    Useful manual tests but could be more stable

    What is our primary use case?

    I use BrowserStack for functional testing.

    What is most valuable?

    The most valuable feature of BrowserStack is the ability to do manual testing.

    What needs improvement?

    BrowserStack operates at a slow pace, it could improve by making it faster.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using BrowserStack for approximately three months.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    BrowserStack sometimes works well and other times it is very slow. The stability could improve.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    We have 20 percent of our users in my company using BrowserStack.

    How are customer service and support?

    I have not used technical support from BrowserStack.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    I have not used another solution in the same category as BrowserStack.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The price of BrowserStack is high.

    I rate the price of BrowserStack a three out of five.

    What other advice do I have?

    I rate BrowserStack a seven out of ten.

    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Partner
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    AlejandroGarduno - PeerSpot reviewer
    Quality Assurance Lead at Wiceline
    Real User
    Top 20
    Great product, scalable, easy to setup

    What is our primary use case?

    I use BrowerStack for performing automation tests. 

    What is most valuable?

    The BrowserStack interface is easy to use and the webinar has a lot of information.

    What needs improvement?

    BrowserStack could have a better price, but good things have a price.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using BrowserStack for three years now.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    I have found that BrowserStack is stable.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    BrowserStack is scalable, but cost is significant for those living in Mexico.

    How was the initial setup?

    The setup of BrowserStack was easy to implement.

    What other advice do I have?

    It would be great if BrowserStack came with a downloadable mobile device option. The adoption of new tools on BrowserStack would be helpful. Playwright is one of these tools currently offered by Microsoft. I would rate BrowserStack a ten out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Public Cloud
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Alejandro Garduno - PeerSpot reviewer
    Quality Assurance Lead at ZX-Ventures
    Real User
    Top 5
    A cloud web and mobile testing platform with full device capability

    What is our primary use case?

    We're building two products at the same time. We're building web pages and building Android and iOS applications. After the building stage, we're going to translate it to automation. But right now, we're testing and proving tools to understand which one will work best in the future.

    What is most valuable?

    I like that it offers full device capability.

    What needs improvement?

    Customer support could be better. We tried to implement and explore this product with the vendor or reseller's help, but we haven't had any good response about the product.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup and configuration of this product are easy.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The price is fine.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    Sauce Labs and BrowserStack are very similar

    What other advice do I have?

    On a scale from one to ten, I would give BrowserStack a nine.

    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free BrowserStack Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.
    Updated: November 2022
    Product Categories
    Functional Testing Tools
    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free BrowserStack Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.