SolarWinds Network Device Monitor OverviewUNIXBusinessApplication

SolarWinds Network Device Monitor is the #25 ranked solution in best Network Monitoring Tools. PeerSpot users give SolarWinds Network Device Monitor an average rating of 7.8 out of 10. SolarWinds Network Device Monitor is most commonly compared to Auvik: SolarWinds Network Device Monitor vs Auvik. SolarWinds Network Device Monitor is popular among the large enterprise segment, accounting for 64% of users researching this solution on PeerSpot. The top industry researching this solution are professionals from a computer software company, accounting for 15% of all views.
SolarWinds Network Device Monitor Buyer's Guide

Download the SolarWinds Network Device Monitor Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: November 2022

What is SolarWinds Network Device Monitor?
Network Device Monitor is a free tool that makes it easy to monitor the real-time performance and health of a single device on your network with a desktop dashboard that alerts you when your device is in trouble.

SolarWinds Network Device Monitor was previously known as Network Device Monitor.

SolarWinds Network Device Monitor Customers
Air Rarotonga
SolarWinds Network Device Monitor Video

SolarWinds Network Device Monitor Pricing Advice

What users are saying about SolarWinds Network Device Monitor pricing:
  • "When compared with other solutions SolarWinds is more expensive."
  • "Thankfully, it doesn't take a lot of manpower to install and deploy."
  • "Well, we had a perpetual license and the renewal was $20 to $25,000."
  • "The enterprise license is good for the SolarWinds Network Device Monitor. However, it is expensive, they should reduce their price."
  • SolarWinds Network Device Monitor Reviews

    Filter by:
    Filter Reviews
    Industry
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Company Size
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Job Level
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Rating
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Considered
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Order by:
    Loading...
    • Date
    • Highest Rating
    • Lowest Rating
    • Review Length
    Search:
    Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
    IT Manager at XYZies
    Real User
    Top 10
    Easy to use with good monitoring and a straightforward setup
    Pros and Cons
    • "The initial setup is straightforward."
    • "If everything were in the package so that everything was ready to go out of the box, that would be ideal."

    What is our primary use case?

    Before cementing it into the production environment, we used to test it in a UAC environment - part of which we are using like the NPM. We're using it when we want to monitor certain things. The NPM display perfectly shows the information we need, especially in the threshold configuration. We have a threshold window as well. For example, if memory goes from 50% to 70%, we can set a threshold to get notified.

    What is most valuable?

    The Network Device Monitor itself is very useful. It's also easy to use. 

    We like how you can select an individual device and basically, in NPM Network Performance, there are two types of settings. You can discover the devices on auto network discovery. On top of that, you can individually add a device, and if the device is not recognized in the auto-discovery procedure, you can add it manually. You can add MIBs in the Network Device Monitor if the MIBs are not supported. 

    We are just monitoring a UPS, and the UPS is not supported in SolarWinds NPM, so what we need to do is individually add that device to the Network Device Monitor. We can individually import the MIBs from the vendor and install them into the NDM Network Device Monitor, and that's the beauty of it.

    The initial setup is straightforward. It doesn't take long to install everything.

    The product is stable. 

    We can scale the solution if we need to.

    What needs improvement?

    There were certain aspects that weren't supported exactly. I was just able to monitor some basic things. I also couldn't get the thresholds and the rest of the details. All MIBs and drivers should be in the package when you install it. It would make everything easier. If everything were in the package so that everything was ready to go out of the box, that would be ideal. 

    It's a pretty heavy product.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've been using the solution for three to four years. 

    Buyer's Guide
    SolarWinds Network Device Monitor
    November 2022
    Learn what your peers think about SolarWinds Network Device Monitor. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: November 2022.
    657,397 professionals have used our research since 2012.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    We've never had an issue with stability. It doesn't crash. It's reliable. 

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    We can scale the solution. It has the option of adding to it. You can, for example, add another server. The capacity management is right there. they make it easy.

    How are customer service and support?

    They do offer good support. We are mostly happy with the level of service. They always give great feedback, which helps in real-world scenarios. 

    How would you rate customer service and support?

    Neutral

    How was the initial setup?

    It's easy to set up. Implementing the solution is not a problem.

    How long it takes to install is totally dependent on the person which is installing the solution. Regarding my experience, I have had a pretty good experience in network devices, so it will hardly take me two to three hours at a maximum to set the Network Device Manager. Obviously, there's a fine-tuning which will take a couple of weeks. You must fine-tune the thresholds, the battery level, and the network device threshold. Fine-tuning will take a couple of weeks. However, adding the network devices will take hardly two to three hours.

    It's not difficult to maintain the solution. It's easily accessed from the database. Anyone with a bit of experience with databases can easily handle and maintain this product.

    What about the implementation team?

    As an implementor, I have implemented the solution for clients many times. 

    What other advice do I have?

    I'm an implementor. 

    I'd recommend the solution to others. It's a good product.

    I'd rate the solution eight out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Hybrid Cloud
    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Implementer
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Motahar Kibriah - PeerSpot reviewer
    Supply Chain Management at MGH Group
    Real User
    Top 10
    An elaborate solution that fully integrates for easy monitoring and troubleshooting
    Pros and Cons
    • "The solution and its interface are elaborate and fully integrate all monitored items for easy analysis and troubleshooting."
    • "The reporting feature needs improvement because we are unable to configure reports that were included during initial implementation."

    What is our primary use case?

    Our company uses the solution to monitor all network connectivity throughout the country and provides results to our client's stakeholders. 

    We have a network topology that establishes a certain set of macros and frameworks throughout our entire organization. 

    There are 6,000 interfaces that are monitored 24/7/365. The nodes are very sensitive and each has its own service. If a node goes down, we recover it immediately. 

    What is most valuable?

    The solution and its interface are elaborate and fully integrate all monitored items for easy analysis and troubleshooting. We have added all nodes to the system and look at events or problematic alerts to troubleshoot. 

    The solution is configurable and has many features. 

    What needs improvement?

    The reporting feature needs improvement because we are unable to configure reports that were included during initial implementation. We are aware of features that allow report customization a monthly basis or other duration, but don't often have access to these options. 

    For example, a filter of interfaces or ATM nodes that have been down for a month does not include all events in the report. We would like to change the report's filters to a very segregated level but cannot because we lack access to the original report. 

    The data is in the system but we are unable to pull it because reporting is not integrated and versatile. It seems only the engineer who filtered the original report had configuration options. 

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using the solution for two years. 

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    The solution is stable.

    We experience lags because our vendor did not install or configure all of the solution's features. 

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    The solution is scalable. 

    We plan to scale in the future because customer demand is already large and is growing. By 2025 or 2030, we will need to scale up. 

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    Our company already had the solution in place when I joined the team. 

    Our VM and other files are open source but we could not install using an open source product due to security issues and checks. We do not take risks, so we chose the solution because it provides protections through its license and connection to a known provider.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup to monitor 6,000 interfaces was completed before I joined the team. 

    Current complexities are because the installation vendor did not install all of the solution's features. 

    What about the implementation team?

    Our monitoring department worked with an external team to implement the solution on a server in our data center. 

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    We are planning for future growth so are looking at all options including the solution.

    Zabbix and Nagios are open source so are not options for us because we require an authentic and reliable source for services and licenses. Our client's stakeholders feel this is important to ensure the quality and security of the software. For our own employees, the open source solutions are fine.

    We are looking at Datadog as an option. 

    Other products might have the same features but they would have to be comparable in usability and the level of professional service that is provided with the solution.

    There is a low probability that we will renew our license for the solution. 

    What other advice do I have?

    Overall, the solution is pretty good. 

    The user interface is elaborate but a bit complex. 

    I rate the solution an eight out of ten. I would provide a higher rating but the original configuration did not include all features so that has caused a lag in workflow.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Buyer's Guide
    SolarWinds Network Device Monitor
    November 2022
    Learn what your peers think about SolarWinds Network Device Monitor. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: November 2022.
    657,397 professionals have used our research since 2012.
    MarioMartinez - PeerSpot reviewer
    Senior Service Delivery Manager at Softtek
    Reseller
    Top 20
    Effective reports, scalable, and simple migration
    Pros and Cons
    • "The most valuable features of SolarWinds Network Device Monitor are the reports. We are configuring the reports, and the first reports are only about the devices. We are configuring the thresholds in order to monitor all the devices."
    • "SolarWinds Network Device Monitor could improve the features. We don't have the complete model for the database, and the monitoring for the database is up and down. We expect that we could monitor the blocking items on the database but we don't have that feature."

    What is our primary use case?

    We use SolarWinds Network Device Monitor for monitoring and managing IPs. Additionally, we have the IPAM, IP administrator management on SolarWinds, which monitors all the devices and CIs for the servers and network. 

    What is most valuable?

    The most valuable features of SolarWinds Network Device Monitor are the reports. We are configuring the reports, and the first reports are only about the devices. We are configuring the thresholds in order to monitor all the devices.

    What needs improvement?

    SolarWinds Network Device Monitor could improve the features. We don't have the complete model for the database, and the monitoring for the database is up and down. We expect that we could monitor the blocking items on the database but we don't have that feature.

    There are a few APIs in order to integrate a solution with SolarWinds Network Device Monitor. For example, with Summit and Cisco Meraki we are trying to integrate them and we are failing. The solution should improve integration.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using SolarWinds Network Device Monitor for approximately five years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    SolarWinds Network Device Monitor is not totally stable. We are considering that we are almost at 90% after this migration. We are still working on some issues with access for all the accounts because we have several roles in order to receive reports. So we are still working on that.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    The scalability of the SolarWinds Network Device Monitor is good because you purchase different models.

    We are handling approximately 400 devices on the network and approximately 150 devices for the server.

    In my contract team, there are 15 people using this solution. In my company, there are more than 1,000 people using it.

    How are customer service and support?

    One of the large issues is support because our contact doesn't specify SLAs. When we escalate issues, we don't have the support.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial SolarWinds Network Device Monitor was easy because we migrated from the on-premise version to the cloud.

    What about the implementation team?

    I have a team that manages SolarWinds Network Device Monitor. I give advice to my team in order to do configuration, how to handle it, and what kind of reports we have to generate. We are renewing the accounts because we used to have accounts on-premise and now our accounts are on the cloud. When we translate these accounts, we are facing some issues in order to manage how to access to SolarWinds Network Device Monitor. The transferring of accounts should be made easier.

    What other advice do I have?

    My advice to others would be first to find the specific models in order to receive the correct solution. If you agree with the customer that you will manage the iPad, you have to consider the iPad model. You have to be very clear and very specific on the scope of the monitoring.

    I rate SolarWinds Network Device Monitor an eight out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Hybrid Cloud
    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer:
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Sr.Network Engineer at NTT Security
    Real User
    Top 5
    Accurate monitoring, performs faster, and is easy to install
    Pros and Cons
    • "Link monitoring is the most valuable feature of this solution."
    • "In terms of price, it could be less expensive."

    What is our primary use case?

    We use SolarWinds Network Device Monitor to closely monitor links.

    When we use SolarWinds, we conduct a lot of proof-of-concept work, and occasionally we require specific data. We'll set up a trial enrollment at that time and collect the data.

    What is most valuable?

    Link monitoring is the most valuable feature of this solution.

    We can drill down if that particular graph is shown in SolarWinds which is not available in ManageEngine; instead, a five-minute countdown will begin. It will be correct every five minutes to one hour. If you raise the points, the links will be broken. I have approximately 3,000 links. If I increase that interval to one minute, it will consume more of the VMs.

    SolarWinds is faster in terms of performance.

    The reading it is showing is more accurate, when compared with other monitoring solutions.

    What needs improvement?

    In terms of price, it could be less expensive.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    SolarWinds Network Device Monitor is a stable solution.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    I have not scaled SolarWinds Network Device Monitor, I don't have a lot of exposure in this area.

    SolarWinds isn't being used correctly. There are only so many licenses available. We only onboard that particular device to SolarWinds when we need to monitor it closely. It's not something we would use on a regular basis. Once or twice a month, for example. It's not something that is used every day, perhaps every 10 to 15 days.

    How are customer service and support?

    We have not contacted technical support, it is not required in my environment.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    SolarWinds Network Device Monitor is the best solution for closely monitoring how the link is performing when compared to ManageEngine OpManager.

    When we look at routers, all they show us is some form of bandwidth. SolarWinds displays the same information, however, due to the integrated values in OpManager, on average, it will take five minutes.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup was straightforward. It was easy to deploy.

    I would rate the initial setup a four out of five.

    It would be simple for a beginner or intermediate user to deploy everything correctly.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    When compared with other solutions SolarWinds is more expensive. We are not fully licensed.

    In terms of cost, it's expensive. I would rate it a one out of five.

    What other advice do I have?

    I would rate SolarWinds Network Device Monitor an eight out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Erick Kahozi - PeerSpot reviewer
    Network Engineer Coordinator at a mining and metals company with 5,001-10,000 employees
    Real User
    Top 10
    Great alerts and fair pricing but the initial setup is complex
    Pros and Cons
    • "The alerts we are getting when we start losing connection access have been helpful."
    • "The way they are presenting the map of our devices needs to be improved."

    What is our primary use case?

    The solution is used primarily to monitor our network. In real-time, we know when if there's an issue on our network and it helps us to be proactive, to solve the situation.

    What is most valuable?

    The alerts we are getting when we start losing connection access have been helpful. If a device is starting to get, for example, a higher than normal level of activity or the CPU starts to increase there is an alert. The alert is the most beneficial for us.

    The pricing isn't too bad. 

    It's been stable. 

    What needs improvement?

    The way they are presenting the map of our devices needs to be improved.

    The initial setup is complex. 

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've been using the solution for about three years. 

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    My impression of stability is mostly good, however, I'm open to seeing how it works and if it gives us acceptable performance for what we are doing. So far, we are impressed with that solution. That said, it can allow us to run more, and do more.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    I can't speak to scalability. We haven't tried to scale.

    Mostly, just engineers are on the solution. 

    How are customer service and support?

    We have a person in-house that will bring issues to our attention, and if we need to, we will escalate to support.

    How would you rate customer service and support?

    Neutral

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup is a bit complex. It's not for anyone who is a beginner to work in the products to do it. It's a bit longer to start uploading the new nodes on the software.

    I'd rate the solution a two out of five in terms of ease of use.

    The deployment takes about 15 to 20 minutes. 

    At most, we need five people to deploy and maintain the product.

    What about the implementation team?

    We did not use a third party to help us set everything up. We handled the implementation in-house.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The pricing is okay. I would rate it a three out of five. 

    What other advice do I have?

    We're just customers and end-users.

    I'd advise potential new users that, before using the device, they need to prepare and get some training on the device before using it.

    I would rate the solution a seven out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Private Cloud
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Nelson Saravia - PeerSpot reviewer
    Senior Business Project Manager at Bonsai System Ltda
    Real User
    Top 5
    Lets us monitor how our data moves around and supports us well with troubleshooting
    Pros and Cons
    • "In terms of general network monitoring features, I find SolarWinds Network Device Monitor very flexible and comfortable to use. The software itself is extremely useful when it comes to monitoring how our data moves between different networks and environments."
    • "Although I haven't explored all of the features available, I wouldn't mind if the software were made to be a bit more customizable."

    What is our primary use case?

    In my line of work, I am responsible for the remote monitoring of sensors, such as temperature sensors and various others, for customers in the industrial sector. Along with sensor monitoring, we also deal with PLC technology and MIDS as they pertain to industrial equipment such as pumps and electrical equipment.

    I use SolarWinds Network Device Monitor for monitoring the equipment remotely over the internet such as via LTE. To be clear, we only use it for monitoring the switching and routing of the network devices. For similar types of monitoring, but more to do with PLCs and the MIDS, we also utilize a solution called PRTG.

    What is most valuable?

    In terms of general network monitoring features, I find SolarWinds Network Device Monitor very flexible and comfortable to use. The software itself is extremely useful when it comes to monitoring how our data moves between different networks and environments.

    I especially like that I can set alert thresholds that get sent to me via email when certain conditions are met. These show me whenever there are any problems and they are very effective in helping us troubleshoot them.

    What needs improvement?

    Although I haven't explored all of the features available, I wouldn't mind if the software were made to be a bit more customizable.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using SolarWinds Network Device Monitor for approximately two years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    It has been reliable in my experience of it.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    I have not used SolarWinds' product as extensively as the other product we are using (PRTG) but I do plan to apply SolarWinds Network Device Monitor to more customers in the future.

    How are customer service and support?

    So far it hasn't been necessary for me to contact their support team, due to its overall ease of use and ease of installation.

    How was the initial setup?

    It's very easy to set up and deploy.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    Thankfully, it doesn't take a lot of manpower to install and deploy. 

    What other advice do I have?

    I have partners in the electrical industry and my recommendation to them is always to go with either SolarWinds or PRTG when it comes to remote monitoring. Of course, it can be useful in other industries, too. It's very good software.

    I would rate SolarWinds Network Device Monitor a nine out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    SVP/Director of Information Technology at a financial services firm with 201-500 employees
    Real User
    Top 20
    Usable dashboards, good mapping, and has solid technical support
    Pros and Cons
    • "I like the mapping that you could do and the dashboards were very pretty."
    • "The security needs improvement, which is why we are moving away from Solar Winds. We have security concerns."

    What is our primary use case?

    We use this solution for network monitoring, SNMP, WMI, queries against services, and occasionally for certain devices that have stopped, we would restart services.

    What is most valuable?

    I like the mapping that you could do and the dashboards were very pretty.

    We created dashboards that would provide visibility. We could look at a site and at the surface and we would be able to tell if there was anything going on.

    Overall, it is a good user experience and the dashboards are very usable.

    What needs improvement?

    I don't recall seeing a lot of tagging. 

    The setup was all linear. For example, if there was an outage, things had to be set up in a certain way to not create a deluge of emails or alerts.

    The security needs improvement, which is why we are moving away from SolarWinds. We have security concerns.

    They had a major malfunction, and they were compromised back in January of the year before last. They have had a whole series of vulnerabilities that they keep releasing and we are a financial company and they have supply chain issues and vulnerability issues that just seem to keep coming up.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been dealing with SolarWinds Network Device Monitor for 10 years.

    We are working with the latest version. It is all up-to-date.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    It's a stable solution. I don't have any issues with the stability of SolarWinds Network Device Monitor.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    We didn't have any issues with scalability. We're a small shop.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Technical support is very good. Technical support was always solid.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup was 10 years ago, but I don't recall it being difficult.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    We had a perpetual license and the renewal was $20,000 to $25,000.It probably cost us $80,000. We just purchased more and more components over the years.

    There are additional costs because there are a lot of pieces to it.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    We're currently evaluating other solutions, as we are moving away from SolarWinds.

    What other advice do I have?

    In summary, it's a good solution but it's expensive. 

    I would rate SolarWinds Network Device Monitor an eight out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    ANIS QURESHI - PeerSpot reviewer
    Senior Specialist- IT Systems Management at a manufacturing company with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Real User
    Top 10
    Effective proactive approach, beneficial device degradation detection, but more customization needed
    Pros and Cons
    • "The most valuable feature of SolarWinds Network Device Monitor is it shows you the utilization of devices to allow you to take proactive action before something goes down or reaches the saturation point. You can take proactive action to fix the problem before it occurs."
    • "SolarWinds Network Device Monitor could improve by being more user-friendly. The network has so many features which make it difficult to find how to configure how to use it. It is not simple to customize."

    What is our primary use case?

    SolarWinds Network Device Monitor can detect if devices are down or have degraded their performance.

    What is most valuable?

    The most valuable feature of SolarWinds Network Device Monitor is it shows you the utilization of devices to allow you to take proactive action before something goes down or reaches the saturation point. You can take proactive action to fix the problem before it occurs.

    What needs improvement?

    SolarWinds Network Device Monitor could improve by being more user-friendly. The network has so many features which make it difficult to find how to configure how to use it. It is not simple to customize.

    In an upcoming release of the solution, they should make it a bit faster in performance because there are high resources being used to receive reports and for some configuration.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using SolarWinds Network Device Monitor for approximately six years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    The stability of the SolarWinds Network Device Monitor is good. However, it uses a lot of resources.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    SolarWinds Network Device Monitor is a scalable solution. We can add users without a problem.

    We have approximately 20 people in our operations team using the solution.

    How are customer service and support?

    I have used the support from SolarWinds Network Device Monitor.

    I rate the support from SolarWinds Network Device Monitor a four out of five.

    How would you rate customer service and support?

    Positive

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup of the SolarWinds Network Device Monitor is easy. The deployment time depends on the number of devices. However, it can be done in one day.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The enterprise license is good for the SolarWinds Network Device Monitor. However, it is expensive, they should reduce their price.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    We did some comparisons before we started using SolarWinds Network Device Monitor and we chose it because we have easy access to local support. Additionally, we can easily receive support online.

    What other advice do I have?

    My advice to others is they should try the solution out.

    I rate SolarWinds Network Device Monitor a seven out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free SolarWinds Network Device Monitor Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.
    Updated: November 2022
    Product Categories
    Network Monitoring Software
    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free SolarWinds Network Device Monitor Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.