Coming October 25: PeerSpot Awards will be announced! Learn more

Micro Focus ALM Quality Center OverviewUNIXBusinessApplication

Micro Focus ALM Quality Center is #2 ranked solution in top Quality Management Tools and #7 ranked solution in top Application Lifecycle Management Suites. PeerSpot users give Micro Focus ALM Quality Center an average rating of 6.6 out of 10. Micro Focus ALM Quality Center is most commonly compared to Micro Focus ALM Octane: Micro Focus ALM Quality Center vs Micro Focus ALM Octane. Micro Focus ALM Quality Center is popular among the large enterprise segment, accounting for 73% of users researching this solution on PeerSpot. The top industry researching this solution are professionals from a computer software company, accounting for 20% of all views.
Micro Focus ALM Quality Center Buyer's Guide

Download the Micro Focus ALM Quality Center Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: September 2022

What is Micro Focus ALM Quality Center?

Micro Focus ALM/Quality Center serves as the single pane of glass to govern software quality and implement rigorous, auditable lifecycle processes. Designed for complex multi-application environments, organizations can achieve high efficiency in their testing and measure quality with a requirements-driven and risk-based testing approach. Advanced reporting provides a complete view across all releases to gain new insights and make informed decisions. With numerous deployment options, open integrations with common tools and strong data controls, ALM/Quality Center is a perfect choice for enterprises that need to enforce standards, ensure compliance and adapt to changing tools.

Learn more:

Micro Focus ALM Quality Center was previously known as HPE ALM, Quality Center, Quality Center, Micro Focus ALM.

Micro Focus ALM Quality Center Customers

Airbus Defense and Space, Vodafone, JTI, Xellia, and Banco de Creìdito e Inversiones (Bci)

Micro Focus ALM Quality Center Video

Micro Focus ALM Quality Center Pricing Advice

What users are saying about Micro Focus ALM Quality Center pricing:
  • "Quality Center is pricey, but cheaper is not always less expensive."
  • "Pricing could be improved as it's high-priced. I don't exactly know the pricing point, but previously, I know that it was really high so less people were able to use it for their projects."
  • Micro Focus ALM Quality Center Reviews

    Filter by:
    Filter Reviews
    Industry
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Company Size
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Job Level
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Rating
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Considered
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Order by:
    Loading...
    • Date
    • Highest Rating
    • Lowest Rating
    • Review Length
    Search:
    Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
    Don Ingerson - PeerSpot reviewer
    QA Automation Engineer at a consultancy with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Consultant
    ExpertTop 5
    We can have multiple users execute tests independently on their own computers because the UFT scripts are stored online.
    Pros and Cons
    • "Ability to customize modules, particularly Defect Tracking module on company specific needs"
    • "The BPT also known as Business Process Testing can sometimes be very time intensive and sometimes might not be very intuitive to someone who is not familiar with BPT."

    What is our primary use case?

    To store all tests including manual and automated tests along with the results of tests after they were executed. Tracking defects, scheduling test sets for automated UFT tests to run unattended from the Test Lab, storing the test cases, and also storing the test requirements in the Requirements Module. 

    The Application Lifecycle Management Process with ALM includes the following phases

    • Release Specifications: Develop a release-cycle management plan to help you manage application releases and cycles efficiently.
    • Requirement Specifications: Define requirements to meet your business and testing needs.
    • Test Planning: Based on the project requirements, you can build test plans and design tests.
    • Test Execution: Create a subset of the tests in your project designed to achieve specific test goals. Execute scheduled tests to diagnose and resolve problems.
    • Defect Tracking: Submit defects and track their progress and status.

    How has it helped my organization?

    Multiple users can execute tests independently on their own computer because the UFT scripts are stored in ALM/Quality Center which is web based. All test cases are stored in one location (ALM) which makes it easier for users to access and maintain.

    New users can quickly be added and set-up to have access to given projects in Quality Center in less than an hour.

    The Defect Module can be customized to your department's needs. At a former company, we held regular meetings and used the Defect Module with a projector to go over the defects found during the previous week.

    What is most valuable?

    • Ability to execute automated UFT scripts from Quality Center and store the results
    • Ability to customize modules, particularly Defect Tracking module on company specific needs
    • The user can export a lengthy test case with a lot of steps from Excel directly into Quality Center, which saves a lot of time. Conversely, a user can export a test case with all steps from Quality Center to Excel.
    • Users can save screen shots of defects and also perform manual testing by using Manual Runner that verifies whether each step passed or failed and save the results along with information such as the date/time executed and who the tester was that performed the manual test.

    What needs improvement?

    When a particular version of Quality Center has reached end of life, the customer is forced to upgrade to the newer version to be eligible to get technical support. The upgrade process can be time intensive and requires a lot of planning. Quality Center seems to originally designed for a Waterfall process. However, the newer versions of ALM are more adaptable to Agile testing methodology.

    The BPT also known as Business Process Testing can sometimes be very time intensive and sometimes might not be very intuitive to someone who is not familiar with BPT. ALM/QC supports IE but does not support Chrome which a lot of users like/want to use.

    History of Quality Center including other names and versions:

    On September 1, 2017 the HPE testing tools officially became Micro Focus. It is too early to see how the transition to Micro Focus will change things. I am keeping an optimistic view that Micro Focus will continue to invest in R&D and place a priority on customer support. I believe a lot of long-time customers would like to see things run like they were back in the Mercury Interactive days, which was one of the most innovative software companies of its time. If Micro Focus develops the right strategy, they could become a dominant player in the software testing market.

    It is beneficial for the reader to understand the history of Quality Center since it has gone through several name changes and versions, so I have listed the chronological events below:


    1. Mercury Interactive originally came out with TestDirector that included versions 1.52 to 8.0.

    2. Mercury renamed the product TestDirector to Quality Center in version 8.0.

    3. HP acquired Mercury and rebranded all Mercury products to HP. Therefore, Mercury Quality Center became HP Quality Center.

    4. HP released version 11.00 and renamed it to HP ALM (Application Lifecycle Management).

    5. In June 2016, HP released ALM Octane.

    So essentially, the tool at one time or another has had the names TestDirector, Quality Center, ALM, and ALM Octane. Essentially, with each version and name change there has been added functionality.


    Buyer's Guide
    Micro Focus ALM Quality Center
    September 2022
    Learn what your peers think about Micro Focus ALM Quality Center. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: September 2022.
    633,184 professionals have used our research since 2012.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    10 plus years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    Sometimes when ALM is open and there is another browser open, Quality Center will crash.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    No issues encountered, in fact, it's very straightforward to add users.

    How are customer service and support?

    Customer Service:

    9/10.

    Technical Support:

    9/10.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    I have worked at companies that used open source tools and ALM/Quality Center. I have also worked at a company that simultaneously used both Quality Center and Rally.  Rally is also a good tool and seems to be developed more for the Agile methodology. However, when using UFT we always used it with ALM/Quality Center because we could store all of the run results from automated tests.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial set-up required a lot of resources, such as the Oracle DBA, because Quality Center stores its information in tables in a database. You also have to plan and coordinate with System Analysts what servers will be used along with the architecture.

    What about the implementation team?

    N/A

    What was our ROI?

    Giving an ROI on a software product is a complicated task. I like to use the Space Shuttle as an analogy. From an economist's point of view, he or she might say the Space Shuttle program cost billions of dollars and did not see nearly that amount in hard dollars generated from resources/time saved in return. I believe NASA did get paid to put satellites into orbit via the Shuttle for private companies but it was less than the whole costs. On the other hand, a scientist could say the Space Shuttle program made many significant discoveries and also put into orbit the Hubble Telescope which discovered and took pictures of the Universe that was not possible from Earth. The Economist would just use a formula to calculate a number stating it is a bad ROI. The Scientist would say the Shuttle definitely added value by making new discoveries that advanced science so far that it cannot be measured in dollars and say it is a good ROI. My point here is that "what is the ROI" is a common question at companies and it can vary greatly on how a person approaches and perceives it.

    With all this in mind, my answer is that Quality Center definitely adds value to an organization and over the long run has a positive ROI that will keep increasing over time primarily by saving time for users the more they use the functionality of all the modules. For example, using Quality Center to schedule automated test suites to run unattended increases ROI.


    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    For licensing, find out the number of users who will be using it concurrently, and use that number as a starting point for the number of licenses to purchase. Quality Center is pricey, but cheaper is not always less expensive.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    No other options were evaluated.

    What other advice do I have?

    Write out and document all the steps and resources beforehand, and make sure everything is in place before implementing. Make sure you read the minimum requirements listed in installation instructions needed for all hardware (i.e. servers, etc.) and double-check it to ensure it is met.

    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Don Ingerson - PeerSpot reviewer
    Don IngersonQA Automation Engineer at a consultancy with 1,001-5,000 employees
    ExpertTop 5Consultant

    Krishna, yes and the official date was September 1, 2017.

    See all 7 comments
    WilsonJose - PeerSpot reviewer
    Test Advisory, Management & Implementation at a energy/utilities company with 51-200 employees
    Real User
    Top 5
    A good stand-alone test management tool, but its pricing could be improved
    Pros and Cons
    • "As a stand-alone test management tool, it's a good tool."
    • "The product is good, it's great, but when compared to other products with the latest methodologies, or when rating it as a software development tool, then I'll have to rate it with a lower score because there's a lot of other great tools where you can interconnect them, use them, scale them, and leverage. It all depends on the cost."

    What is our primary use case?

    It's a business process requirement and is being used for test cases, test executions, defect locks, metrics, dashboards, etc.

    In implementation projects, things work in the waterfall methodology so it's the best tool to collect all the requirements in one place to tie up into the test cases and test executions, so this solution is extensively being used in the company for implementation projects, particularly in test management activities. 

    What is most valuable?

    I like all the features this solution provides. It is a good stand-alone test management tool.

    What needs improvement?

    Pricing could be improved as it's high-priced. I don't exactly know the pricing point, but previously, I know that it was really high so fewer people were able to use it for their projects. That's the only disadvantage I could think of.

    One other thing: I'm not sure if Micro Focus ALM Quality Center has this feature, or other people could be using this feature currently, but if it can be connected to any automation tool then it can pass those automation test scripts, which internally it can reflect that requirement if it passed. If that feature is there, then it's good.

    If that feature isn't available, what I would like to see right now is whether it can be done manually. You can say that manually, these test cases that are linked to the requirement have passed.

    If this solution, on the other hand, can be connected to an automation tool, then it can update us automatically about the test script and whether there's a link between the test scripts and the requirement, then we can say: "Okay, this requirement ran automation test scripts and it passed, and that means coverage is good."

    I don't know whether this feature is currently available. If it's there, good. If it isn't, then that would probably be one last item I would be looking for which I'd like to be integrated into the test management tool.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I'm currently using the Micro Focus ALM Quality Center.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    About the stability of this solution, I noticed a glitch. Sometimes if I go into any of the test cases, it will show as if it doesn't have anything, but if you click the box, it'll show the content of the box e.g. company information, steps, or expected results in those test cases. Apart from that, I didn't see any other glitches.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    I have no issues with scalability because if you want more projects, you can add more projects, and if you want more texture, spaces, or cycles, you can add them. I find it good.

    How are customer service and support?

    Currently we don't have any technical concerns on the ALM side, so no improvement needed support-wise.

    How was the initial setup?

    The setup was a one-time thing and I didn't find it difficult.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    I was able to evaluate Jira, Confluence and Xray.

    What other advice do I have?

    We don't have any technical concerns about the Micro Focus ALM Quality Center. Probably, it's on a different piece of Micro Focus solution called MF Connect which connects the ALM to the DevOps so that's a different one.

    My advice to others looking to implement Micro Focus ALM Quality Center is that using it successfully depends on the person and the project. It may not be the same for other people, but installing it and using it offers less hassle, but I won't suggest it for everybody because analysis needs to be done when using this solution for particular projects. Users need to think about their requirements and if their requirements are not being met, then this tool may be obsolete, but as a test management stand-alone tool, it's a good tool.

    I've been using this solution full-fledged and I don't see any improvements which I required in this project. I started to use this product when it was in Mercury, and Mercury then went into HP, then into Micro Focus, so I'm a longtime fan of this HPQC ALM thing. But these days, things are working differently in Agile. So Agile: It works on stories and so forth, but there is no repository of requirements or any kind of history of things. There, a project comes and it works in an Agile fashion. I don't know how good this tool is when used in an Agile perspective, but I'm sure that it is a good test management tool.

    I'm rating ALM based on two points. One rating is for the product. The product is good, it's great, but when compared to other products with the latest methodologies, or when rating it as a software development tool, then I'll rate it a five out of ten because there's a lot of other great tools where you can interconnect them, use them, scale them, and leverage. It all depends on the cost.

    As a stand-alone test management tool, I'm giving it a nine out of ten.

    If I'm trying to scale and I'm spending more money, my rating will go down. If it's able to scale with less money like Jira, Confluence, or some other tool like Xray, then scaling may be done faster with less cost to the user.

    Wherever you put five out of ten, I would say to upgrade that to seven out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Public Cloud
    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Partner
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Buyer's Guide
    Micro Focus ALM Quality Center
    September 2022
    Learn what your peers think about Micro Focus ALM Quality Center. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: September 2022.
    633,184 professionals have used our research since 2012.
    Camera Software Engineer at L Soft Corp
    Real User
    Robust and low maintenance tool
    Pros and Cons
    • "Micro Focus ALM Quality Center is a very good test management tool especially for writing test cases and uploading. You can even upload the test cycles from Excel. You get the defects and the reports, and also some automation using EFT which works with ALM."
    • "Micro Focus is an expensive tool."

    What is our primary use case?

    We were using Micro Focus ALM Quality Center for our test management for lots of products. I installed ALM myself, and we were using it for SAP deployment. We were using Requirement modules, Test Plan modules, Test Lab modules as well as the Defect modules in ALM. Not only for this product, but also for other companies like Cooper, Active, Delphi, Allegis and DLM for test management.

    What is most valuable?

    Micro Focus ALM Quality Center is a very good test management tool especially for writing test cases and uploading. You can even upload the test cycles from Excel. You get the defects and the reports, and also some automation using EFT which works with ALM. All these features are good.

    What needs improvement?

    In terms of places for improvement, Micro Focus is an expensive tool. We see nowadays that there are other products coming, and Micro Focus is more expensive and there are lots of license costs. Lots of companies are not taking it because of the cost.

    It would be a good idea if they could deal with some user features and take a look at the cost. Because there is a lot of maintenance. People buy licenses and then every year they need to pay around 18% support charge, et cetera. It depends on the companies. Some rich companies buy it. Mid-level and smaller companies may have difficulties with this one.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    Micro Focus ALM Quality Center is a very recent name. It really started back in 2000, almost 20 years before. This product belonged to Mercury Interactive. After that HP bought it. From HP, Micro Focus bought it. I have been working on this product for the last 20 years. Initially they called it TestDirector. After that it become Quality Center. Now it's ALM.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    As far as performance is concerned, it is a very, very, very robust tool. It works. The only thing is the number of licenses. Because you buy licenses of 50, only 50 can concurrently use it. There could be 400 named users. 

    It requires low maintenance, and the user creation is simple. If you want to quickly add any users, or if you want to quickly create a project, it is straightforward and easy.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    Micro Focus ALM Quality Center is scalable in terms the database size and the repository. It has storage in two places; service level and at Windows level, the File System level. Lots of documents get stored in the Windows level, the File System level. So as long as you have good enough space, 100 GB or 150 GB is good enough. Only two limitation. One is licenses. The second is the server. So we usually recommend around 100 GB, 50 GB to 100 GB, which is enough.

    We usually have 200 users using it. Usually, people buy a 50-user license but that could be used by 300 people, 300 users, because not everybody will be logging on at the same time. So scalability depends upon the license.

    In terms of maintaining and deploying the updates, it does not take more than one person, probably not even that. I would say 1/4 person for this role. That person is a system admin. I used to do that, too. I was doing upgrades and configuring all myself. At the same time I was managing the actual deployment of the test phase.

    This takes about one day a month.

    How are customer service and support?

    Tech support handled most of the issues handled well, but not where there is a problem. Whenever we buy a product from Micro Focus we usually buy from Micro Focus directly. Or there are second sellers and we can buy from them, and they give you support. Whenever we have a problem, Micro Focus is very good at support. We log a ticket and they support it.

    How was the initial setup?

    Initial setup is very easy. Usually there are two ways of doing it. We needed two servers; an app server and a database server. Usually Micro Focus, like other companies, installs it on their cloud or you can install it yourselves. It's not very difficult. I was doing that too.

    When we have the ALM we can install it very quickly. It does not take much time, maybe three or four days. Once the system is ready we can pretty much install ALM and apply the license, which then deploys to users. Configuring is very easy. I was creating users and different groups, putting in lots of configuration.

    What other advice do I have?

    Usually, whenever I work with the clients, I recommend ALM for the separate deployments and separate implementations because it's easy to use and good with those things. However, because of the cost there are some clients that cannot afford the high price, or can afford it but they don't want to pay that much.

    As SAP Solution Managers, we try to use it. But people also use Jira. Jira has a very high level test management tool. So people who can't afford the price go with Jira.

    Micro Focus ALM Quality Center is a good solution. On a scale of one to ten, I would give it a nine.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Public Cloud
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Consultant at a tech services company with 501-1,000 employees
    Consultant
    A straightforward setup with good analytics and very helpful technical support
    Pros and Cons
    • "Most of the features that I like the best are more on the analytics side."
    • "The uploading of test scripts can get a little cumbersome and that is a very sensitive task. They could improve on that a lot. It's really important that this gets better as I'm loading close to a thousand test scripts per cycle."

    What is our primary use case?

    We're primarily using the solution as a testing tool where we're recording our testing data. Our use cases vary, however. Right now, for example, we're merging two companies together. When we are doing that, we have various test cycles and we have gone through three test cycles so far. aNow we're heading into UAT. So we're testing all aspects of the business, including HR, operations, gas, and electric generation. We're doing pretty much our stand-alone tests, or unit testing. Then we will then go into our end-to-end testing where all of the systems are working together. After that is done, we'll be heading into more of our business testing, our UAT.

    How has it helped my organization?

    The ability to really deeply analyze everything down to individual users has been very useful for the organization as a whole.

    What is most valuable?

    Most of the features that I like the best are more on the analytics side. We are generating our analytics from the execution module. After your tests are executed, we're able to generate all of our analysis for our presentations and to present findings to leadership. There are a lot of different views that you have access to. You can show your pass rate, your fail rate, etc. You can pretty much drill it down all the way to what each tester is doing. That's one of the really good features that they have at ALM.

    The initial setup is very straightforward.

    The solution is very easy to use, even right out of the box. You don't need to do a lot of configurations.

    You can create roles and assign various rights to each of the roles per project. You can really customize the product.

    What needs improvement?

    The uploading of test scripts can get a little cumbersome and that is a very sensitive task. They could improve on that a lot. It's really important that this gets better as I'm loading close to a thousand test scripts per cycle.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've been using the solution for about three years at this point. It's been a while.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    The solution is extremely stable. We really have not had any issues even after upgrading and taking the whole system down. It's very user-friendly right out of the box. There aren't bugs or glitches. It doesn't crash or freeze. It's reliable.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    The solution can scale well. If we need to add different modules to it, it has the ability to expand. You do need licensing for that. However, the out-of-the-box features included in the solution are great.

    We haven't really scaled it just yet. We have about 250-300 users right now. They are largely tester, developers, admin and project managers.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Technical support so far has been great. I've found that we can tell them about an issue, and they're usually back to us within the same day with a solution. We're quite satisfied with the level of service provided. I'd rate them ten out of ten.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    This is the only solution I have ever used. I don't know if the company worked with something else previously.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup is quite straightforward. It's easy. We didn't face any difficulties at all. I wouldn't describe the process as complex.

    What other advice do I have?

    We're just customers. We don't have a business relationship with ALM.

    If you want a good tool that is robust and is very user-friendly and capable of supporting a program with multiple streams or multiple workstreams, ALM would be the perfect tool. It can basically track all of your testing. It also allows you to collaborate with all of your testers, stakeholders, etc. 

    I would rate the solution at an eight out of ten due to the fact that it's user-friendly, and it has the ability to track various projects or various workstreams of a program. Also, the test scripts are reusable. For example, let's say if we are going to utilize those same test scripts for another project, a couple of years down the line, they are available, and you can do real-time updates within ALM. That's really helpful.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Consultor de tecnologia - QA at a consultancy with 501-1,000 employees
    Real User
    Top 5
    Stable with good stability and offers very good Excel add-ons
    Pros and Cons
    • "The stability is very good."
    • "If the solution could create a lighter, more flexible tool with more adaptability to new methodologies such as agile, it would be great."

    What is our primary use case?

    I primarily use the models from Quality Center. The requirements, the plan, lab, and effects, et cetera. I use it to merge my entire cycle of debts.

    What is most valuable?

    One feature that is very nice that our team uses a lot is the Excel add-in. It's a tool with add-ins, extra models, that you can use to export and import data from Excel, Microsoft Excel. It's been extremely useful for us.

    The solution overall is very good and very solid. It's robust.

    The stability is very good.

    What needs improvement?

    In the world of agile, the solution needs to make testing better. They need to arrange their tests with a very high speed of tests. Quality Center is a little bit old in terms of approach. It needs to be modernized. I have to go through many cycles, et cetera, in order to register everything correctly. I need more flexibility to adapt to the new methodology of agile for Excel. That will require more speed. Currently, due to the relative slowness, takes a lot of time to use the tools very well. 

    If the solution could create a lighter, more flexible tool with more adaptability to new methodologies such as agile, it would be great.

    I was in contact with my support team here, and there is a new release of Quality Center for agile. That is called Quality Center Octane. However, my support team has not made it available to me yet. I was waiting to see the new version of Quality Center Octane, to see if it would have more flexibility in agile. 

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've been using the solution for about ten years now. It's been a decade. It's been a long time.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    The stability is very good. It has very good capabilities. It is 99.99% stable. We haven't had issues with bugs and glitches. It doesn't crash and freeze. It's good.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    The scalability of the solution is very good. If a company needs to expand it, it can.

    We have about 1,000 users on the solution.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Technical support is a black box. It's not good. When I look into things on the site, it's very difficult to find the information and help I need. On a scale from one to ten, I'd say it is a five.

    We tend to get support from offices based in America, and we are in Brazil. It's my understanding that there isn't a team here in Brazil. Central support may be in Honduras. I've only gotten through one time. 

    They need to do better. We aren't satisfied with the level of service or the process that has to happen before we can get help.

    How was the initial setup?

    I'm not sure how easy or difficult the initial setup is. I don't know due to the fact that the setup is done by a support team and I am on the side of the user. To set up and maintain the tools on the server is not my job. I also do not know how long it takes to deploy the product. Therefore, I wouldn't be able to comment on it effectively.

    That said, to install a new station on the client-side, not the server side, is very quick.

    What other advice do I have?

    My company is just an end-user and customer. We aren't a reseller or partner.

    I'm using a variation of version 12. It may be version 12.3.

    If you have a large enterprise like me (I work in a bank and there are 10,000 people who work here) and have a large setup, this solution is very solid. For a minor company that is a smaller startup of maybe 10 or 20 people, it's a good idea to use another tool that is more flexible. 

    Overall, I would rate the solution eight out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Global Lead at a manufacturing company with 10,001+ employees
    Real User
    User-friendly and stable but needs better automation capabilities
    Pros and Cons
    • "The solution is very user-friendly."
    • "We are looking for more automation capabilities."

    What is our primary use case?

    We're pretty heavily dependent upon that tool, in terms of the test management overall and using UFT as an automation, as well.

    What is most valuable?

    The product overall it's pretty good. 

    From a DevOps perspective, there are a lot of opportunities that they can give in build solutions.

    The solution is stable. 

    The solution is very user-friendly.

    What needs improvement?

    We are looking for tools that offer quick automation for using a low-code, no-code, model testing, et cetera, which can reach more non-legacy technologies.

    We are looking for more automation capabilities.

    We would like end-to-end agile delivery, which is coming up. I can't comment on if it will properly suit us or offer the integration with other technologies, such as  Service Now or Azure Boards, et cetera. I've seen a few integration issues. It's my understanding that we have to go for third-party add-ons.

    We are still evaluating. I don't have many answers yet however, it does look like we have to rely on third-party add-ons to get this integration done. We'd like to have more built-in capabilities. 

    If they can bring in inbuilt APIs to connect to this, at least the standard technologies, like Service Now, Azure Boards, JTOC conference, et cetera, that'll be great. 

    As we are behind a few versions, I don't know whether anything available is in the latest version in regards to business process testing, where you can sequence the steps and having a collaboration by notifications et cetera, that would be ideal.

    We are working to get to the latest version to see what else may have been added or adjusted. 

    For how long have I used the solution?

    We have been using the solution pretty much for 15 years now.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    In terms of stability, there's no issue. Unfortunately, due to quite a lot of projects going on year over year, we are a little bit behind on the versions. We are on the 12.2. We have to move to 15.5 from QC. While it's a big jump, we are evaluating it as a big jump and see it as a good thing. However, there is the chance that we choose some other products and move from Micro Focus.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    I can't comment much on pricing. The reason is, we get the pricing for Micro Focus through SAP as part of an enterprise contract. We don't actually get it from Microsoft Focus and due to the fact that there's a part of the SAP that's 15 years old, we have one of the cheapest licenses probably in the world. That's one of the reasons why it's hard for us to make a business case to move to any other product at the moment, as the licensing is quite cheap for us.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    We are currently evaluating Tricentis Tosca.

    What other advice do I have?

    We are customers and end-users.

    From my perspective, it's a great tool, however, the world is now moving towards DevOps. That said, they could bring some capabilities with open-source tools like Azure DevOps. It might add better value for users. That said, this solution is a very stable, very user-friendly tool. The integration, however, is an issue.

    If somebody's looking for an independent tool for test management, it's good, however, for other areas where you need to get the full integration without investment on other add-ons, this solution won't easily allow this.

    I'd rate the solution at a seven out of ten.

    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Software Engineer
    Real User
    Integrates with Jira, good interface, and stable, but it's outdated and needs to be more modern
    Pros and Cons
    • "I like that it integrates with the Jira solutions."
    • "I would like to be able to search easier, not just do SQL queries, being able to do free keyword searches on the data. That's valuable."

    What is our primary use case?

    We have it deployed in our Data Center and it integrates with it to write a custom application on it. You have to use a sole technology, which is risky. It takes more advanced developers than someone who does JavaScript and makes web pages.

    Micro Focus is selling two test management solutions, ALM/Quality Center and ALM Octane, TM, which are identical, except ones built on newer technology

    What is most valuable?

    The user interface is fully web-capable. It's a website, and it runs on a browser.

    I like that it integrates with the Jira solutions. Similar to SmartBear TestComplete, and another solution, where they add test management into Jira. 

    All of them use the same data model. You basically have a release, a cycle, and then you have requirements, you attach those to the cycle, then you have tests, and test sets made of tests. It's all the exact same thing. They got it right because everyone has copied it.

    What needs improvement?

    ALM is a dated application, and I am researching to see what other solutions are available.

    We would like to upgrade to be more modern.

    If you want to extend it, they use ActiveX which was put into a browser to go to the internet, but it never had security built into it. It is what Microsoft Office is based on.

    It hasn't kept up, while others have and are adding new features and tools.

    I would like to be able to use free keyword searches, where you're not just limited to SQL queries.

    The software gets leapfrogged because you make a lot of investment in building something. You're selling it for five years, and meanwhile, all of the other tools are improving. Another vendor comes along to make the same thing that took you three years to build, he built it in six months.

    It's all easier to make. It's always a cycle. I just look around to see where we are at in that cycle with test management software.

    I would like to be able to search easier, not just do SQL queries, being able to do free keyword searches on the data. That's valuable.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been working with Micro Focus ALM Quality Center for a decade.

    We are using the latest version.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    The stability of this solution is good. We never experienced any issues with bugs, glitches, or any crashes.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    We have not issues with the scalability of Micro Focus ALM Quality Center. It is a scalable product.

    In a given day, we have 50 persistent users, then another day you may have 75 to 100 people with 30 users who are testers.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    We have a contractor who supports us. The company's technical support, and it all goes through them. They are the middleman to us. They are on our site, and they run it.

    How was the initial setup?

    I was not involved in the initial setup. It was set up by other people.

    What other advice do I have?

    When I look back to four or five years ago, it would have been rated a 10, but now I think that it has 's probably fallen back to a six or a seven out of ten. I would rate Micros Focus ALM Quality a six out of ten.

    I think if you look at the Gartner Magic Quadrant Reports, it pretty much indicates that as well.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Talent Acquisition Specialist at a computer software company with 10,001+ employees
    Real User
    A good and very stable product for maintaining your test cases and requirements
    Pros and Cons
    • "You can maintain your test cases and requirements. You can also log the defects in it and make the traceability metrics out of it. There are all sorts of things you can do in this. It is not that complex to use. In terms of user experience, it is very simple to adopt. It is a good product."
    • "The Agile methodology is now being used across all the organizations, but in this solution, we don't have a dashboard like Jira. In Jira, you can move your product backlogs from one space to another and see the progress, that is, whether a backlog is in the development stage or testing stage. Micro Focus ALM Quality Center does not have this feature. It is typically very straightforward. You just execute the test cases from it, and you just make them pass, fail, or whatever. They can also improve its integration with Jira. The browser support needs to be improved in this because it supports only Internet Explorer as of now. It does not have support for Firefox, Chrome, Safari, or any other browser. There are also some performance issues in it. Let's say that you are doing the testing, and you found something and are logging the defect. When you try to attach several or multiple screenshots with the defect, it slows down, which is a very common problem people face. I would like them to include a functionality where I am able to see the reports across all the projects. When you have multiple projects, being a manager, I would like to see the reports across all the projects. Currently, there is no single sign-on through which we can get all the information at one place. You need to log into it project-wise. If you have ten projects, you can't view the information in one dashboard."

    What is our primary use case?

    It is a test management tool where you write the test plan, test scripts, and test cases. You can log the defects that you found during the testing. You can also use it with other integrations, such as automation using UFT, where you execute the scripts from Micro Focus ALM Quality Center. We are using the latest version of this solution.

    What is most valuable?

    You can maintain your test cases and requirements. You can also log the defects in it and make the traceability metrics out of it. There are all sorts of things you can do in this.

    It is not that complex to use. In terms of user experience, it is very simple to adopt. It is a good product.

    What needs improvement?

    The Agile methodology is now being used across all the organizations, but in this solution, we don't have a dashboard like Jira. In Jira, you can move your product backlogs from one space to another and see the progress, that is, whether a backlog is in the development stage or testing stage. Micro Focus ALM Quality Center does not have this feature. It is typically very straightforward. You just execute the test cases from it, and you just make them pass, fail, or whatever. They can also improve its integration with Jira.

    The browser support needs to be improved in this because it supports only Internet Explorer as of now. It does not have support for Firefox, Chrome, Safari, or any other browser. 

    There are also some performance issues in it. Let's say that you are doing the testing, and you found something and are logging the defect. When you try to attach several or multiple screenshots with the defect, it slows down, which is a very common problem people face.

    I would like them to include a functionality where I am able to see the reports across all the projects. When you have multiple projects, being a manager, I would like to see the reports across all the projects. Currently, there is no single sign-on through which we can get all the information at one place. You need to log into it project-wise. If you have ten projects, you can't view the information in one dashboard.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using this solution for more than 12 years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    It is a very stable product. It is a very old product.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Whenever I face any issue or require an item for automation, such as for integrating Excel support, I can get it in the resource library. It has a resource library where you can get all of the stuff.

    I don't have any direct contact with Micro Focus support. For any issues that I face while using the product, we have a ticketing system in my company. I just need to log the ticket, and the right person will resolve it. They might be contacting Micro Focus.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup is pretty simple.

    What other advice do I have?

    I would highly recommend this product because it is a very stable product. Around 70% to 80% of organizations are using this product. It is a very stable and popular product.

    I would rate Micro Focus ALM Quality Center an eight out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Private Cloud
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    YingLei - PeerSpot reviewer
    YingLeiProduct Marketing Manager at a tech vendor with 10,001+ employees
    Real User

    Thanks for rating ALM / Quality Center very high and strongly recommending it. I'm glad to hear it's valuable to your company and users find it easy to adopt.

    Regarding your comments on client browser support, we now have a web-based client called Web Runner which works with any browser (Chrome, Firefox, Safari are surly in the list). As of version 15.5, its functionality includes test execution (both automated and manual), defect management and dashboard views, and we are continuing to enhance it. For more information on 15.5 release, please read https://community.microfocus.com/t5/Application-Delivery-Management/Application-lifecycle-management-just-got-smarter-ALM-QC-15-5/ba-p/2827724?_ga=2.267177102.1820220155.1604449544-260327609.1591619387

    Regarding your comment on cross-project reporting, it has been available since long time ago, and you need the ALM edition to have this feature. Using the Graph Wizard, you just select your multiple projects and proceed with graph creation. See https://admhelp.microfocus.com/alm/en/15.5/online_help/Content/UG/ui_select_projects.htm.

    Please bookmark the following to keep informed on the latest information of ALM / Quality Center:
    https://www.microfocus.com/en-us/products/alm-quality-center/overview
    https://admhelp.microfocus.com/alm/

    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free Micro Focus ALM Quality Center Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.
    Updated: September 2022
    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free Micro Focus ALM Quality Center Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.