Coming October 25: PeerSpot Awards will be announced! Learn more

ConnectWise Control OverviewUNIXBusinessApplication

ConnectWise Control is #5 ranked solution in top Virtual Meetings tools and #6 ranked solution in top Remote Access tools. PeerSpot users give ConnectWise Control an average rating of 9.6 out of 10. ConnectWise Control is most commonly compared to Microsoft Remote Desktop Services: ConnectWise Control vs Microsoft Remote Desktop Services. ConnectWise Control is popular among the large enterprise segment, accounting for 47% of users researching this solution on PeerSpot. The top industry researching this solution are professionals from a computer software company, accounting for 20% of all views.
ConnectWise Control Buyer's Guide

Download the ConnectWise Control Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: September 2022

What is ConnectWise Control?

ConnectWise Control is a fast, reliable and secure remote support, access and meeting solution. Use remote support and access to repair computers, provide updates, and manage machines. Conduct online seminars and presentations using remote meetings. ScreenConnect includes the same features as competing remote control solutions.

ConnectWise Control was previously known as ScreenConnect.

ConnectWise Control Customers

Jon Rosen Systems

ConnectWise Control Video

ConnectWise Control Pricing Advice

What users are saying about ConnectWise Control pricing:
  • "ConnectWise Control is not an overly expensive tool. Its pricing is reasonable."
  • "We pay $3,000 USD for the service, yearly upfront."
  • "We pay an annual licensing fee."
  • "We pay $85 per month for each user for a ConnectWise package with multiple solutions."
  • ConnectWise Control Reviews

    Filter by:
    Filter Reviews
    Industry
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Company Size
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Job Level
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Rating
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Considered
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Order by:
    Loading...
    • Date
    • Highest Rating
    • Lowest Rating
    • Review Length
    Search:
    Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
    Steve Schick - PeerSpot reviewer
    Technology and Logistics Director at a media company with 501-1,000 employees
    Real User
    Multifeatured remote access software which offers security, stability, and easy scalability
    Pros and Cons
    • "Offers more security than TeamViewer, Google Remote Desktop, and Zoom. It's a stable, feature-rich solution that's easy to set up and easy to scale."

      What is our primary use case?

      We use ConnectWise Control as a great remote access tool.

      How has it helped my organization?

      The primary support or the remote access support is really what we use ConnectWise Control for, but that's just the tip of the iceberg.

      Even people outside of the organization would benefit from this. We do push out the agents, but if somebody, for whatever reason, like our board of trustees, don't have the agent on their computer, we can create a support session so they can just join via a web browser and we can support them in the same manner. It's very handy. It's very beneficial.

      It also has the ability to have online meetings, like a WebEx scenario.

      I haven't really played around with it too much, but what they refer to, what ConnectWise calls the unattended access, I would say is easily 80% to 90% of what we've used here and in previous lives, so it's really great.

      This solution is very feature rich. It has a Wake-on-LAN ability.

      You can also run commands against the machines, e.g. for old guys like me who prefer that instead of the fancy GUIs. It's similar to a DOS window where you can run different types of commands against it.

      It does come in handy if you just want to do something in the background, e.g. schedule reboots, and you don't want to become too invasive to what the user's doing. Especially in our situation, a lot of times they're teaching a class and it's like: "Ugh. We don't want this to pop up." They've got their laptops connected to an interactive display most of the time, so they don't need to see what's going on in the background. It's pretty awesome.

      I also like the fact that it does do an audit, so you can see who's connected to the machine. If somebody, every once in a while, and this isn't exclusive to ConnectWise Control, we'll get a call saying: "Hey. Something's not right with my machine. The mouse is moving on its own...", and we take a look, and sure enough: One of the support agents has taken control.

      That's the draw back of any type of unattended access: They can just do that, so I've always put in a policy saying: "Hey. You need to make sure that you have the user's permission before connecting to their machine just so: A. You don't freak them out, and B. They know what you're doing." The audit trail on that is very good. It can show that.

      The other nice thing is it has a two-way instant messaging feature built in, so if you're trying to communicate with somebody who maybe doesn't have a phone or whatever the case may be, you can type messages back and forth. This is a nice feature too.

      The ability to block guest input is really good. If you are connected to somebody's machine and you're working on it, e.g. you're just on your screen Googling something and then they take the mouse and start moving it around, and you'll have to tell them: "No, don't do that. Don't close that."

      You can block them from having control, so you're not fighting over control, e.g. mouse control. Another example is if you have the need to enter a password with additional access, e.g. an admin password, you can blank out their monitor so they can't see what you're typing. That's very, very handy because you don't want the end user to be able to get that password, and if you mistakenly type it in the username field, it will be in plain text. It'll be there until you do your password change.

      What is most valuable?

      We actually have this solution set up quite slick where there's different modes for it. We use what they call unattended mode, so the way it works is it pushes out the agent to all the Windows-based machines. They're in a "by school" type of thing in our example, but you can do it by department or groups, or by custom groups. We have full control over the machines. You can do whatever you need to do as if the machine was right in front of you.

      One of the other features that is very, very strong in ConnectWise Control is the shared toolbox. It gives you the ability to have certain applications that you can't push out to machines for some reason, e.g. you can't use a GPO (Group Policy Object) because they're not on the domain, or because they're just totally remote. You can push out a portable support tool through the toolbox, for example: if you want to do a disk cleanup because you're getting a low disk space warning. There's hundreds of examples I could share with you. The shared toolbox feature of this solution is very popular.

      I've been here two and a half years now, and previously I was in a managed service provider. We used this solution per instance, per client and it's just been enormously powerful for that. You can set up the remote access and get pretty granular as far as permissions go, but it's just been a fantastic tool and I would highly recommend it to anybody.

      When I first looked at this solution, one of the things that I thought was incredible that they've given a lot of thought to, is the ability to reboot machines and not lose connection to it. That's something that some of the competitor products could not do: When you rebooted the machine, you literally lost sight of it. If it came back up, great. If not, then you'll be in a bad situation.

      ConnectWise Control has two options for that. You can reboot to normal mode or to safe mode, which has been pretty handy from time to time when you need to get into safe mode in case there's a potentially corrupt operating system. I use that not very often, but just knowing that it's there when it is needed has been really good.

      I did mention the toolbox which is really good.

      The granular groups is also good because for a managed service provider, to be able to just really get that down, e.g. you don't want to give full access to everybody, it's just fantastic with that.

      What needs improvement?

      From my standpoint, I'm quite happy with this solution. There's nothing more I would want to do with it for improvement.

      Buyer's Guide
      ConnectWise Control
      September 2022
      Learn what your peers think about ConnectWise Control. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: September 2022.
      633,952 professionals have used our research since 2012.

      For how long have I used the solution?

      I've been using it for 10 years now.

      What do I think about the stability of the solution?

      I find ConnectWise Control to be a stable product. It's very, very rare for bugs, glitches, or performance issues to occur. No software is absolutely perfect, but every once in a while you'll just see something, e.g. the service is unavailable. This happens just once a year, and it's very, very short lived. It's just a matter of getting coffee, coming back, then it's fine.

      What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

      This solution is absolutely easy to scale.

      We had almost 6,000 endpoints in one of the MSPs that I worked for, and I didn't find any issues with that at all.

      Right now, we're hovering around 1,000 endpoints, with no issues.

      In the larger MSP that I worked for, my remote team consisted of 20+ individuals, and this product went through the paces, but I've never heard anybody say, "Hey, you know what? This is just too slow. I'm going to wait until somebody's off to continue because it's unusable."

      How are customer service and support?

      The only time I've ever had to contact tech support is to purchase additional licenses, and they would just send me over to the sales department.

      Now I don't even have to do that because they have a self-serve portal. If you do have to contact support, you can do that right on the main screen.

      If I remember correctly, they have a chat feature too, so it's not like you have to wait in queue for an agent. There's somebody there to at least chat with. With a company the size of ConnectWise, I would expect them to have very strong support.

      Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

      There was a time when we were using Google Remote Desktop. There were a lot of the things that I didn't like about it, particularly the security it provides.

      ConnectWise is a lot more secure than TeamViewer, Zoom, and Google Remote Desktop, especially in schools which has been a known area where malicious activity has occurred. I just don't hear the same thing, nor have I experienced the same security risks from ConnectWise Control.

      There were definitely features I found in this solution, e.g. the ability to reboot in safe mode which aren't available in the previous tools that we had in place.

      ScreenConnect or ConnectWise Control as it's known today has been my go-to solution for the last decade. The other products we used previously had a lot of performance issues.

      Talking about VNCs, they were not as usable at times. The VNC was such a poor technology. We tried different products, so it's not just one product that was an issue.

      TeamViewer was a solution I found really, really heavy. It needed a lot of resources. The juice just wasn't worth the squeeze. It was a lot of work and we really didn't benefit from it.

      When I was introduced to ScreenConnect or ConnectWise Control, it was almost too good to be true. We did a proof of concept for six to eight weeks on it, then we started switching over to it as our primary tool. Nothing was preventing us from doing that, not even the price, because it was totally reasonable, totally doable, and the rest was history. We never looked back.

      We also used LogMeIn in the past. It was a scaled down version, or it could have been another acquisition called join.me. There was some acquisition there, but I can't keep track of all these acquisitions. They were okay, but not feature-rich. LogMeIn and join.me suddenly had significant price increases, so they were almost pricing themselves off the market.

      How was the initial setup?

      The initial setup is easy. With no exaggeration, from the time you sign up for your free trial to when your instance is created, it takes less than 10 minutes per person.

      It's just really a matter of how granular you want it to be, how many groups you have, and your group structure. I have fairly bad OCD, so I have subgroups on top of groups.

      If you just want to use it out of the box and deploy an agent, you'll have the machines checking in easily within 10 minutes, then you can just sort them from there if you want to.

      It is as simple as can be.

      What was our ROI?

      We saw a return on investment from using this solution.

      It's just really difficult to put a price tag on ROI because often times we deal with non-technical individuals who just get very frustrated and they can't exactly express themselves very well with what's happening. We get this feedback from them which is not uncommon: "It just doesn't work. I don't know what's going on. There's this message here."

      We help them with their concern and say: "Hey, can we just connect to your machine and take a look at what's going on, because it's a lot easier to visualize?" Just by not having to drive out to rural Alberta where there is a lot of snow, and we're up to about three feet of snow this year. It's not exactly easy to drive anywhere, so the ROI on this is easily less than a day, and that's really not an exaggeration. It's totally worth the money.

      What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

      ConnectWise Control is not an overly expensive tool.

      When I first bought it 10 years ago, I paid about $4,000 for a one-time license for unlimited connections. The price has gone up over the years, but the current pricing only costs us $35 a year for each license. We're a small team, so we're on a very, very basic plan and we've only got four licenses. Pricing for this solution is reasonable.

      I found the invoice for this solution and it's $840, so the $35 was actually per month. It's the per month charge. It's reasonable. If somebody uses it once a month, it more than paid for what we would've had to do for going out. Literally, the team's in there all the time. Not a day goes by that everybody hasn't used it.

      I don't recall any additional fees on top of the licensing cost. There are different licensing models and you get more features depending on the model.

      Because of our size, there's a free version that I use for my home, which is great. When you sign up, you get the free trial and all the bells and whistles. In a larger organization, whether in the public or private sector with multiple departments and a number of buildings, they may benefit from that. For the most part, I don't know if there's anything additional that you would really need. It's just bells and whistles.

      Which other solutions did I evaluate?

      I was able to evaluate TeamViewer, Webex, Zoom, Google Remote Desktop, LogMeIn, and several different VNCs.

      What other advice do I have?

      This solution used to be called ScreenConnect, then ConnectWise bought them out four or five years ago. A little bit of background on the organization: We're a rural school division in Northern Alberta, so we have to cover a lot of geography. It's been apparent in the last couple years with COVID that going out and seeing machines just isn't the way to go like it was 10, 20 years ago.

      We're using this solution as SaaS (Software as a Service). I don't know if they're still offering it on-prem. I think that they went away from that. For some reason, that rings a bell.

      I'm trying to think of anything else that might be a room for improvement for this product. Something I really haven't played around with a whole lot is the PowerShell through this, but it might also just work through the commands section of it. I can't see that as something that's missing in the product. In all fairness, I haven't really done a lot with that as of late.

      Currently, we have six people using this product.

      The beauty of ConnectWise Control is we really don't have to do anything for maintenance. We only need to do a little bit of housekeeping, e.g. if we decommission a machine, we just remove the agent from there and it's gone.

      Any app-specific maintenance is done by ConnectWise, so we have zero responsibility for that. ConnectWise is always great about sending a planned maintenance message out, e.g.: "Between the hours of 2:00 AM and 3:00 AM, the service will be unavailable.", which is the perfect time. I've never had an issue where I've gone in and said: "Oh, they're still doing maintenance. Something must have gone wrong." This is a solid solution.

      Increasing usage of this product isn't out of the question, but not at this point in time. There are some features that are in there that we don't use today, but as far as the number of individuals, it's going to depend on whether my team grows or not. We don't have plans of increasing usage in the near future, but it's not a definite no.

      I would say to anybody who's even thinking about using this solution, is to definitely sign up for the free trial, even if you don't decide to go with it. The setup is so easy. You get 15 days to try it out and that's more than enough time to see exactly what you can do with it and if it's a good fit. I'd be surprised if somebody says: "No, I really don't like this." It's so intuitive. I've got non-technical individuals who just do app support, so they know that one application, and they don't know a lot about servers or computers, but they just absolutely love ConnectWise Control because it's so simple. They search for the machine, double click it, and they're in. That's not oversimplifying it at all. That's literally what they do.

      Definitely do the free trial and let it speak for itself.

      I'm rating this solution a 10 out of 10. It's easily a 10 out of 10, because even though there were some glitches and bugs, it's very rare. I can't even remember anything off the top of my head that was so significant that made me say: "I'm not liking this at all." I'm typically pretty hard on these products because there's so many of them out there, but we definitely have a choice.

      Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
      Flag as inappropriate
      PeerSpot user
      Vladislavs Dmuhovskis - PeerSpot reviewer
      IT System and Network Administrator at a maritime company with 10,001+ employees
      Real User
      Top 20
      Easy to set up and configure with good pricing
      Pros and Cons
      • "I do love the monitoring page. If you are using ConnectWise Control, which is the on-prem version, when you are logged into the admin panel, there is a status page that checks network connectivity, the status of the license, and so on."
      • "On a Linux machine, there are different limitations that are not there on a Windows Server. Much more limitations exist on Linux deployments."

      What is our primary use case?

      Basically, in a previous company where I worked, I was a product owner and our company searched for tools that would be able to remotely connect to our customer computers and assist if some IT issue arises. 

      We have customers outside of our office that we are supporting. We cover all IT devices, including computers and Windows machines as well as our applications. If an employee of these third-party companies has any issue they call a support number and communicate directly with an engineer. He can directly connect and take over control of their machines if necessary. This is helpful, for example, if an employee cannot describe what actually happens on his computer during a problem and network activity still exists. Our employee engineers can jump on the computer and witness it from the perspective of the user. 

      What is most valuable?

      The price is very good. The licensing is simple and they offer discounts for remote renewals. 

      The support is quite nice as well. 

      I do love the monitoring page. If you are using ConnectWise Control, which is the on-prem version, when you are logged into the admin panel, there is a status page that checks network connectivity, the status of the license, and so on. If monitors different parameters. If some issue arises, you just need to log into this admin page and check to see if all positions are green. If something is red, we would investigate further to find out what is going wrong.

      In our experience, we've had a price issue and the one was related to licensing. We had a valid license, however, something happened on the vendor side. When we started getting alerts that something wasn't working, the admin went immediately to the admin page and saw that there is a license-related issue. We raised it with ConnectWise, and, after ten minutes, we were back online.

      It's quite easy to set up this product and configure it. 

      What needs improvement?

      The on-prem installation uses something like an Emulator, which emulates the Windows environment to a written application to run on Linux. We faced different issues related to security which are easier to overcome on a Windows machine. Also, the configuration and maintenance are easier when the implementation is done on a Windows Server if we are speaking on-prem version.

      There is if documentation of ConnectWise Control on-premise, however, on a Linux machine, there are different limitations that are not there on a Windows Server. Much more limitations exist on Linux deployments.

      Companies that support some others in computer-related things or large organizations that have an internal service desk support team should be able to connect to own devices and assist employees in case trouble happens.

      In the on-prem version, operators need to tell those they are assisting to visit a webpage, where they will see a welcome screen banner and they must enter their ID. After that, a small client must be installed on the computer. For large corporates that have introduced different security measures, such as Microsoft Adblock, sometimes it can be an issue to connect. 

      For how long have I used the solution?

      I've worked with the solution for four years. 

      What do I think about the stability of the solution?

      The product works well and is quite reliable. For example, we've had a lot of IT systems in our environment and usually, with ConnectWise Control, we have only had one incident in three years. It runs well and just needs a one-time configuration.

      Even after upgrading, we haven't had issues with bugs or glitches. It's been seamless so far.

      What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

      We have 15 users who are on it on a daily basis and using it to assist customers. 

      We haven't tried to expand it. We had a rather small installation and have no plans to increase usage right now. At the outset, we didn't really look into its scalability as we knew we didn't have plans to grow beyond what we initially planned for. 

      How are customer service and support?

      Support is great.

      They respond very fast on support tickets because we've had experience with other products and with different supporters and product-wise really answer fast. If they cannot answer immediately, they always come back without the need for us to reach out with a reminder. It takes one to two hours and they come back with a solution. Consultations on our tickets are opened and dealt with quite fast.

      Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

      We haven't really used any other solution before we chose ConnectWise. For internal users, we used SCCM to connect to our corporate computers.

      The functionality would be the main differentiator between the two solutions. There is the possibility to enter some automated jobs in ConnectWise. In SCCM, this was not possible. Basically, ConnectWise has some small features that engineers can utilize to assist with troubleshooting and may make the tasks go faster and be much more comfortable.

      How was the initial setup?

      The initial setup is straightforward. In every setting, you have a GUI and you can see all configurations. You can choose which type of configuration you want and you're good to go.

      The first step is to collect the requirements from the internal department, which provides support for external customers. It's important due to the fact that, when you are building an IT solution, it's important to know what exactly the needs of the internal customer may be. We did our research and looked at different options and did a demo to make sure it matched our requirements. 

      A server for the on-prem version is needed and it's important to sync which one Linux and Microsoft Windows. We do recommend a Windows Server. Linux has its limits and limitations.  For us, after a major upgrade, we needed to migrate to Windows. You will need to understand your RAM, CPU and so on.

      It's important to have a discussion with the network team and to have documentation that can be used for communication. The network setup must be done on firewalls, on the switches, and so on. When you have your network and your server, you can proceed with application installation. 

      It happens quite fast. When you are installing, you must have the appropriate license. When calculating your license requirements, it's important to understand how big the workload is in your company in order to estimate which license will be appropriate.

      If you want people to be notified via emails, you must set up SMTP servers. It's possible to do a white label web branded landing page that can be customized fully. Your information, brand, and custom colors can be added.  

      For us, the deployment took three working days to set up. They have up-to-date and technically deep documentation, which allows us to do a fast setup. Only one integration was with the Active Directory to be able to authenticate users by their corporate credentials and it was done also in three days. It was quite easy as there was a graphical user interface that simplified the process.

      We did not have a large deployment. We had 15 engineers which are supporting external clients. The deployment itself one person did it in three days. 

      There isn't really any maintenance needed. There may be some occasional patching, however, that's basically it.  We tend to update the solution quarterly.

      What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

      Four years ago, when we bought it, it was the cheaper side and we had a new license and we got good discounts. We might have originally had a 50% discount due to the fact that we had licensing previously. For some products, if you have, for example, a subscription, this license is valid for two years or one year, and then you must pay full price after that. ConnectWise has the benefit of, when renewing a license, getting quite large discounts.

      Which other solutions did I evaluate?

      We looked at various products and the best option for us regarding functionality, ease of use, and, of course, the price was ConnectWise Control.

      What other advice do I have?

      We are a customer and an end-user.

      We used an on-prem server and I just started using Linux, however, we don't recommend using Linux. It's better to go with a Windows Server machine.

      We do recommend using the Windows Server for our clients.

      I would rate the solution at a nine out of ten.

      I'd advise potential new users to understand all the needs of the company first to make sure the solution will cover what you would like to be accomplished. If ConnectWise Control is chosen, do the trial license. It doesn't take a lot of effort to deploy it. Take some time in the demo environment and see how it works for you. If the functionalities are there and it is meeting your expectations, proceed with the next steps.

      Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

      On-premises
      Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
      Flag as inappropriate
      PeerSpot user
      Buyer's Guide
      ConnectWise Control
      September 2022
      Learn what your peers think about ConnectWise Control. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: September 2022.
      633,952 professionals have used our research since 2012.
      Cobus Burgers - PeerSpot reviewer
      Managing Director at NETCB
      Real User
      Excellent Remote Control Security, designed for your Remote Workforce
      Pros and Cons
      • "Due to the fact that we can help our clients virtually, the solution has allowed us to reduce our travel costs by about 90%."
      • "Something that I would like to see in the future is mobile video streaming. They do provide audio conferencing, but seeing the problem makes it easier to solve the problem. If they had video streaming, if a client had a physical problem with something and I couldn't get remote access, the client could use his mobile phone to show me the problem. In these cases, even if a client's systems were down, I could help, so long as I had a mobile phone environment."

      What is our primary use case?

      As an ICT solutions and software development company, our clients are spread across the globe.  We monitor client systems and provide support services and implementation services to all of our clients irrespective of their geographic location. Once a client reports an issue, or we are alerted of problem situation, we are virtually on-site within seconds to tend to the reported issue.

      How has it helped my organization?

      Due to the fact that we can help our clients by being on-site virtually, the solution has allowed us to reduce our travel costs by about 90%.  This also ensures that we can address client problems in a much shorter time frame.

      What is most valuable?

      The solution's ease of use is one of its most valuable aspects. It's very quick to establish a remote session with the client, unlike a similar solution called Bomgar, which was a little bit more problematic in terms of that.   With ConnectWise Control, a client can be connected instantly. You can be on the phone with a client and they will say, "I'm having a problem." You can immediately say, "Okay, you're not registered on our system." A minute later, with ConnectWise Control, the client will be registered and one can remotely provide assistance to that client with a simple one step action.

      The security of our clients is of utmost importance, and comparable solutions such as TeamViewer and AnyDesk just did not pass our security compliance requirements.  With ConnectWise Control we are in full control of the security access of the system.  Activating the Multi-Factor Authentication capabilities enhances the access security even further.

      ConnectWise Control also integrates with other Managed Service Provider systems such as NinjaOne with ease.  This capability provides your support teams with even more flexibility to support clients.

      What we like about ConnectWise Control is that you can brand it as if it is a service provided by your company, and not by some other organisation. You can replace all the branding components so that the product that faces the client only represents your organisation.

      The reporting capabilities have also greatly improved over the past few years and assist us to provide compliance reports to our clients.

      A major feature is the ability of a client to "show" you via a mobile device what the problem is in case you cannot establish a remote session to the client because the client's system may be offline and only a visual inspection of the issue is possible.

      What needs improvement?

      Since my last report three years ago on ConnectWise Control they have addressed my entire wish list for future enhancements.

      For how long have I used the solution?

      We've been using the solution for more than five years now.

      What do I think about the stability of the solution?

      The solution is unbelievably stable. There was only one instance where we had an outage. It was a planned outage from ConnectWise themselves, where they notified us upfront that between certain hours the service would not be available. That only ever happened once. Other than that, it's always been available. They always notify us upfront when there's going to be a system update. What we like about it, is it updates itself and all agents running with our various clients automatically.

      What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

      What we like about this system is that we can scale up and down.  You can increase your concurrent agent license requirement automatically online and it's effective immediately. That way, you can support more agents quickly. It also works the other way. Once any spike in workload is going away, you can reduce your license account again. It's really very scalable. 

      At the moment, we're supporting about 40 different clients and that encompasses about 300,000 users.

      We are constantly using the solution 24 hours per day.

      How are customer service and support?

      Their support is pretty proactive. We have never had an issue except once. The one time we had an issue, it was actually an installation on a Linux machine. Technical support was pretty reactive from their side. We've been quite satisfied with their responsiveness.

      How would you rate customer service and support?

      Positive

      Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

      We previously used Bomgar, which has since been acquired by a BeyondTrust. We switched because it was so expensive. We were very unhappy when our appliance broke down and they said you have to pay five years' worth of backdated software maintenance. They wanted to charge us about 100,000 ZAR, and we backed away, as it was way too much for our small 24 person company.

      We switched to ConnectWise's Control, which we found extremely powerful. It can provides us with basically similar features that we used to have with Bomgar. As a remote control solution, it works extremely well.

      The key difference between the two was the licensing cost. Bomgar (BeyondTrust Remote Support) is also a very good product. What we did find is that ConnectWise has got slightly more support in terms of integration into other systems than what Bomgar used to authorize at that point in time, over five years ago. It may have changed since then. However, the costs, including the peer cost and the costing model, are quite high.

      How was the initial setup?

      The solution is actually extremely easy to set it up. It takes less than an hour to set up the framework. Then, if you want to brand it for your own organization, that takes a little bit longer because it depends on how many customized graphics you want to implement on the system. 

      What about the implementation team?

      We handled the implementation ourselves. We didn't need the help of a consultant or integrator.

      What was our ROI?

      With a 90% cost saving on travelling, it pays for itself within days.

      What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

      You only need to license your concurrent support agents.  We also recommend that you integrate ConnectWise Control with your internal identity providers to ensure that your access to ConnectWise Control is managed by your organisational security frameworks.

      Which other solutions did I evaluate?

      We actually looked at a couple of different solutions. We evaluated TeamViewer and AnyDesk. We were not satisfied with these solutions at all due to the fact that they just do not from a compliance auditing perspective satisfied our needs. They didn't meet our security requirements. The majority of our clients would not have allowed us to implement these solutions because the majority of our clients require exceptional security standards. Most of them are governmental institutions and we are under extreme scrutiny in terms of auditing. We need to be able to play back events to demonstrate exactly when we had access to each system at the client site. ConnectWise Control manages to provide all the requirements that we need from a security and compliance perspective.

      What other advice do I have?

      We are only a ConnectWise customer. We don't have any other business relationship with them.

      We are always up-to-date with the latest version. It's automatically updated on the system due to the fact that the service is hosted in the cloud even though it's not really a cloud service. We have our own instance, and we are completely in control from a security perspective. One of our biggest requirements was security. Our users need authentication via their user credentials, which we control with our on-premise security framework.  It's extremely difficult for someone to bypass that security, especially with our added multi-factor authentication.  Even though the service is hosted in the cloud, we have full control over access to that service, unlike TeamViewer and AnyDesk, which is purely a cloud-based solution. 

      Any person or company that really wants to have a very efficient and easy to use remote control solution really should evaluate ConnectWise. The solution has a trial period which is valid for 14 days, and you can test it out for free. 

      Overall, I'd rate the solution ten out of ten.

      Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

      Hybrid Cloud

      If public cloud, private cloud, or hybrid cloud, which cloud provider do you use?

      Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
      Flag as inappropriate
      PeerSpot user
      MikeChacker - PeerSpot reviewer
      IT Manager Global Service Delivery at a energy/utilities company with 1,001-5,000 employees
      Real User
      Top 5Leaderboard
      Improves our efficiency, straightforward to use, and provides the facility to transparently execute commands in a remote session
      Pros and Cons
      • "You can bring up a command prompt remotely and execute commands without having to disturb the user."
      • "I really didn't care for the onboarding process and it is something that should be improved."

      What is our primary use case?

      We went full remote after COVID, so all of our employees are off-premises. We use it primarily as a remote deployment, remote connectivity tool for doing troubleshooting with our clients.

      How has it helped my organization?

      My group that uses it is my service desk and my level two support staff. Some level threes use it for connecting to servers, but this just because it's so much more convenient than RDP. We're able to use it to do screen-sharing sessions, troubleshooting, and resolving customer issues from our service desk and our level two desktop support personnel.

      What is most valuable?

      There are a lot of good features in this product but there are two of them that I like the best. One feature is being able to remote-run commands through the client and not having to connect directly to the machine. You can bring up a command prompt remotely and execute commands without having to disturb the user.

      Another feature that's really handy is all of the data it brings back after we push the client out with Intune. When it returns, it brings back a lot of useful data that we utilize while troubleshooting.

      After you figured out the interface, using it is pretty straight forward. It is much better once the initial learning curve is over.

      What needs improvement?

      I really didn't care for the onboarding process and it is something that should be improved. They just sent me an email and said, "Hey, here's your account", and I have a group of folks using it. I had to go through and figure out specifically how to do it. It's really a combination of onboarding and support. It wasn't great. I would have rather them just let me upload a list of who all needs it and then send everyone directions on how to get it.

      I would love to see the ability to send out bulk updates to third-party tools through their command line. This would mean being able to write a script and execute it on a group of machines, all at the same time.

      In my past, I've used software like Dameware Mini Remote Control, which is now part of SolarWinds. In that software, the reporting was very good. For example, you could specify a group of machines and send a query to ask a question like how many of them have Adobe Reader installed. The report would be generated pretty easily.

      For how long have I used the solution?

      We have been using ConnectWise Control for between three and five months.

      What do I think about the stability of the solution?

      The stability has been great.

      I'd say it's pretty extensively used by the groups who rely on it as their primary tool. I don't know if we have any plans to extend this product, specifically, but we are looking into implementing some of the other ConnectWise tools.

      What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

      I think that it's pretty scalable. We've increased our license count since we first purchased it.

      I've got seven people total using it, including our service desk staff and our tier-two, or desktop support. Our level three engineers use it because they enjoy the flexibility of connecting to servers with it, versus using a remote desktop.

      How are customer service and technical support?

      We haven't had to use technical support.

      Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

      The company had used a couple of different products and it was kind of a scattered bag. We used Teams, which wasn't very good. They used Remote Assistance, which I think was from TeamViewer. Then, I think someone used VNC for a short time, but we put a stop to that quickly.

      How was the initial setup?

      Our deployment only took about half a day. We wrote a PowerShell script and deployed it through Intune.

      What about the implementation team?

      The deployment was done in-house and I have one staff member who handled deployment and is responsible for maintenance. This is our senior cloud administrator and the deployment was taken on because this person found the product for us, then did the implementation.

      What was our ROI?

      It's interesting, and this is kind of anecdotal, but I think it applies. We are more efficient at resolving end-user tickets as a result of implementing this product. We've seen our ticket count lower and our ticket throughput increased.

      I think it really has to do with ConnectWise because prior to that, it was clunky trying to get connected to people, screen-share, and those types of things. Whereas now, we just click a button to connect and we're off and running.

      What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

      We pay $3,000 USD for the service, yearly upfront. There are no costs in addition to the standard licensing fees.

      Which other solutions did I evaluate?

      During our evaluation, we looked at ConnectWise, TeamViewer, and a third one. TeamViewer was a heavy favorite because it integrated with Intune.

      What other advice do I have?

      My advice for anybody who is implementing this product is if they have the ability to bundle it with ConnectWise Automation, to do it from the start. We would really like to implement ConnectWise Automate, but it is probably out of our price range right now.

      The biggest lesson that I have learned from using this product is that not all remote connectivity software is equal. My team thinks that this product is pretty good.

      I would rate this solution a nine out of ten.

      Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

      Public Cloud

      If public cloud, private cloud, or hybrid cloud, which cloud provider do you use?

      Microsoft Azure
      Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
      PeerSpot user
      SA at a university with 1,001-5,000 employees
      Real User
      Top 5
      Our help desk can remote to the end-user's PC from anywhere
      Pros and Cons
      • "ConnectWise Connect is very convenient as we can remote to a PC even when it is not within our LAN."
      • "I would like ConnectWise Control to be more transparent on the real costs to renew their license."

      What is our primary use case?

      We buy licenses for our help desk so that when our end-users are having problems with their PCs, our help desk can remote to the end-user's PC to troubleshoot and solve the problem. 

      This year, we recently purchased another license so we now have a total of five licenses.

      What is most valuable?

      ConnectWise Connect is very convenient as we can remote to a PC even when it is not within our LAN.

      We can do almost everything from our local PC to the remote PC. We can copy and paste to the machine we are remoting with. We can message the PC we are working with. Anything you can imagine to remote to the PC, the end-users PC can be done with ConnectWise.

      What needs improvement?

      I would like ConnectWise Control to be more transparent on the real costs to renew their license. When we tender a renewal with our vendors, the vendors see the cost of a new license and not the renewal fee so they quote us higher than what it actually is.

      For how long have I used the solution?

      I have had three years experience working with ConnectWise Control.

      Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

      Prior to ConnectWise we were using TeamViewer however due to security purposes in 2016 we stopped using TeamViewer. 

      We have also used Windows Remote Desktop to remote to desktops, however, you can only remote within the local area network. Our firewall and VPN now restrict the use of Windows Remote Desktop.

      What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

      We pay an annual licensing fee.

      What other advice do I have?

      I would recommend ConnectWise Control to others to use. I rate it a 9 out of 10.

      Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

      On-premises
      Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
      Flag as inappropriate
      PeerSpot user
      MikeChacker - PeerSpot reviewer
      IT Manager Global Service Delivery at a energy/utilities company with 1,001-5,000 employees
      Real User
      Top 5Leaderboard
      A stable solution that scales well and is super easy and simple to use
      Pros and Cons
      • "Control lets us do remote management of machines without having to be on the VPN. It's super simple and super easy."
      • "There could be improvement to the remote command line tools."

      What is our primary use case?

      We are a 100% remote company, so we use ConnectWise Control primarily for remote support. I also have a guy who goes through periodically, probably every week or so, and uses Control to pull information about all the PCs and make sure that the patch levels are showing up correctly and that we are where we said we were going to be.

      What is most valuable?

      Control lets us do remote management of machines without having to be on the VPN. It's super simple and super easy, so that's really where the advantage comes in for us.

      What needs improvement?

      There could be improvement to the remote command line tools. You can do what they call "Backstage," and run commands behind the scenes. It's a little quirky.

      What do I think about the stability of the solution?

      The solution is super stable. I have never had a problem with it. 

      What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

      The solution scales well. 

      What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

      We pay $85 per month for each user for a ConnectWise package with multiple solutions. 

      What other advice do I have?

      I suggest that if you have a mobile device manager, like Intune or whatever you use to push your software out, use it to push the client out. Then every time a new device comes online, it's automatically put into ConnectWise Manage, and you can manage it right from the start.

      We've never had to use tech support. The solution is just super simple and straightforward. I would rate it as a ten out of ten. 

      Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
      Flag as inappropriate
      PeerSpot user
      Buyer's Guide
      Download our free ConnectWise Control Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.
      Updated: September 2022
      Buyer's Guide
      Download our free ConnectWise Control Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.