IT Central Station is now PeerSpot: Here's why

Planview Daptiv OverviewUNIXBusinessApplication

Planview Daptiv is #8 ranked solution in top Project Portfolio Management tools. PeerSpot users give Planview Daptiv an average rating of 8.6 out of 10. Planview Daptiv is most commonly compared to Planview PPM Pro: Planview Daptiv vs Planview PPM Pro. Planview Daptiv is popular among the large enterprise segment, accounting for 65% of users researching this solution on PeerSpot. The top industry researching this solution are professionals from a computer software company, accounting for 24% of all views.
Planview Daptiv Buyer's Guide

Download the Planview Daptiv Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: July 2022

What is Planview Daptiv?
Daptiv by Changepoint is an industry-leading Project and Portfolio Management (PPM) solution that helps businesses connect strategy to execution. Plan and monitor your portfolios from a top-down perspective to ensure you’re investing in the right projects to align with the overarching goals of your business.
Planview Daptiv Customers
AOS Studley, Austrian Airlines, bpost bank, Employees Provident Fund, Stena Metall, VitalityHealth, Precor
Planview Daptiv Video

Archived Planview Daptiv Reviews (more than two years old)

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Helmut Friesl - PeerSpot reviewer
Owner at CBG Informatik GmbH
Real User
Good reporting, providing a clear view of the project status and needs

What is our primary use case?

We use Changepoint to perform Multi-Project Management with more than 100 resources in different projects.

How has it helped my organization?

Changepoint gives us a view of the project status and needs very clearly, which are things that we used to miss with MS Project and Excel.

What is most valuable?

The most valuable feature is the reporting functionality.

What needs improvement?

This solution needs more standard connectors to other solutions i.e. to Infor ERP, Confluence, ...

Buyer's Guide
Planview Daptiv
July 2022
Learn what your peers think about Planview Daptiv. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: July 2022.
621,548 professionals have used our research since 2012.

For how long have I used the solution?

I have been using Changepoint Daptiv for three years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

100% availabilty

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

Works fine and is usabl for companies

How are customer service and support?

Works well

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

Prior to using Changepoint, we used Microsoft Project.

How was the initial setup?

Straghtforward

What about the implementation team?

In-house with little support

What was our ROI?

Hard to say, today we know much more about our projects health

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

Complete Daptiv Package was better

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

Clarity, MS PRoject

What other advice do I have?

Reporting Engine

Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

Private Cloud

If public cloud, private cloud, or hybrid cloud, which cloud provider do you use?

Other
Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
PeerSpot user
Project Administrator - PMI at a energy/utilities company with 51-200 employees
Real User
It is the single point of truth for both our project managers and our senior leadership.​

What is most valuable?

Changepoint is the application my firm uses for professional services time keeping, revenue account and projection, non-working time accounting and project management. Why? All employees record their time in this application, Changepoint allows us to accurately record and analyse all billable and non-billable time, determine resource demand for projects, analyse utilization factors and report on sales pipeline and revenue generation.

Consequently, it is the single point of truth for both our project managers and our senior leadership.

How has it helped my organization?

Over the past 3 years, we have enforced accurate and complete data entry at all levels. As a result, we are now able to report on ‘actual’ results through the entire business and project life-cycle and are now analyzing ‘predictive’ information to provide more accurate and complete information about future demand and revenue projections.

What needs improvement?

Accessing some functions is a bit obscure and requires some knowledge of how the product works, but the upgrade from v2012 to 2014 improved that situation and I expect the upcoming upgrade to 2017 to further streamline operations.
Did you encounter any issues with stability? None that I have encountered, though our implementation is ‘hosted’ rather than in-house.

For how long have I used the solution?

3 years.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

Not to this time. We have some very large projects (2000+ lines) that are running without issues.

How is customer service and technical support?

Excellent. The online documentation is very complete and useful, particularly for functions that are not often used. The technical support personnel who provide us with error-correction and administrative requirements are knowledgeable and responsive. It is always a pleasure to deal with them.

How was the initial setup?

Changepoint was in place when I arrived, though I have taken over System Administration and now perform all of these functions. It appears that the initial setup was probably pretty complex and I have altered some of the base settings as we have evolved the use of the product and the organization.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

I am only marginally familiar with pricing and licensing as this product was already in place when I arrived.

What other advice do I have?

I recommend it as a one-stop-shop for professional services.

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
PeerSpot user
Buyer's Guide
Planview Daptiv
July 2022
Learn what your peers think about Planview Daptiv. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: July 2022.
621,548 professionals have used our research since 2012.
it_user577881 - PeerSpot reviewer
Project Manager at a tech vendor with 501-1,000 employees
Vendor
Allowed us to model resource request/assignment workflow in our large PS organization. The timesheet app is outdated.

What is most valuable?

Resource management is a valuable feature of this product.

How has it helped my organization?

The only marked improvement was in resource management. Changepoint allowed us to model resource request/assignment workflow in our large PS organization.

What needs improvement?

The timesheet app is outdated. Web portal functionality is lagging behind in other features.

For how long have I used the solution?

I have used this solution for around 16 months, i.e., from November 2014 through March 2016.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

I did not encounter any stability issues.

How are customer service and technical support?

The technical support is good, but not great.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

We switched solutions due to the corporate mandate. The previous solution that we were using was Projector PSA; it was overall a superior product.

How was the initial setup?

The setup was complex. It took us around 18 months from start-to-finish.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

Do not go with perpetual licensed solution!

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

As I mentioned earlier, it was a corporate mandate, so did not evaluate other options.

What other advice do I have?

You should check on ownership situation. CP was in the middle of spinning out of Compuware when we implemented it. Thus, there were many questions about the future, new direction, etc.

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
PeerSpot user
it_user576453 - PeerSpot reviewer
Manager, Business Process Integration at a tech services company with 10,001+ employees
MSP
Provides resource allocation and capacity planning. The user interface is quirky and does not always conform to the expected Microsoft UI standards.

What is most valuable?

The most valuable features are resource allocation and capacity planning.

What needs improvement?

The user interface is quirky and does not always conform to the expected Microsoft UI standards. Several areas of the product use Silverlight technology. This will be replaced in a future version of the product, but that is taking some time.

Here is an example of the user interface:

To change the value in a drop-down list box, you cannot simply click on the down arrow and choose a new value. You must use a backspace to clear the current value, then press enter to refresh the full list, and then choose the new value. And this is not consistent throughout the product. 

In some cases, the listbox works in this way, and in other places in the product, it does not.

For how long have I used the solution?

We have been using this solution since 2013.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

I don’t know any details about scalability. However, we have Changepoint deployed at a number of sites worldwide, with about 1,000 users.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

I was not part of the negotiations. I do know that the licenses for people with project manager and other advanced permissions are more costly than for those who only enter time. We needed more people to have the project manager and additional permissions licenses than Changepoint initially estimated.

What other advice do I have?

It is important to have a Changepoint expert/consultant to assist with the initial setup. You need to know a lot of details about how fields function so you will know how to choose the configuration settings.

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
PeerSpot user
it_user149691 - PeerSpot reviewer
PMO Project Manager, PMO / QA at a financial services firm with 5,001-10,000 employees
Vendor
Get a firm grasp on the cost to implement, support, etc. since you will have to configure it yourself.

Valuable Features

Dashboard, reporting, capacity vs. demand, time sheets

Improvements to My Organization

Reporting of IT capacity available for first time, time sheets available for first time.

Room for Improvement

I don't work at the company anymore where we deployed this, but would say there's too much work that has to go into the configuration up front and for the first 6 months to 1 year after. That costs time, money, and resources. Not a very advanced tool. Seems interface-wise to be behind the times. Also, every time you want to engage upon improvements you have to re-engage the vendor and eat up more time and money. The security is not very robust, and the vendor did not seem to have a detailed handle on the infrastructure information, root cause of system slowness, etc.

Use of Solution

11 months

Deployment Issues

System slowness, Configured incorrectly as well. I was not on the original deployment. I was brought in to improve what the first deployment messed up. Missed the real process requirements and configuration thereof.

Stability Issues

Yes

Scalability Issues

Yes

Customer Service and Technical Support

Customer Service: 6 out of 10. Hard to get a hold of anyone with urgency, root cause analysis, leadership, etc.Technical Support: 6 out of 10. We had to figure a lot of things out ourselves, and to have stellar hands-on service cost more money, which is not the case with other tools from what I understand and recall.

Initial Setup

Very complex. Had to be totally configured.

Implementation Team

Initially, on the first deployment, the vendor and the company did the implementation. We had to redo it. Had to bring in another contractor, re-engage the vendor, etc.

Other Advice

Get a firm grasp on the cost to implement, support, etc. since you will have to configure it yourself. Also, to have stellar service you will have to pay more.
Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
PeerSpot user
it_user149532 - PeerSpot reviewer
IT Strategy Consultant at a comms service provider with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Start small and build -- give the users time to fully adopt the features

What is most valuable?

<ul> <li>Portfolio View (built from a top down perspective to support senior management reporting)</li> <li>Excellent reporting</li> <li>Resource Allocation/Capacity Planning function</li> </ul>

How has it helped my organization?

I implemented for a large client of mine and saw them quickly get up and running and leverage Daptiv to help them manage their IT demand from their internal customers. But putting in Daptiv's PPM tool they were able to in a very short period of time:
  1. Show all projects (demand) in their portfolio -- in-progress and backlog -- by organizational unit
  2. Show how many hours they were spending by project vs. "keep the lights on" efforts and
  3. Provide better estimates of when new projects potentially could be started by measuring resource allocation and capacity

What needs improvement?

Would always like to see improvement in the Resource Allocation and Capacity Planning features -- these are the areas that can / will give the greatest ROI so improvement would always be welcomed. Easier to work with, more "what if" capabilities (looking at not just in-progress projects but adding in backlog projects) and even stronger reporting would be welcome. This same feedback applies to all of the PPM tools in the SaaS based leadership Magic Quadrant.

For how long have I used the solution?

Approximately 2 years

What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

Nothing major -- just normal learning curve issues

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

None

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

Not to date

How are customer service and technical support?

Limited unless you purchase additional support hours.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

Yes, switched for greater features/functionality.

How was the initial setup?

I found it to be relatively easy to configure and roll-out.

What about the implementation team?

Did most internally but did use some additional hours by an implementation partner (who was excellent).

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

Yes -- AtTask, Innotas, Instantis

What other advice do I have?

Like any other software package -- phase your implementation. Start small and build -- give the users time to fully adopt the features -- but have a set schedule (implement quickly with features rolled out every 60 days). Don't assume that the users can pick it up on their own -- train the users -- success depends not on them just knowing how to do something in the PPM -- you also might need to provide good project management training too.
Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
PeerSpot user
Buyer's Guide
Download our free Planview Daptiv Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.
Updated: July 2022
Buyer's Guide
Download our free Planview Daptiv Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.