IT Central Station is now PeerSpot: Here's why

PubSub+ Event Broker OverviewUNIXBusinessApplication

PubSub+ Event Broker is #2 ranked solution in top Message Oriented Middleware (MOM) tools, #6 ranked solution in top Message Queue Software, and #6 ranked solution in Streaming Analytics tools. PeerSpot users give PubSub+ Event Broker an average rating of 8.2 out of 10. PubSub+ Event Broker is most commonly compared to Apache Kafka: PubSub+ Event Broker vs Apache Kafka. PubSub+ Event Broker is popular among the large enterprise segment, accounting for 74% of users researching this solution on PeerSpot. The top industry researching this solution are professionals from a financial services firm, accounting for 24% of all views.
Buyer's Guide

Download the Message Queue (MQ) Software Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: July 2022

What is PubSub+ Event Broker?

Solace PubSub+ Event Broker is a serverless, scalable technology that efficiently streams events throughout all sorts of environments: within the cloud, on-premises, and IoT. The technology is based on the publish/subscribe model of communication. The “+” in the solution’s name alludes to its support of a wide spectrum of message exchange patterns beyond the publish/subscribe model; it supports queueing, streaming, and request/reply. The “+” also alludes to the fact that the solution supports a range of different qualities of service. PubSub+ Event Broker can be managed and monitored with a single administration interface.

PubSub+ Event Broker uses robust, battle-tested, and reliable event broker technology. It allows users to tie their architectures together to benefit from the best of all technologies, including legacy ESBs/messaging, DB system of record on-prem, cloud-native services, and Kafka clusters as endpoints.

PubSub+ Event Broker lets you connect event brokers to form an event mesh (an architecture layer) which allows you to route events in a dynamic way between applications, regardless of where those applications are deployed (for example, from public-cloud, private-cloud, or no-cloud).

PubSub+ Event Broker Benefits

PubSub+ Event Broker is the only unified event broker technology available as software, hardware, and a managed service. All options offer the same functionality and management experience.

  • Software: Simple to use in clouds, containers and iPaaS/PaaS.
  • Hardware: A turnkey appliance with low TCO that gives you robust performance and capacity.
  • Managed service: Cloud based version is managed by Solace, allowing you to accomplish event broker services in minutes and scale to any level.

PubSub+ Event Broker Capabilities

  • Orchestrates and connects microservices
  • Pushes events from on-premises systems of record to cloud services
  • Enables digital transformation across LoBs and IoT

PubSub+ Event Broker Features

  • Federated architecture: Routing across geographically distributed cloud and on-premises environments, self-learning routing, bandwidth-efficient routing over wide area networks.
  • APIs and protocols: Native support for AMQP, Node.js, WebSocket, MQTT, JMS, Paho, Qpid,numerous messaging APIs and free open-source Kafka connectors.
  • Advanced messaging capabilities: Message caching, replay, prioritization, and dead message queues.
  • Management and governance: Centralized administration, automated disaster recovery, authentication, authorization and encryption of information, built-in high availability, and proactive monitoring, including integration with existing monitoring tools.
  • Capacity and performance: High-capacity throughput persistent and non-persistent messaging in fanout scenarios, optimized for low latency, and numerous concurrent IoT connections.

Reviews from Real Users

PubSub+ Event Broker stands out among its competitors for a number of reasons. Two major ones are its ability to communicate with numerous subscribers and its scalability. PeerSpot users take note of the advantages of these features in their reviews:

Jitendra J., a websphere MQ specialist at a maritime company, notes, “The way we can replicate information and send it to several subscribers is most valuable. It can be used for any kind of business where you've got multiple users who need information. Any company, such as LinkedIn, with a huge number of subscribers and any business, such as publishing, supermarket, airline, or shipping can use it.”

The head of enterprise architecture and digital innovation at a tech vendor writes, “This solution reduces the latency to access changes in real-time and the effort required to onboard a new subscriber. It also reduces the maintenance of each of those interfaces because now the publisher and subscribers are decoupled. Event Broker handles all the communication and engagement.”

Another PeerSpot user, who is a senior project manager at a financial services firm, describes, "Going from something where we had outages and capacity issues constantly to a system that was able to scale with the massive market data and messaging spikes that happened during the initial stages of the COVID crisis in March, we were able to scale with 40 plus percent growth in our platform over the course of days."

PubSub+ Event Broker was previously known as Solace Virtual Message Router, Solace Cloud, Solace Message Router Appliance.

PubSub+ Event Broker Customers

FxPro, TP ICAP, Barclays, Airtel, American Express, Cobalt, Legal & General, LSE Group, Akuna Capital, Azure Information Technology, Brand.net, Canadian Securities Exchange, Core Transport Technologies, Crédit Agricole, Fluent Trade Technologies, Harris Corporation, Korea Exchange, Live E!, Mercuria Energy, Myspace, NYSE Technologies, Pico, RBC Capital Markets, Standard Chartered Bank, Unibet 

PubSub+ Event Broker Video

PubSub+ Event Broker Pricing Advice

What users are saying about PubSub+ Event Broker pricing:
  • "We are looking for something that will add value and fit for purpose. Freeware is good if you want to try something quickly without putting in much money. However, as far as our decision is concerned, I don't think it helps. At the end of the day, if we are convinced that a capability is required, we will ask for the funding. Then, when the funding is available, we will go for an enterprise solution only."
  • "The licensing is dependent on the volume that is flowing. If you go for their support services, it will cost some more money, but I think it is worth it, especially if you are just starting your journey."
  • "It could be cheaper. Its licensing is on a yearly basis."
  • PubSub+ Event Broker Reviews

    Filter by:
    Filter Reviews
    Industry
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Company Size
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Job Level
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Rating
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Considered
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Order by:
    Loading...
    • Date
    • Highest Rating
    • Lowest Rating
    • Review Length
    Search:
    Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
    Managing Director at a financial services firm with 5,001-10,000 employees
    Real User
    We can add an application or users in the middle of the day, with no disruption to anyone
    Pros and Cons
    • "We've built a lot of products into it and it's been quite easy to feed market data onto the systems and put entitlements and controls around that. That was a big win for us when we were consolidating our platforms down. Trying to have one event bus, one messaging bus, for the whole globe, and consolidate everything over time, has been key for us. We've been able to do that through one API, even if it's across the different languages."
    • "When it comes to granularity, you can literally do anything regarding how the filtering works."
    • "We've pointed out some things with the DMR piece, the event mesh, in edge cases where we could see a problem. Something like 99 percent of users wouldn't ever see this problem, but it has to do with if you get multiple bad clients sending data over a WAN, for example. That could then impact other clients."

    What is our primary use case?

    We do a lot of pricing data through here, market data from the street that we feed onto the event bus and distribute out using permissioning and controls. Some of that external data has to have controls on top of it so we can give access to it. We also have internal pricing information that we generate ourselves and distribute out. So we have both server-based clients connecting and end-user clients from PCs. We have about 25,000 to 30,000 connections to the different appliances globally, from either servers or end-users, including desktop applications or a back-end trading service. These two use cases are direct messaging; fire-and-forget types of scenarios.

    We also have what we call post-trade information, which is the guaranteed messaging piece for us. Once we book a trade, for example, that data, obviously, cannot be lost. It's a regulatory obligation to record that information, send it back out to the street, report it to regulators, etc. Those messages are all guaranteed.

    We also have app-to-app messaging where, within an application team, they want to be able to send messages from the application servers, sharing data within their application stack. 

    Those are the four big use cases that make up a large majority of the data.

    But we have about 400 application teams using it. There are varied use cases and, from an API perspective, we're using Java, .NET, C, and we're using WebSockets and their JavaScript. We have quite a variety of connections to the different appliances, using it for slightly different use cases.

    It's all on-prem across physical appliances. We have some that live in our DMZ, so external clients can connect to those. But the majority, 95 percent of the stuff, is on-prem and for internal clients. It's deployed across Sydney, Singapore, Hong Kong, Tokyo, London, New York, and Toronto, all connected together. We are currently working on the cloud setup to connect on-prem with cloud based virtual message routers all connected together.

    How has it helped my organization?

    With the old platforms we were coming from, if we wanted to make changes, some of those changes were intrusive to make. For example, to add a new application into the environment, we would have to make a change that might cause some disruptions to the environment. We only have very limited downtime for our environment on a Saturday after midnight and before midnight again on Sunday. That is our only change-window for the week, if we have to do something intrusive. That limited us to when we could truly make changes. On a lot of other vendors' platforms, to add things, you've got to restart components and cause disruption. 

    The benefit of Solace is that we can add an application in the middle of the day, with no disruption to anyone. It's purely based on our access-control list and permissioning. We can add an application in with zero disruption. We can onboard applications during the middle of our business day. It's still under change control, but there's zero impact by doing it. For us, that is super-powerful. Whether we're adding users or adding applications, we can do it, without causing any disruption. For a lot of other products, that's not the case. That's been a huge win for us.

    In terms of application design, I've seen applications go live in less than a week, from coding the first line of code to putting something into production. It depends on how complex the application is. We have a central team where we support the wrappers on top of the vendor's API and we have some example code bases where we show a simple application built using our wrapper on top of Solace's API. A developer who joins our company knowing nothing about Solace, can walk through our documentation, have a look at our wrappers, take some of our example code, and get up and running and off to the races pretty quickly. Getting up to speed is definitely not difficult.

    We might get a new user in our bank who is familiar with other messaging systems and who has preconceived ideas on how they want to do things. They might ask us, "How do I get access to this messaging system that I used to use with my old organization? That's what I'm familiar with." Sometimes we have to do sessions with those people and say, "Okay, we're familiar with the systems you're talking about. We supported them in the past. Talk us through what your use case is, what it is you are trying to achieve." Once they explain their use cases, we can say, "Okay, great. We actually have this and here's some example code and this how to do it." Within a day, that person has gone from knowing nothing about it to saying, "Okay, you're, absolutely meeting my application needs and now I'm educated on how this works." They're off and running very quickly.

    We take all kinds of data onto the environment to share. Because the event bus is the place that every application always needs to start, they're no longer building an application now within the capital markets organization without putting their data onto our bus in some way. It's definitely a way of lowering the barrier to sharing data and getting things up and running quickly. Similarly, they can take data from other teams, once they find out what's available. Someone might say, "I need all the FX prices in the bank. Oh, I can just subscribe them from here. I don't even need to talk to the FX team." Teams can get up and running very quickly without having to spend a lot of time working with other groups to make that happen.

    By having all of that data together in one place, Event Broker has definitely reduced the amount of time it takes to get a new application onboarded. We came from a place with six or seven different systems, where we might have bridged some of those together in some way, but it wasn't one common environment. Now, we've got application A that comes online and starts putting that data out for application B to get up to speed and to start looking at that data. That is very quick and easy for us to do. All the messaging that we do is self-describing. They can look at the payload of a message and understand it without even needing to talk to the upstream application. We can have applications starting to look at data where they didn't even have to speak to the upstream application. We've gone from 8 x 1 Gig, 10 years ago, to 8 x 10 Gigs today, and the reason for that is because we keep putting more and more data and applications on here. That continues to grow exponentially. If it wasn't easy to do, the data wouldn't be going up and we wouldn't have all these applications now on here. It's hard for me to say it has definitely increased the productivity, because I don't own the application development piece but, anecdotally, I would say it has.

    Another area of benefit is that we're in the process of containerizing all of our applications at the moment, whether they'll be run on-prem or in the public cloud. The underlying piece is that these containers, wherever they run, are going to need to share data between the different applications and then back to the users. The Solace event mesh or event brokers are the underlying lifeblood among all of these containers. They need to have some way of communicating with each other and we see solace as being that connection among all of them. All the different cloud environments have their own messaging and we don't want to build applications that are specific to any one cloud; we want to be cloud-agnostic. To do that, we need to have a messaging system that is equally agnostic. Given that we already have a huge investment on-premise for all of our Solace stuff, we see that the future of containerizing our applications goes hand-in-hand with our messaging strategy around Solace, so we can be totally cloud-agnostic.

    Technology, in the last 10 years, has probably become a lot more stable generally, but I can say that with the amount of data we put through these appliances, and route globally every day, if our environment was down capital markets wouldn't be operating for the bank. That's how critical it is. We can't afford to have any issues. At the same time, literally no application can run in our front office without this. If I look back 10 years ago, we might have had six or seven different distributed systems, all with their own problems. Now that we've consolidated all that, there's a huge efficiency by sharing all our data between the different groups. It means we can get up to speed very quickly, but also, what we're enabling from a business perspective, by sharing 120 billion messages a day, is hugely valuable to our front office.

    What is most valuable?

    I've been running messaging systems for most of my career, for over 17 years. The most valuable feature is the ability of the appliances to cope in a way that I haven't seen other vendors do. You always get into types of message-loss states that can't be explained with some other products that are out there. You raise tickets with the vendors and they'll give you an explanation. But in the 10 years that we've been in production with Solace, we've never had something that cannot be explained. I've got tickets open with the likes of IBM that have never been resolved, for years. The Solace product's stability is absolutely essential. 

    There is also the ability to have so many things laid in, where we're doing guaranteed messaging and direct messaging laid into the same appliance.

    There is also the interoperability. We've built a lot of products into it and it's been quite easy to feed market data onto the systems and put entitlements and controls around that. That was a big win for us when we were consolidating our platforms down. Trying to have one event bus, one messaging bus, for the whole globe, and consolidate everything over time, has been key for us. We've been able to do that through one API, even if it's across the different languages. We support a wrapper on top of the vendor's API and we enforce certain specifications for connecting to our messaging environment. That way, we've been able to have that common way of sending and sharing data across all the groups. That has been very important for us. 

    In terms of ease of management, from a configuration perspective you can have all your appliances within one central console. You can see your whole estate from there. And you can configure the appliances through API calls so you can be centrally polling and managing and monitoring them, and configure them as you need to. There are certain things where that's a little more tricky to do, but at a general level we have abstracted things like user-commissioning into other systems. So we just have a front-end where we change the commissioning and push it to the appliance in whatever region and it updates the commissioning. From a central management and configuration point of view, it's been extremely easy to interact, operate, and support.

    When it comes to granularity, you can literally do anything regarding how the filtering works. It has a caching product that sits on top of that, so depending on the region that you're trying to filter, caching level can make it a bit more difficult than the real-time streaming. But from a real-time stream, you can pretty much filter at any level or component and it's extremely flexible in that regard.

    What needs improvement?

    Make it open source :-) with limited features so that this is not a barrier for using the technology in some places where they will only use open source technology despite then just paying for support (and paid features) on any used open source technology in the organization, as its a misnomer in my view the amount of large companies claiming to only use open source but then using products that are paid versions with additional features included. Solace should give this further thought how they can address this. 

    Buyer's Guide
    Message Queue (MQ) Software
    July 2022
    Find out what your peers are saying about Solace, Apache, VMware and others in Message Queue (MQ) Software. Updated: July 2022.
    621,703 professionals have used our research since 2012.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    We've been using Solace products for over a decade.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    The uptime on the appliances is huge. We just don't have problems with these appliances in production. For example, we have just gone through the whole COVID-19 situation and then the Russian/Ukraine war and the markets went crazy during that. Our previous maximum of data through the appliances in any one day was about 67 billion messages. During the COVID-19 of February and March 2020, we hit 95 billion messages a day and then Russian/Ukraine war we have hit 120 billion messages a day. That is nearly 90 percent increase on the data rates in less than 2 years and the environment coped just fine. We didn't have any problems. There was zero business disruption. I don't know of any other system where, if I threw an extra 50 billion messages at it, without adding anything, without having to change anything, it would just cope. If it wasn't able to cope with that, the amount of money that might have been lost to the organization would have been exponential. It's definitely paying for itself.

    Going back 10 years ago — I want to be real clear, not recently — there were some issues with disks that were in the devices. It was just a faulty batch of disks from their supplier. We had to change the disks. But everything is resilient. So when we had these failures — they were more common than you would expect — we might have a HA failover but not an outage, per se. But that was a very long time ago. 

    The only other thing that causes issues, and I use that term loosely, is that these are the biggest things on our network within the bank. An 80-Gig appliance is the biggest thing that talks on the network, and it's sending an awful lot of traffic. What you tend to then get into are problems with your own network not being able to cope. You may not have built your network to cope with the volume of traffic you want to try putting over it. As a company we have definitely experienced that over the last few years. It's not a Solace issue, but more a pure core-networking issue. That's a common issue that I know Solace's clients deal with. I meet other Solace clients through various events and they're all having challenges with their network team actually providing a good network to be able to cope. You've got a very strong messaging product that sits on top of the network. It's the biggest thing on the network. Is your network then able to cope with it? So we've had Solace's engineers on calls with our network team, walking them through. That's probably the biggest pain point we have, but it's not a Solace fault.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    The scalability of these over time has been very good. When we started on them 10 years ago, we were 8 x 1 Gig appliances, so we had 8 Gig of capacity? We're now doing 8 x 10 Gigs. In 10 years we've grown our footprint by 10 times in terms of volume. And the number of servers, the appliances in our data centers, hasn't really increased. They've obviously continued to grow the capacity of the appliances over that 10 years, without us needing to buy another 20 or 30 appliances to continue to build out. They have the ability to scale.

    In terms of users of the solution, there are about 9,000 people in capital markets, of which I'd say about 6,000 or 7,000 of them are using it across the different geographies. Each of those users might be running multiple applications and making multiple connections to the appliances for different applications. A user might have four different applications on their desktop, and they would be making four connections. That works out to about 20,000 to 30,000 actual connections to the appliances. And we have about 5,000 servers in our data centers. A good 80 percent of those are making connections to Solace.

    The amount of messaging that we put through it grows every year. We're constantly looking at the volume of data that goes through there and deciding if we need to stripe out the number of appliances to support that. Or, if Solace produces a bigger appliance, do we need to be buying it from a pure networking or volume-of-traffic point of view?

    We are in the final steps of cloud implementation. It's going to be a mixture of some of their messaging-as-a-service piece and some of us running our own Docker engines of the software version. There's going to be a bit of a mix as we bridge data between the public cloud, as we stand that up, and our existing on-prem appliances. We don't see the on-prem appliances going away anytime soon. There's no key to getting rid of those. We're putting so much traffic through them, it's massive. But, as some of our workload moves to the cloud, so will some of that traffic and we will need to be able to support that.

    But every year the messaging rates only ever go up, as does the number of applications that come on. Every week it's continually growing. It's like the blood that pumps around the body, to be honest.

    How are customer service and support?

    Solace is truly the best company that we have to deal with when it comes to tech support. In the role that I have I deal with about 100 different vendors, everything from market data exchanges to software vendors, through the likes of IBM and Microsoft, etc. Ten years ago, when we first started dealing with them, Solace was obviously a much smaller company. They've grown. They were only some 50 or 60 people at the time and I think there are a couple of hundred now. All their support team who were there originally are still there — they've added more over time — were excellent. They know everything about their APIs and their systems. 

    If I reach out to IBM, for example, I'm going to get passed to six help desks before anyone I reach even knows what product I'm talking about. I support Cloudera for our company, as well. Cloudera has sold its support to IBM and when I raise a ticket with IBM, I wait a week to get a response. I have had some pretty shocking support experiences.

    We always felt that Solace's support wasn't going to survive as they grew as a company. It was so good. That was one issue I kept raising because it was so good I couldn't see how it would scale. Surely it couldn't. But I can tell you, 10 years later, Solace is still the only company where I have zero outstanding issues, or unknown items, or support tickets that they haven't resolved. If you have a problem, they jump on a WebEx with you and, within minutes, we know what it is. Whereas I can't even get IBM to respond to a support ticket.

    I deal with a lot of different people in my role and I can genuinely put my hand on my heart and say they're the best support company that we deal with.

    How would you rate customer service and support?

    Positive

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    We had TIBCO EMS, TIBCO RV, IB MQ, and Informatica's LBM. The latter used to be a company called 29West and Informatica bought them. We also had Thomson Reuters RMDS platform, which is now called TREP, sending messages around the planet.

    We were using Thomson Reuters RMDS — Reuters Messaging Data System — as a generic messaging bus at the time. Even though you can put their data onto the platform, you can also use it to read your own data around the world. That was a big platform for us at the time and it was coming from two of the underlying systems. You could publish any message onto that bus and send it around. I worked at another bank before the one I'm at now, and we did exactly the same thing there. We were putting a lot of our own internal data onto their messaging bus. It was a good message bus and it still is.

    But Thomson Reuters, at the time, now Refinitiv (now LSEG), decided to license it differently. They said that if you put your own data on their platform, they wanted to be paid by every message you sent. We thought, "Okay, well that's crazy. If we buy something from you and pay you a million dollars for it, and then send a hundred messages or a million messages with it, that's nothing to do with you and we're not going to pay you for it." They tried across the entire street to change their pricing model and they really shot themselves in the foot. A lot of people walked away from them over it.

    We knew at that point we needed to do something else. We had TIBCO RV, TIBCO EMS; we had so many different systems that we were trying to bridge and connect together, but the RMDS platform along with TIBCO RV dwarfed all the others. Those two together made up 90 percent of all the traffic. That really pushed us to go out.

    How was the initial setup?

    We spent about two to three months designing out our topic hierarchy when we started this 10 years ago. In the last 10 years we've made very few changes to our topic hierarchy and schema. But we sat with Solace and designed it out. We created a 90-page manual for how we wanted to stand up our event mesh at the time. Bear in mind that our first implementation was not guaranteed messaging, but direct messaging. It was between Sydney, Singapore, Hong Kong, Tokyo, London, New York, and Toronto. We had primary and secondary data centers in every region. I would never characterize it as simple because of the overall scale of what we were putting in place. The actual configuration, and working with Solace to implement that originally, that wasn't the difficult piece of it. Actually standing it up — once we had the appliances in our data centers and all on the network — hooking them up and making them work together that wasn't complex.

    What was more complex was the fact that we were meshing up six regions at the same time, and turning on a brand new environment. We didn't stay in one region. We didn't just turn London on. We went big from day one, so it was complex from a geographies perspective, but not complex from a Solace-configuration perspective.

    We paid for their heads of engineering to come and sit onsite with us and work through that document. I've actually recommended to Solace that they shouldn't sell their product to anyone without doing that design work upfront because I think it's extremely valuable.

    This is true of any system. If you take a good system and don't architect it well, then you can make a good system really bad. Two years down the road you've got people saying, "Okay, I want to go somewhere else," because we've done a bad job of this. Anecdotally, I was talking to the CEO of Confluent a while back and he told me that a large, well-known company has redone its Kafka implementation three times in two years, because they hadn't architected it properly. You can take any technology and make it bad.

    Our deployment took about six months, start to finish, from initial discussions and purely white-boarding through to being live in six regions. The first five years after it was implemented, we weren't allowed to build any net-new application that didn't go onto the bus. Every application has a three-year life cycle within the bank. In that five years, a good 80 percent of our applications had been completely rewritten, at which point we only had 20 percent left on our old environment to force over and bridge between old and new environments. After a couple of years of doing that, we didn't have to run any of the old environments anymore and just had one major platform that everyone connects to. That has been the state for the last five or six years.

    I speak to other Solace clients occasionally, new ones who are looking at starting up, and they say, "Well, can we be done in a year?" And I say, "Well, your Solace can be done. That's not the issue. It's your life cycle of applications. If anyone tells you you're going to switch all your applications in one year, it's nonsense." Yes, it depends on the scale. If you're a small company, sure. But if you're a company of our size, you've got hundreds of applications and you're not going to rewrite them all overnight. But, we did a migration of JMS users from TIBCO EMS a few years ago and that was actually very simple. It was two or three lines of codes for each of the 200 applications that were connected. Within about three months we'd moved 200 applications. So it is easy to do pure JMS conversions, for example. But if you've actually got to rewrite the application completely, because you're changing how it operates, that's very different.

    In that three months of discussion that I mentioned, we were working on our topic hierarchy and making sure that we didn't have any pitfalls. The rest was that it takes a long time to get things set up at data centers, racked and networked and dealing with the firewalls. But the actual configuration of the appliances between all the regions was only about two weeks' worth total, for 12 different data centers. That was not the lion's share of the work. The planning for doing it across multiple regions was the lion's share of that.

    The topic hierarchy is hugely flexible, but you do have to put time in to plan your hierarchy and try to think through all the eventualities of how you're going to use it. Otherwise, it can become a bit of a free-for-all if you don't govern and control it in some way. You need a good onboarding process for how you want to use things. If you leave it totally open to your teams to choose, you're going to end up with a bit of a mess.

    For naming, we start everything with a region and go from there:

    • where the data is coming from or to
    • what business area the data is related to
    • what type of data it is
    • what application team
    • what instances they're coming from
    • then we get into the actual data name itself.

    There are six or seven layers of our topic schema that we have published. After that, the application teams can be specific on how they want to name the seventh or eighth level. But the first several levels are defined by us and we say, "Okay, if you're this, you're going to be choosing New York, you're going to be choosing fixed income, you're going to be choosing that this is market-data price, and then you're going to be choosing that your application name is this, and the datatype is real-time. And the message instrument itself is X and the data it contains is Y." So we've already mapped out our schema for all those levels, and then they can put their payload in at that level.

    This way, it becomes really easy if you're trying to wildcard things at a higher level. You can say, "I just want to see all the market data prices." I can wildcard three levels and be able to pick those up without having to know anything else. I can look at pretty much any topic name that someone has. And you've got 255 characters to choose from. I've seen people who try to map everything, but then it becomes unreadable. Unless you've got a guide to figure out what topic schema look like, it becomes very difficult for a human to interpret. It has to be readable to them. Six to eight levels works, without needing some sort of decoder to work out what things mean.

    In terms of staff involved in the deployment at the time, we had about 16 people, globally, across the different regions. But this wasn't the only thing they were doing. We also support 20 or 30 different systems because we look after the market data system for the bank as well. Solace isn't our only job. In addition to those 16 people for the initial implementation we had 30-something in compliance across Prod, QA, and Dev, etc.

    Today, the number of people we have doing maintenance on it is in the high 20s . We haven't exponentially grown our staff around what we're charging back to the business for the true staffing of this. The only thing we have grown out a little bit, over time, is our development team that supports the applications, as we've had 400 applications come on. They have general, day-to-day questions. We only have three people in that Dev team, but they're acting like a first-responder before we raise a question to Solace's support team around API issues. A lot of the questions people ask are common questions that we've answered two times already. We have a lot of Confluence pages with basic how-to and FAQs. But sometimes people just want to jump on a call, go WebEx, and walk through what they were thinking of doing. We only had one developer doing that originally and we've got three now.

    We're currently running version 9.6.0.38 in production.


    What about the implementation team?

    Although we didn't do so on day one, we now work with three companies in this ecosystem. There is a company called BCCG, a Germany-based company. We originally wrote some feed-handlers with Solace to bring market data from companies like Refinitiv (LSEG) and Bloomberg onto the platform. We didn't want to own those, long-term. We felt it was something that could be out on the street. So we partnered up with this company, BCCG, who Bloomberg recommended to us. They're a small startup company and they now own the feed-handlers and the permissioning agents and are selling those as a product on the street. They have a partnership with Solace 

    We also partnered with a company called MDX Technology and that was really for an Excel plugin. We have a lot of users who use Excel sheets and we want to be able to send and receive data from and to Excel. So MDXT wrote a plugin for Solace. They have plugins to a lot of other messaging environments. They just created one for Solace and, again, they're selling it out on the street. They built it based on us and now they have sold it to plenty of other Solace clients.

    We also partnered with ITRS, which is a monitoring company, to build plugins on top of Solace's environment. ITRS is our monitoring system. Every major bank uses them. They have plugins into all the different systems that you might have. We worked with ITRS and Solace to create monitoring for Solace. Again, ITRS has then sold that to a whole bunch of Solace's customers.

    The only other one is a company called CJC, which is more of a consultancy and support company. During Asia-PAC hours, they look after first-line support of the whole platform, including the market data as well as the Solace platform. They're doing level-one and level-two during the day in Hong Kong. That's not in any way expensive. They're the company that actually supports Refinitiv's platform so they already have people and staff there.

    What was our ROI?

    Capital markets couldn't operate today if Solace were down. Our turnover on a daily basis is significant. To put a dollar value on it would be very difficult. But by not having 500 servers across the globe and having about 60 appliances at the moment instead, we've got a 10-to-one footprint, so in pure infrastructure costs we have hard-dollar savings. By having the appliances in, we've enabled the business to make millions on a daily basis.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    We did an RFP and pulled all the vendors in, including Thomson Reuters, TIBCO, and a whole bunch of others such as Informatica, and we did a proper vendor evaluation. It came down to Informatica and Solace, head-to-head, in the final decision.

    The choice to go with the Solace appliances has actually paid off massively in savings from an infrastructure point of view. The reason is that, in our old platforms, for example our RMDS Thomson Reuters platform, we had about 500 servers around the globe sending all the data to each other, meshed up in a huge administrative nightmare. The Informatica solution was going to be very similar, as in commodity hardware that you would mesh up to send all the data. We looked at that and said, "Well, a server in our data center is going to cost us $20,000 a year to run," so if we still had 500 of those, you can do the math. If we were to buy the Solace appliances, working out to about $100,000 each, we would then only have to pay support and maintenance on them for the next two or three years, at about $20,000 a year. We only needed 30 of them, compared to the 500 servers. This has been a huge cost saving for us. The 500 servers that we used to have are all gone, and we have replaced them with 30 to 40 appliances. The cost of running things in the data center has, therefore, shrunk significantly.

    Although people do view Solace as being this premium product you pay a lot of money for, if you're going to put a lot of data through these things, the amount of servers you need to do that with is also extremely costly. We have saved millions a year by having the appliances, and that was something we picked up right at the beginning. We said, "If we go down this path and these appliances can truly do what they say, then the footprint in our data center is going to shrink 10-to-one, and the cost of running this in our data center is going to be significantly less."

    We also support multiple instances of Kafka. There's an enterprise version within our bank, which is the biggest one, and we have some small pockets of it within capital markets. The configuration and support around Kafka, and the quantity of components needed to keep it going, are a configuration nightmare. We use the software broker for development and now in the cloud. In our non-production environments we have a non-appliance based version running in things like Docker. But the ability to have one component that does everything, as opposed to having to layer in multiple components to be able to build the ecosystem for messaging or storage, is extremely powerful from a support perspective. The time spent on keeping Kafka running, compared to Solace, is not in the same league.

    We have a lot of problems with Kafka, generally, that we do not have on Solace. The enterprise runs the majority of the Kafka, the stuff that we support is for our regular Cloudera stack. To try to give an idea of scale, the enterprise bank is doing, maybe, less than a billion messages a day on its Kafka environment, which is still a big environment for them. But we're doing 120 billion messages, so we're not even in the same swim lanes. We know they have a lot of problems on that and had to build a second instance after issues with the 1st instance. And in our own Cloudera Kafka, we have problems with Cloudera over time - our current setup is stable but we are not upgraded to latest versions. Whereas our Solace stuff is bulletproof.

    Kafka has its place. There's absolutely no question about that. There is some stuff that it does really well, like some of the elastically expanding storage concepts that people have where they want to keep storing everything forever. They can keep elastically expanding their Kafka brokers to do that. Whereas, with a Solace appliance, you are going to have a SAN storage connected to it and you're limited by the size of the SAN you can put on there, or you're going to need to buy another appliance and buy another SAN. With their software broker you could elastically expand that, but you still have the storage issues. 

    The one real positive with Kafka is that you have a big community of people, and this is something I've spoken to Solace about too. There is this groundswell of community around it, where there are a lot of adapters that are off-the-shelf to a lot of other things. It's a double-edged sword. Sometimes we have new users join the bank who say, "Yeah, but Kafka has a SQL adapter off-the-shelf." We say, "Okay, but we already have written a SQL adapter for Solace. Here you go. It was 10 minutes' work." At the same time, it is nice to have a catalog of 200 adapters that you can use on Kafka. That is definitely a benefit of Kafka, with the community around it. But at the same time, when you scratch the surface of it, the amount of work to do a plugin isn't actually much more, and with the Kafka stuff you need six or seven different components to run it. 

    In my last design overview with the console group they said, "And then we're going to add this component, and if you want global..." and I said, "Well, actually, all our stuff is global. We don't do anything that's just one region." They said, "Well we haven't gotten our global solution built yet so you could run two versions and start copying data." I said, "Well, I don't really want to do that. We want you to be able to replicate data between regions, under the covers." They're now doing that. They're getting up to speed on some of those things. It all depends on what your use case is.

    We even have some stuff where, at the edge of our environment, we might bridge data between Solace and Kafka and there is a bridge component to do that. It would be when there's a very specific use case around what someone wanted to do. For example, if a third-party vendor is only supporting Kafka, we'll plug in Kafka there, but we don't want people then connecting to Kafka because there's no need for it. So we'll then bridge from Kafka to Solace so the data is all on Solace. There are definitely use cases for Kafka. It's just that the scale of Kafka, depending on what the use case is, is a little bit different. I feel people use Kafka because they're just trying to lazily store everything as a long-term retention process.

    The implementation of Kafka compared to Solace is very different. As I mentioned, there are multiple components to build up Kafka. Additionally having reviewed Confluent it is not cheap and we would be more interested in using Apache Kafka supported by the cloud providers if we need that in the future. But our future is very much on the Solace environment. We're far more comfortable supporting the Solace environment than our Kafka environment.

    What other advice do I have?

    If I was coming into this cold, and knowing what I know today, the one thing we would do differently is we'd have the network team involved throughout the whole process of bringing it into the bank. Bring your network team on that journey with you, because if it's going to become like it has with us — the biggest thing on the network — then you want to have the network team at the table from day one. That way, networking knows things are coming. We're putting these huge things into the data centers and they're going to send huge amounts of data around. That team needs to be ready, so they need to be at the table. 

    In terms of the onboarding and governance processes, fortunately we did think ahead and plan that stuff. But I speak to other customers that didn't and they're struggling with having the right onboarding processes and the right governance around things. At the end of the day, if you've got 120 billion messages going around, if you don't have a good onboarding and governance process, you could just have a 120-billion message mess. We don't have that because we had a good governance and a good architecture to begin with.

    As I mentioned, I've suggested to Solace that they shouldn't sell their products without enforcing a bit of the architectural piece to begin with. The problem is that everyone has their own budgets and thinks, "Oh, I don't need you to help me, and I don't want to pay for it," figuring that Solace is trying to push its Professional Services a bit. But that small investment in Professional Services, when you first stand it up, could be hugely involved in the success of your platform. The Solace Professional Services that we've experienced, and the general value out of that, is worth the dollars you pay for it.

    From a maintenance point of view, every time Solace releases a new version of the API, we review what has changed in that and whether it affects us in any way. Sometimes a release is for something specific that another client has asked for and that doesn't have any value to us. We don't force applications to upgrade every time a version changes. We tend to do a yearly request of the application teams to upgrade their API to the latest one that we vetted. It's like a yearly maintenance to update the API. And to do that work, to integrate the new API version, it's generally not more than half an afternoon's work to put it in. It might take longer than that to QA, test, and validate your application to put it into production, but the actual coding piece takes an hour or two at most. It's not a huge overhead to be able to do that.

    In terms of the event mesh feature, we're a bit of a "halfway house." They have multiple things. One is called dynamic message routing (DMR) and another is multi-node routing (MNR). We use the multi-node routing piece. We are working on the DMR piece of it, which is their newest function for public cloud use. We're in in final stages of setup for expanding Solace into both Azure and AWS.

    Internally, we're using their MNR so it's all an event mesh and everything is automatic. If you publish a message in Sydney and you want us to scribe it in New York, we have to do nothing to get that message from A to B. You subscribe and it gets there. Depending on which terminology you're using around event mesh, we consider ourselves to be on event mesh, but we have not deployed that for guaranteed messaging for our general population. We're still using their multi-node routing, which means direct messages fly on demand, and we have to bridge guaranteed messaging.

    The clustering feature is really designed around trying to make things easier for clients on configuration, so that you don't have to look at things as an HA pair in a DR device, by representing that as a cluster node. This is all work related to trying to make things easier from a support perspective. Today, if you make a change on an HA pair, you can then force-sync that to DR. It automatically happens to the HA box so you only make a change on the primary; it syncs to the backup. You can then choose whether you want to sync that to the DR device or not by putting it into a cluster node. They're just making it simpler for people. It's definitely a positive. We've actually been involved in helping them design that because we were one of their first and one of their bigger customers. We sit in with their engineering at least every six months and they walk through things they've got coming down the road and we talk about how they go about implementing stuff.

    As for the free version of Solace, at the time, 10 years ago, the free version — that's the software version — didn't exist. With the software version there are limits to the number of messages, something like 10,000 messages a second. We're doing 1,000,000 messages a second. We could run lots of 10,000 messages-a-second instances, but then we would need a lot of commodity servers to run them on. If you are a small company that has some messaging requirements and you are looking for a good way to do that, the free version is absolutely an option. It doesn't come with any support either, obviously. You can pay for support on top of that version, but it's only going to do you 10,000 messages a second. At the scale we have, that wouldn't work. For non-production, giving that to a developer to run on their machine, to play around with, absolutely. So we don't really pay for any of the Dev stuff that we have. We're only paying for the physical production appliances and the reason we need those is just the scale of messaging that we do.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: PeerSpot contacted the reviewer to collect the review and to validate authenticity. The reviewer was referred by the vendor, but the review is not subject to editing or approval by the vendor.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Sushil Sarda - PeerSpot reviewer
    Lead Manager at a manufacturing company with 10,001+ employees
    Real User
    Based on your requirements, there are various size levels, similar to t-shirt sizing
    Pros and Cons
    • "When we went to add another installation in our private cloud, it was easy. We received support from Solace and the install was seamless with no issues."
    • "We have requested to be able to get into the payload to do dynamic topic hierarchy building. A current workaround is using the message's header, where the business data can be put into this header and be used for a dynamic topic lookup. I want to see this in action when there are a couple of hundred cases live. E.g., how does it perform? From an administration perspective, is the ease of use there?"

    What is our primary use case?

    One of our use cases at our global company went live recently. We have a lot of goods that move via sea routes. While there are other modes of transport, particularly for the sea route, we wanted to track our shipments, their location, and that type of information and generate some reports. Also, there are multiple applications which need this data.

    With Solace, we are bringing information in every minute (almost real-time) from our logistic partners and putting it on Solace. Then, from Solace, the applications that want to consume the information can take it. E.g., we are generating some dashboards in Power BI using this information. We are also pushing this information into our data lakes where more reporting plus slicing and dicing is available. In future, if more subscribers want this information, they will also be able to take it. 

    We have both our private cloud and a version completely hosted on SaaS by Solace. 

    How has it helped my organization?

    The base use case is that we wanted the shipment tracking information in multiple applications, like Power BI and data lake, for the more reporting, etc. If we would not have got Solace, then we need to extract this information multiple times from source application. Now, we pull this information only once and then put it on Solace. Anybody can take it from Solace because the information is readily available. We are generating the data only once. 

    Every organisation has exposure of their data with their devices being interconnected. We don't want to transfer the same data multiple times. Solutions like Solace can help us in publishing data only once, then anybody can pick it from there. This reduces costs of data transfer. It reduces the load on data sources, because we aren't asking them to generate the same data multiple times.

    Our company is an SAP centred company. A lot of our key applications are using the SAP product suite. When we talk about transaction data and master data, that is where the real complexity comes into play. There are a couple of use cases that we have discussed with Solace for topic hierarchy. E.g., a product master might be sold by multiple channels, produced in multiple factories, and sold in multiple geographies, so creating a topic hierarchy for these could be challenging. When we started, we discussed this complexity with Solace. They helped us arrive at an initial topic hierarchy based on some similar use cases which have been implemented for other customers, sharing their insights.

    Another point is their overall approach to topic building. They have very good documentation. It will be our own internal complexity that will drive the topic hierarchy. We are currently in the early stages, and so far journey has been good. Right now, we are comfortable with information and help we are getting from Solace along with the overall approach recommended for topic building. However, time will tell, especially after we generate very complex cases with Solace, how this topic hierarchy functions.

    What is most valuable?

    The most valuable thing for us is being able to publish a message, then have the ability to subscribe it on the fly. We want to democratize the usage of this going forward.

    We are currently using the basic platform, and as we become more mature, I am particularly excited about using the Event Catalog. This was launched recently. There are certain features like event visualisation and event discovery which we want to see in action. It will take some time for us to make more events published on Solace. 

    The software has been very good because:

    1. You can spin off a Solace instance very quickly. 
    2. Based on your requirements, there are various size levels, similar to t-shirt sizing. 
    3. When we went to add another installation in our private cloud, it was easy. We received support from Solace and the installation was seamless with no issues. 

    After publishing, we have seen the solution’s topic filtering go into approximately six levels, which is quite granular. These many levels are good enough. Also, the business payload lookup is supported.

    What needs improvement?

    We have requested to be able to get into the payload to do dynamic topic hierarchy building. A current workaround is using the message's header, where the business data can be put into this header and can be used for a dynamic topic lookup. I want to see this in action when there are a couple of hundred cases live. E.g., how does it perform? From an administration perspective, ease of use etc.?

    The second challenge is about skills and not related to product directly. Resource availability can be a challenge, e.g. if we have a lot of use cases for this and insufficient manpower, which comes from our partner companies and other IT companies, that will slow us down. This is an area that if Solace could do something, it would be good. If they could add some training or certification, that will be good. From a product perspective, so far in journey, it looks okay but time only will tell once we have put lot of volume and use cases on it.

    The topic catalog was actually a gap in the product about a year and a half ago when we started. It was not available in the basic platform, and we said, "This will become a challenge." Now, they have recently launched the Event Catalog and event visualization, where you can do an impact assessment if you change something, e.g., you can see the whole visual of impact. If you are publishing an event, you can see who are the subscribers, etc. It does look good, but we are in a very early stage. Therefore, we want to see it in action for a broader base and more use cases, before we say, "Yes, from administration perspective, this makes sense."

    For how long have I used the solution?

    We have been using the solution close to a year. Our use case recently went live. Now, we are working on a couple more projects.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    So far, we haven't seen any downtime or issues. We are in our initial journey, but we don't see any such challenges of instability at all. In fact, during the platform setup or during initial test cases, we never encountered any issues of services not working or downtime etc. 

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    As far as the SaaS solution is concerned, this solution is available in the t-shirt sizes. On the fly, it can be added to the existing subscription. Scalability should not be a challenge.

    We keep on looking at our usage and approach. When we reach 70 percent usage, thats an indication of need of further scaling up. By the time we reach 85 or 90 percent, we would have already added capacity to your solution.

    Our users are IT teams, not business users. Our use case originates from the supply chain, then the integration team manages Solace. We have around five to six IT users who interact with the platform to develop the solution. Once it has gone live, they support it in the production environment.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    The technical support helped us in all the aspects. So far, there are no complaints. We got really fantastic support from them. Their leadership is also very much committed. Their senior VP joins us in weekly review, which is the kind of commitment coming from them since their leadership is involved. Their technical teams are definitely involved and fully committed to our success.

    A year and a half ago, the Event Portal was not available when we started our journey. This is a strong feature that they added based on feedback that they heard from us. This would not had been something that we could have requested with an open source, like Kafka. We would have had to outsource it to a partner for them to build it.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    Solace is a new product for us that changes the way we approach towards architecture. Solace is helping us to add some workarounds which will convert messages into event enabled messages. That is how we are using Solace right now. However, before this solution, we did not have anything.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup was pretty straightforward.

    The deployment took four to five weeks. When we got the first use case, we started understanding the requirements pretty well, then built the solution, did the testing, and made it live. After the solution is live, if anyone else needs data, that can be done very quickly. It won't take a couple weeks like first time. You can just connect, pull the data, and test it. 

    From implementation strategy perspective, we wanted a simple use case, e.g., just publish and subscribe. The easiest case could be a point-to-point where there is only one publisher and one subscriber. Things that are non-business critical, we wanted to put them first on Solace and see the performance, learn how they worked, their challenges, and dos and don'ts.

    Later, we gradually wanted to move into business critical cases. The next set of our use cases, which are running on other middleware, we are trying replicating them on Solace. However, we will not be jumping to Solace directly. Rather, it is like a parallel solution, which is being built on the Solace layer. We want to see whether it is working fine. Gradually, we'll start switching from those scenarios which are running on other middleware to the Solace layer.

    During this journey, we have also been targeting our topic building mechanism/approach, which will get firmly established. That is how we are approaching Solace overall. At the same time, we have also brought in our partners of other middleware - MuleSoft, Dell EMC, and SAP. These are some of our strategic partners. It is not just a big product which you take, then you forget. It's ability of that tool and how well it fits into your ecosystem as well. Solace can be a very good tool, but if other applications are not able to communicate with it, then it will be not of use to us. Therefore, we are also seeing that how Solace with Dell EMC, MuleSoft or SAP could create value for us. That's another thing which we are doing from a strategic perspective.

    What about the implementation team?

    The technical support partnered in creating the initial use cases and setting up the platform. Our IT team and infra network team from the back-end worked to install Solace on our private cloud.

    When we did the first project, we worked with the Solace team. They were good people who helped us go into the smallest level of detail for the project requirements. 

    Our staff resources customize whatever work has to be done on the Solace piece. Once it goes live, they do regular monitoring. For a new onboarding project, we rely on these staff resources.

    What was our ROI?

    We have just started. The journey for us is new; we are not mature yet.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    Go for the best deal that you can get from Solace. Primarily, the licensing is dependent on the volume that is flowing. If you go for their support services, it will cost some more money, but I think it is worth it, especially if you are just starting your journey.

    I don't think it makes any difference if somebody gives us a free version. That would be very small from a capacity perspective. For an enterprise organization that would not be sufficient, so we are not looking for freeware. 

    We are looking for something that will add value and be fit for purpose. Freeware is good if you want to try something quickly without putting in much money. However, as far as our decision is concerned, I don't think it helps. At the end of the day, if we are convinced that a capability is required, we will ask for the funding. Then, when the funding is available, we will go for an enterprise solution only.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    Our journey to Solace was not very long. We started interacting with Solace leadership probably about a year and a half year back. That was the first time that we spoke with them about this concept and product. There were a few things that we asked for as part of product roadmap. Then, we moved to the product evaluation where we also brought in a couple of other competition tools. Finally, we selected Solace.

    The challenge with open source is they give you a basic flavor, which is decent enough. However, when you look at enterprise level, you need the following: 

    • A good support mechanism available
    • Reporting 
    • Administration
    • A distributed license, since there is talk about how to decentralize usage.

    These are the challenges that come with an open source product. They do the basic thing well, but if you need to make the solution fit for purpose, you need to maintain the custom solution on your own. This becomes a problem from a resource and investment perspective, as technologies keep on changing.

    If we talk about Solace, you see the value-add layer. I can say that Solace is a basic Kafka. But on top of that Kafka layer, they have added their own layer. That is really good, as this is where it adds value and why we went for it.

    There are a lot of good things that made us decide to go for Solace. Looking at Kafka, the value-added monitoring, Event Catalogs, and visualization are not there. When we talk about Solace's competitors on certain aspects, we rank them a little lower. Overall, when ranking them, Solace was the one who has scored highest, so we went for it. 

    We do not use other competitor products, so we don't have direct experience with their ease of design. We also evaluated:

    • A Microsoft solution: This solution was the closest to Solace.
    • OpenText
    • Kafka (open source)
    • Confluent
    • Also, two data stream solutions for high volume data.

    The challenge with Kafka is you have to think of everything on your own. You have to build the complete service part of the solution on Kafka. Solace compared to Kafka was a no-brainer. Solace distinguished itself with topic building and scalabilty. When in cloud, you can quickly scale up.

    With Kafka, the challenge comes when you design a solution that has topic management. How do you make a topic discoverable? How do you define the dependencies between one topic and a subscriber?

    From a monitoring perspective, I also feel Solace has a better product. More than that, there are commitments which comes from the Solace product, such as improvements. They are open to hear what we were saying. If there are certain things which are not available, they said that they will try to plug those gaps.

    What other advice do I have?

    Start with the simplest use case. Learn how Solace operates and about the ways it will work in your own internal organization. You will have to come up with standard guidelines, best practices, ways of working, etc. Once you understand all of these things, then start picking more use cases at the next level of complexity.

    Before you put anything directly into production, do a pilot run. Once you are pretty comfortable with this new technology, only then switch over to new technologies.

    We want to use the solution's event mesh feature, but we are not there yet. Currently, we have two instances of Solace that are connected in a small mesh, but this is a very basic thing.

    We have the software but did not go for the hardware part of the solution.

    I would rate this solution as an eight (out of 10).

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Private Cloud

    If public cloud, private cloud, or hybrid cloud, which cloud provider do you use?

    Amazon Web Services (AWS)
    Disclosure: PeerSpot contacted the reviewer to collect the review and to validate authenticity. The reviewer was referred by the vendor, but the review is not subject to editing or approval by the vendor.
    PeerSpot user
    Buyer's Guide
    Message Queue (MQ) Software
    July 2022
    Find out what your peers are saying about Solace, Apache, VMware and others in Message Queue (MQ) Software. Updated: July 2022.
    621,703 professionals have used our research since 2012.
    Namrata G - PeerSpot reviewer
    Independent Technology Consultant - Financial Softwares at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
    Real User
    Top 5Leaderboard
    Easy to set up and implement but needs better security
    Pros and Cons
    • "As of now, the most valuable aspects are the topic-based subscription and the fanout exchange that we are using."
    • "If you create one event in the past, you cannot resend it."

    What is our primary use case?

    We are generating stock calls and then those are given to various other processes.

    What is most valuable?

    As of now, the most valuable aspects are the topic-based subscription and the fanout exchange that we are using.

    It was easy to set up and implement. 

    What needs improvement?

    As of now, it is satisfying all my requirements. There is nothing much that I am looking for or missing in the product. They could focus on the speed, or maybe something like error handling or resending those requests.

    If you create one event in the past, you cannot resend it. You need to create it from the beginning.

    They could always improve security.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've used the solution for three or four years. 

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    We have three teams using the solution right now. There are about ten people per team using it. We have about 30 licenses. 

    It's used on a daily basis. 

    How are customer service and support?

    I can't speak to technical support. I've never reached out to them at all. 

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    We're also familiar with RabbitMQ. If you compare PubSub Event Broker and RabbitMQ, PubSub is more reliable. RabbitMQ requires a line to be installed, and it was a bit of a tedious process to get it installed. After that, it was smooth enough. My use case, whichever I use, is satisfied. I haven't explored either very deep beyond my own use cases. 

    How was the initial setup?

    The solution is very easy to set up. It's straightforward. It's not overly complex or difficult.

    What about the implementation team?

    The implementation was set up in-house. We didn't need any integrator or consultant support. 

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    I'm not aware of the exact pricing. 

    What other advice do I have?

    I'd recommend the solution to other users, so long as it aligns with their use case. This product is more suited to a small to medium-sized company.

    I'd rate the solution seven out of ten. If it was faster and perhaps had some security enhancements, I would rate it higher. 

    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Jitendra Jethwa - PeerSpot reviewer
    Websphere MQ Specialist at a maritime company with 10,001+ employees
    Real User
    Top 5Leaderboard
    Good support, very stable, and easy to replicate information and send it to several subscribers
    Pros and Cons
    • "The way we can replicate information and send it to several subscribers is most valuable. It can be used for any kind of business where you've got multiple users who need information. Any company, such as LinkedIn, with a huge number of subscribers and any business, such as publishing, supermarket, airline, or shipping can use it."
    • "It could be cheaper. It could also have easier usage. It is a brilliant product, but it is quite complex to use."

    What is most valuable?

    The way we can replicate information and send it to several subscribers is most valuable. It can be used for any kind of business where you've got multiple users who need information. Any company, such as LinkedIn, with a huge number of subscribers and any business, such as publishing, supermarket, airline, or shipping can use it.

    What needs improvement?

    It could be cheaper. It could also have easier usage. It is a brilliant product, but it is quite complex to use.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using this solution for several years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    It is a very stable product.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    It is scalable. We have a couple of hundred users.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Their technical support is very good.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    We just used MQ before this. We found out about PubSub, and we started using it as well for its benefits.

    How was the initial setup?

    It is a bit complex, but you get instructions. Once you know what to do, it is fairly straightforward. The installation takes about 30 minutes, but configuration takes a long time. After you gather all your data, it could sometimes take a day or two.

    What about the implementation team?

    I have done it myself. We have around 50 people for maintenance.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    It could be cheaper. Its licensing is on a yearly basis.

    What other advice do I have?

    It is a brilliant product, but it is quite complex to use, so you need a deep understanding. There is good information. They have thought of everything and noticed what the customers tell them. In every release, there is something better in it. I would definitely recommend this solution to others.

    I would rate PubSub+ Event Broker a nine out of ten. 

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free Message Queue (MQ) Software Report and find out what your peers are saying about Solace, Apache, VMware, and more!
    Updated: July 2022
    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free Message Queue (MQ) Software Report and find out what your peers are saying about Solace, Apache, VMware, and more!