Coming October 25: PeerSpot Awards will be announced! Learn more

Oracle Exadata OverviewUNIXBusinessApplication

Oracle Exadata is #2 ranked solution in top Data Warehouse tools. PeerSpot users give Oracle Exadata an average rating of 8.6 out of 10. Oracle Exadata is most commonly compared to Teradata: Oracle Exadata vs Teradata. Oracle Exadata is popular among the large enterprise segment, accounting for 77% of users researching this solution on PeerSpot. The top industry researching this solution are professionals from a computer software company, accounting for 24% of all views.
Oracle Exadata Buyer's Guide

Download the Oracle Exadata Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: September 2022

What is Oracle Exadata?

Oracle Exadata Database Machine is a modern framework, engineered to run databases and to scale database servers. Oracle Exadata Database Machine can be run on the cloud or on premises.

The main benefit of Exadata is its speed. It hosts operating systems, CPU memory, and hard drives. It runs all types of databases, including online transaction systems, processors, and data warehouses, while remedying the poor performances of older databases.

Oracle Exadata Database Machine features a simple and fast database storage system that protects and backs up your critical data. It accelerates data warehouse performance for faster access to business information and data. It is the ideal database solution for companies looking to build up their infrastructure from scratch.

Oracle Exadata Database Machine Key Benefits

  • Rapid, reliable, and scalable deployment: Exadata Database Machine is the most cost-efficient and highest performance platform for running Oracle databases. Exadata’s deployment is very straightforward since the database servers, storage servers, and network are pre-configured, pre-tuned and pre-tested by Oracle experts. This ensures that all your components work seamlessly together. Any Oracle Database application can be seamlessly migrated to and from the Exadata Database Machine, with no changes to the original application.

  • Powerful, cutting-edge hardware: Exadata Database Machine is the most versatile database platform. It uses powerful database servers and a scaled-out, intelligent storage layer.

  • Accelerate database processing: Exadata Storage Server implements a unique, highly efficient database-optimized storage infrastructure that enables Exadata’s unparalleled performance without any of the bottlenecks that traditional storage experiences. Each storage server contains CPU processors that are used to offload database processing. The CPUs in the storage servers do not replace database CPUs, but work alongside them to accelerate database workloads.

Reviews from Real Users

Oracle Exadata Database Machine stands out among its competitors for a number of reasons. Two major ones are its robust performance and its wide variety of database features that make it a comprehensive database solution.

Adriano S., an IT system integrator at a financial services firm, writes, "Oracle Exadata's performance is one of its best features. We are very satisfied with it. The previous equipment used to make a payment for all the government employees used to take at least two days for some of the transactions. Now, it will take hours to make the same amount of payments. Another thing is the flexibility to organize all our databases. We can use it with new features that come with this version of Oracle 19c, which is the container database. With container databases, we can work with many databases, organized, and segregated, and still access the functions and management, the things that most of the technical people like to have in place."

Paulo X., a sales manager at LTA-RH Informatica, notes, "Regarding features, there are so many that we can offer to customers. When we sell Exadata Cloud, there are many options to choose from, especially when it comes to enterprise database options. In my experience, the main features that are appreciated are various ones like GPS and the assortment of security options."

Oracle Exadata Customers

PayPal, EBS, Organic Food Retailer, Garmin, University of Minnesota, Major Semiconductor Company, Deutsche Bank, Starwood, Ziraat Bank, SK Telecom, and P&G.

Oracle Exadata Video

Oracle Exadata Pricing Advice

What users are saying about Oracle Exadata pricing:
  • "I did note that Oracle does tend to internally oversize things especially if they want to fill up a budget, and hence third-party oversight is essential."
  • "The majority of our customers are in government or big enterprises, and the projects that we sell come out to several million USD. With this amount of money on the table, it's always better to have an experienced team of consultants, who know Exadata very well, handle the implementation."
  • "All things considered, the price of this product is fairly high, as is always the case with Oracle."
  • "Oracle Exadata is not a cheap solution. Pricing is a problem for Oracle, and every client, not just my company, would like the vendor to improve on the price, or lower the price. My company paid for several years' worth of Oracle Exadata licenses. You need to pay for the technical support and other features separately, on different contracts. In terms of affordability, my rating for Oracle Exadata is two out of five."
  • Oracle Exadata Reviews

    Filter by:
    Filter Reviews
    Industry
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Company Size
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Job Level
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Rating
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Considered
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Order by:
    Loading...
    • Date
    • Highest Rating
    • Lowest Rating
    • Review Length
    Search:
    Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
    Adriano-Simao - PeerSpot reviewer
    IT System Integrator at a financial services firm
    Real User
    Top 5Leaderboard
    High performing and reliable work environment.
    Pros and Cons
    • "Oracle Exadata's performance is one of its best features. We very satisfied with it."
    • "There is a feature for security, but it is not included in the first purchase of this solution. That means if you need to increase the security, you need to buy the security feature which doesn't come by default on these solutions."

    What is our primary use case?

    As we are a service provider for the government our job is to stabilize the database layer. We need to make sure all our data is secure. That's why we like to work with a robust environment like Exadata to make sure that our response time and our reliability are good.

    What is most valuable?

    Oracle Exadata's performance is one of its best features. We very satisfied with it. The previous equipment used to make a payment for all the government employees used to take at least two days for some of the transactions. Now, it will take hours to make the same amount of payments. Another thing is the flexibility to organize all of our databases. We can use it with new features that come with this version of Oracle 19c, which is the container database. With container databases, we can work with many databases, organized and segregated, and still access the functions and management, the things that most of the technical people like to have in place.

    What needs improvement?

    Regarding the technical side of the machine itself, I don't see much that needs improvement. In terms of the kind of service and support that most of the clients need, it is huge investments. I would like to emphasize that the clients that use these technologies from Oracle must be well supported by the Oracle company. This is one thing that I would like to address. They could have better support.

    Additionally, the price for the Exadata is quite high. This is one thing that Oracle must think about. You can find the same features and the same performance that Oracle provides in other kinds of technology. So it depends on the client. If you want to use an Oracle engineered system, then you know that you have to pay.

    Otherwise, you'll need to buy more for performance, replications, and the availability of these kinds of things. But you don't want to pay a lot. You have another option that Oracle support calls Oracle ODA. With ODA, you don't have to use machines, but you have the same kind of features and key performances. However, you may have reduced options for scalability with these kinds of Oracle solutions compared to the engineering system like Exadata. After buying these, you have the support that you need to maintain all these environments. This is what I want to address.

    I will mention security. I know that there is a feature for security, but it is not included in the first purchase of this solution. That means if you need to increase the security, you need to buy the security feature which doesn't come by default on these solutions. As you may know, there are a lot of security problems all over the world with this kind of environment. Based on the fact that we are serving the government, we need to have security issues solved from the beginning and take care of security immediately. It would be better if Oracle could have some solutions that would bring us the confidence with their security at the outset. That's one thing I would like to address.

    I'm not saying that there is no security on this machine. There is good security on the version of Oracle which is running on these machines, it's very nice. But I'm saying this because I know that Oracle can do more than that and bring the substation to the clients.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using Oracle Exadata since 2010.

    Buyer's Guide
    Oracle Exadata
    September 2022
    Learn what your peers think about Oracle Exadata. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: September 2022.
    634,325 professionals have used our research since 2012.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    Even with the old machines, we didn't have any constraints with the stability. There were some problems regarding the hardware that you must change because they are getting holes and they fail more frequently. When the life cycle goes, it's the end. But on the other side, this machine is very stable.

    Since we have had these machines in production, we haven't had any downtime. Over the last two years, we had a lot of downtime with the old machines because they were very old and did not have enough performance to solve the demands of the database. But we don't have any constraints about the stability with these new machines.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    The strategy of the company was not to pay a lot, because we don't have much money. So we began with the scalability approach. We bought enough resources to sustain the demands of all our clients.

    If the demands increase, we can also increase the resources and close off the cabinets. We can scale this machine anytime that we need. We can go until the version that they allowed for scalability. Then, if you need to maintain this technology, you can scale out and have two machines working together side by side.

    This is a database machine. We have a system that hosts more than 20,000 citizens. So most of the time we have more than 3,000 transactions per day. As a service company for the government, every database resource is on this machine. We have at least three or four databases running on this machine and we have many applications that are running through this machine as well, so it serves all the countries.

    How are customer service and support?

    The first line of maintenance is done by my team, including day to day operation. Support from Oracle is for things which are beyond our knowledge of database administration. Most of the time, the maintenance is done by us. But there is a point you must understand regarding the hardware maintenance. We are not allowed to do hardware maintenance, this belongs exclusively to the Oracle Team. The Oracle Team must be the one that does the hardware maintenance on these machines. Of course, we have a partner here in Mozambique who represents Oracle. This company is the one that is the second line of support. If they find something, they can escalate it to Oracle or they can solve it themselves.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    When we started the company, we thought about the responsibilities that the company would have attending to all the requests from the government and that we would need to go to robot technology. We thought in 2002 to go directly to work with the Oracle database. So Oracle database was the first database technology we decided to use as our strategic plan for the stability of the company.

    At that time, we start working with the small machines and after two or three years, we realized that there are a lot of scalability problems with those kinds of machines and stability issues with this kind of hardware. So that's why we we had lots of downtime and we spent lots of time correcting these kinds of problems instead of thinking about growing the business. So we moved these small machines to a bigger one in 2010. That's all extra data with the X-2 version, but these kinds of machines are getting old and they are out of order now. We cannot buy the spare parts or anything else we need. So we decided to keep using all of the technology, but moved from that environment to a new machine with a better performance.

    This has seen better performance. That's why we are still working with only one technology, Oracle.

    How was the initial setup?

    For Oracle Exadata, there are two main profiles that you have to take care of. One is the installation itself, like assembling the machines, which need some kind of expertise. The other is the installation of the software and creating the database, which need other kinds of equipment. From our perspective, our main goal within all of this is not about these two profiles. It's about the database engineering. Because we are coming from using an old machine, which is running an old version of Oracle, you will need to properly create not only the environment to host the database, you will also need to migrate from an old version of Oracle, like 11g, to 19c. This is another challenge that we have during implementation of these projects.

    I can say that from acquisition it took at least, but not more than, five months to implement.

    At acquisition we need to design the tenders and the rules of the company. The tender goes out, then it is published, then we evaluate all the tenders, then someone must win the tender. All this takes a lot of times. Then you go to the implementation phase. We did a workshop to design the solution. It took at least three weeks. Then it starts implementing the infrastructure. Migrating the database is another point because one database can take at least two days. That's the situation. But start to finish takes five months.

    What about the implementation team?

    We did the assembling and installing of all these with the support of Oracle ACS, which is a very nice team that gives personal support for us. It was very good working with them. The other thing is the migrating itself. Migrating depends on each company because not all the companies have the same database architecture or the same data. That's why at the migration stage, 60% of the intervention of migrating from the old version of Oracle to the new version was done by my team. But the Oracle STS support was with us the whole time.

    What other advice do I have?

    I would of course recommend Oracle Exadata to other people who are looking into implementing such solutions. They need to know what happens with this solution, what can be done with it, because as the government we cannot give out that information because it's not allowed. But, I would recommend it if a company wants to use these solutions, wants to have stability with their equipment, with their applications, and with their systems. If a company wants to be competitive in the market and have a good name, reputation and everything else, I think using Oracle, with the Oracle Exadata machine, is the best way to achieve that.

    On a scale of one to ten, I can give Oracle Exadata a 9.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Chris Bradham - PeerSpot reviewer
    Senior Technical Director at AEM Corporation
    Consultant
    Top 5Leaderboard
    Exadata can significantly improve performance but there's a learning curve in a few key areas.

    What is our primary use case?

    Primarily OLTP but report is done against a combination of Materialized Views and transactional tables.

    How has it helped my organization?

    We have a number of statistics collected before cutover on our legacy environment compared to Exadata. Without doing anything other than copying the data across, we saw significant performance gains for most key processes. We receive feedback from users stating how fast the performance is compared to other systems. Performance issues are few and far between. Our database environment is extremely stable compared to the legacy DB configuration. We upgraded from a X2-2 quarter rack to a X5-2 eighth rack and experienced significant performance gains. We recently performed another technology refresh to a X7-2 so obviously, we've been very pleased with the initial investment. For this deployment, we decided to virtualize the Exadata configuration, providing some additional flexibility to our operational environment.

    What is most valuable?

    We primarily run OLTP with some reporting. With that being said, the feature that provides us the most performance gains is the Smart Flash Cache for the OLTP databases. The "offloading" capabilities provide the biggest performance gains for Reporting such as smart scans and storage indexes. There is a new security feature which allows disabling ssh to the storage servers which will make my security folks very happy. Also, there is a STIG script for hardening storage servers and Database Nodes which can be implemented as a report only or actually implement security settings. Would advise running report first to assess the results and then manually modify, as needed.

    What needs improvement?

    My biggest gripe has been patches which has dramatically improved since our initial Exadata was delivered (January 2011). The only issues we periodically experience are with non-default RPMs on the database nodes. These may fail during the pre-req check which means opening a SR with support. This has become the exception, not the norm so overall not much to complain about. The X2-2 used to experience frequent disk failures but now, that is a thing of the past. 

    For how long have I used the solution?

    ten years

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    There is redundancy built throughout the Exadata so even when we've experienced a disk failure, it's a very low stress situation. Early on we had some performance issues with DBFS and a node eviction problem. DBFS was resolved through a combination of settings changes and a quarterly patch. The node eviction was resolved through a one-off patch that eventually got rolled into a quarterly patch. I would chalk up these issues to being early adopters. We do have an occasional bug but I can't think of any that would be unique to Exadata with the database software. At least this provides some degree of comfort that Exadata is not the source of the issue.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    The key for scalability is selecting the appropriate disk configuration and the proper size rack configuration. The two options are High Capacity and High Performance. If ever in doubt, always go with High Capacity. The performance difference is negligible at best, however having the extra space allows for more consolidation. That's the entire point of Exadata, to consolidate databases. We've added a few databases to the Exadata since we originally started to use the environment and there has been no performance impact. In our case, a Quarter rack was appropriate but for larger environments, this may not be enough.

    How are customer service and support?

    Customer Service:

    In terms of overall Oracle customer service, we've had good experiences on this front. Oracle has provided us access to their experts and continually check to see how things are going. Whenever an issue comes up, they treat the problem seriously. Since we support a government customer, Oracle is extra motivated to ensuring we have a successful experience. Since 2011, there have been significant improvements with support. Occasionally we do hit issues which it seemingly takes support a longer period of time to provide a patch or workaround but these namely involve additional features, not core technology so it's a matter of exhibiting patience.

    Technical Support:

    On the hardware side, customer service is quite good. Any disk failures get replaced in a day and with triple redundancy for disk, it's not been a concern. Software customer service has improved over the years. Early on was a little rough as I will say the software wasn't fully mature. As the product has matured, so has the software support's capability to resolve issues more quickly. We can't take advantage of ASR, however this seems like a major improvement for customer service in terms of responsiveness.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    We didn't switch, we were doing a technology refresh and went with Exadata instead of building out our own Oracle RAC configuration. We previously had a combination of Dell servers, Red Had Linux OS, Oracle Cluster File System on EMC Storage with Juniper switches. This configuration had lots of performance issues, node evictions, and constant headaches. Since moving to Exadata, all those pain points went away.

    How was the initial setup?

    There is a definite learning curve initially. We had to learn about migration options, shared mount point options, how to integrate with Cloud Control, patching, health check, how to optimize, and how to harden the Exadata environment. Since we went live, many more folks use Exadata so there's more how to's and best practice documents available so the learning curve isn't nearly as steep. We learned a lot in the process and now have a tremendous amount of expertise in setting up, configuring, optimizing and maintaining the Exadata.

    What about the implementation team?

    We implement Exadata in-house and have gone through several migration methodologies.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    We had ACS perform the initial Startup Pack, however there are companies that can do this much cheaper to lower the original setup cost, such as ours. Day-to-day cost is greatly reduced compared to our legacy environment as we no longer have to serve as "fire fighters." In terms of pricing, Exadata is probably not going to be the lowest cost option. There is a price to pay for performance and stability. With that being said, I have not heard of any customers who have regretted the purchase and/or looking to get off the technology. On the contrary, I can't imagine going to another solution at this point and trying to justify this with the user community in terms of why the system performance degraded. Can't imagine that would go over too well.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    We had a custom solution and evaluated Exadata versus the custom solution. Exadata was actually a cheaper solution due to the number of cores. Oracle software licenses are based on processor so if comparing a Quarter Rack versus a 4+ four node custom solution, Exadata may win out from this perspective. We were looking at a 5 node RAC which would have doubled the cost of our software licenses when compared to the equivalent with a Quarter rack of Exadata. Besides, the performance metrics indicated Exadata would easily outperform the custom solution which made our decision a no brainer.

    What other advice do I have?

    Exadata is a powerful solution. As I mentioned there is a learning curve. Working with a company that has experience with Exadata can help avoid potential pain points and maximize the ROI.

    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    it_user3309 - PeerSpot reviewer
    it_user3309Presenter at a consultancy
    Consultant

    Post 2012 if the Exadata is not set for GATHER_SYSTEM_STATS('EXADATA') a lot of the benefits will not show up. You will then remain in the '2x to 3x' club of Exadata performance instead of the potential 15x performance. -- quoting Mark Smith at Database Specialists -- in Presentation at IOUG Collaborate15 conference in Las Vegas April 2015.
    I have experienced the marked difference in performance from just that one setting change.

    Buyer's Guide
    Oracle Exadata
    September 2022
    Learn what your peers think about Oracle Exadata. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: September 2022.
    634,325 professionals have used our research since 2012.
    Rodolfo Patiño - PeerSpot reviewer
    SubDirector of Project Management at DISH
    Real User
    Top 5Leaderboard
    Stable with good data replication but is very difficult to set up
    Pros and Cons
    • "The data replication is very good."
    • "The initial setup process is very difficult and extremely complex."

    What is our primary use case?

    We are a telecommunications company. The information that we have there, it's Oracle Suite including a CRM, help service integration, and more. That's the core of the system. All the information is available to users using Oracle BI, and some other tools. We're very Oracle-based in our product choice.

    How has it helped my organization?

    In the past, all the reports that the organization needed would have to pass through a new requirement. And in order to create it, a person needed IT, and the developers. They would have to then test it and release it. Now, since we have this information available, access depends on the role, and the security filters and the user can access information and can make their own dashboards and reports and take decisions. They no longer need to go through IT and developers.

    What is most valuable?

    We're working on making our usage to be part of a service in a manner that the client can use the information and create their own dashboards, and reports. The client can access the information they need based on the role they have. It prevents them from being dependant on an IT department for access.

    The data replication is very good.

    The solution offers a good data warehouse.

    The solution allows us to avoid conflict with the transactional databases. 

    What needs improvement?

    The replication of the database needs to avoid collision with the transactional databases. That's a very, very important aspect that needs to be looked at. 

    It would be nice if we had access via mobile devices. To be able to have this information and the dashboards on cellphones or tablets or something like that would be great. It would make the solution similar to Tableau, for example, and other kinds of solutions. 

    The initial setup process is very difficult and extremely complex.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've used the solution since about 2017. It's been a few years at this point.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    It's a pretty good solution, however, there may be more opportunity for more stability within the product. That said, the hardware and the database are some of the best Oracle has. It's pretty stable.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    The on-premises versions of the solution are very difficult to work with, however, the next-generation cloud-based options are likely easier to expand as necessary.

    We have about 800 concurrent users on the solution at any given time. It's a mid-sized company.

    I'm not sure if we have plans to expand out own usage. It's a difficult time in Mexico, politically and also with COVID. We had plans to change some things last year, and they have since been pushed out. We're looking at different aspects of our entire system and we're reconsidering how it operates and if we should add partners or not.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    While we used Oracle consultants for the implementation of the product, and that did not go very well at all, now that it is set up, I can say that we do find their general technical support quite good. We're on good terms with support in general, which comes from America, and I would say we are satisfied with the level of service Oracle provides.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    We used a different solution a long, long time ago. It may have been something like InfoWorks. However, as I said, it was quite some time in the past.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup is not straightforward at all. It's very complex and extremely difficult.

    It's not easy to explain the entire process overall as there's a lot of criteria. We start working on the requirements, and the first implementation was not exactly what we spec'd it for. We had to start over, and we were complimenting these requirements. However, the functionality and scope ended up not being agreed upon by two partners. The users also did not take into account that they needed to be a part of the process. There were just so many moving parts that never lined up properly.

    We've realized that a good solution must also be easy to use as the users will end up being the ones accessing the information, and, if they are confused, they'll never use the technology. On top of that, the requirements and scope need to be clear upfront.

    I'm not sure how much staff has been needed for deployment and maintenance.

    What about the implementation team?

    We used Oracle consultants and our experience with them was very, very bad.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    I don't handle the licensing or billing, therefore, I'm not familiar with the direct costs of using this solution.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    We did look at SAP before ultimately choosing Oracle. We may have looked at others, however, it was a long time ago. I'm not even sure if the same companies exist.

    Ultimately, we chose Oracle as it was more suited for telecommunications whereas SAP was more into manufacturing.

    What other advice do I have?

    We don't have a business relationship with the company. We are just users.

    I'm not sure which version of the solution we're currently using.

    While telecommunications is an area that always does pretty well - as people need internet and other related services, even in these strange times, it's a strange time in Mexico for a variety of reasons and therefore we are rethinking how we are approaching entire systems and maybe holding off on some decisions until the landscape clears a bit.

    While I like Oracle as a solution, and its hardware and database are quite good, when we're talking about implementation, scalability, and integration, I would not recommend this solution. The best option today for a telecom company is likely Salesforce Vlocity.

    I would rate the solution six out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Radu Biristeica - PeerSpot reviewer
    IT Consultant at Trend Import-Export
    Consultant
    Top 20
    Excellent storage cell capabilities and intelligence with great speed
    Pros and Cons
    • "We can use virtualization on Exadata."
    • "The improvement could be made on the hardware level as the habit in the industry is to go better and faster and larger with every iteration."

    What is most valuable?

    The separation between the database nodes and storage cells is the key feature of Exadata. The capabilities of the storage cells, the intelligence, are excellent. 

    The speed is unbeatable. 

    Exadata was mostly for data warehouses. However, in time with a model of powerful processors in database nodes, it's also an OLTP machine. It's very good. The latest versions offer even more performance, as they have a persistent memory and a lot of features.

    The usage of the internal InfiniBand Switches is a key feature in Exadata. Everything is fast due to this separation at the database level and storage level. It's intelligently designed and has a very fast connection between all of the components of Exadata. 

    We can use virtualization on Exadata. We can choose capacity on demand. There are a lot of new features that have turned up in the past two to four years. The solution is growing and becoming broader in its scope.

    What needs improvement?

    The improvement could be made on the hardware level as the habit in the industry is to go better and faster and larger with every iteration.

    From the software point of view, management point of view, it's okay right now. However, I don't understand why Exadata has no database nodes with SPARC processors. Oracle has SPARC servers that are on RISC processors and are more powerful processors than Intel processors. They never do Exadata with such processors on the database nodes level. However, they tested and it wasn't very useful. I would like to see Exadata with RISC processors on the database nodes if it's possible.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've been working with the solution since 2012. It's been about nine years - almost a decade. It's been a while.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    You can scale the solution. You can configure it how you like and buy more cells or nodes to add to it. 

    How are customer service and technical support?

    The technical support has been okay. We've been satisfied with the level of service.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup isn't too complex. However, in the present, the initial setup of Exadata isn't made by Oracle partners or the client. There is an advanced ACS department, Oracle Advanced Customer Support, that handles the implementation. In this team, there are very good specialists on Exadata. These specialists from the ACS department are the guys who will install Exadata for the first time for the client. 

    It's not something very complex and something which cannot be done by others, however. Our team, for example, was installing Exadata. It's possible to be done by other teams with, of course, the appropriate competencies. The implementation sits somewhere between simple and complex. The machine is complex. We cannot set up a machine like this with more components and different components like a laptop, for example. 

    What about the implementation team?

    There is a specialized team that handles the implementation for the client.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    I don't evaluate the fees involved in using the solution. It's too big. However, it's my understanding that you need to pay for the hardware, the nodes, and the cells. That said, you can configure it however you want. You can easily buy and increase the capacity in only the nodes or only the cells if you prefer. It's worth the money you spend. The value is there.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    I've looked at other options. For a data warehouse, it's a better solution. It's better than Teradata, for example, or other complex machines from the competitors. Migrating data warehouses from other infrastructures to Exadata has a good success rate. I wouldn't say that it is the better solution for an OLTP system, however, for an OLAP system, it's a better option.

    What other advice do I have?

    We've been Oracle partners for around ten years or so. I'm a project manager, and not overly technical. 

    We don't have Exadata in our company, however, we have Exadata via a client. The current company where I work is the first company in Romania to sell Exadata in Romania. There are a number of Exadata solutions sold in Romania - which is why my colleague has achieved past competencies and certification in Exadata machines. They are very good, and they are delivering the present services on Exadata. I manage the projects where they deliver services on Exadata only for the customer, not in our company.

    I'd advise users to consider the solution. You pay more money on the machine, however, you pay less for the licenses. On top of that, you have enough room to put a lot of data there. You can virtualize some machines and you put items on the application level, however, I don't recommend this. 

    If you already have separate machines, and you have licenses for all these machines and you want to put new hardware in place, it's better to put Exadata in place instead of a lot of other machines. That way, you can consolidate the database here and you will pay less on database software licenses.

    I'd rate the solution at a ten out of ten. I've been very satisfied with the product overall.

    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: partner
    PeerSpot user
    Robin Saikat Chatterjee - PeerSpot reviewer
    Head of Oracle Exadata Centre of Excellence at Tata Consultancy Services
    Real User
    Top 5Leaderboard
    We can run the exact same software as the latest x8-2 Exadatas and we can even install virtualization if we want to.
    Pros and Cons
    • "Our machine is used for our internal development of Oracle-based solutions, PoC benchmarking, and training/familiarization."
    • "We would like an option of a hardware-only support solution, but Oracle currently does not provide this."

    What is our primary use case?

    Database Consolidation and Performance is best on this platform. It is tailor made to run the oracle database and hence the defaults on this device force you to choose oracle best practices. No more moaning by your storage admin that he wants to carve out the luns ,that he doesn't understand ASM stripe and Mirror Everything S.A.M.E  and that he knows better what's good for the oracle database.Even the old x 2-2 can run version 18c of the database.

    How has it helped my organization?

    Ability to patch with no downtime and the ability to  ensure all the prerequisites are satisfied without manual intervention saves time and effort and makes systems we deploy for our clients more secure. Licensing costs too are less for Oracle linux and for clients moving to the oracle cloud it is included in the price of the subscription. with the new Exadata cloud @customer offering there are even more ways to get the benefits of Exadata without lareg capital expenditure.

    What is most valuable?

    Ksplice, Prevalidated Oracle RPMS , the testing done with Oracle database and weblogic and the UEK kernel have made Oracle linux systems best for running large oracle databases and other packaged applications.Exadata's IORM and DBRM make it a great consolidation platform. its smartscan feature and flash cache are unparallelled in providing performance.

    The new exadata x8-2m has even higher speed roce 100GBps connectivity.

    What needs improvement?

    we do have a little trepidation with systemd as it does have a learning curve . Also changing to a binary logging format for us feels like retrograde motion , but sadly almost all linux varients have moved in this direction.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    Over nine years across multiple versions.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    We have encountered several predictive disk failures, but we never lost data because the machine detected the issue before the actual failure and alerted us and Oracle to dispatch a spare through ASR.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    No issues at all except when the code we were working with was not scalable (procedural PL/SQL and cursors). In fact, the RAC worked very well and we saw near-linear scale-up, and the license costs were dramatically less than a conventional solution.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Customer Service:

    We have had great customer service. We had almost no issues with the machine as such except for some predictive hard disk failures and the machine never had a problem due to the redundancy, so there was zero downtime for any of the hard disk faults.

    Technical Support:

    Majority of the cases we have had good support. We had a few small hiccups with ASR Auto Update as it twice lost configuration. However, we have since disabled that function and do the ASR updating manually after taking a backup. As this feature is not essential to the actual running of the machine, it never caused us any major issue.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    The initial setup was pretty straightforward. We had undergone training so we knew what was required and hence there were no surprises. There was participation from the vendor team also.

    How was the initial setup?

    It was a vendor team who did the bare bones setup and then we did the actual deployment and migrations in-house. Our team is very seasoned. The vendor team was quite good and we had no issues with installation and initial configuration.

    What about the implementation team?

    As we have the capability and specialization to do the software implementation in house we worked collaboratively with the vendor team for the same. Vendor team was very knowledgeable.

    What was our ROI?

    We have realized a lot of tangible and intangible benefits from the machine. It would be difficult to put a dollar figure to it because the machine allows for things that simply cannot be done without it. So in that way, we can safely say that the machine paid for itself within the first 12 months.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    There are many new options available now, including IaaS and CoD. I would advise others to engage a third-party expert to ensure that they get the best deal. I did note that Oracle does tend to internally oversize things especially if they want to fill up a budget, and hence third-party oversight is essential.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    For us, we work with all vendors and every vendor has its good and bad qualities. We use all solutions and hence we know when to recommend the Exadata machine.

    What other advice do I have?

    I would always consider this solution when I want an integrated scalable best-of-breed solution for enterprise class Oracle database deployment. I have seen so much inter-vendor finger-pointing during SevOne outages to ever want to wander back into that uncharted wilderness.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises

    If public cloud, private cloud, or hybrid cloud, which cloud provider do you use?

    Other
    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: We are Oracle Platinum Partner cloud elite .We are the only Oracel Partner to have achieved Advanced specialisation on Oracle Exadata. Among Oracles 30,000+ partner ecosystem we are in the top 10.
    PeerSpot user
    Robin Saikat Chatterjee - PeerSpot reviewer
    Robin Saikat ChatterjeeHead of Oracle Exadata Centre of Excellence at Tata Consultancy Services
    Top 5LeaderboardReal User

    New Cloud@customer option for Exadata transforms it in to a whollely cloud model. Removes all capex and converts fully to opex.

    Paulo Xavier - PeerSpot reviewer
    Sales Manager at LTA-RH Informatica
    Reseller
    Top 5
    Offers a huge choice of options for the enterprise, whether on-prem or cloud
    Pros and Cons
    • "Regarding features, there are so many that we can offer to customers. When we sell Exadata Cloud, there are many options to choose from, especially when it comes to enterprise database options. In my experience, the main features that are appreciated are various ones like GPS and the assortment of security options."
    • "There is one aspect to Exadata that I dislike, and that's the inconsistency with other databases. When you try to get Exadata to function with another type of database like SQL, or others, there should be reliable and consistent operation. When this is improved on, we should start to see more applications growing the market."

    What is our primary use case?

    We sell hyper-converged infrastructure tools including Oracle Exadata to enterprise customers such as governments. These are large projects that handle big data and typically run into the range of several million dollars, and in 2016, we had our first big Exadata project which involved implementing two superclusters with Exadata and Exalogic together. 

    In some processes, we use converged infrastructure tools, but it's far more common nowadays to go with hyper-converged infrastructure tools. On our side, we prefer hyper-converged infrastructure because there just aren't that many people using the standard convergence model anymore. We're changing our processes to work exclusively with hyper-convergence and other technologies that complement hyper-convergence.

    We use Exadata and Exadata Cloud at customer sites, and the main project that we're involved in now is hyper-converged Oracle environments with Exadata. I'm studying how to best apply the hyper-convergence model in Oracle to change Exadata to VxRail. But my forecast going forward is that we will be using fifty percent hyper-converged tools with Dell VxRail, and fifty percent with Oracle Exadata.

    How has it helped my organization?

    With Oracle Exadata, the change from on-premise to cloud is becoming a reality. With this, it becomes better and easier for us to make renovations and maintain our projects. We earn money with renovations on cloud, but when it comes to on-prem, we don't earn much when the customer needs renovations and support.

    What is most valuable?

    Regarding features, there are so many that we can offer to customers. When we sell Exadata Cloud, there are many options to choose from, especially when it comes to enterprise database options. In my experience, the main features that are appreciated are various ones like GPS and the assortment of security options.

    What needs improvement?

    There is one aspect to Exadata that I dislike, and that's the inconsistency with other databases. When you try to get Exadata to function with another type of database like SQL, or others, there should be reliable and consistent operation. When this is improved on, we should start to see more applications growing the market.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using Oracle Exadata for six years, more or less.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    Stability is very good. Especially if you maintain it and always update, you won't have any problems with stability. Once Exadata is established, it's 100%.

    My one customer was using the Exadata version from 2013 which was extremely outdated, and when they changed to the updated version of the main system application it was very healthy for the customer's company. 

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    I think the scalability is good, but it can be even better. With the newer editions of Exadata, they are changing some features to meet the needs of growth and scalability, like access to additional disks in the storage environment, and they've upped the memory, too. But I don't think it was central, or essential, to the Exadata offering at first.

    How was the initial setup?

    Nowadays, it's easier. In the first years of implementation of Exadata it was a bit more difficult, but now it's easier. If you have a team that knows Exadata well, and knows the limits of Exadata, then the setup and implementation is easy. If, on the other hand, you don't have an experienced team, then it's really difficult.

    What about the implementation team?

    The last implementation we deployed took about two weeks, more or less.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The majority of our customers are in government or big enterprises, and the projects that we sell come out to several million USD. With this amount of money on the table, it's always better to have an experienced team of consultants, who know Exadata very well, handle the implementation.

    What other advice do I have?

    If you're interested in going with Exadata, then I highly recommend looking for an experienced consulting firm that has completed at least one large implementation before, because it isn't something you want to put in the hands of unskilled consultants. And don't forget to be careful with your implementation when it comes to GDPR in Europe.

    I would rate Oracle Exadata a nine out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Public Cloud

    If public cloud, private cloud, or hybrid cloud, which cloud provider do you use?

    Other
    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Reseller
    PeerSpot user
    Master Consultant - RedHat & Oracle Cloud, Virtualization , Automation at a computer software company with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Consultant
    Top 5
    Provides a good time to solution and operational standards, and the support team is knowledgeable
    Pros and Cons
    • "The most valuable feature is the time to solution."
    • "There is room for improvement with the handling of the Temp IO, which is often used for JOIN statements."

    What is our primary use case?

    We have two primary use cases for Exadata. The first is for a financial services company, which is an online bank. We use this product for all of their transaction processing. In their locale, they have a lot of transactions related to the automotive industry.

    What is most valuable?

    The most valuable feature is the time to solution. 

    The standard deviation that comes with it is helpful.

    We appreciate the operational standards, which includes patching at least two times per year. This keeps it secure and up to date.

    What needs improvement?

    There is room for improvement with the handling of the Temp IO, which is often used for JOIN statements. In my experience, rather than being handled by flash memory, it is being done using the hard drive. This slows it down a lot in certain cases. The reason this happens is that Temp IO often has a lower priority when compared to transactional operations such as Write Vault, Redo Vault, and Commit. This means that it can never get enough "attention" to be placed in flash memory.

    The entry-level pricing is too high for the smaller shops.

    Some additional built-in automation would be helpful. Some automation already exists in the software deployment process, but different components are handled differently, so more automation would be an improvement.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    We have been using Oracle Exadata for about nine years, since 2011.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    Stability-wise, I would rate this product close to ten out of ten.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    Oracle Exadata is very scalable.

    When one of our customers such as a bank employs one or more Exadata machines to handle database work, it means that the whole bank could be using it.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    The technical support from Oracle is pretty good. It could be better at times but for the most part, they are knowledgeable.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup always comes with some complexity because it needs a lot from the customer to prepare the site, network, firewalls, and the rest. The deployment is always complex.

    Preparing for deployment can take a couple of months, again depending on the requirements. There are standard things that have to take place, such as allocating space in the data center and making sure that the power, cabling, and switches are there. Once everything is in place, the software installation will take two or three days.

    What about the implementation team?

    My team handles the deployment for our customers.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The licensing is the same as it is with other Oracle products, which depends on how many CPU cores are activated. In addition to that, there are storage licenses that are needed. All things considered, the price of this product is fairly high, as is always the case with Oracle.

    What other advice do I have?

    This is a product that I can recommend, although there needs to be a clear understanding of the use cases because Exadata doesn't come cheap. There is the requisition cost, the cost of support, costs for maintenance, and none of that is cheap. As long as there is a solid reason why Exadata is needed in the organization, I would definitely recommend it.

    My suggestion for anybody who is implementing this solution is geared towards the in-house DBAs as opposed to customers in general. DBAs tend to handle Exadata the way they would any Oracle database, which is not the way to do it. Many of them have been working with Oracle databases for their entire career, and often, training on Exadata is necessary to get it working properly.

    I would rate this solution a nine out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    On-premises
    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Partner
    PeerSpot user
    IT Architect at TIM
    Real User
    Very fast, scalable, stable, and demonstrates good performance
    Pros and Cons
    • "What I like best about Oracle Exadata is its good performance. It's also a very fast solution."
    • "A room for improvement in Oracle Exadata is that it's not very easy to use in a microservices environment. It's not easy to split databases, and if this was easier to do in Oracle Exadata, it would make the solution better. What I'd like to see in the next release of Oracle Exadata is for it to become more modular, so you can use it in a context where the data layer is spread between many independent services."

    What is our primary use case?

    We use Oracle Exadata for transaction processing and data warehousing.

    What is most valuable?

    What I like best about Oracle Exadata is its good performance. It's also a very fast solution.

    What needs improvement?

    A room for improvement in Oracle Exadata is that it's not very easy to use in a microservices environment. It's not easy to split databases, and if this was easier to do in Oracle Exadata, it would make the solution better.

    What I'd like to see in the next release of Oracle Exadata is for it to become more modular, so you can use it in a context where the data layer is spread between many independent services.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've been working with Oracle Exadata for ten years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    The stability of Oracle Exadata is okay, and on a scale of one to five, I'm giving it a four.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    Oracle Exadata is a very scalable solution, and I'm rating it five out of five in terms of scalability.

    How are customer service and support?

    We're happy with Oracle Exadata support, though there's always room for improvement. In the years we've contacted them, we've reached a good balance between pricing and service. They deserve a four out of five in terms of support.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    We used AIX and Db2, and currently, we're still switching our databases over to Oracle Exadata.

    How was the initial setup?

    I wasn't involved in setting up Oracle Exadata because there's a dedicated team responsible for the setup.

    The deployment process took a bit of time because my company switched gradually from other technologies to Oracle Exadata, and at the moment, some of the databases are still being moved to the solution. It's a big installation because I work for a big company.

    What about the implementation team?

    A mix of in-house teams and vendor teams was responsible for setting up and implementing Oracle Exadata.

    What was our ROI?

    I have no idea about the ROI from Oracle Exadata because my team doesn't calculate it.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    Oracle Exadata is not a cheap solution. Pricing is a problem for Oracle, and every client, not just my company, would like the vendor to improve on the price, or lower the price.

    My company paid for several years' worth of Oracle Exadata licenses. You need to pay for the technical support and other features separately, on different contracts.

    In terms of affordability, my rating for Oracle Exadata is two out of five.

    What other advice do I have?

    Oracle Exadata is deployed on the cloud, but for databases, deployment is on-premises.

    My company has twenty thousand users of applications based on Oracle Exadata. My company develops internal applications given to users, and the applications have persistent layers in Oracle.

    My rating for Oracle Exadata is eight out of ten.

    My company is an Oracle customer.

    My advice to new users is to start small and implement Oracle Exadata incrementally. Don't implement it with a big bang approach. Do it piece by piece. The solution is good for big companies because I belong to a big company, but my company did the implementation one piece at a time.

    There's a plan to increase the usage of Oracle Exadata because some of the older databases still need to be moved from Unix. Some of the databases in Db2 will also be moved to Oracle Exadata.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Public Cloud
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free Oracle Exadata Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.
    Updated: September 2022
    Product Categories
    Data Warehouse
    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free Oracle Exadata Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.