IT Central Station is now PeerSpot: Here's why

GEP SMART OverviewUNIXBusinessApplication

GEP SMART is #1 ranked solution in top Contract Management Software tools and #2 ranked solution in top Procurement Software tools. PeerSpot users give GEP SMART an average rating of 8 out of 10. GEP SMART is most commonly compared to SAP Ariba Procurement: GEP SMART vs SAP Ariba Procurement. GEP SMART is popular among the large enterprise segment, accounting for 59% of users researching this solution on PeerSpot. The top industry researching this solution are professionals from a computer software company, accounting for 20% of all views.
GEP SMART Buyer's Guide

Download the GEP SMART Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: June 2022

What is GEP SMART?

GEP SMART is an AI-powered, cloud-native

software for direct and indirect procurement
that offers comprehensive source-to-pay
functionality in one user-friendly platform,
inclusive of spend analysis, sourcing, contract
management, supplier management,
procure-to-pay, savings project management
and savings tracking, invoicing and other
related functionalities.

GEP SMART was previously known as SMART by GEP.

GEP SMART Customers

  • Exxon
  • Chevron
  • Macys

GEP SMART Video

GEP SMART Pricing Advice

What users are saying about GEP SMART pricing:
  • "My advice is to think wisely when it comes to estimating the number of licenses that you will require. If you settle on a number too early and you need additional ones, then the extra licenses might be quite expensive."
  • "If our organization could use it as a full-fledged solution, then it would be valuable and give a return on investment. However, since we are not currently using it as a full-fledged solution, even facing some bugs and problems with the synchronization with some of the internal software, we are not able to use it in a full-fledged manner."
  • GEP SMART Reviews

    Filter by:
    Filter Reviews
    Industry
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Company Size
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Job Level
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Rating
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Considered
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Order by:
    Loading...
    • Date
    • Highest Rating
    • Lowest Rating
    • Review Length
    Search:
    Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
    Sourcing Manager at a consultancy with 10,001+ employees
    Real User
    Top 20Leaderboard
    User-friendly design, provides clear reporting, and improves speed and efficiency for certain processes
    Pros and Cons
    • "It's user-friendly, in terms of the design of the tool."
    • "The manuals, especially the ones for the suppliers, are currently available only in English. If these can also be translated into different languages, that would be excellent."

    What is our primary use case?

    There are three main reasons that we started working with this product. The first one was to plan projects and report the savings. In this use case, we rely on GEP as a reporting tool for procurement. The second reason we use it is for online sourcing. In this context, it gives us a platform to run online RFPs, RFIs, and online auctions. The third reason is to use it for a contract repository.

    How has it helped my organization?

    In terms of how easy this product is to use, I would say something in the middle. It can be very complex, so it requires some training for the users. Especially for sourcing, it requires some detailed training. It is possible to simplify things. We can create simple projects and simple sourcing events. It's user-friendly, in terms of the design of the tool.  GEP SMART is a unified platform that has definitely affected our procurement operations. It is part of our procurement strategy that we increase the usage of online sourcing. The fact that we use project sourcing and contracts means that these three modules support our source-to-contract process, which is one of the key processes of upstream procurement. The tool helps us, firstly because it provides clear reporting. Second, we gain additional and incremental savings through only sourcing, especially through online auctions. Third, it helps us to be more efficient and transparent within the organization. For example, in procurement, GEP SMART helps facilitate information sharing between teams. Using this product has significantly improved the efficiency of our procurement process. The more products or sourcing events, RFPs, and auctions that we have in the system, the more efficient it will be with the next project because it can start as a copy of a previous one. Doing so significantly reduces the preparation time of the RFPs and auctions. GEP enables us to create different templates that we can store in the tool and use. This shortens the time required to prepare the tenders and then publish them to the suppliers.  The platform also allows us to invite more suppliers because supplier management during the sourcing processes is faster and more efficient. We can manage multiple suppliers at the same time. This product definitely saves us time when setting up an RFP. The first RFP needs to be created from scratch and requires some time but for any future RFPs, where we have things to repeat or do for a second time, it helps us to be faster and more efficient. The amount of time we save depends on the complexity of the RFP but it can be hours. In summary, using this solution benefits our organization through cost savings, better efficiency, improved transparency, and having information archived. With respect to the adoption of the platform in the company, for projects, it was pretty easy. It was also very well accepted because our key KPI is related to savings, which is done through the project reporting. This meant that people were highly motivated to use the reporting. There is slower adoption for sourcing because it requires having quite good knowledge about how to use the product. Furthermore, the suppliers need to agree to participate in online sourcing events. It's not just about our company, but also about the suppliers, because they have to accept it. It's going a little bit slower than we would like it but our company has a program running to help with this. We have been onboarding procurement teams in different affiliates around the world, and we teach them how to use the GEP solution for sourcing. This program has been live for approximately four years and we have onboarded between 25 and 30 procurement teams from around the world. For contracts, the adoption is improving. Our aim is to have the top affiliates using all of the modules in three years.

    What is most valuable?

    The project model is used by most of the people in our company. It is where the official savings reports are generated. Online sourcing is the most valuable feature for us, although we use all of the features. We use the source-to-contract (S2C) functionality and our procurement excellence team is helping other procurement teams in different countries to use this platform. It makes them more efficient and more digitized through the source-to-contract process. Essentially, it helps us to digitize certain sub-processes.

    What needs improvement?

    There is a level of complexity when connecting suppliers to the platform, which is something that could be improved. In terms of preparing the first RFP, certain documents need to be uploaded. Uploading this content should be easier and more user-friendly. The support for additional languages should be improved. In particular, for some of the additional languages, or key languages, the tool works well. However, there are others for which it could be better. The manuals, especially the ones for the suppliers, are currently available only in English. If these can also be translated into different languages, that would be excellent.
    Buyer's Guide
    GEP SMART
    June 2022
    Learn what your peers think about GEP SMART. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: June 2022.
    610,229 professionals have used our research since 2012.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    We have been using GEP SMART for between six and seven years, since 2015.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    For projects and contracts, this is definitely a stable system. However, for sourcing, we do see bugs from time to time. We need to report these so that they can be corrected. Examples of bugs that we have seen are that the tool is running slowly, or there is some functionality that is not working the way it should. From what I have been able to see, the English configuration is more stable than when some of the other languages are being used. 

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    This is quite a developed solution. It enables the users to employ it for really complex processes and projects. As such, the scale is pretty wide. We have approximately 200 users for projects and these people typically have access to the reporting features. We have approximately 100 users for sourcing and an additional 50 users for contracts.

    How are customer service and support?

    We are in touch with the GEP team every two weeks to discuss various topics including usage, bugs, and enhancements. If we have any questions about the solution, they advise us. We are able to resolve issues and we can also submit requests. The support can be split into two groups. The first group is the key account managers that we are in touch with regularly. I would rate them a ten out of ten. The second group is the helpdesk, who are generally the people that help whoever calls. I would rate them an eight out of ten. Overall, I would rate the technical support an eight out of ten.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    We used another solution prior to GEP, but we switched because we found that GEP was better. GEP was also an improvement in terms of cost.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup is of medium complexity.  What is important, or what would be key for any new start or any new implementation is to work closely with the provider. That is what we did at the beginning when we started with GEP. We had a large training session with a small group of people, and then we disseminated the knowledge throughout the organization. By doing it this way, it made it smoother. It's definitely a good idea to dedicate some time in the beginning to understand all of the features. The implementation and deployment took place over time. It may have been a month or two, to set it up initially but there was also the training. It was about one week that we sat together with GEP for intensive training sessions that explained how the different features worked. After that, over the years, we have implemented different modules. The solution is available for those who want to start working with it, and they can learn it quite easily, but the whole implementation with all of the features is a journey that is linked to the internal processes.

    What about the implementation team?

    We did not use a third-party integrator to assist us with deployment. We have a team of three people that are taking care of the functionality and deployment within the company. This team is a global sourcing team belonging to Global Procurement Excellence team.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    My advice is to think wisely when it comes to estimating the number of licenses that you will require. If you settle on a number too early and you need additional ones, then the extra licenses might be quite expensive. It should be discussed at the very beginning, before signing the contract if possible.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    Prior to choosing a product, we went through an official RFP. We evaluated a couple of the top solutions in the market, and we were looking mainly into user-friendliness and adoption. We also looked at having different functions available, like the reporting of savings, and the various options for sourcing events. We also wanted a solution that is available in different languages because our company is worldwide. In particular,  when it comes to communication with suppliers, multi-language is a requirement. This includes not only the key ones but also the smaller and less often used languages. In the end, it was the combination of all of the reasons, including the pricing, that we adopted GEP SMART.

    What other advice do I have?

    We do not use the procure-to-pay (P2P) functionality, as we have other tools for that. My advice for anybody who is implementing this solution is definitely to start with training. In particular, the key users, or super users, should be trained at the beginning. I also suggest thinking about how it is going to be implemented throughout the organization. For example, will the power users be responsible for it, or will they have assistance from GEP? GEP can provide training for end-users. It's best that the power users have knowledge of the system and how it is customized. Having a central team as the primary contact between GEP and the company is important. They can follow the information about the product, including new features, and changes to the tool within the organization. I would rate this solution a nine out of ten.
    Disclosure: PeerSpot contacted the reviewer to collect the review and to validate authenticity. The reviewer was referred by the vendor, but the review is not subject to editing or approval by the vendor.
    Flag as inappropriate
    Sr. Contracts Engineer at a energy/utilities company with 501-1,000 employees
    Real User
    Top 20Leaderboard
    Software is easy to use compared to competing solutions, but we have faced issues with its synchronization of supplier details
    Pros and Cons
    • "The most valuable features are the sourcing and tendering processes."
    • "While it captures all the fields and requirements, when any supplier updates or new supplier registration happens, then the supplier needs to update their bank details. Our IT team has made it so every half an hour the GEP SMART system will push the supplier to the Oracle Database. So, we have faced some problems, like bank details, etc. We addressed this issue with GEP. They are working on it to make bank details a mandatory field for any supplier and match our requirements. Their engineering team has taken up creating a customized process for us."

    What is our primary use case?

    We are using it mainly for the RFQ, RFP, tendering, etc. 

    We are also using it for contract management. Though, we haven't completely used all aspects of the contract management, e.g., we have used the supplier evaluation. We are uploading the contracts, then it is giving us reminders for renewals. For the contract administration part, we are getting notifications from the system. 

    We have used it for a sealed bid and evaluation. It has functioned well.

    We are using it for sourcing management. Since we have DOA approvals in the Oracle system, we cannot use the purchase requisition as well as a purchase order process in GEP SMART. When a request is coming from the user department, it will need approvals. Once it has the system approvals, it comes as a notification. Then, we will use GEP SMART as a standalone program to function from tendering until finalizing the tender. We then take that final result back to Oracle for the approval process. That is how it functions.

    How has it helped my organization?

    There is a bit of hesitation within the organization to completely adopt the system changes. Since there is involvement from various departments, e.g., legal and finance, there are challenges because we already use other systems. If the entire system would be GEP SMART from the beginning, then acceptance would be much better than implementing it in the middle.

    What is most valuable?

    The most valuable features are the sourcing and tendering processes.

    I haven't had any difficulties when using it. 

    What needs improvement?

    Before introducing GEP SMART, we were using all the supplier databases in Oracle Financials. When we implemented GEP SMART, we wanted to do the supplier evaluation online on a real-time basis. We just wanted to give the link, but we faced some problems with the synchronization from GEP SMART to Oracle. Even though we have GEP SMART for the supplier registration, we use Oracle for our delegation of approval (DOA) processes. The DOA process is happening in Oracle Financials. Therefore, each time we register a supplier, it needs to have approval from finance and the business unit as well as the supply chain. Because we pushed the existing supplier database to the newly installed GEP SMART process, we have faced some problems with this function.

    While it captures all the fields and requirements, when any supplier updates or new supplier registration happens, then the supplier needs to update their bank details. Our IT team has made it so every half an hour the GEP SMART system will push the supplier to the Oracle Database. So, we have faced some problems, like bank details, etc. We addressed this issue with GEP. They are working on it to make bank details a mandatory field for any supplier and match our requirements. Their engineering team has taken up creating a customized process for us.

    We are planning to do the supplier performance evaluation this year, for which they have a module. Last week, we were having a discussion with GEP, and they had sent me a document, but I had to go through it in detail about how it would function in GEP SMART. 

    For how long have I used the solution?

    We have been using the solution for more than a year. We went live in December 2020. From January 2021 onwards, we have been using it.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    So far, we haven't seen any issues. 

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    We are not a heavy user of the solution. Due to the nature of our requirements, we use GEP SMART for minor projects because of the involvement from various departments. It would be difficult for us to explain and give training to everyone who needed to use the system with larger projects. Though, some high-value contracts are using GEP SMART. 

    We have a total of 25 licenses, mostly assigned to the supply chain team, not the entire organization. These 25 users have full rights. However, there are users who have limited access. For example, a user from the technical department can do certain evaluations online. This does not need full rights. Instead, it has limited transaction details.

    How are customer service and support?

    They have an excellent technical support team. We have a biweekly meeting with the technical team, where they capture all the issues in a log, then they come back to us with solutions. We can address any issues. If it is an engineering issue, then they will go back to their research and engineering team to fix it. 

    Since we are in the oil and gas industry, we have specific, complex requirements due to our global presence. Therefore, it may take time for them to do the customizations since they need to make changes to the global platform. While those customizations may take some time, their response time is much better.

    How would you rate customer service and support?

    Positive

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    I have a good knowledge of sourcing software. I have implemented a lot of software and used four programs throughout the years. I have seen that the sourcing process in GEP SMART is easier than in Oracle, SAP, etc. 

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup was quite straightforward. 

    We had some challenges when we were migrating the existing suppliers to GEP SMART. We also had some issues when uploading the agreements to GEP SMART. For any organization, an agreement will be in different stages. Some of them will be at the half-life of the contract, some of them will be at the beginning, and some of them will be at the end. However, they gave us templates to upload documents, details, etc. Given the details in the template, it was easy to upload the documents and information to GEP SMART.

    The deployment took a month. We had the templates, which we used for the details. Globally, there were about 120 contracts and 4,000 suppliers that we deployed initially. So, the deployment didn't take a lot of time. 

    In Malaysia, we haven't yet used GEP SMART. Though, they are planning to use it this year. Because of restrictions, we needed approval from the local authority. Even though we implemented all three modules, i.e., vendor management, contract management, and sourcing management, only Abu Dhabi used all three together. Whereas, Thailand and Malaysia were using it in different stages. In Thailand, they initially used the contract management module to upload all their contracts and administer them. Later on, they started to use the sourcing management and vendor management modules.

    What was our ROI?

    If our organization could use it as a full-fledged solution, then it would be valuable and give a return on investment. However, since we are not currently using it as a full-fledged solution, even facing some bugs and problems with the synchronization with some of the internal software, we are not able to use it in a full-fledged manner.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    We have two types of licenses: 

    1. The full license.
    2. A license for people who can work in the system but aren't heavy users. 

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    We evaluated five different software solutions. We looked at Oracle, Aruba, and some solutions developed in our local market.

    What other advice do I have?

    It is a good solution.

    We don't know how possible it is to use the full function of GEP SMART. What we understood from the GEP team is that they have an entire end-to-end process, such as a procure-to-pay process available in GEP SMART. We haven't taken any chances up to now, since we are using this solution for our global platform. For example, we have operations in Southeast Asia, like Malaysia, Indonesia, and Thailand, and there are certain restrictions in the system due to required customizations. A lot of customizations are required due to regulatory requirements from Southeast Asia. Therefore, it is not easy for us to completely use the platform. We may use it completely in another two or three years.

    We are unable to use their contracting process very well because we need to use contract templates. Unfortunately, our legal team has their own standardized software to use for agreements. They were not ready to accept GEP SMART to work online for reviewing the contracts. So, we tender out to suppliers, and when the supplier comes back to us with any comments on the agreement format, then we will download it and share that with legal, using Outlook to work on it. We haven't used the full-fledged, end-to-end solution because we cannot use it with our legal team.

    Rather than going with one or two modules and synchronizing them with a lot of other systems internally, which would be a tough task, you should get the full procure-to-pay solution. Overall, the full-fledged solution can be very good for your organization.

    From my experience, I would rate the solution as seven out of 10.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Public Cloud
    Disclosure: PeerSpot contacted the reviewer to collect the review and to validate authenticity. The reviewer was referred by the vendor, but the review is not subject to editing or approval by the vendor.
    Flag as inappropriate
    Buyer's Guide
    GEP SMART
    June 2022
    Learn what your peers think about GEP SMART. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: June 2022.
    610,229 professionals have used our research since 2012.
    Senior Product Manager at a university with 10,001+ employees
    Real User
    Leaderboard
    Doesn't require a background in analytics to run reports
    Pros and Cons
    • "SMART has been helpful for sourcing and public bids. For regulatory purposes, our university posts bids, depending on the scope of the bid. We get a lot of value out of SMART's ability to post to a public site and have suppliers see that information, register in the tool, and participate."
    • "I want to see continued investment in analytics and reporting."

    What is our primary use case?

    We're leveraging SMART for four of their modules. We use it for sourcing, contracts, suppliers, and spending. However, we're not leveraging it for procurement to pay the downstream operations based on our current technical infrastructure. The most common use cases stem from procurement on the sourcing side for a need to go out to bid. And then on contracts, flipping those sourcing events to a contract or the awarded RFPs. For contracts, any master agreement that we do is also added into SMART. It's mainly used as a post-execution lifecycle management tool on the contract side. Based on our kind of utilization and desire, we have pre-execution capabilities enabled, but based on the maturity of our organization, we are actively leveraging it in that manner.

    How has it helped my organization?

    SMART's source-to-pay feature has helped us undergo a digital transformation. We're only using upstreams and not the procure-to-pay side of SMART but it has definitely transformed our operations. It's encouraging us to streamline, especially as we leverage functionality with e-auctions and more of the authoring capabilities that SMART has already. It's continuing to transform our organization.

    SMART also helps with standardization, especially on the RFX side, by providing standardized templates. However, even though we're not fully leveraging SMART's authoring capabilities, we have the latest templates, which is huge from a compliance perspective. SMART's AI and machine learning capability has made a difference, especially on the spending side. We have  10 ERPs across our organization, and GEP's robust AI/ML can normalize our suppliers and categorize our spending across those 10 source systems. That's been huge in terms of our ability to analyze spending across our entire organization appropriately.

    Having a single unified software platform has simplified our procurement operations. Before leveraging SMART we didn't have a single system on the contract side to manage our file folders, file cabinets, shared drives, etc. It was antiquated before. Having a single system with high visibility across the system has allowed us to increase our collaboration and our purchasing power because we're able to leverage our economies of scale better.

    What is most valuable?

    SMART has been helpful for sourcing and public bids. For regulatory purposes, our university posts bids, depending on the scope of the bid. We get a lot of value out of SMART's ability to post to a public site and have suppliers see that information, register in the tool, and participate. SMART features for collecting information and its timeline capabilities are highly useful. Then on the contract side, the reporting capabilities are the most valuable. Our use case focuses primarily on post-execution and lifecycle management, so it's essential to be able to report accurately especially compliance-related reports.

    SMART is easy to use, especially when reporting. It isn't designed for a hardcore analyst. You don't need to have a background in analytics to run reports, which is huge. I realized I hadn't touched too much on the spending side, but we use SMART for all spending analytics, and any commodity manager procurement professional can go in and run a spending report. That was a business decision to restrict who can run reports since that data can be exported and used. But the reporting capabilities are incredibly easy to use.

    What needs improvement?

    We are delighted with the product thus far. Based on our business, I see a continued need to leverage some of the capabilities further. Analytics has been the main driver for us. I see constant improvement. They released an update in January 2020 or maybe fall 2019. I want to see continued investment in analytics and reporting.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    We began implementation in 2017 and have been using GEP Smart actively since January 2018. 

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    SMART is a highly stable product, and I think GEP put a lot of checks and balances in place to ensure that stability. I've seen a transformation on their end since we went live in 2018 in terms of how they incorporate new enhancements and releases. They're breaking out small-scale releases as well as what they're calling "general availability" releases, and that's had a positive impact on the platform's stability.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    I think SMART is scalable and I see that happening a lot. We just attended the GEP conference a few weeks ago and saw that some other organizations are scaling it out. From a sourcing standpoint, we have high adoption of the tool itself. Where we want to grow our adoption is on the auction side because we see added value in leveraging auctions more as an organization. 

    On the contract side, I think we have high adoption too. The scope for our contracts module is RFP-awarded agreements and master agreements. We have high adoption as it relates to using the post-execution and lifecycle management capabilities. Where we want to grow our adoption is in the execution and then ultimately pre-execution capabilities. We have high adoption on spending. We've integrated all of our financial systems and folks are running reports across campuses within the university system. 

    We have over 300 procurement professionals handling bids, creating contracts, and running reports across our organization. I don't have a number for all the people who serve as evaluators, signatories,  etc., but all active employees can access the system if necessary. At this time, we don't plan to expand the scope of use beyond procurement. We're not looking to incorporate legal or real estate-related contracts that we do. But we have plans to leverage the software more fully to achieve wider adoption. We're constantly looking to continue to grow in our utilization.

    How are customer service and support?

    I would give GEP support a 10 out of 10. They do a fantastic job and are very responsive. If there are escalations, they respond quickly and do a great job of explaining the root cause to us, which is essential. We want to know why this is happening the way it is.

    We have our internal help desk that takes all of those procurement requests from any internal users of the system. Our external supplier users go to GEP support for conflict-of-interest purposes. We want to ensure there are fair bidding practices. And so, for those reasons, we have them go to the GEP support team, and any escalations from our internal help desk go to GEP support. 

    We've got a dedicated help desk contact on the GEP side who speaks our language and knows our configuration, which is huge. You're not starting from zero every time you need to escalate something. Our client success team is also a key partner because they are in the loop on any of the internal escalations that come from our help desk. Their model is one that I haven't seen with other software providers. Usually, you have an account manager, and they might call them "customer success." The level of engagement that I've seen with the GEP team is excellent, and it's something I appreciate.

    How would you rate customer service and support?

    Positive

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    We had a prior solution for sourcing and spending. It was explicitly for contracts, and only one of our business units was leveraging it. The idea was to streamline all upstream activities into a single software suite. That was the impetus for us to adopt SMART. We opened it up for bidding and ultimately selected GEP as our provider. But I was not part of the RFP process. I was brought onboard afterward.

    How was the initial setup?

    Setting up the system itself was easy. However, it was complicated to streamline our processes to ensure the system didn't become overly complex. The overall deployment took about six or seven months because we had to sort out internal business requirements, gather information, configure the settings, and do some testing on our end. 

    We have a team of four managing the solution, but that's a business decision. We opted to build an internal help desk because of our many processes and policies. They provide folks with GEP. Two of the four are dedicated to the help desk and training.

    What other advice do I have?

    I would absolutely give GEP SMART a 10 out of 10. We're happy with the solution and the team's ability to engage with us. Before implementing SMART, I would recommend reevaluating your processes. Whether you have a previous solution or not, reevaluate your processes before you go in and begin leveraging SMART. I mean this in reference to SMART, but it's general advice. Reevaluate your processes because there are so many capabilities available in a SaaS solution, so it's critical not to over-configure and make it convoluted.

    Disclosure: PeerSpot contacted the reviewer to collect the review and to validate authenticity. The reviewer was referred by the vendor, but the review is not subject to editing or approval by the vendor.
    Flag as inappropriate