Coming October 25: PeerSpot Awards will be announced! Learn more

Boomi AtomSphere Integration OverviewUNIXBusinessApplication

Boomi AtomSphere Integration is #7 ranked solution in top Integration Platform as a Service providers. PeerSpot users give Boomi AtomSphere Integration an average rating of 8.0 out of 10. Boomi AtomSphere Integration is most commonly compared to Oracle Integration Cloud Service: Boomi AtomSphere Integration vs Oracle Integration Cloud Service. Boomi AtomSphere Integration is popular among the large enterprise segment, accounting for 66% of users researching this solution on PeerSpot. The top industry researching this solution are professionals from a computer software company, accounting for 23% of all views.
Buyer's Guide

Download the Integration Platform as a Service (iPaaS) Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: September 2022

What is Boomi AtomSphere Integration?

The Boomi AtomSphere integration platform as a service (iPaaS) supports all your application integration processes – between cloud platforms, software-as-a-service applications, and on-premises systems. Your entire team has online access to a powerful range of integration and data management capabilities, that can be realized in a fraction of the time of legacy middleware technologies.

Boomi AtomSphere Integration was previously known as Boomi.

Boomi AtomSphere Integration Customers

DocuSign Inc., Innotas, Certent, Renesas Electronics America (REA), Kelly-Moore Paints, Mindjet, City of McKinney, Ritchie Bros. Auctioneers (RBA), Daylight Transport, A10 Networks

Boomi AtomSphere Integration Video

Archived Boomi AtomSphere Integration Reviews (more than two years old)

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Technical Director at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
Real User
Good data integration, reporting, and facilitates working with big data
Pros and Cons
  • "We work on the flow between systems and the most valuable features for that purpose are the mapping of data, interface mapping, and data integration."
  • "We would like to see more involvement between Dell Boomi and the end-users to help improve the customer experience."

What is our primary use case?

We are the most popular Dell Boomi integrator in the world and the first integrator for this solution in Japan. The primary use case is to act as middleware between legacy systems and cloud-based systems. For example, it will integrate legacy systems with products like Salesforce and SAP for both master data and transactional data.

How has it helped my organization?

Our customers are happy because this solution improves both their functional and business areas. This is something that is very important to them.

What is most valuable?

We work on the flow between systems and the most valuable features for that purpose are the mapping of data, interface mapping, and data integration.

This solution can be used to interface with Hadoop to assist when working with big data.

Boomi AtomSphere can help customers to develop a PoC without having to set up an on-premises server.

The reporting is very good.

The Boomi Suggest feature is very important because it provides you with information about the experience that other customers have had and it can help with simulating processes, based on a large knowledge base.

What needs improvement?

We would like to see more involvement between Dell Boomi and the end-users to help improve the customer experience.

Buyer's Guide
Integration Platform as a Service (iPaaS)
September 2022
Find out what your peers are saying about Boomi, MuleSoft, Oracle and others in Integration Platform as a Service (iPaaS). Updated: September 2022.
635,987 professionals have used our research since 2012.

For how long have I used the solution?

I have been working with Dell Boomi AtomSphere for more than five years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

Although stability depends more on the team than it does the product itself, I would say that this solution is very stable.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

This is a scalable solution that is used by very large companies.

How are customer service and support?

Our relationship with Dell Boomi technical support is very good and we go to them when needed. However, we have a lot of experience and we typically provide solutions to customers without having to request assistance.

The clients in Japan who need to contact technical support directly are directed to the Australia support office.

How was the initial setup?

The initial setup is generally very complex because, in a large company, you can't find anybody that has a global view of both business and technology. This means that you end up speaking with people on the business side, and they are not as familiar with IT. Ultimately, this makes it more difficult to create a PoC.

If the proof of concept is quickly deployed then the customers are generally impressed by the facility and the features that it provides. The length of time for deployment depends on having a good understanding of both the business and of the stakeholders during the proof of concept.

What other advice do I have?

This solution is made for large companies. Smaller organizations don't use these kinds of middleware applications because AtomSphere is used to integrate between large products like SAP and Salesforce.

My advice to anybody who is implementing this solution is to have a very good FDD. The functional description of the business processes should be very well described before starting this kind of project.

Overall, this is a very good product.

I would rate this solution a nine out of ten.

Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

Public Cloud
Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: partner
PeerSpot user
Chief Technology Officer - CTO at a tech services company with 11-50 employees
Real User
Multiple connectors and good stability for demo version
Pros and Cons
  • "The solution has a lot of connectors, which is quite helpful."
  • "The solution is complex. There's a few items and features that are hard to understand. They should work to simplify the functionality so new users don't struggle."

What is our primary use case?

Currently, we are using the solution primarily for testing purposes. I am just experimenting with some areas. I integrate my Google account with my local account and take some data from my local to my Google drive. That's just for me to test things right now. For our customers, they have SAP systems, Oracle systems, CRM systems, etc., and all of these systems are operating with some technical assistance. They will need to transfer the data to their Datalink or data warehouse. For that, they need some integration to make it happen online. This is true for a variety of users on their systems and something that we're working on now.

What is most valuable?

The solution has a lot of connectors, which is quite helpful.

What needs improvement?

It would be helpful if the solution offered some videos for novice settings. Boomi, as a solution, is quite complex for a new user. They need some videos for client implementation for new users. This is needed especially for how users can create connectors and how they can effectively implement the system.

The solution is complex. There's a few items and features that are hard to understand. They should work to simplify the functionality so new users don't struggle.

I haven't found any features lacking, so I'm unsure as to if anything is missing or if anything new could accentuate the current offering.

For how long have I used the solution?

We're currently in the testig process. We're not using the solution. We've been testing it for more than two months.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

In terms of stability, it's working well, so it's been nice. It has lots of connectors, and that is good for my purposes. I haven't come across any bugs, glitches, or crashes that would make me concerned about the level of stability provided.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

I'm not sure about the scalability of the solution. I tested it in my own environment and did not test scaling.

How are customer service and technical support?

We haven't contected technical support yet. Currently, I'm speaking with the team at Deel EMC who have helped me here in Turkey, so I haven't needed to contact technical support.

How was the initial setup?

I didn't handle the initial setup. I'm unsure as to if it was complex or straightforward. I'm currently using an installed version.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

Since we're in the testing phase, we're using a demo version of the solution.

What other advice do I have?

We're a partner with Dell EMC.

We use the on-premises solution because of storage. In Turkey, the cloud is not available for the most part. Our customers are specifically finance organizations, and they are not allowed to use the cloud, due to country-wide regulations. Most of our implementations are on-premises.

We're using the latest version to test in other environments. It's been good so far.

I'd rate the solution eight out of ten. For what I've seen in the live environment, it's good. However, I'm reserving a few points to see how it goes as I learn the system.

Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

On-premises
Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Partner
PeerSpot user
Buyer's Guide
Integration Platform as a Service (iPaaS)
September 2022
Find out what your peers are saying about Boomi, MuleSoft, Oracle and others in Integration Platform as a Service (iPaaS). Updated: September 2022.
635,987 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Digital Challenger at a tech services company with self employed
Real User
Fairly easy for a semi-technical user to configure and maintain it and is very visual
Pros and Cons
  • "This is a fairly easy-to-use tool for integration which can be self-taught for those with a bit of a technical background."
  • "The API can use some work to come up to speed with the competition but Dell has plans and is working on resolving that."

What is our primary use case?

Boomi's always a mix of a Cloud system for management. You can configure it to connect with an on-premises environment if you need to connect with on-premise data sources. But with Boomi, you don't really have to choose, it is always primarily the Cloud version, and then you just install a means of connecting to an on-premise data source if you need to and that is all.

What is most valuable?

Boomi is a tool that is implemented as a mixed market solution. It is not for very small companies. It is also not the right tool for very large companies that have more than 50 integrations. It is ideal for a mid-sized company with say 5 to 20 integrations — maybe 30 — and then it begins to become too expensive. It is a low code or no-code integration platform, which does exactly what it says. It is fairly easy for a semi-technical user to configure and maintain it. It is very visual. For us, it is simply an alternative for customer development.

What needs improvement?

Boomi consists of several modules, and the API is one product that Boomi is definitely not up to par with. For example, Jitterbit has a better API management module. However, Dell is putting a lot of energy to make changes. There is a new release already now in December or in November (2019), and they're planning some more releases in 2020. But I would say if there is one module that Boomi is less advanced in than the competition it would be the API management. But it might be totally different mid-2020.

Another point that could use improvement for Boomi is license pricing. If you don't know the pricing model very well, you might quickly end up paying more than you expected especially if you are growing and adding integrations. Again, it is different than the competition so it may be difficult to compare, but the pricing model could also clearly be simplified.

For how long have I used the solution?

We have been using this solution for about two years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

We have not had any problems with stability, so I would say that it is stable.

However, when you compare Boomi to Jitterbit, in terms of how the user interfaces with the integrations, Jitterbit is stronger in that area than Boomi. The user interface, in this case, is only for the people who develop and do the configurations or integration. There is no end-user interface, it is only for the guy who creates the integration. But the screens and the way it is visualized to make your integration is more user-friendly with Jitterbit then with Boomi. Boomi is okay, but it is a bit more of a technical interface made for a more technical user. Jitterbit is a bit nicer, a bit better layout and a bit more intuitive. But once you get over that initial learning and navigation in Boomi and you are up and running it won't matter very much anymore. 

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

I would say the scalability, from my point of view, where you reach kind of a problem is the pricing. Because once you have a lot of integrations, your price goes up. At a certain point, you will say to yourself that it becomes too expensive. 

There are other technologies that have a different way of pricing, where you do not pay per integration, but there is a much larger initial fee. In theory, Jitterbit can scale pretty much however you want, because you have a lot of ways to configure it and to make it load-balanced and redundant and so on. Those things are no problem and there are no additional fees. You can do much more with it without additional costs. You are not limited by the number of integrations in your price level. But typically the entry-level fee to start is ten times higher to get started with Jitterbit. So a different type of client will go for that pricing model because they don't want to have to think about the pricing constraints.

The Boomi licensed model is actually about the same cost as Jitterbit in the end. It is positioned for companies with 5 to 35 integrations. Once you go above that, it becomes very expensive. If you have more integrations and need to scale more than that, I see that people would maybe want to go to other products like MuleSoft or other larger players.

How are customer service and technical support?

Because I don't use Boomi myself, I have never been in contact with them directly for any technical issues. The community is free, and the users there can solve a lot of issues. Most of the time can help yourself with the community if you are a bit of a technical user. If you are not very technical, then typically you will ask someone to coach you and to help you. That might typically be a local partner. You will typically only need accommodation for someone to train you and help you to do the first integration and you will probably be ready to do the next one by yourself.

How was the initial setup?

I would say that someone who is familiar with data and queries and familiar with the world of manipulating data will be able to do the initial setup and be productive with Boomi in three to four days.

There is plenty of online learning and a whole certification track. There is a very, very active community, so when you have questions you can just post queries and a few hours later you will get feedback. It is a tool that someone in your company who has a little bit of a technical background and is experienced with data will probably be able to have a production version up and running and to do a lot of things without help from an external partner. Once you start to do more complex integrations or API management, I would advise that you work with an experienced partner to get you up to speed and design. Doing that will keep you from making too many rookie mistakes that will end up costing more time and money to fix.

But it is a tool that you can use at the company and do it yourself. It is not a tool that you need always to pay an external developer to help evolve.

What about the implementation team?

I'm a consultant. I don't do the implementations myself. I select technologies for clients, and then I coach the clients to use them well. I supervise the partner who integrates them. 

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

Boomi is priced using a different strategy than with Jitterbit. With Jitterbit you pay more at the entry-level. I'm speaking here about the paid version of Jitterbit because Jitterbit also has a free version. With the paid version of Jitterbit, the entry-level is higher than Boomi, but you get the less in the box with Boomi.

So, with Boomi, you can start lower, but you need to make sure that you calculate all the little things you will need, such as a connector for testing. If you are not very familiar with all the options that you don't have, you might think that Boomi is less expensive. But then when you start using it, you see what you need and what you want to add what you had not considered, the pricing scheme can surprise you. It quickly brings up the price to about the same as Jitterbit. As a consultant, I know all this but it may not be obvious even to someone who is careful about due diligence.

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

We have done an in-depth review of Jitterbit vs. Dell Boomi. For one client we chose Dell Boomi, for the other client we are not sure, we have not decided yet. But both products are, I think, fairly equal. But there are are some differences that would make you choose one over the other.

What other advice do I have?

On a scale from one to ten where one is the worst and ten is the best, I would rate Dell Boomi AtomSphere as an eight.

What would make it better from my perspective is not just a question of features. There is actually a problem in that market, and that is offering a tool that a company can use by themself without the help of a local partner. I think that is where Boomi as a tool might be just a bit too complex. On the other hand that is also the power of it because the complexity allows you to do more complex integrations. The nice thing is that it is not a case where you have to ask your external partner or technical person to do everything for you. It is really a tool that you can learn to use yourself. I think the point is to be sure you have enough qualified partners and resources locally who can help you when you need it. There I see that Boomi could be a problem for some people depending on location. Because I'm speaking now for Belgium and the Netherlands, in our region it is okay. It can be better, but it is okay.

That is a very big point against Jitterbit. Jitterbit has almost no partners and zero in Belgium. At least not certified partners. That makes it a bit harder to get local support. And I know that for my typical customers — companies that would have from 50 to 1,000 users — that they like to have a local person who can come and coach and help and train, and then also design. In the end, the client wants to do the things themselves, but they want someone to help them to start up. That help is something they prefer in their local, native language and in their local offices. That is something that Boomi provides, even though they could be better in the partner landscape. But for Jitterbit, it is actually non-existent in Belgium. It could be much worse and much more of a problem elsewhere.

There is a roadmap that I saw and it looks very good for the future development of the API, so I have the feeling that Boomi will have the API management issues fairly under control. They can always improve the number and type of connectors that they have for the integrations. What you typically see is that products have various types of connectors in e-class integration at the surface. You have tools that are very focused on sales and marketing, integrating things like your Facebook advertisements, CRM and your leads, and other kinds of integrations. That is not really where Boomi is currently positioned as a big player. There are other companies and products that do those things better.

Then there are other tools that are for really big enterprises or complex systems, and these are very expensive solutions. That is also not where Boomi is positioned. Boomi is mainly focusing on integrating a lot of midsize business databases, CRM systems, ERP (Enterprise Resource Planning) and things of that sort. They do that very well. But they might want to focus also a bit more on social media and that kind of marketing tool to expand their market base. Maybe not doing that is a strategic choice. But I know that they have a lot of funding from Dell — much more funding than Jitterbit has. They must easily have ten times the funding. They have to use it to improve the product compared to the competition.

So basically in the next releases, they could just improve on the partner landscape, the API management model, and maybe add more features for versatility to do more than they do now.

Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

Hybrid Cloud
Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
PeerSpot user
Venkat  Mylavarapu - PeerSpot reviewer
Dell Boomi Integration Architect at Saidni
Real User
User-friendly, good documentation, and has lots of connectors to facilitate integration
Pros and Cons
  • "This solution has a user-friendly interface and very good documentation with solutions that helped us in working with the tool efficiently."
  • "Lots of enhancements are needed in the API portal so that the developers can view the definitions, try out the APIs, etc."

What is our primary use case?

We use this solution for creating the processes to interact with external ticketing applications by consuming the web services exposed. 

Creating processes for these imported services for the online booking application by exposing the APIs to the front end UI (web, mobile, KIOSK ). 

How has it helped my organization?

The user-friendly development interface and the native connections available eased our integration.

Expedited the process and enabled us to create APIs for the consumers. 

We had challenges with security and API management, API portal testing, and we used Microsoft Azure to overcome that.

What is most valuable?

Atmosphere is the most valuable feature as there are a lot of out of box connectors that expedited out integration process.

This solution has a user-friendly interface and very good documentation with solutions that helped us in working with the tool efficiently.

Creating and exposing the API was also easy with limited features and scope for enhancements.

What needs improvement?

API management and security need improvement. It needs more capability on the API Administration like approval process, automated process, etc.

Lots of enhancements are needed in the API portal so that the developers can view the definitions, try out the APIs, etc.

Many features need to be added to the API analytics, with more drilled down analyses, and also on API security.

For how long have I used the solution?

I have been using this solution for more than four years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

The product is very stable.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

May have to improve on the molecule clustering communication as the cluster seems to be having problems frequently. Otherwise, the solution is scalable.

How are customer service and technical support?

The technical support for this solution is very good.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

Prior to this solution, we used webMethods (Software AG). We implemented Boomi as it is an economical solution with many features such as integration with other products.

How was the initial setup?

The initial setup of this solution was easy enough.

What about the implementation team?

We implemented this solution in-house.

What was our ROI?

Our ROI is more than 100%.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

This solution is very economical (based on the connections).

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

Before choosing this solution, we evaluated Software AG and Mulesoft.

What other advice do I have?

I would like to see dramatic improvements in API management so that the product suite can be on top.

Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

Public Cloud
Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
PeerSpot user
PeerSpot user
Self Employed/Independent at a consultancy
Real User
The iPaaS functionality and browser-based IDE are mature and stable.
Pros and Cons
  • "The iPaaS functionality is very mature. The browser based IDE is also very mature and stable."
  • "There are more mature (dedicated) API management and master data management (MDM) solutions available in the market."

What is most valuable?

  • Dell Boomi offers a leading Integration Platform as a Service (iPaaS) platform worldwide by an elastic single-instance, multi-tenant cloud.
  • An atom (the run-time) can also be deployed on an on premise infrastructure or private cloud, and has cluster capabilities (called a molecule) for high availability (HA).
  • The iPaaS functionality is very mature. The browser based IDE is also very mature and stable.
  • Integrations are configured visually by dragging and dropping them on a canvas, and by this it offers a (near) zero code IDE. Coding can be applied by scripting through Javascript or Groovy.
  • The platform offers over 200 standard connectors for applications and technology, such as HTTP(s), databases, SOAP, XML, and REST. It furthermore offers EDI connectors, including HL7 for health, exposing APIs, Master Data Management (MDM) and a hpaPaaS with ManyWho for BPM use cases. ManyWho was acquired in March 2017 by Dell Boomi and was then added to the offering.
  • The Boomi Suggest feature offers crowd sourced data mapping suggestions based on use cases of metadata of over 7 million maps. it is quite impressive and accurate.
  • Automatic crowd-based regression testing is offered by Boomi Assure in which the quality and productivity for application integration is increased substantially when compared to a conventional approach and/or other iPaaS offerings in the market.
  • Boomi Resolve offers automatically suggested solutions for commonly occurring errors.
  • Offers an additional efficient means for delivering application integration when compared to other offerings in the market.

How has it helped my organization?

The Dell Boomi integration platform allows an organization to quickly integrate their possible dispersed application landscape of SaaS of on premise and private cloud applications.

AtomSphere has a bi-weekly release calendar through which improved and new functionality is automatically released to its customers.

This allows an organization to quickly use new features and/or improvements. The platform’s time-to-market can be considered as distinctive with such a short release calendar.

What needs improvement?

  • There are more mature (dedicated) API management and master data management (MDM) solutions available in the market.
  • Dell Boomi does not offer an option for local version control/repositories. (As is also the case usually with other SaaS vendors)
  • This may be seen as a disadvantage, but it does not really have any implications other than to rebuild the integrations when moving away from it to a new integration platform. The same holds true when moving away from other integration platforms available in the market.

For how long have I used the solution?

I have been using this product for seven months.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

No stability issues so far.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

No scalability issues so far.

How are customer service and technical support?

No experience yet with their customer service and technical support.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

I used to work at a MuleSoft implementation partner. MuleSoft Anypoint Platform is used there for stage-event driven architectures (SEDA) for both ESB patterns, iPaaS, micro-services, and API management. Dell Boomi was added to the product stack in January, 2017.

How was the initial setup?

The initial setup was very straightforward and was as you would expect with a cloud platform and a service.

What was our ROI?

The ROI is that application integration is delivered much faster and efficiently than in a conventional approach. This the case with other integration platforms available in the market with similar capabilities

As a result, less FTE is involved during delivery and support. The time-to-market of new initiatives is greatly reduced and organizations are able to innovate and differentiate in the ever growing competitive and changing market.

As data and information is no longer ‘locked’ in systems of record and/or are no longer opened up by point-to-point integrations through which vendor lock-in increases, an organization using an integration platform such as Dell Boomi gains and takes control over their own data and information.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

The licensing model of Dell Boomi is based on a ‘pay-per-use’ model. I would advise an organization adopting Dell Boomi to make a clear plan on which integrations should be delivered, so that all needed investments are known up-front.

The technology type of integrations should also be taken into account when creating this complete overview for licensing, as well as the expected number of messages per interface/API.

If a company is replacing an existing integration platform, such as the ones that were available around 10 years ago, I would advise on migrating step-by-step to Boomi.

By doing this, all new integrations can be realized on Dell Boomi and existing connections can be migrated in time and when required (before license renewal of the former integration platform).

This would allow an organization to have the proper type of cost control in place, and would not require a ‘big bang’ approach for migrating to the new platform, while such an approach is still be possible and viable.

What other advice do I have?

I worked at a Dell Boomi implementation partner. A large part of the in-house team of integration consultants who work with the customers have been certified upfront to guarantee a level of quality in delivery.

If an organization wants to implement and support the integration platform with their own development staff, I would advise them to partner up with a Dell Boomi partner for best practices and to receive training.

When selecting a vendor team, my advice would be to have a formal RFI/RFP and to have a Proof of Concept (PoC) in place for the short list based on customer specific use cases.

Secondly, I would base a final decision/selection on the ‘organizational fit’ between the organization in question and a possible implementation partner. How much the partner can unburden an organization in this field, as the partner chosen should be the expert, is also important. Not only is qualitative and on-time delivery key, but also support.

Additionally, I would look for a partner with a proven track record of support.

In both cases, on-site reference visits can help to get additional insight in the product and a possible implementation partner.

Besides the advice on partnering up with an official Dell Boomi partner, it is good to know that by using the very visual and mature IDE, non-IT minded and skilled people can also learn the platform rather quickly.

We have several integration trainees who are on-boarding the platform and have no knowledge, background, nor experience in IT. This seems in line with, and a confirmation of, the ‘citizen developer’ idea.

The platform is offered standard as an iPaaS on the Dell cloud platform. I am not aware enough of the capabilities of this cloud platform. Considering AWS as an option for a private cloud for hosting seems logical.

Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: I worked at a Dell Boomi implementation partner in the past and I went independent/self-employed in 2017. I give independent advice and support in the adoption of strategic technologies, and these include among other iPaaS offerings such as Dell Boomi.
PeerSpot user
it_user669348 - PeerSpot reviewer
Dell Boomi Atomsphere, Jitterbit, Lotus Notes Lead / Analyst/ Technical Manager at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
Consultant
This is a cloud-based and multi-tenant tool.
Pros and Cons
  • "The best features are that it is a cloud-based and a multi-tenant tool."
  • "There are still some areas that need improvement. For example, when updates are going on, the product becomes very slow."

What is most valuable?

  • The best features are that it is a cloud-based and a multi-tenant tool.
  • The licensing feature is its USP.
  • Boomi charges are based on the number of connections used, rather than the number of users in a company who use the tool. This cuts down the licensing costs by a great deal.

How has it helped my organization?

We are a consulting firm that works closely with Dell Boomi. Since we have started using this product, we have added multiple clients. Many clients are moving away from the traditional integration tools to cloud-based integration tools. Dell Boomi is a leading iPaaS tool.

What needs improvement?

Dell is constantly improving because it follows agile development. Every month, Dell keeps adding more and more features.

There are still some areas that need improvement. For example, when updates are going on, the product becomes very slow.

For how long have I used the solution?

I have been using it for two years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

Dell is a very stable product. It also lists all the updates and issues the tool is having on its website. I do not know of any other tool that constantly updates their website for performance issues/slowness. They also give updates without hiding anything.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

Dell is a highly scalable product. We have not seen any issues in terms of scaling the product to the enterprise level. However, Dell Boomi is not an ETL tool. It is an integration tool.

How is customer service and technical support?

I would give technical support a rating of 10/10.

How was the initial setup?

The great thing about Dell Boomi is there is no setup involved. It is a cloud-based tool. All the integration is done in a browser. Only a light-weight Java runtime engine needs to be installed for the process to run. Other than that, there is no other setup needed.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

Dell follows a very unique licensing model. They do not charge by the number of people using the software (client-server model), but rather they charge based on the number of connections used. This makes it very cost effective.

What other advice do I have?

I would very much advise other companies to give it a try. Dell Boomi gives away a 30-day free trial. They also do corporate training, if required.

Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: We work very closely with Dell Boomi. We are one of the many preferred partners that they have.
PeerSpot user
it_user643635 - PeerSpot reviewer
Specialist - Enterprise Integration at a tech services company with 1,001-5,000 employees
Consultant
I appreciate the access through the browser and the B2B integration. They should create a custom connector option.
Pros and Cons
  • "I really appreciate the on-the-go access through the browser and the B2B integration."
  • "They should create a custom connector option. With this, they could improve where the user can create the connector, based on their usage."

What is most valuable?

I really appreciate the on-the-go access through the browser and the B2B integration.

How has it helped my organization?

It is mainly a carrier and it provides an integration platform as a service. This, in itself, provides the solution for an easy and mature way to communicate.

What needs improvement?

They should create a custom connector option. With this, they could improve where the user can create the connector, based on their usage.

For how long have I used the solution?

I have been using it for five years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

There were some issues with logs and integration in terms of the size of the messages.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

There were issues with the size of the logs generated. They need to improve the code.

How are customer service and technical support?

Technical support was good.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

I have worked with ESBs, such as MuleSoft. However, based on the usage and the end-user requests, we moved to Dell Boomi.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

The Platinum package is good for licensing, but I’m not sure about the cost and improvements.

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

We evaluated alternatives.

What other advice do I have?

It’s a good product and easy in terms of development.

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
PeerSpot user
PeerSpot user
Supervisor, Application Development & Integration at RSM US LLP
Real User
A platform used to build enterprise level integrations.
Pros and Cons
  • "The Salesforce and NetSuite Application specific “connectors” provide a layer of abstraction on top of the SOAP-based APIs to streamline integration development."
  • "There is no validation in the mapping profile custom scripting, such as IntelliSense or advanced error checking."

What is most valuable?

As a NetSuite application developer, Dell Boomi is a great integration platform to build enterprise level integrations in a quick and easy way.

The Salesforce and NetSuite Application specific “connectors” provide a layer of abstraction on top of the SOAP-based APIs to streamline integration development.

In a narrow sense, the most beneficial feature is the ability to quickly create request/response data model “profiles” to map and transform the data being integrated.

Profiles can be generated through the “import wizard” that is rather time consuming with other integration development platforms, or in a custom .Net application.

How has it helped my organization?

Using Boomi as our preferred integration platform has allowed us to more quickly develop, deploy, and maintain integration for clients. This is especially the case with NetSuite clients who are already familiar with the benefits of cloud-based business software applications.

What needs improvement?

Since the application is Java-based, custom scripting within the map data, used to transform shapes to handle more complex process, is lacking in some ways.

There is no validation in the mapping profile custom scripting, such as IntelliSense or advanced error checking.

If one wants to do custom scripts within a map shape, they must have knowledge of Groovy or JavaScript. Only Groovy has the ability to use Java-based libraries.

The scripting capabilities are lacking, in my opinion, based on the user experience. There is not much tooling assistance. There are no “helpers” or examples on how to do more advanced post/pre-processing of data.

For example, if I wanted to parse an XML document using XPath, how would I do that? How do I know the code that I write will compile without having to unit test through trial and error over and over again?

The IDE is lacking in the ability to script. So the biggest benefit of Boomi, being a graphical integration IDE, is a weakness in this sense. Also, you are locked into Groovy as the only language to do advanced scripting.

I’m used to writing code in my preferred IDE, Visual Studio. In VS, there are lots of tools to assist in the writing of scripts (even JavaScript) to have Intellisense and autocomplete help, which cuts down on development time, as well as code quality.

For how long have I used the solution?

I have used Dell Boomi for two years.

What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

The only issue we have had with performance is tied to the performance limits of the APIs being used, such as the NetSuite SuiteTalk API. This can be slow at times when querying large amounts of data in a start shape.

How are customer service and technical support?

Technical support, through support tickets and the Community Forum, is relatively responsive. Our organization has taken advantage of technical solution experts for our clients, since we are a partner/reseller of Boomi.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

We have evaluated Jitterbit. We find Boomi much easier to use, since the AtomSphere IDE is more streamlined and intuitive.

The IDE runs completely in a browser and requires software on the user’s machine.

How was the initial setup?

There is no setup required to develop and manage integrations in Boomi.

What about the implementation team?

Our consulting practice delivers Dell Boomi integration projects to our clients as stand-alone or as a part of larger NetSuite implementations.

What was our ROI?

We recommend pricing/licensing based on the client’s needs and requirements.

What other advice do I have?

Since it is Platform as a Service (PaaS), we recommend that clients plan for future growth based on the type of licensing model they use.

Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: We are a Referral Partner with Dell Boomi – especially for our clients running on NetSuite.
PeerSpot user
it_user631629 - PeerSpot reviewer
System Analyst / Programmer at a logistics company with 501-1,000 employees
Vendor
The valuable features are the GUI and the any-to-any process creation.
Pros and Cons
  • "Extremely flexible for any kind of integration between systems."
  • "We encountered stability issues occasionally, one to two times a year."

What is most valuable?

  • The GUI
  • Any-to-any process creation
  • Extremely flexible for any kind of integration between systems

How has it helped my organization?

It is easy to create workflows from one system to another, drawing on multiple systems at the same time. For example:

  • Creating a process from EDI transmissions to WMS
  • Creating marriages of data from multiple systems (time clock/payroll/HR/WMS/financial) to create reports
  • Taking information from one system to update it to another system (legacy EDI to WMS, payroll to financial, time clock to payroll, WMS to Legacy)

For how long have I used the solution?

I have been using Boomi AtomSphere for three years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

We encountered stability issues occasionally, one to two times a year.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

We did not encounter scalability issues.

How are customer service and technical support?

I would give technical support a rating of 8/10.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

I have used other systems at other companies.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

For integrations, it is one of the best products available.

What other advice do I have?

Talk to other companies who have done it before.

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
PeerSpot user
Buyer's Guide
Download our free Integration Platform as a Service (iPaaS) Report and find out what your peers are saying about Boomi, MuleSoft, Oracle, and more!
Updated: September 2022
Buyer's Guide
Download our free Integration Platform as a Service (iPaaS) Report and find out what your peers are saying about Boomi, MuleSoft, Oracle, and more!