Salesforce Commerce Cloud OverviewUNIXBusinessApplication

Salesforce Commerce Cloud is the #1 ranked solution in top eCommerce Platforms. PeerSpot users give Salesforce Commerce Cloud an average rating of 8.4 out of 10. Salesforce Commerce Cloud is most commonly compared to SAP Hybris Commerce: Salesforce Commerce Cloud vs SAP Hybris Commerce. Salesforce Commerce Cloud is popular among the large enterprise segment, accounting for 65% of users researching this solution on PeerSpot. The top industry researching this solution are professionals from a computer software company, accounting for 24% of all views.
Salesforce Commerce Cloud Buyer's Guide

Download the Salesforce Commerce Cloud Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: November 2022

What is Salesforce Commerce Cloud?

Salesforce Commerce Cloud is a cloud-based, agile, scalable, and secure eCommerce platform designed to create a seamless customer experience and help your organization drive sales, convert more customers, and increase productivity and engagement. Salesforce Commerce Cloud is a part of Salesforce Digital 360, an integrated platform allowing you to sell and engage with your audience across digital channels.

Salesforce Commerce Cloud Features

Salesforce Commerce Cloud has many valuable key features. Some of the most useful ones include:

  • Commerce cloud digital
  • Storefront reference architecture
  • Commerce cloud endless aisle
  • Commerce portals
  • Order management
  • Commerce platform

Salesforce Commerce Cloud Benefits

There are several benefits to implementing Salesforce Commerce Cloud. Some of the biggest advantages the solution offers include:

  • Scalability: Salesforce Commerce Cloud makes it easy for you to seamlessly scale and handle traffic spikes, along with any other unforeseen events.
  • Unified commerce: You can benefit by connecting the customer’s entire shopping experience via digital channels – from marketing to successful purchase and retention campaigns. In addition, you can personalize a customer’s journey to add relevant product recommendations.
  • Mobile optimization: Salesforce Commerce Cloud takes a mobile-first approach, providing a mobile-optimized eCommerce store with a user-friendly interface to attract and retain customers in order to make their shopping experience pleasant and friction-free.

Reviews from Real Users

Below are some reviews and helpful feedback written by PeerSpot users currently using the Salesforce Commerce Cloud solution.

A Senior Consultant at a computer software company comments, “The most valuable feature is the lead matrix that Commerce provides, which helps us to filter out the leads. It also filters out the companies that are right for us and need to target. The visualization is very good. It's not confusing. If you are doing an analysis on your Commerce, It's very easy. The filters are very useful and easy to customize. It's very easy to operate. The user-friendly interface is better when compared with other CRMs. For everything that we have used this solution for, we have had the best experience.”

PeerSpot user Syed B., Salesforce Solution Architect at Systems Limited, says, "It has a customizable checkout experience, customizable homepage, everything can be customized. The stability is very, very high. SFCC is a leader in the world."

Divs C., Salesforce Solutions Architect at Kcloud Technologies, mentions, “Salesforce offers the best features and functionality which are developed and refined over many years to provide a highly customized e-commerce experience. It is mostly for clients who are more into e-commerce, so they go for the Salesforce Commerce Cloud because, the best part is, you don't have to develop everything from scratch. Salesforce Commerce Cloud has seamless upgrades. Since the platform is SaaS, Salesforce continuously rolls out many new features in the background. These are available through an administration panel and often with minimal or no technical intervention needed on the client-side.”

Joaquin A., Salesforce Programmer at Freelancer, explains, “Multi Language support means that this product will operate in English, Chinese, or whatever language is required. The translation feature is available, depending on the region, and it is quite useful for me as well as my customers. The development capabilities are very powerful, which is what my customers know and why they buy this product instead of something else. There is a good community of developers for the platform. With respect to customizability, you can do whatever you want. You can integrate with other solutions and put everything in one place.”


Salesforce Commerce Cloud was previously known as Demandware .

Salesforce Commerce Cloud Customers

Adidas, Amercian Golf, Brooks, Browns, Burton, Butlers, Clarins Paris, ColeHaan, Columbia, Converse, Deckers, Hurley, Kate Spade, Labelux, Lacoste, Lush, Mothercare

Salesforce Commerce Cloud Video

Salesforce Commerce Cloud Pricing Advice

What users are saying about Salesforce Commerce Cloud pricing:
  • "Initially when we installed Salesforce, we thought that it was a bit pricey, but I think for the value that we're getting, it’s suitable."
  • "The licensing of Salesforce Commerce Cloud is something that will depend on the customer's usability. For us as a company, we are in a position where we will be paying the premium for licensing. If we go to the customer who is seeking a B2C solution quickly, we will definitely look at the pricing when it comes to the user base and receive good discounts. Discount is something that depends on the volume and that is where we need to work on. It is a little sensitive market when it comes to licensing procurement. There are some good competitors."
  • "Salesforce is not a cheap solution."
  • "The licensing works on a per-user basis."
  • "The pricing is fairly reasonable."
  • Salesforce Commerce Cloud Reviews

    Filter by:
    Filter Reviews
    Industry
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Company Size
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Job Level
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Rating
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Considered
    Loading...
    Filter Unavailable
    Order by:
    Loading...
    • Date
    • Highest Rating
    • Lowest Rating
    • Review Length
    Search:
    Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
    Syed Hasan Badshah - PeerSpot reviewer
    Salesforce Solution Architect | IT Consultant at CO Founder at Aiva Creative pvt.limited
    Real User
    Top 5Leaderboard
    Offers a customizable checkout experience, customizable homepage - everything can be customized
    Pros and Cons
    • "It has a customizable checkout experience, customizable homepage, everything can be customized."
    • "The community is very closed source. If you don't buy it, you won't be able to learn it."

    What is our primary use case?

    Our clients use Salesforce Commerce Cloud to sell their goods retail online. This solution has been mostly used by American retailers.

    How has it helped my organization?

    The whole point is that SFCC concentrates on not re-inventing the wheel. For example, Wish-list functionality. These are the basic functionalities that should be in e-commerce, like Apple Pay or the social media authentication login. These kinds of functionalities were provided out of the box. So the customer's sign-in and sign-out and the whole check-out experiences are provided by Salesforce Commerce Cloud, which can be enhanced on the basis of need. The customization is done by the service providers on the basis of customers' needs. These kinds of basic solutions are there and the role of the SFCC service provider is to customize all of it. It is very extensive and the documentation is very strong. 

    The community is not very large, around 4,000 - 5,000 good developers in the community who have actually been helping each other. This is not something available in other solutions because their solution is outsourced. People working in SFCC can only help other SFCC developers. This is a drawback in Salesforce which is not an open-source solution. Although it is closed source, at the same time it provides a high-quality service. The development is very easy, with continuous integration. Also, their continuous code development is easy.

    Their methodology is such that all these can be easily implemented into Salesforce Commerce Cloud. So the software development life cycle becomes very practical in this way.

    What is most valuable?

    There are a lot of solutions in the Salesforce Commerce Cloud itself. For example, a company may offer to our clients their Order Management system, but sometimes clients don't want to buy all the services from one service provider. If I'm a developer of SFCC, then some of my clients would like to hire me for only the SFCC stuff. But my video order management system is in some other technology like AIX or you can see their backend system is in a botnet for the autonomy system, so sometimes they would like to involve me in those specs. I worked with one company that actually sold three services to one client. That is one SFCC spot where around 30 people were working in that specific team for the SFCC specific task, while around 20 people were working in a botnet to connect SFCC with AIX database and AIX was their order management system. Actually, SFCC doesn't have that database capacity so they recommend that the service providers and the clients use a third-party service as a database. Okay.

    This how the SFCC works and how the services are being provided to the client.

    What needs improvement?

    There are some areas which should be improved. For example, the community is very closed source. What if Salesforce provided some depositories? Now a big percent of the hubs are only for people who actually paid a membership, and then they allow you to start working from the cloud. But there should be some sort of trial or learning opportunity for other people to learn what Salesforce Commerce Cloud is. Because if you don't buy it, you won't be able to learn it. That's a drawback. I'm not saying make it open source because this is a private company. I'm just saying that it should provide some opportunities for the public to learn it. To provide more opportunities with it because the e-commerce platform is expanding all over the world, even in third world countries. They should provide some way to learn it. Yes, they provide us the documentation, they provide us the community, but they don't provide us the coding environment. It should be there for some trial period because it is very costly. People want to work in SFCC, but it is not very affordable. For example, I am in Pakistan and I remember back 2-3 years ago, many clients or customers wanted to use Salesforce Commerce Cloud but they didn't offer any services in Pakistan.

    That was their concern. And the billing was very, very high at that time. Because competitors were not there 2, 3, 4 years ago. But now the competitors are here and Salesforce Commerce Cloud is reducing its costs. But they are still not providing any free, development environment for the developers to explore SFCC.

    Buyer's Guide
    Salesforce Commerce Cloud
    November 2022
    Learn what your peers think about Salesforce Commerce Cloud. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: November 2022.
    655,774 professionals have used our research since 2012.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been a Salesforce Commerce Cloud developer for last five years and my overall experience with it is around seven years. 

    I am actively working in it.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    The stability is very, very high. SFCC is a leader in the world. They have released multiple volumes in the last three years.

    The mobile version is completed and now they are releasing their headless architecture, where the front-end and the back-end will be different. Two different teams can work in it. So that will be a giant step in the E-commerce market by Salesforce. So yes, the product is very stable. Nothing crashes. 

    But from the development perspective there are some limitations like debugging. If there are things to debug, it should be done very slowly because this debugging is in the code and not on local machines. We are directly connected with the cloud and if there is any internet glitch then the instance or the cloud instance can be halted, which is a real migraine for a developer. So these kinds of limitations are there, but if the product is running on the production instance, it's live and does not crash.

    But there are some steps that we have to do like old replication and the content replication, which are actually replicated from a lower to higher environment, meaning from staging to production. Production means a real website so the content and the code are actually set up by a developer or the deployment manager. These are the steps which actually take some time. It's not something that we can do in five or 10 minutes. It can take around two or three hours and our successful release can be done by the SFCC team. The deployment is handled by the service providers.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    Salesforce Commerce Cloud is very scalable. They provide built-in extra functionalities. They recently introduced a technique in which they provide us a basic website. From there, we have to extend an E-commerce site and we can add multiple functionalities based on customer needs, like Apple Pay or Magento integration. These kinds of things are very interesting to extend and add at runtime, or anytime. This makes the solution very scalable.

    How are customer service and support?

    In terms of technical support, sometimes it takes time, at least six to 12 hours, which is not very good at the critical moment. But at least they come back to you, as opposed to WooCommerce which is an open source community. You post some question on an open source thread on any website and it's your luck if you get some answer. It might take months or it might take days, or it might take one minute. You're not sure. WooCommerce is not that helpful because it is an open source platform while the Salesforce will get back to you in at least five, six hours.

    Salesforce gets back to you and solves the issues. This is the beauty of a closed source environment. If you're working with Microsoft Dynamics 365, their new solution, which is a very fine competitor of Salesforce Commerce Cloud, even they already are full, but they are evolving in the market and this is the beauty of closed source and private companies -they get back to you with answers.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    Yes. I worked in WooCommerce. WooCommerce is a PSP. I also worked with WordPress E-commerce and Shopify. And obviously Salesforce as well.

    WooCommerce is not a very customizable solution and not a good solution for the large clients who are trafficking pages with more than thousands of testimonies. If the sales are in the millions and the processes are very strong, then a WooCommerce site will not be able to bear the traffic load.

    But Salesforce Commerce Cloud will never die because of traffic. At the same time there are a lot of options to import things into Salesforce Commerce Cloud. The customizations are there and any user can customize their website look and feel. The best thing about Salesforce is the role it plays for merchandisers allowing them to customize their sites at run time with the help of the first available data, and how it changes their website look and feel immediately by turning on/off some flags. The merchandising feature is very easy to use in Salesforce Commerce Cloud while in other platforms, like in WooCommerce, this is not always easy to use. The solution is not perfect for every market.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup process is very strong. Whenever we have to set up a website, which they provide and is known as SFRA or site genesis, there are multiple versions of Salesforce Commerce Cloud. There are around 4 multiple versions that are released by Salesforce on the SFCC. Each version has its data set. This process is easy. You can see the cloud instance in the business manager. It takes around a day, around eight to 10 hours are needed for setting up one version.

    This is a very basic step. It's a baby step. It's the very first baby step to set up the PC version on any cloud instance. After that, the customization comes and the SFCC starts developing.

    It all depends upon the customers' needs. It's not a hard and fast deadline or timeline. I have been in some situations that took us three to four months and others that took around nine to 10 months. So it's a bracket from three to 10 months. But if the team is cooperative and competent, on average a very big solution can be delivered in 6 or 7 months after the development is released. This includes everything - the documentation, as well as the code and the leads and everything

    Planning time is very negligible, it gets changed client to client because there are a lot of ethical issues and I'm trying to decode it in front of you.

    From a review perspective it also changes client to client. If a client is technical and he has some knowledge then they might have another plan and if they hire me as a freelancer, then they are the manager and I could be included in the technical discussions. From the solution perspective, I can give them suggestions but ultimately the direction will be decided by the client. This includes extra content and the images and how they should be processed to the production environment. The processes are different from client to client.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    Price was a huge issue three to four years ago but now they're introducing their On-Demand Sandboxes concept. This is very practical as well. The thing is, whenever you use any cloud instance on the Salesforce Commerce Cloud, you are paying something to Salesforce Commerce Cloud even if you're not using it for each second, each minute. But now they have provided a new solution which is very helpful for the customers where if you buy their On-Demand Sandboxes plan, whenever you need some cloud instance for development, just create it, use it, delete it and that's it. You will pay whenever you're using it. That's the practical approach from Salesforce. But three to four years ago when before this concept existed there were a lot of charges by Salesforce but now they are reducing it because there are lot of competitors. Fees for developers are a little expensive compared to other developers because it's a very closed sourced community and not everyone is a domain expert in SFCC. Whoever invested time, whoever took the risk of working in this very closed source environment, should be paid a little higher.

    What other advice do I have?

    My advice is that, yes, they should work with SFCC because it provides a lot of features to extend and link with third parties, API's are available from third parties, and they can easily be integrated into Salesforce Commerce Cloud. It has a customizable checkout experience, customizable homepage, everything can be customized. Their A/B testing is very, very strong. The New York traffic can see one thing on their homepage, while the Boston market can see another. So you can base the experience on different customer groups. Not everyone in America has to see the same thing on the site. The experience is very customizable for cloud and scalability is very easy. If you are a very small company and you can't afford a million dollar bill, then the Salesforce Commerce Cloud is not for you.

    On a scale of one to ten I would love to give it a 10+.

    The best things with Salesforce Commerce Cloud are that they encourage people to update from time to time, which is very positive coming from a private platform, that the certification path is very strong, and their certification is very reliable. If you are a certified developer they can easily deliver the value. The the first path is the developer path and then citizen architect. Multiple clouds are there. I'm a certified developer and heading toward the solution architect certification as well and I've been working with Salesforce Commerce Cloud for five years. This is the time to attempt SFCC architecture because I know the ins and outs of the whole solution. I have 10 people in my team who are managing it and we work together. Two Salesforce Commerce Cloud architects and eight certified developers. That is how we are working. Half of the team members are in America, but others are working from here and soon we will be there as well.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Private Cloud

    If public cloud, private cloud, or hybrid cloud, which cloud provider do you use?

    Other
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Syed Hasan Badshah - PeerSpot reviewer
    Syed Hasan BadshahSalesforce Solution Architect | IT Consultant at CO Founder at Aiva Creative pvt.limited
    Top 5LeaderboardReal User

    salesforce commerce cloud is the best leading ecommerce solution till today. It provides merchants to seemlessly manage catalogs, price books, inventories and OMS.

    Senior Consultant at a computer software company with 501-1,000 employees
    Consultant
    Good visualization, stable, scalable, useful filters, and user-friendly
    Pros and Cons
    • "The filters are very useful, and easy to customize. it's very easy to operate."
    • "There is always room for improvement with any solution."

    What is most valuable?

    The most valuable feature is the lead matrix that Commerce provides, which helps us to filter out the leads. It also filters out the companies that are right for us and need to target.

    The visualization is very good. It's not confusing. If you are doing an analysis on your Commerce, It's very easy.

    The filters are very useful and easy to customize. It's very easy to operate.

    The user-friendly interface is better when compared with other CRMs.

    For everything that we have used this solution for, we have had the best experience. This si the reason that we have not switched to another CRM. We will continue with this for a very long time.

    They are constantly iterating and that is a good thing.

    What needs improvement?

    There is always room for improvement with any solution.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been working with Salesforce Commerce Cloud for approximately three years.

    We are using the latest version.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    Definitely, this is a stable solution. In terms of volume, and capability, it's very stable.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    It is very stable. We started using it in a very small segment of our company and now we've expanded it. We have distributed it in geography.

    First, we were using it only for the North American client base, and have now, expanded for global usage.

    It's very scalable for us.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    I haven't used technical support because I haven't required it.

    From what I understand, it's pretty fast, and they have a 24 hour turnaround time policy that they follow. Any query is responded to within 24 hours.

    Some of my team members have been in contact with technical support, but I have not personally.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    I have used Marketo and HubSpot. There are many pre-existing filters, but they're not always useful.

    There is a lot of filtration which makes it difficult to customize.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    While the price is reasonable for what you are getting, it could still be better. For a small business, it might be too expensive.

    Initially, when we installed Salesforce, we thought that it was a bit pricey, but I think for the value that we're getting, it’s suitable.

    It is something that is not too off-the-shelf or too expensive, but the price could be better.

    What other advice do I have?

    I am very satisfied with this solution. I don't need any changes in it for what I use. They may provide other features in the future that may be very helpful for me, but I have not thought about what I would like to see.

    When you are first starting, you should go through all of the tutorials. When we look at the product or look at a tool, we realize that we use the basic aspects of it. You want to have a full understanding of how to customize it for your needs, and data analysis. It's very customizable, unless you don't know how to do it then it won't be utilized fully.

    There are several tutorials available online to use, that will teach you how to use it, and to customize it for your usage and requirements.

    Take the time to go through the tutorials beforehand.

    I would rate Salesforce Commerce Cloud a nine out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Public Cloud
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Buyer's Guide
    Salesforce Commerce Cloud
    November 2022
    Learn what your peers think about Salesforce Commerce Cloud. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: November 2022.
    655,774 professionals have used our research since 2012.
    Oscar Del Ama - PeerSpot reviewer
    Deputy CEO at Pedro Garcia
    Real User
    Top 5Leaderboard
    Stable with good data analysis capabilities by difficult to set up
    Pros and Cons
    • "I wouldn't say they have artificial intelligence, as it's not really AI, however, the data analysis that they provide to you is good."
    • "The solution is expensive."

    What is most valuable?

    I wouldn't say they have artificial intelligence, as it's not really AI, however, the data analysis that they provide to you is good.

    The stability, from what I have heard, has been good.

    What needs improvement?

    What I don't like is the price.  The solution is expensive.

    Once you get into the Salesforce universe, it's very difficult to get out. It's very difficult to connect with other platforms. I find that once you get into Salesforce, you are too trapped in their tech. The obvious technology is the CRM they offer to you, however, I don't like it. A software product should be good in and of itself, yet manageable enough to attach or to connect with other products. Integration with other products is impossible as they do have APIs, and functionality-wise is not the best. There are other platforms that offer more integration potential.

    The initial setup is complicated, as is the initial integration.

    Technical support could be better. I still don't have the full experience as a client, however, on the after-sales side, I feel a little abandoned after the signing of the contract. It was really pushy at the beginning. They were right on you. Then, after that, you feel a little abandoned as they just aren't there, in the same way, checking in and making sure you are okay. It's more on the after-sales of things that they should take care a little more about their clients already signed on to them.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    This solution is quite new for us. We haven't used it for that long.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    I don't have experience personally with stability, however, based on what I understand from clients as well as from other partners, the stability is good. If I was to rate the stability of I would say it's eight out of ten. I have not heard of bugs or glitches, and I have not heard of it crashing or freezing.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Technical support requires that you depend on their partner. Otherwise, while Salesforce is good at sales, the after-sales portion of the experience is lacking, mostly due to the fact that they're really lacking experience. It's not the greatest. 

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    We just switched from Magento to Commerce Cloud. I'd say this solution is a little bit better.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup is not straightforward. It's very difficult. The integration with other solutions also isn't easy.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The price is a little bit too high, however, you pay for what you get.

    What other advice do I have?

    I'm a customer and an end-user.

    I'd rate the solution at a seven out of ten. It depends on the appliance. For startups, it's really not good. For big companies like us, it is good, and for a medium company, it is probably not as good eighter. It's much more suited to something with size and infrastructure.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Public Cloud
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    PeerSpot user
    Cameo Mbowane - PeerSpot reviewer
    Chief Executive Officer at Customersoft Innovation
    Real User
    Top 5Leaderboard
    Allows us to customize business process engines and has an excellent connection to various cloud-based solutions
    Pros and Cons
    • "The ease of customization is valuable."
    • "Pricing is a disadvantage because it is expensive."

    What is our primary use case?

    We use Salesforce Commerce Cloud for servicing our financial, insurance and banking customers. We are using the latest version on the cloud.

    What is most valuable?

    The ease of customization is valuable and allows us to customize business process engines and set up data models efficiently. Additionally, it has connections to all sorts of cloud-based solutions. It also allows us to create industry solutions and take advantage of its environment.

    What needs improvement?

    At this time I cannot comment on what needs improvements in the system as I have not used it for very long. However, I have noticed that many people do not understand enterprise systems and have difficulty setting them up. I believe the deployment is robust. I recently had a deployment failure, which could have been attributed to the people doing the work and not having the skill to move code from development, through UAT, into production. However, I'm still investigating to understand if it is the knowledge of the people or the system.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    We recently started using this solution and will use it for a primary project in the upcoming months. Currently, I'm doing the certification with my team so that we can understand the implementation.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    We believe the solution is stable. Additionally, because it is running on AWS, customers also have a sense of confidence.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    The solution is scalable.

    How are customer service and support?

    We have not had any experiences with customer service and support yet. So currently, we have been relying on the team that we have for support.

    How was the initial setup?

    This product is complex for a beginner, so they need to start it with senior resources. In addition, it is more complex than Microsoft CRM so more senior resources are required for Salesforce.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    We believe pricing is a disadvantage because it is expensive. For example, it was pretty costly to justify when we reviewed Salesforce for small-medium enterprises in our African region. Hence, only a tier one financial service can afford it. Small-medium enterprises cannot afford it so they become a default user of Microsoft. We think the expense is more on the consulting side because the resources are scarce. Every dollar the client spends goes to approximately two and a half to three dollars for implementation. For example, the current implementation we are working on has made an enterprise purchase. The client has spent almost 36 million rands on the software, and the consulting is already at about 65 million rands. If the projects fail it isn't easy to talk to customers if they have spent that much money. The current project I'm working on is priced at two and a half million for three months.

    What other advice do I have?

    I rate this product an eight out of ten. The product is good but it is large and complex. Our advice to customers is to get their data and processes right because recovering from a Salesforce project mistake is difficult.

    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Partner
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Devaiss Mohanty - PeerSpot reviewer
    Premium Services Sales- CX Professional Services at Cisco
    Real User
    Top 5Leaderboard
    Frequently updated, reliable, and straightforward setup
    Pros and Cons
    • "The most valuable feature of Salesforce Commerce Cloud is the frequent updates. There will be a significant increase in the look and feel. You will be using the solution and think you might want a new feature to be added and then when they release the next release it is there. There are constantly improving the solution."
    • "Salesforce Commerce Cloud could improve overall customization. Having a template deployment would be a useful feature."

    What is our primary use case?

    We use Salesforce Commerce Cloud mostly for reporting. We know exactly how to use the reports, which are either filtered by time, customer IDs, accounts, or region. It becomes very easy when you're using such a platform.

    What is most valuable?

    The most valuable feature of Salesforce Commerce Cloud is the frequent updates. There will be a significant increase in the look and feel. You will be using the solution and think you might want a new feature to be added and then when they release the next release it is there. There are constantly improving the solution.

    What needs improvement?

    Salesforce Commerce Cloud could improve overall customization. Having a template deployment would be a useful feature.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using Salesforce Commerce Cloud for approximately eight years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    Salesforce Commerce Cloud is reliable. I have never had to raise a ticket. It is a fast solution. 

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    The scalability of Salesforce Commerce Cloud is good.

    We have approximately 20,000 or 30,000 people using this solution in my company.

    How are customer service and support?

    Salesforce Commerce Cloud support and ticketing are easy once you face a problem, but I've never faced a problem.

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup of Salesforce Commerce Cloud is straightforward.

    What about the implementation team?

    We have a deployment team that does the implementation of Salesforce Commerce Cloud. In corporations, you have your OS upgrades along with that, you have all your installations being upgraded. Whether you have Microsoft, Salesforce, or Oracle, it's a very smooth process. You don't have to wait for updates and walk up to your IT manager or IT team for help. This has never happened, the maintenance is smooth.

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The licensing of Salesforce Commerce Cloud is something that will depend on the customer's usability. For us as a company, we are in a position where we will be paying the premium for licensing. If we go to the customer who is seeking a B2C solution quickly, we will definitely look at the pricing when it comes to the user base and receive good discounts. Discount is something that depends on the volume and that is where we need to work on. It is a little sensitive market when it comes to licensing procurement. There are some good competitors.

    What other advice do I have?

    Most of our retail customers who are in the B2C market, are all on Salesforce Commerce Cloud. I would this solution to others.

    I rate Salesforce Commerce Cloud a ten out of ten.

    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Eeshaan Satwalekar - PeerSpot reviewer
    Sales Head at Onnivation
    Real User
    Top 10
    Commerce platform effective at documenting leads and opportunities and optimizes sales processes
    Pros and Cons
    • "The features that are core to Salesforce including documentation and the variety of integrations available are most valuable."
    • "This solution could be improved by providing additional artificial intelligence capabilities that are available out-of-the-box. It would be useful to have automatic forecasts using AI."

    What is our primary use case?

    We use Salesforce for creating and documenting leads and opportunities as well as for forecasting and creating dashboards.

    What is most valuable?

    The features that are core to Salesforce including documentation and the variety of integrations available are most valuable.

    What needs improvement?

    This solution could be improved by providing additional artificial intelligence capabilities that are available out-of-the-box. It would be useful to have automatic forecasts using AI. 

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have used Salesforce for seven years. 

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    This is a stable solution. When maintenance is required, Salesforce notify you almost a week in advance and they usually take place over weekends. 

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    This is a scalable solution. I have used Salesforce with 700 users and it worked well. 

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup was very straightforward. 

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    Salesforce is not a cheap solution.

    What other advice do I have?

    Every company has a different use case for Salesforce and their customizations are unique. A good starting point is to understand why a company needs Salesforce in the first place and focus on utilization afterwards.

    I would rate this solution an eight out of ten. This is because Salesforce is the best CRM solution on the market. The simplicity in which you can document and analyze the data you put in is really valuable. The integration they have with other providers helps optimize sales processes.

    I would rate this solution an eight out of ten. 

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Public Cloud
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Manager at a tech services company with 5,001-10,000 employees
    Real User
    Top 5Leaderboard
    The implementation team can customize the implementation to the customer's needs

    What is our primary use case?

    We use it for eCommerce, which is similar to ATG.

    What is most valuable?

    The sign-up process is easy, as you can link it to other products and sign with your Gmail account, for example. The implementation team can customise the implementation to customer needs. 

    What needs improvement?

    It is similar to ATG, but some features can be exchanged between the 2.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    We have been using Salesforce cloud for about 2 years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    Salesforce is a stable solution. We have not encountered any issues.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    Salesforce is scalable.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    We have not had to use technical support.

    How was the initial setup?

    Set up and configuration of Salesforce is straight forward.

    What about the implementation team?

    In our team, we have 5 people involved in the use and implementation of salesforce, including managers, developers and administrators. Implementation can take up to 2 months. 

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The licensing works on a per-user basis.

    Which other solutions did I evaluate?

    We have considered using ATG.

    What other advice do I have?

    I would rate this product 8 out of 10. It is a good eCommerce solution. Compared to ATG, it would be down to choosing which product you needed for your business long term.

    Disclosure: My company has a business relationship with this vendor other than being a customer: Integrator
    PeerSpot user
    Senior Manager at a computer software company with 10,001+ employees
    Real User
    Cloud based CRM that supports sales cycles, provides forecasting and assists in managing the customer lifecycle

    What is our primary use case?

    We use this solution for general CRM use cases including capturing the regular customer lifecycle, opportunities, accounts and managing leads. It supports our entire sales cycle and forecasting.

    Currently, we've got is a very small user base but we plan to increase usage in the future.We have a very small IT team who manage and maintain the system.

    What is most valuable?

    The conversion of opportunities and leads to accounts is one of the most valuable features.

    What needs improvement?

    The dashboards for this solution could be improved.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using this solution for one year. 

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    This is a stable solution. 

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    This is a scalable solution. 

    How was the initial setup?

    The initial setup is pretty straightforward. 

    What about the implementation team?

    We completed the implementation in-house. 

    What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

    The pricing is fairly reasonable. 

    What other advice do I have?

    I would recommend this solution to others. 

    I would rate this solution a seven out of ten.

    Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

    Public Cloud
    Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.
    Flag as inappropriate
    PeerSpot user
    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free Salesforce Commerce Cloud Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.
    Updated: November 2022
    Product Categories
    eCommerce Platforms
    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free Salesforce Commerce Cloud Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.